Watch HTC's One A9 live stream here


HTC is holding a media event to officially unveil the HTC One A9. It has been a long journey for the One A9, and there is a sense that the company could be poised to disappoint tomorrow. At the end of the story, you will find a link to the website where HTC is live streaming the event, which begins at noon EDT in the U.S.

Back during the summer, when HTC CEO Cher Wang tried to appease HTC stockholders at a meeting, we first heard about a new "Hero" phone that was supposed to turn things around for HTC. The company's shares were declining, red ink was flowing, and the fan base was shrinking. Interest in the HTC One M9 had dried up and the company was facing months of irrelevancy in the smartphone market.

But Wang's comments energized the HTC faithful as word of an awesome phone called the Aero leaked out. The Aero was said to be a high end handset, and at one time was rumored to employ a MediaTek Helio X20 chipset with a deca-core CPU and 4GB of RAM.

But as the weeks went on, and the summer turned to fall, the Aero became the HTC One A9, and this new flagship phone became a mid-range model. The latest specs include a 5-inch screen with a 1080 x 1920 resolution. That works out to a 441ppi pixel density. There is a question about the chipset that will be under the hood. We've seen the Snapdragon 615, Snapdragon 617 and Snapdragon 620 at various times, driving the One A9. A listing mistakenly put up by Orange France, shows that the Snapdragon 617 SoC will be the chip found inside the phone. 2GB of RAM is inside.

The HTC One A9 is expected to carry a 13MP rear camera with OIS, and a 4MP Ultrapixel front-facing shooter to take selfies and handle video chats. A fingerprint scanner is located on front, and a 2150mAh battery keeps the lights on. Android 6.0 is pre-installed. The device is said to feature a metal build, and weighs in at 7mm thick. Six color options will be available, and the HTC One A9 should be released next month.

For those looking to follow the live stream, we have the times listed below along with a link. After the event, check in with us to see the immediate reaction to the unveiling of the phone.

9am PT | 12pm ET | 5pm UK | 6pm CET | 7pm EET | 8pm Moscow | 2am Seoul


Related phones

One A9

FEATURED VIDEO

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless