Notification Center

This is our new notification center. Inside, you will find updates on the most important things happening right now.

Notifications

Hmm, push notifications seem to be disabled in your browser. You can enable them from the 'Settings' icon in the URL bar of your browser.

www.phonearena.com

Watch Sony's IFA 2017 event livestream right here!

2

Sony's Pre-IFA event will start on August 31st, 2017 at:

04:00 AM PT | 07:00 AM ET | 01:00 PM CET


One of the world's biggest consumer electronics trade shows, Berlin's IFA, is coming right around the corner, but most of the big companies will be making their respective device announcements a day or two ahead of the official opening. Such is the case with Sony, which traditionally uses the show as a vehicle for many of its new product announcements.

And as it happens, the company's press conference will be streamed live on the internet for everyone to see. The event will start on Thursday, August 31st, at 1:00pm CET. For all the American folks out there, this translates to 7:00am Eastern and 4:00am Pacific time.

At the event, we're expecting to see at least two new devices: the flagship Xperia XZ1 and its smaller sibling, the Xperia XZ1 Compact. There may or may not be a third, separate device announcement as well, but we've heard next to nothing about it, so we wouldn't count on it. But for everything we know about Sony's fall Xperia lineup so far, head to our rumor review.

But seeing as this event will be a showcase for the entire company, not just its mobile division, you should expect to see a fair amount of non-smartphone product announcements as well. We're placing our bets on lots of audio equipment, but given Sony's penchant for weird products, we'd expect pretty much anything.

source: Sony

New reasons to get excited every week

Get the most important news, reviews and deals in mobile tech delivered straight to your inbox

FCC OKs Cingular\'s purchase of AT&T Wireless