LG CU500 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

bajsgirl100408 posted on May 07, 2009, 3:30 PM

10.0

GREATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT


good quliaty
great sound
good music
roating camera
Amazing picture quilaty
all in all a must buy

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • nothing

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Shivesh Agarwal posted on Jul 15, 2008, 11:06 PM

7.6

Tough

I bought this phone two years ago and have dropped it MANY times, but it's a really tough phone. There are barely any scratches and it works fine. The one complaint i have about it is that the vibrate is REALLY loud, when im in class or in a movie, i have to put it on silent because the vibrate is so loud. Also you set a separate ringtone for text messages, you can only use the preset ones, but otherwise the phone is a good buy, features are cool especially the rotating camera.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Manuel posted on May 25, 2007, 3:10 PM

5.0

Not a good LG product...

LG is offering a music player, a video camera with basic picture editing capabilities and internet connection in a small device that sometimes works as a phone.

The best features of the LG CU 500 is by far the Internet connectivity. Extremely fast and user friendly. Screen is very good for watching news, videos and whatever’s available on the corresponding network. As a camera is OK, not many features but at least, basic photo editing features.

Battery life is not what LG or Cingular claims and there is no extended battery available. When surfing the web or in constant talk time, one hour on the average. Standby mode will last 36 hours if nobody calls, the phone is not on vibrate and alarms are off.

The other problem is the phone itself. Although the bars may indicate full strength, the signal is very poor and callers will complain that they barely hear you. This problem is not limited to indoors or steel buildings; happens everywhere.

Stay away from this phone and consider one of the “Berries” instead.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

marykmark posted on Apr 30, 2007, 3:55 AM

9.8

mr.

by far the best cell i have ever owned! some issues with battery life and the small volume control on the side and no light under the "go" button. features are awesome. great sound, excellent reception and the style is very cool! internet and video features are much faster than expected! camera has several shutter tones as well as a silence which unlike the samsung e315(which is terribly loud). the camera features with the timer, multishot and zoom are amazing. overall i would reccomend this phone to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

nhanle posted on Apr 13, 2007, 4:35 AM

8.2

LG CU500 is great for listening the music

i had this phone about 2 month and now i`m still loving to use it. The LG CU500 features is great, it is so good for music. Just try and make a good feeling

Is this review helpful?

Report

Jerry Franciotti posted on Mar 11, 2007, 11:47 PM

4.4

Not even on a good day

I was WOW'ed by the sales person at the Cingular store when he presented all the features that this phone had to offer. However, once I brought it home, the feeling went from WOW to a "I can't believe I chose this phone Oh, NO"!!! The reception is terrible. I can't always make out what my callers are saying. My reception goes from 3G to one bar in seconds and I don't even need to be moving... I'm standing still most of the time and have varied signal strength. Upon purchasing the phone the signal strength was spotted and it got worse as I used the phone over a period of three months. The battery life started out well (4 to 5 day life) and then I found myself recharging it everyday after4 weeks of use. I complained and they sent me a new LG 500 (phone only no battery) and after a few weeks the same thing happened. I complained again and they offered to replace the phone again not the battery. I told them to keep the replacement and bought a different brand phone on ebay and switched the sim card. Now I have no more problems. The LG CU500 phone has good features but is not practical if you want to use it everyday. Definitely the worst phone I ever owned. Also, the fact that Cingular offered to replace the phone all the time without offering a diffrent phone once I had problems with the replacement phone also distured me. I have been an ATT/Cingular customer for many many years without ever complaining. Once I did complain I feel like it fell upon deaf ears... very...  

Is this review helpful?

Report

Kai posted on Mar 10, 2007, 12:40 PM

10.0

Kai LOVES LG's CU500!

I have had this phone for about 5 months and I'm still IN LOVE WITH IT! My signal is great, I love it's sleek style, and my music sounds GREAT!! I've heard some complaints about the battery time, however, I have not experienced any problems with mine. I use my phone throughout the day and I listen to my MP3 music files about an hour everyday. My battery usually has about one battery notch left at the day's end, but I just charge it up and the next day it's ready to go for another FULL DAY!

Is this review helpful?

Report

phil posted on Mar 05, 2007, 5:23 AM

4.6

LGCU500 is garbage

ive had this phone for 3 months now, at first the phone was good although now it sucks. the service (cingular) is absolutley horrible. I live in LA area and it goes in between 3g service and edge. I always have no serivce and it cuts in and out of 3g and Edge every few minutes. I have at least 15 dropped calls which wastes minutes. Also the battery life sucks. It use to laste like a week but now it dies within one day. I make a few phone calls a day and by the end of the day theres one battery left. The pros are: music volume is loud and crips and speaker is good.

Is this review helpful?

Report

razrs are trash posted on Mar 02, 2007, 5:37 PM

9.0

razrs be scared

i just upgraded to the cu 500 from a v3 razr and im in love already the only cons are the battery life and the speaker cracks at loud volumes. i have no problem with the ascending ringer because i down loaded ringers from cingular and actually like how it fades in. my razr had horrible signal signal i couldnt even make a call right under the cingular tower and the speaker sucked. overall i think for the price (50 dollars) this phone is by far the best for your buck.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Goldberg posted on Jan 15, 2007, 12:52 PM

6.8

Battery life

I had this phone for 3 weeks and the battery stopped charging and the phone stopped all to get together. This is the first and last LG phone I will buy. I work for Cingular and this phone has issues.

Is this review helpful?

Report

JD posted on Jan 04, 2007, 1:59 AM

8.4

awsome phone!!!!!!!

I just got this phone for Christmas and I love it.

pros-
good camera(in the right lighting).
very good speakers.
love the mp3 controls.


cons-
memory card slot behind battery.
speaker slightly distorts incoming voices.
battery life ok, two & a half day's at least(as is all lg phones).

Over all an amazing phone. I highly recommend this phone.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Josh posted on Jan 02, 2007, 4:38 PM

7.8

Awsome & Sexy phone

Well, i had T-mobile for about 1 year, well lets just say it sucks! I never had signal in my house. So i got this phone about 1 week ago. It is one of the best phone there is. The only thing that kind of sucks is the cellphone has horibble ring tones, but you can download some. I like the 3G, I can watch news, music videos etc. Get this phone, i got it for 50 dollars @ Best Buy!

Is this review helpful?

Report

lovetheCU500 posted on Dec 23, 2006, 5:01 PM

9.8

LOVE THE PHONE!!!

wow! I upgraded to the LG CU500 from a Moto v551 and call tell so far that this is a much better phone! I have no complaints! Excellent picture quality, graet ring tones, and an exuisite design! All pros, no cons!!!! As for the signal strength, it gets out better than any other cell phone I've ever had! Love it!!!! Very highly recommend youmyo buy this phone!!!!

Is this review helpful?

Report

zack snow posted on Dec 19, 2006, 9:43 PM

9.6

hellz yea

I've had this phone for 2 weeks now and i love it the desighn is cool the svivel camera is cool cuz this way you can take a picture of yourself too not just your friends. there is lots of things that it can do whitch teenagers like; as for cheap ass adults i dont know

Is this review helpful?

Report

Terr posted on Dec 16, 2006, 1:09 AM

5.2

LG CU500

This is my 3rd CU500, I upgraded from a Motorola V60i and am very dissapointed.

First - The battery in standby mode wont last 20hrs, same with all three CU500's. A bit of false advertising there, LG says it will last 240 hours in standby...

Second - Signal strength is horrible, my 3 year old phone has 4 bars of signal strength at home while the CU500 has ZERO. I live only 4 miles form the cell tower. I was at the Cingular store and I still had zero bars while my moto had 4. You have to be 2 miles from a tower to get clear signal strength.

Third - Something I found out the hard way is that the only micro chip that will work with the phone is the San Disk Brand.

Fourth - Ascending ring tones and the voice quality sucks, half the time you sound like you are underwater.

Fifth - It does not have voice dial but has bluetooth, WHY??? Sould have both!!!

The feel and looks are great but the performance isn't there, I'm going to return it and get something that actually works.

Is this review helpful?

Report

brett posted on Dec 02, 2006, 10:48 PM

8.8

great Phone

i bought this phone and it is great. here r some pros and cons:

PROS:
mp3 player
swivel camera and good zoom
design
features
mp3 buttons on front
good video
customization is easy
nice looking black finish
inside chrome looking


CONS:
bad battery life
memory card under battery
side buttons need to be easier to push
if u let it sit the front screen goes off completely
ascending ring
no accesories come with phone

Overall the phone is definately worth buying. the features are great.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Lauren posted on Nov 22, 2006, 3:06 PM

7.6

i love this phone!!!:]

this phone is something that u will definetly want.it has everything that u will want, mp3 player, bluetooth, and a high speed video connection. So get it.

Is this review helpful?

Report

*KiRbY* posted on Nov 07, 2006, 9:31 PM

9.0

okay,

okay! i recently got this phone and i think its wonderful, everything on it has worked so far. the camera and zoom works very well and the music is very loud on this phone. i can leave my phone on for a day and one mark on the battery display will be gone, but i think thats pretty good.

Is this review helpful?

Report

doug posted on Nov 07, 2006, 5:42 PM

7.8

LG forgot simple steps

Companies are so worried about packing phones full of B.S. most will never use, they forget we need the basics.

1) You must keep phone on to use alarm clock, therefore you could get a call in the morning hours waking others in the room with you
2) Even keeping phone on it would turn it's self off so the alarm wouldn't wake.
3) Battery lasted about 36 hours with 30 minutes of talk time and about an hour getting familar with phone.
4) Ring tone accends which is anoying. It may ring for 20 seconds before you even hear it. There is no way to change this.
5)On calls it seemed the voice would asscend at begining of sentence as the ring tones do.


Maybe I got a lemon but even if I did, some characteristics didn't work for me.
I have a pc to surf the net, I want a phone that works.

Is this review helpful?

Report

MIke Aguirre posted on Nov 05, 2006, 4:43 AM

7.8

lg cu500

I agree, battery life sucks. Does anyone know where i can purchase a better or compatible battery with more strength? This phone is great except for the Battery life.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Hrvoje posted on Nov 04, 2006, 9:44 PM

8.6

Insurance

Got Insurance for this phone thru Cingular wireless and had it for three month's Got to find out that the phone was not covered but I was still getting charged. After 45 min playing phone tag finally got settled for refund. My question is why don't they offer insurance for this phone and why was I paying for it when I really never had Insurance. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Better yet it's bunch of scam.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Taco posted on Nov 04, 2006, 6:41 PM

9.6

this phone is great

this phone rocks... the only thing i found that i didnt like are the very very very slim buttons on the side that r somewhat difficult to push and u gotta buy the cord and memory card for music seperately... other than that this phone is perfect

Is this review helpful?

Report

phonefreek posted on Nov 01, 2006, 10:57 PM

9.0

LG CU500

I love my new LG CU500 but am dissapointed in it's inability to sync with Outlook and also very dissapointed with the poor battery life. The battery life problem would be easily remidied with an extended life battery like those fatter/thicker ones. So where are the batteries? This thing has been on the market for some time now. You would think someone would make one since we would all buy one. If anyone has found an extended battery please email me at datamaster69@hotmail.com because this is an awesome phone.
Thanks!

Is this review helpful?

Report

LG posted on Oct 09, 2006, 2:34 AM

8.0

Outstanding phone

I purchased this phone last week, and I am pretty impressed with it. Coming from a Sony Ericsson w600i Walkman phone and a nokia 6102i, I had been spoiled with all the features of the w600i, but the CU500 from LG has definitely given it a run for its money. Speaking of money, I shelled out 300 big ones for this phone flat-out (I have prepaid) along with a $50 mail-in rebate, which is a little pricey, but that's what you pay for high-end phones. I'll outline the pros and cons:

PROS
Good camera (1.3mp)
Excellent call quality
Good signal strength
Wide range of features
Fast internet speeds
Bright screen colors

CONS
I don't have many qualms about this headset, except for that when the volume is turned up pretty high, the speaker crackles. That, and the increasing ring should be an option, not a default that can't be changed.

All in all, I say if you want a good high-end phone, get this and NOT A RAZR!

Is this review helpful?

Report

Darkknightwdc posted on Sep 11, 2006, 2:43 PM

8.8

CEO

I have just acquired the LG CU 500 and I just wanted to add my comments. I have just purchased the phone from the evil Cingular empire and I must say that this phone ROCKS!!

PROS: I actually called LG and spoke with a very cool technical representative named Casey. He told me in no uncertain terms that there is no phone in this catagory that will match the CU 500 feature-to-feature. He told me that he was very open to other phones and that I really should consider this phone for the things that I need. I live in Washington, DC and travel overseas frequently, so I require a quad band phone. The CU 500's 3G capacity makes video play back soooo nice. The mp3 player is great and since I purchased a 1GB microcard I have all the music I want on the go. It has a great speakerphone. The menu surfing and functionality is superb! The video quality is exceptional and the 1.3 MP camera (the swivel is great) is of equal quality. The bluetooth feature is great (I am still exploring the possiblities with the calendar, business card and picture sharing).

CONS: My only concern would be the battery life of the phone. LG does have some issues with producing batteries that can handle the load of multi-feature phones but all in all, the CU 500 is one of the best phones on the market.

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.