x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Verizon iPhone 4 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Verizon iPhone 4 Review
Introduction:

Finally! It’s really here, and this time, it’s for real – no joke. Yes, Apple’s wonderful smartphone has been the topic of conversation amongst loyal customers for quite some time, and despite seeing an onslaught of high profiled Android devices being released, Verizon can now say that the iPhone is here. However, we’re basically seeing the same model we saw over 7 months ago – aside from the fact that it now packs a CDMA radio and a slightly redesigned antenna. And without taking much away from the fact that Verizon is just now getting it, there are still а lot to be excited about for Big Red’s handful of customers.

As much as people think that this is benefiting Verizon mostly, you have to look closely at the mobile landscape and comprehend the fierce competition that’s brewing. Naturally, Apple is going to reap the benefits of getting their product out to the millions of Verizon customers out there nationwide. Now that it’s front center competing against the growing and bountiful Android army, the iPhone 4’s presence may undoubtedly alter the landscape in due time. So are you ready for the Verizon iPhone 4?

Verizon iPhone 4 Review
Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The package contains:

  • Apple iPhone 4
  • USB Cable
  • User Guide
  • Stereo headphones
  • Wall Charger
  • Apple Decals

Design:

For the most part, the Verizon iPhone 4 is a near identical replica of the AT&T version from 7 months ago. As we already mentioned, the only thing different is the fact that it boasts CDMA radios internally, notches around the antenna are placed differently, and that the vibrate switch has moved ever so slightly.

In terms of design, it still radiates with a fantastic look that’s sure to impress Verizon customers – even more when every inch of its body resonates with a premium feel. In fact, it seems more luxurious versus the plastic exteriors found on other handsets since it incorporates two glass surfaces that are sandwiched together with a stainless steel brushed band. Employing a streamlined profile (0.37” thick), the handset is perfectly sized to accommodate every hand size – although, it does pack on some noticeable weight (4.83 oz). Even with its solid construction, it would likely take a beating if it were dropped from a good height. Still, its premium materials will repel the adverse effects of normal wear and tear. All in all, the Verizon iPhone 4 is just one sleek, sexy, and classy looking smartphone.

The Verizon iPhone 4 is one sleek, sexy, and classy looking smartphone - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The Verizon iPhone 4 is one sleek, sexy, and classy looking smartphone - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The Verizon iPhone 4 is one sleek, sexy, and classy looking smartphone - Verizon iPhone 4 Review

The Verizon iPhone 4 is one sleek, sexy, and classy looking smartphone


Verizon iPhone 4 Review

You can compare the Verizon iPhone 4 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Not surprisingly, one of the biggest attractions with the Verizon iPhone 4 is nothing more than its stunning looking 3.5” IPS display that sports a very impressive 640x960 resolution and support for 16.7 million colors. Dubbed the “Retina Display,” it screams superb clarity that enables the naked eye to meticulously absorb every single pixel to the tooth – thus allowing for some serious high pixel density. At the same time, it shines with enough luminance and natural color production to make it more than visible during outdoor usage, while still offering perfect viewing angles. Overlooking that it might not necessarily offer the largest real estate on a smartphone, it’s still impressive to this day since very few handsets can match its blinding detail – which is attributed with its high resolution. Finally, the oleophobic coating on both glass surfaces allow for a smooth and accurate tracking of your finger – while at the same time, it continues to make the handset look clean at all times with a simple wipe.

The Retina Display of the Verizon iPhone 4 - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The Retina Display of the Verizon iPhone 4 - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The Retina Display of the Verizon iPhone 4 - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The Retina Display of the Verizon iPhone 4 - Verizon iPhone 4 Review

The Retina Display of the Verizon iPhone 4


Below its touchscreen, we find the same old springy home button that’s been improved with each design, but of course, it’s just about perfect with this one. Conversely, we find the earpiece and 0.3-megapixel front-facing camera directly above the display – with the proximity and light sensors perched inconspicuously close-by.

Home button - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
Front-facing camera - Verizon iPhone 4 Review

Home button

Front-facing camera


On the left edge of the iPhone 4, we find its separated volume buttons that are circle in shape, protrude enough for a distinguishable feel, and offers that usual tactile response when pressed. And if you plan on using a case that fits the AT&T iPhone 4, you’ll be sad to know that it’s not compatible with this one because the vibrate switch has been moved just a tiny bit up.

Looking at the bottom side, we find the microphone, speakerphone, and proprietary 30-pin connector port that charges and syncs the handset. Turning it around to the top edge, you’ll locate its 3.5mm headset jack, noise cancellation microphone, and a reasonably sized power button that’s springy and raised from the surface to offer a fantastic feel.

The sides of the Verizon iPhone 4 - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The sides of the Verizon iPhone 4 - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The sides of the Verizon iPhone 4 - Verizon iPhone 4 Review

The sides of the Verizon iPhone 4


Finally, the 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with an LED flash are located towards the upper left corner on the back side of the phone with the prominent Apple logo stamped on at the middle. As much as people still complain to this day, the Verizon iPhone 4  contains an unremovable battery that requires you to send it away from replacement.

The 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with a LED flash is located on the back - Verizon iPhone 4 Review
The 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with a LED flash is located on the back - Verizon iPhone 4 Review

The 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with a LED flash is located on the back



Verizon iPhone 4 360-degree View:



25 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 11 Feb 2011, 07:21 3

1. Tre-Nitty (Posts: 460; Member since: 16 Nov 2010)


So if it has all those shortcomings how does it get a 9? I like Apple btw but i'm just curious.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 09:31 6

5. KingK (unregistered)


Because its an iphone. *roll eyes*

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 07:46 2

2. guest (unregistered)


@ Tre-Nitty, do you realize that this is phonearena.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 08:07 2

3. tedkord (Posts: 3919; Member since: 17 Jun 2009)


Seriously. If it didn't even power up, that would only knock it down to an 8.75 on Phone Arena.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 08:15 2

4. guest (unregistered)


lol!

"This is PA, now bow to the iPhone."

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 09:50 4

6. roldefol (Posts: 2855; Member since: 28 Jan 2011)


Hate all you want, it's still a great phone. Just like the HTC Incredible (9), Droid 2 (8.5) and Droid X (9.5) are great phones.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 12:47

10. tedkord (Posts: 3919; Member since: 17 Jun 2009)


No doubt. It was a revolutionary device when it launched. Since then. all Apple has improved is the shininess. It took years just to get cut/paste and MMS.

It's a very pretty phone, and very smooth. However, there was a time when Mac's were very pretty and smooth, especially in comparison to PC's. They both followed the same path as iOS and Android today, and PC's blew past Macs in both sales and speed. (Speed so much that Apple had to switch to Intel x86 processors, as they were getting crushed in benchmarks so badly).

Buy an iMac today, the best vid card you can get is an ATI HD5750. The best processor is a core i7 @ 2.9GHz - you can't get Sandy Bridge. And that's $1900. For that price I can get a PC that would smoke it, and have some left over.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 10:24 1

7. Gawain (Posts: 304; Member since: 15 Apr 2010)


I think the iPhone line has consistently presented impressive hardware and performance for everything it does. No question. However, it is a 4 year old UI. After seeing what's coming down the line from HP webOS and possibly some impressive stuff from RIM, I am not in a rush to acquire anything right now.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 10:49

8. MobileMonkey (Posts: 5; Member since: 10 Jan 2011)


The shortcomings affect all Verizon handsets, except the global roaming which is only found in a few phones, so I don't think it's necessary to dock points on the iPhone specifically.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 11:43 3

9. tbacba (Posts: 56; Member since: 31 Mar 2010)


“It... radiates with a fantastic look”
“its body resonates”
“perfectly sized to accommodate every hand size”
“it screams superb clarity”
“beating profusely at the core”

Whew, I was expecting a phone review. Didn’t realize I had stumbled onto a porn site.
Guess I'll go have a cigarette...

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 13:55

11. KingOfPhones (Posts: 41; Member since: 04 May 2008)


you people are so annoying its scary. Just because the iPhone gets a review you have to freak out. Let people get what they want and stop judging. I swear I cant tell which is worse Apple or Android fanboys. They both suck to much.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 14:46

13. bucky (Posts: 1222; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


+100 i have been saying that for a while...besides, the whole front page is android with all the new stuff going on from google.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 14:08 1

12. androlover1 (unregistered)


FAIL on using the ATT stock photo for the first page side by side comparison, the verizon one should have an antenna line above the ringer switch...classic phone arena

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 15:08

14. Kjayhawk (Posts: 273; Member since: 07 Oct 2010)


I think this was a fair score. I mean really they can't give it less of a score, its the same phone as AT&T So it deserves the same score.

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 17:45

15. ronjon400 (Posts: 1; Member since: 05 Feb 2011)


if i owned Google.....i sure as hell wouldn't be sharing my map feature with apple. let them go develop their own. right?

posted on 11 Feb 2011, 19:09

16. Charizard (unregistered)


with all those iphones out there, googles probably making a killing just from this app from apple.

plus Google will know where all iphone users are! thats priceless.

posted on 12 Feb 2011, 00:20

17. jherz6 (Posts: 215; Member since: 23 May 2008)


Im sorry ladies and gentlemen but, the iphone was not worth the wait. Its slow toooo small and truly nothing special. A few years ago I played with one at a local Apple store, and with some very small differences its the same.

posted on 12 Feb 2011, 02:40

18. cheetah2k (Posts: 737; Member since: 16 Jan 2011)


How does a phone that still suffers from the antenna gate "death grip" get a 9?

Rigged much?

posted on 12 Feb 2011, 06:46

19. Big Mistake (unregistered)


So I decided to make the move to the VZW iPhone. Picked up the iPhone Thursday mid morning. Had a Samsung Fascinate and wasn't out of contract.....but a buddy of mine who made the move from AT&T iPhone to VZW's iPhone convinced me it was worth it. Had to pay full retail: $749, but they gave me a $200 credit for being an existing customer and another $150 for my Fascinate as a trade in, so I only paid a $100 over what I should have..not that bad of a deal. I was supposed to send in my Fascinate once I received a mail in envelope from VZW, but they said they would do it for me as an "extra special customer" I get the iPhone home and I must be dropping 1 out of 4 or 5 calls. My Fascinate (or any of my previous VZW devices) never ever dropped calls like this, especially in my home where I've been using their service for years. Then I read this:

http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/news/comments/verizon-iphone-4-antenna-problems-persist-video/

You have got to be kidding me!?!?!.....I thought this issue was fixxed?? Didn't Verizon and Apple state they moved the volume rocker in order to fix the antennagate issue?....well, it didn't work, or was it just to sell more bumpers to ATT customers makin the move? I called Verizon and they told me that all returns/repairs must be processed through Apple...they won't even look at it? Wish I had my Fascinate back right now....and the bigger screen makes a huge difference.

posted on 04 Mar 2011, 03:21

20. ilovevzw (unregistered)


You forgot to add in your review a key differentiator between the At&t and Verizon iphone 4. The Verizon iphone 4 can be used as a mobile hotspot to connect up to five devices whereas the At&t version cannot. That fact alone is impressive enough for me :-)

posted on 02 Jul 2011, 01:29

22. vijayreddy (unregistered)


i like it so much
compare to old versions
it's good for camera , so slim &extrordinary features in this phone

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 21:01

23. remahuniz (unregistered)


Personal telephones seem to be everything but these days. They surf the Internet, perform banking tasks, track our purchases, and even take photographs. For some people, the one thing they don't really do with their phone is make voice calls. So what are all these people doing? If these things are incredibly popular without performing their ostensible function, what is going on? Ask a mobile app development company. Mobile app development companies at Free App Quotes.com.

posted on 09 Sep 2011, 02:00

24. Remah muniz (unregistered)


The iPhone is turning day by day smarter and smarter because of the iPhone applications that can be directly downloaded from the iTunes store. Among the list of applications there some applications that can help web designer to do his work easily and quickly. For additional information, you can visit a really good iphone development company connection website over the internet.

posted on 28 Sep 2011, 02:51

25. App Developer (unregistered)


iPhone Application Development is growing rapidly. Many iPhone development companies are beginning to thrive worldwide and they are developing some very innovative iPhone Applications.

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 02:02

26. GeekMovement (Posts: 1497; Member since: 09 Sep 2011)


The design of this device is outstanding.
The user interface of this device is boring.
The screen of this device is now very small.
The screen resolution of this device is good.
The fluidity of this device is fantastic.
I hated iPhones until this came out and now I think it looks pretty good although I still prefer android over it. Perhaps my mind will change when iPhone 5 comes out? Android still has an amazing selection of phones coming out too though...

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.5 inches, 640 x 960 pixels (326 ppi) IPS LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Apple A4, Single core, 1000 MHz, ARM Cortex-A8 processor
512 MB RAM
Size4.54 x 2.31 x 0.37 inches
(115.2 x 58.6 x 9.3 mm)
4.83 oz  (137 g)
Battery1420 mAh, 7 hours talk time

Latest stories