Apple iPhone SE (2020) User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

7.9

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet
9.1
Call quality
8.9
Battery
6.3
Reception
8.6
Display
7.6
Build quality
8.9
Text input
7.6
Everyday usage
7.7
UI speed
8.7
Camera
8.3
Multimedia
7.4
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Blogietis posted on Aug 27, 2020, 4:34 AM
Posts: 21; Member since: Apr 27, 2016

6.0

looks very outdated and actually overpriced even though has some positives that can crush the competition

Blogietis has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Yes this phone does have some really good aspects about it but just the fact that Apple has been lazy with it and just updated its old phone with a single component makes it look and feel so outdated, at least if they would have based it on iPhone XR it would look and feel much better...

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
7.0
Display
5.0
Battery
4.0

Pros

  • very good build quality
  • good software support
  • good cameras and performance for the price range
  • compact size

Cons

  • EXTREMELY outdated design
  • weak battery life
  • 64GB basic storage is laughable and more storage makes this phone more expensive
  • the screen is too small for such a size, so it is not great for media
  • no headphone jack
  • no wide angle lens
  • no SD card support

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

bbycrts posted on Jun 23, 2020, 1:19 PM
Posts: 43; Member since: Nov 05, 2018

9.0

My new favorite

bbycrts has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Coming from an XR that wasn't connecting reliably in its lightning port any more. I love the size - my last touch ID phone was an iPhone 7 that I only used for work - this is the first one I have used routinely as my primary personal phone and I love it. I was concerned about the screen size difference between this and the XR, but it took me less than a day to re-adapt to the smaller screen. The phone is way fast and checks off almost all of my wants - the poor battery life being the only thing I'd like to see improved. I am very excited about the 5.4 inch iPhone and will probably trade this one for that when it's eventually released, but in the meantime, this has been a terrific stand in.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
7.0
I use a 3rd party keyboard, but I'm still irritated that the Apple keyboard is default for passwords.
Display
8.0
Small - the bezels are huge and take up real estate that most phones use for viewing space.
Battery
3.0
I'm not a super heavy user so I can typically get through the day fine, but this phone is way off the battery life of any other phone I've used recently.

Pros

  • Size, speed, quality, long OS support

Cons

  • Battery life is really bad. Screen size is an inefficient use of the space available.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

inFla posted on Jun 17, 2020, 10:03 AM
Posts: 482; Member since: Aug 17, 2018

10.0

Nice

inFla has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nice phone, it's my daily phone. Solid and well built. Phone reception is good and voices are clear. The phone is fast, apps and internet are quick . I don't use social media or play games so I get 2+ days on the battery. Only two things to nitpick, the fingerprint reader is kind of slow to respond and the iPods aren't the best.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Cons

  • iPods, fingerprint reader

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Report

wickedwilly posted on Jun 13, 2020, 6:23 PM
Posts: 1231; Member since: Sep 19, 2018

3.0

Disappointing

wickedwilly has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The SE is proof that putting a fast SOC in a phone means little if other areas are not done well. An outdated design, screen coupled with the worst battery life I have experienced on any phone in recent memory, makes for the worst experience on a phone I have ever had. The camera is OK in good light, but then so are most phones, as is the video, but lack of versatility and night mode means the camera is average at best. Needless to say, I returned it, there are better options out there for this price.

Build quality
6.0
Reception
6.0
Call quality
6.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
2.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
1.0
Text input
2.0
Display
1.0
Battery
1.0
The worst performing phone I have used in recent years

Pros

  • Good basic video for the price

Cons

  • Oudated and subpar in most of the important areas

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Report

RodneyMC posted on May 03, 2020, 9:17 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 22, 2019

9.0

Good Little iPhone SE (2020)

RodneyMC has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love this little phone. It does it's job. The only draw is the battery life. I fast charge mines so it doesn't take long for it to get back to 100%. This is my number 2 go to phone now behind my iPhone 11 Pro Max. It replaced my Pixel 4 XL as my number 2 cellphone. Camera, sound quality, reception quality, multimedia and the speed of opening apps and web browsing is magnificent. It's small and fits in the palm of your hand. Way to go Apple. Great JOB.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Fast (Responsive)
  • Worth the PRICE
  • Camera is SHARP for a small device
  • Small and Convenient ( Fits in the Pocket)
  • Video recording is great as well

Cons

  • Battery Life

RodneyMC alternatives:

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Report

MCVDAWG posted on May 02, 2020, 12:02 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 02, 2020

10.0

Good Phone

MCVDAWG has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's the same design of an iPhone 8 but with a much faster A13 chip. It's totally worth it but there are a few specs that are lacking the hardware, other than that, It's has the cheapest price with fastest hardware.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Report

kalekter posted on Apr 30, 2020, 8:12 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Apr 17, 2020

8.0

SE (2020)

kalekter has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

You know this phone is really not for gamers, it doesn't even have the battery for it, it's like going to a luxury restaurant to order pizza, you would get laughed at, this phone is not for you bud, move along.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
6.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
7.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

11 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless