x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
This review has been updated on 29.03.2010.

This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile's 1700MHz 3G band, and with AT&T USA without 3G. The
American version supports AT&T's 3G network.

Introduction:


Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
Some high-tech cell phone models get the same attention as movie stars and the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 makes for an illustrative example. The device has haunted our news section on a weekly basis since the first time we caught wind of it last summer. Some of you that do not share our excitement about cell phones may wonder why this... and here is the answer:

The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 is the first Android device of the manufacturer and the operating system itself has been causing quite a stir in the cell phone world in the last year. The handset comes with downright monstrous hardware features and as of today, there is simply no other cell phone based on the same platform to rival the X10 and we hardly need to say anything other than “4-inch screen, 1GHz Snapdragon processor and 8.1-megapixel camera”, although Timescape and Mediascape add a truly unique touch to the interface personalization.

We are beginning our review of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 in high spirits and with sky-rocketing expectations. Despite the almost irresistible desire to tear the box open the minute we got it in our hands, we took time to notice it does remind of boxes that handsets like the HTC HD2 and HTC Hero come in. In other words: small, white and elongated. This does not come as a surprise really, because the current trend dictates that manufacturers should use the least amount of materials in order to make boxes as ecologically-friendly as possible. So, what´s inside?

-    Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
-    8GB microSD card
-    Headphones
-    Wall charger
-    USB cable (plugs into the charger)
-    User guide

Just like most cell phones these days, the Xperia X10 comes without a carrying pouch. The boxed headset is actually the MH500 that happens to be one of the best pairs that can be found with Sony Ericsson devices these days (we first saw it with the Xperia X2).


Design:

If we have to describe the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 in just one word, it would be “BIG”. In two words – „VERY BIG”. In three... Ok, let´s just not run to extremes here, shall we? It´s only logical the handset is on the bulky side, given the huge, 4-inch display it integrates. Some people would probably be more than happy to live with the massive overall size of the Sony Ericsson X10, but we need to point out this is not a cell phone you can use with one hand. Similarly to the HTC HD2 that is a tad wider actually, you will not be able to reach the farthest parts of the screen with your thumb if holding it in one hand. Fortunately, the back is slightly curved and the X10 fits well in hand. The weight is properly balanced, meaning the cell phone is not overly hefty and discomforting to carry around in your pocket, although you will be aware of its presence at all times.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 fits well in hand - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 fits well in hand - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 fits well in hand - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 fits well in hand


Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review

You can compare the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Next to HTC HD2 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
Next to HTC HD2 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review

Next to HTC HD2



Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
Well, we have already found out the 4-inch display equates to a bulky size, but what else does it bring? For one, good image quality, that´s for sure. It features native resolution of 480x854 pixels, but the rather modest, for a device that rolls out in 2010, 65k color support. The screen utilizes TFT technology and its colors are saturated, especially the dominating blue. Still, we cannot say the overall image quality is as impressive as what the Samsung Wave S8500 and its Super AMOLED screen delivers. The display remains usable in direct sunlight, which is great news indeed, but we cannot say it´s something breath-taking really. By the way, the screen comes without oleophobic coating, meaning it can get dirty quite easily.

The capacitive screen sports great sensitivity and is not troublesome to use at all. Still, we need to point out that it doesn’t support multitouch, although this is a software restriction that can be removed later on. There is a small LED indicator above the screen that notifies you of various events – blinks at received messages and glows steadily when you charge the device. UPDATE: Sony Ericsson explained that the lack of multitouch is a hardware issue. This means that you won't be able to get multitouch support by installing additional software.

The hardware buttons on the front side allow you to quickly access the main menu, go to the home screen or get a step back in menus. All told, they are large enough and feature pleasing travel. There are small light indicators in between that help you locate the buttons in the dark. Due to the huge overall size of the handset, you may find it hard to press these with your thumb when holding the X10 in one hand. We didn’t encounter any issues relating to the buttons on either side, i.e. the volume rocker, camera shutter and power on/off keys, but they are relatively rarely used anyway.

The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 can be charged and connected to a PC via normal microUSB port. It´s located on the top side and is well-hidden under a handy, plastic flap. The 3.5mm jack is right next to it and its presence is probably great news for everyone who dislikes Sony Ericsson earphones.


The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review

The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10



All told, the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 is a well made cell phone with great build quality. The plastics it´s made from appears proper and robust. The chrome framing is an enjoyable counterpoint and lends color to the overall design. Those of you with keen interest in the exact impression they make will be happy to find out that the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 will indeed attract the attention of people around you... Not noticing the X10 is like failing to see Godzilla crunching a snack at table next to you. It´s just that handsets with such enormous displays are still scarcer than chicken teeth. The fact they are not extremely comfortable to use on a daily basis is... another matter. Perhaps this is why the manufacturer has created the Xperia X10 mini and X10 mini pro.


Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 360 Degrees View:


25 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55 1

1. Jyakotu (Posts: 813; Member since: 12 Dec 2008)


I never really understand why reviewers take off points for Android phones for shipping with outdated software. This is common with most Android phones nowadays anyway. And if I'm not mistaken, this one can be upgraded.

posted on 26 Mar 2010, 10:40

2. Dddroid (Posts: 9; Member since: 30 Dec 2009)


Seriously this interface is jut ugly

posted on 26 Mar 2010, 11:33

3. uk786 (Posts: 47; Member since: 30 Dec 2009)


+1 makes you feel "Blue"

posted on 26 Mar 2010, 15:06

4. JASON666 (Posts: 20; Member since: 31 Oct 2009)


So basically this phone needs OS upgrade BADLY.... or just go to a carrier faster.

posted on 26 Mar 2010, 15:08

5. littlejohno (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Mar 2010)


Iphone 3 Gs at the mo have been waiting for this to upgrade not so sure now but always liked sony not had one for a longtime though?????

posted on 26 Mar 2010, 17:08

6. adixxx (Posts: 18; Member since: 26 Jan 2010)


will prefer HTC Desire instead of this. price is too much, plus the outdated software is a no-no. people always want to be updated, and this having 1.6, i think Sony will pay for their delay.

posted on 27 Mar 2010, 03:34

7. dust (Posts: 1; Member since: 27 Mar 2010)


I tried sms and mail in landscape mode on x10. QWERTY worked fine for me.

posted on 27 Mar 2010, 09:31

8. freakatronic (Posts: 9; Member since: 20 Mar 2010)


At least the X10 performs splendid with such a great display! Did you people read about the Nexus One's resolution @ BoyGeniusReport? Apparently, it's not actually 480 x 800... You can go tohttp://www.boygeniusreport.com/2010/03/26/google-nexus-one-display-actually-not-800x480-resolution/

posted on 27 Mar 2010, 11:01

9. yugam11 (Posts: 1; Member since: 27 Mar 2010)


why isnt the video working??????????? IT IS PUTTING ME OFF THIS SITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted on 28 Mar 2010, 06:52

10. chunky1x (Posts: 121; Member since: 28 Mar 2010)


Out dated software and crappy low light photos are the major flaws . However everything else is good and personally I want it. Even with software flaws it can still put a punch to its rivals.

posted on 28 Mar 2010, 06:53

11. chunky1x (Posts: 121; Member since: 28 Mar 2010)


Why is the video not working?

posted on 29 Mar 2010, 01:47

12. JuanNizzle (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Mar 2010)


if you shoot over to gizmodo.com you'll see they have an interview confirming that the X10 will launch in the U.S. with Android 2.1 not only this but almost all lag problems have been solved. Kinda makes you feel like allowing these websites to do preemptive reviews was quite a foolish idea since all negatives seemed to have been fixed. ****note**** it launched in japan a week or 2 ago with Android 2.1, How long ago did they mail these review units? P.S. this phones only competition seems to be the HTC Evo. I will get this over the Evo since i don't trust 4G... especially Wimax.

posted on 31 Mar 2010, 13:04

13. arash84v (Posts: 28; Member since: 18 Nov 2009)


I have 2 Questions Do you get the Android Market Place or we are stuck with SonyEricsson's Market place for Applications??? Does it automatically get the Picture Profile Facebook for the Address Book? or we have to manually do it? In how much time will it take for them to switch the X10 to Android 2.1??? and there will be no Multi touch for picture or browser like Pinch to Zoom??? Please help me.I'm probably going to buy it.

posted on 25 Apr 2010, 16:34

14. pjt (Posts: 1; Member since: 25 Apr 2010)


this is a dreadfull phone. Touchscreen is highly unresponsive and needs cleaning after every use. cant synch with outlook express. . Camera doesnt have a flash and is very sensitive to movement. battery life is about three to four hours in standby, if you want 3g on so you can get pics messages then it will keep connecting to mobile internet and cost a fortune, qwerty keyboard is inaccurate and predictive text is really not predictive at all. And the sound quality is appaling and you cant assign mp3 as ringtones. Do not get one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted on 10 Jan 2011, 15:07

21. Kullgan (unregistered)


@ pjt, what you said about connecting and using mobile internet on its own is scary, should have an option to ask before connecting, have to check this.

I dont agree with you about not able to put mp3 as ringtone...you just have to select / play the mp3 in mediascap and press one of the 3 buttons underneath the screen...the first one, you will see 4 option including "set as ringtone". On android 2.1 though.

posted on 21 May 2010, 11:04

15. zbih (unregistered)


you have rated Camera with quite nice number like 9 .. but there is my question .. SE Satio has 8,5, so with your opinion has X10 better camera than Satio?

posted on 16 Aug 2010, 17:07

16. frankinsteen (unregistered)


What's so great about this phone? Droid X, Droid Incredible, Droid 2, Captivate, Evo, all blow this thing out of the water.

posted on 06 Sep 2010, 02:07

17. Ankur Narwania (unregistered)


Apart from all the bugs it has,the worst part is this phone is coming with faulty earphones/mics.Most of the phones which are getting sold are coming up with the same problems and the fault is still not getting removed even after taking the handset to the service centres. By this time now,sony should know this but still its not recalling its products back which clearly shows how much concern it has for its users unlike tata,toyota,honda which recalled their products.I have even submitted my complaint to their site but of no use.I would suggest every 1 to refrain from purcahsing such handset which will cost you every single penny from your pocket and still fails to provide basic utility of a phone ie clear communication which could be better handled by even a chineese handset. Ankur Narwania 09738385489

posted on 28 Dec 2010, 14:03

19. Jason_south_africa (unregistered)


Got the x10 today. Not a bad phone overall, but as someone who doesn't follow phone trends I wasn't aware of some limitations in android as opposed to windows mobile. The biggest surprise for me was the apparent lack of shell integration for any filetypes other than .zip and .html

The phone appears not to be able to see anything other than those 2 file types - odd. I eventually gave up trying to browse to pics & vids I'd just taken by using the gui, seems you have to use the built in media player... Me, I like to be able to move my files, or more importantly I want to control where they're saved, and chuck a shortcut onto my desktop/home screen

qwerty functions for MMS & SMS in both landscape & portrait BUT I can't retrive contacts for either SMS or MMS when in landscape i.e. I have to rotate the phone to portrait before it'll find the contact's name I'm typing into the To: field

The killer for me of course is the qwerty itself, in either portrait or landscape flavor. when I touch "o" it's because I want "o" I don't want "r" or "space" likewise when I hit "r" I don't want the phone to give me an "enter" which is the same sometimes as a "send"

I'd also really have liked the option to turn off the frankly very useless "helpfully suggesting the word I think you're trying to type" feature which makes the text field jump up and down. It wouldn't be so bad if the word I touched on could be selected, as opposed to a different word, elsewhere in the list, I might find a use for the feature, that is of course assuming the phone could speak any of the other 11 official languages in South Africa besides english - strangely my home language and the one I use the least LOL

And why oh why in gods name would anyone put the backspace near the bottom and send near the top *shakes head* everyone's pinky knows where backspace is, why's send got to be there??

Oh well it helped me alleviate boredom at work today, but it's going back tomorrow. iphone4 maybe...?

posted on 10 Jan 2011, 15:15

22. Kullgan (unregistered)


You can turn off the [frankly very useless "helpfully suggesting the word I think you're trying to type" feature which makes the text field jump up and down0 :)

its quite simple, when you are typing a message..press the key between the dot and the enter key...you will get the "basic settings" just navigate downwards and turn off the "predict next work". Android 2.1 though

posted on 10 Jan 2011, 15:18

23. Kullgan (unregistered)


"Predic next word"*

posted on 10 Jan 2011, 15:06

20. Kullgan (unregistered)


Well, been 3 days since i got my phone...overall im happy with it....some of the main issue for me are the battery...die too quickly but ive read that this problem can be solve easily, still have to figure out how.

Next issue is the wifi range / connectivity...my brother with his HD2 has a better range...i dont get connection when im outside on the balcony and he does, its like 10m away from my wireless netgear. Sometimes wifi even show disconnected even when in the settings netgear shows excellent status, what i have to do is switch off and on again phone or my netgear router (trying to reconnect it through settings doesnt work). My router works fine and has a good range. If i can fix these issue ill be very happy :)

posted on 14 Jul 2011, 14:56

24. Will fC (unregistered)


Battery life sucks!!!!!! Sony customer service sucks!!!!!!
Got my x10 within 1 year and couldn't charge the battery!! Send back to sony and they said liquid damage and can't fix!!!! Swear to god my x10 never touch any kind of liquid!! I checked via internet and I found out lots of people have the same charging problem. People can get a new one back in the US but in Canada it’s not even under warranty!!!! They want us to buy a new one!!!!!!!!
I will never buy any Sony Ericsson products in the future!! And I will not recommend this brand to anyone!!!!!!

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 11:31

25. Will fC (unregistered)


Battery life sucks!!!!!! Sony customer service sucks!!!!!!
Got my x10 within 1 year and couldn’t charge the battery!! Send back to sony and they said liquid damage and can’t fix!!!! Swear to god my x10 never touch any kind of liquid!!
I checked via internet and I found out lots of people have the same charging problem.
I required for photo proof and they keep avoiding my phone calls, I have been dealing with them for 2 months and talked to 5 advisors and 2 supervisors and they just keep saying ''i will call you back within 24 hrs'' but actually they never call me back!!
People can get a new one back in the US but in Canada it’s not even under warranty!!!! They want us to buy a new one!!!!!!!!
I will never buy any Sony Ericsson products in the future!! And I will not recommend this brand to anyone!!!!!!

posted on 19 Sep 2011, 00:15

26. Sc32 (unregistered)


To Will fC you got the battery wet I am sure of it ever been out side when it was raining? Ever had the phone in the bathroom when showering? E.t.c it is called humidity. it does not mean you sank it in the pond. So before you go ripping on Sony buy a motorola and see how that works for you I work for a major cell phone company and Sony Is the least returned phones.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10

OS: Android 2.3.3 2.1 1.6
view full specs
Display4.0 inches, 480 x 854 pixels (245 ppi) TFT
Camera8.1 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 QSD8250, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
256 MB RAM
Size4.69 x 2.48 x 0.51 inches
(119 x 63 x 13 mm)
4.76 oz  (135 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 10 hours talk time

Latest stories