x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Acer CloudMobile Review

Posted: , by Nick T.

Tags:

Go to page
Acer CloudMobile Review
Introduction:

At long last, the Acer CloudMobile has arrived at our office, waiting to be subjected to our thorough review treatment. For those who have forgotten, this smartphone was announced right before MWC 2012 kicked off, or about 7 months ago. Back then, we got the chance to play with it for a while, and we were quite satisfied with what Acer had crafted – a pretty 4.3-incher with a potent processor, stunning display, and a built-in cloud service called AcerCloud. But after all that time, would the smartphone be competitive on the market now that other companies have identical offerings at a similar price point? Let's find out!

Acer CloudMobile Review
Acer CloudMobile Review
The box contains:

  • Wired stereo headset
  • Wall charger
  • Power outlet plug converter (market dependent)
  • microUSB cable
  • Product warranty information and quick start guide

Design:

Good job, Acer! You've managed to deliver a stylish smartphone that does not need to be the lightest, the thinnest, or the blingiest in the world in order to grab one's attention. Glass, metal, and plastic (not the dreadfully cheap kind, thank heavens) have been fused together creating a solid, high-quality device that is a pleasure to both hold and look at. But the good stuff does not end here.

The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at - Acer CloudMobile Review
The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at - Acer CloudMobile Review
The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at - Acer CloudMobile Review

The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at


Acer CloudMobile Review

You can compare the Acer CloudMobile with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The Acer CloudMobile has a textured, soft plastic back cover that is very resistant to fingerprints and feels nice to the touch, not to mention that it provides plenty of grip. The metal-made physical keys – the lock key on top and the volume rocker on the right side are well exposed and respond with an excellent click when pressed.

Volume rocker (right) - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review
microUSB port (left) - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review
3.5mm jack and power key (top) - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review
Bottom edge - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review

Volume rocker (right)

microUSB port (left)

3.5mm jack and power key (top)

Bottom edge

The sides of the Acer CloudMobile


With a screen of this caliber, the Acer CloudMobile definitely isn't a handset that would fit in palms of lesser size, but we find its dimensions quite easy to get used to. Overall, it is about as big as a Samsung Galaxy S II or an LG Optimus L7 – chances are that once you get accustomed to its proportions, you won't have much troubles using it with a single thumb most of the time.

Back - Acer CloudMobile Review
Rear camera - Acer CloudMobile Review
Loudspeaker - Acer CloudMobile Review
Battery compartment - Acer CloudMobile Review

Back

Rear camera

Loudspeaker

Battery compartment



Display:

Acer CloudMobile Review
As you would expect from an IPS-LCD panel with HD resolution (720 by 1280 pixels), the screen on the Acer CloudMobile looks simply awesome. So many pixels have been packed across 4.3 inches of display real estate that graphics look incredibly smooth and detailed, while even the smallest of fonts can be read easily. Moreover, we are delighted to see that the screen delivers accurate colors that don't get distorted much when viewed at an angle. What we are a bit underwhelmed by, however, is that the brightness output of the display isn't sufficient to ensure comfortable use under direct sunlight.

23 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 04 Oct 2012, 08:03 2

1. kshell1 (Posts: 1143; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)


Could been a wonderful phone if it would have been released earlier and had more memory

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 08:20 4

2. brock8687 (Posts: 10; Member since: 03 Oct 2012)


a lot of drawbacks for my liking and no real USP .... only plus i find is the design.... yet nothing u can't get at that price.... with the more established sony's and the sammy's and the htc's knocking at the door.....

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 08:29 3

3. loken (Posts: 462; Member since: 09 May 2012)


this gets 7.5.. sony gets 7?? sony haters..

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 09:06 4

5. dil2abu (Posts: 192; Member since: 09 Nov 2011)


I agree with you.. Even in Design wise Xperia T/TX looks awesome than this.. iPhonearena Ratings sucks..

Sony deserves more than they get from iPhonearena..

iPhone 5 got 9.5.. :O

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 13:02 4

10. kshell1 (Posts: 1143; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)


ip5 got a 9

posted on 05 Oct 2012, 14:29 3

15. -box- (Posts: 3797; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


...and deserved an 8-8.5 at best

posted on 15 Oct 2012, 10:49

18. robcar (Posts: 78; Member since: 18 Jan 2011)


This site is not in the center of its assessments. Therefore I always will discard this site.

GSMarena is much more central in their assessments and fair, and thy can

But this phone seems very good.

posted on 23 Jan 2013, 10:46

22. alvanyap (Posts: 2; Member since: 23 Jan 2013)


bear in mind that this phone is a lot cheaper compare with xperia T, so why wouldn't it get a better score when it have same performance & lower price tag?

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 12:18 3

8. toondewachter (Posts: 52; Member since: 24 Jan 2012)


May I remind you of the fact that the Sony Xperia T actually got 8? Which is not that bad at all, is it?

And secondly: this phone will be for sale for €289.99 here in Belgium, while the Xperia T goes for €519... Now I like Sony, but this is an enormous price difference. So there might be a few drawbacks, but none of them are deal breakers to me.

The camera's quality seems to be ok, not wow, but ok.
The music player is replaceable: who is going to listen to music from the cloud anyway?
Sony's call quality was given very bad reviews by numerous reviewers on the web. I suppose that a loud earpiece and some artificial voices is at least evenly good.

Considering the price point, I think this phone is a winner!

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 18:59 3

12. rusticguy (Posts: 2828; Member since: 11 Aug 2012)


If Xperia Arc /Arc S was produced by Apple i am sure Acer cloud would be in trouble for "Tarde Dress" theft.

For a fair review of a phone i always look at gsmarena as they are less biased in my opinion.

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 09:04 6

4. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


And months ago when phonearena came out with a preview news of this phone, a lot said its ugly.. well looky here! its sexy...

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 09:34 3

6. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 3012; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Oh man...i was expecting much better. As i went from page 1-4, my interest for the phone went 'Wow-good-ok-ouch'!

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 10:30 4

7. SleepingOz (unregistered)


Same for me, I was planning to get this as my secondary phone but not anymore. Still a sexy device though.

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 12:42 1

9. wolstenbeast (Posts: 25; Member since: 21 Sep 2012)


For a new move into phones not bad at all!
7.5 seemed kind of harsh given Acer Cloud is an additional free function, not one you have to use, say like none expandable memory, lemming maps, purple pictures, dents and scratches or none removable battery. Points to the above mentioned 9.5.

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 17:28

11. flexile (Posts: 72; Member since: 03 Jun 2012)


Is this phone cheap? If so, a 7.5 is pretty harsh. I'll have to consider this phone for my next buy...it will be either Xperia V or Acer CM. I honestly love the design of this one. I'll never use cloud services and I can download a music player from the Play Store.

posted on 23 Jan 2013, 10:47

23. alvanyap (Posts: 2; Member since: 23 Jan 2013)


it is cheap compare to it's competitive like what acer phone used to be :)

posted on 05 Oct 2012, 02:45

13. pankajgupta (Posts: 59; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)


looks like Xperia Neo??

an year behind Sony ? :)

posted on 08 Oct 2012, 23:30

17. jbn23 (Posts: 1; Member since: 08 Oct 2012)


i also noticed that when it was first announced..neo is sexy and acer adapts that design..i guess:)

posted on 15 Oct 2012, 10:59

19. robcar (Posts: 78; Member since: 18 Jan 2011)


Looks much much better then Neo...

posted on 19 Oct 2012, 16:27

20. f.begbie (Posts: 2; Member since: 19 Oct 2012)


dont be stupid! Look at the acer A1 Liquid with this very same design a lot before even sony started to get interested in android business.

posted on 05 Oct 2012, 03:18

14. Plaisir009 (Posts: 4; Member since: 28 Jun 2012)


Please tell me there is a YouTube review of this phone?

posted on 06 Oct 2012, 10:13

16. flexile (Posts: 72; Member since: 03 Jun 2012)


Yes, it should be on the review or look on their channel.

posted on 19 Oct 2012, 16:37 1

21. f.begbie (Posts: 2; Member since: 19 Oct 2012)


im not sure what is your problem with the phone, but best screen for 4,3 size, best available 2 core chipset on board, nice looking and ergonomic.
The camer could have been better but the new sony T with the 13Mpx camera cannot make a real difference.

An i really don't understand why should anyone care about the preinstalled apps. And why does it important in a review that the music app is not the best since almost noone use stock apps. Its like reviewin a car by it's color...

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Acer CloudMobile

Acer CloudMobile

OS: Android 4.1.2 4.0.4
view full specs
Display4.3 inches, 720 x 1280 pixels (342 ppi) IPS LCD
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Plus MSM8260A, Dual core, 1500 MHz, Krait processor
1024 MB RAM
Size5.00 x 2.59 x 0.39 inches
(127 x 65.8 x 9.9 mm)
4.41 oz  (125 g)
Battery1460 mAh, 6.5 hours talk time

Latest stories