x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia neo V User Reviews

8.4 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage8.5/10
UI speed7.8/10
Camera8.1/10
Multimedia9.1/10
Internet9.4/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery7.9/10
Reception8.8/10
Display8.9/10
Build quality8.4/10
Text input8.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ashishbhagta
posted on 03 May 2013, 11:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 May 2013)

3

doesn't have good resale value.wastage of money

ashishbhagta has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

low quality of video,camera.it gets hang mobile.in which no video calling and not good shape. Doesn't have good resale value. wastage of money for this mobile. It is not good looking phone.it gets very heated.battery backup is very low.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 3/10
Display 3/10
Battery 2/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

taheen
posted on 24 Apr 2013, 03:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Apr 2013)

9

it was ok before update

taheen has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

very slow after updating to android 4.x - obviously not enough RAM. Was ok on Android 2.3.x - but no official way to revert back to it, so thumbs down for Sony Support. Duh!! Get better phone with more RAM

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • good phone overall

Cons

  • not enought RAM to run Android 4.x

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jorem04
posted on 03 Dec 2012, 18:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Dec 2012)

8

Xperia Neo V with ICS

jorem04 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

keeps on lagging when playing Apps and when going back to the home screen it takes 3-4 seconds for the apps to appear again. Takes time to shoot pictures, specially on night mode and is blurry sometimes. UI is sometimes slow and unresponsive, specially when playing HD applications.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10 Takes time to take a picture. Specially on night mode, blurry sometimes
UI speed 4/10 keeps on lagging and booting up. UI is quite slow
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10 When on 3G/HSDPA battery drains fast only for 5-6 hours

Pros

  • Nice Display
  • Sleek design

Cons

  • Slow UI and Camera

jorem04 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

skyguy7567
posted on 17 Nov 2012, 01:56 (Posts: 148; Member since: 17 Nov 2012)

9

Fine phone!

skyguy7567 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I am a college (high school in US) or (secondary school) student. It's my first smartphone. I use non-touchscreen phones before. I would prefer this over the Ace 2. Sony (Ericsson) phones are always sweet. Great graphics, camera is good (without zoom) front facing cam THE BEST, but its processor is a bit slow for a 1G one. Glitches in bad piggies or larger games. Sometimes it takes 5-6 seconds to load the home screen after heavy play. (Normal about 2-3 secs which is ok). The phone gets hot after use (record at 45 Degrees) but some of my classmates told me that their phones (some Samsung and Xperia mini) that after they used it heavily and felt their fingers burning! I have found that when I type stuff horizontally, (for example, whatsapp) I could not see the chats above like iPhone. I have concerns about the battery (pls see 'battery' in the ratings part for details)

Build quality 9/10 Comfortable to hold
Reception 9/10 Good data receiver
Call quality 10/10 GREAT CALLS!
Internet 10/10 Seems well, but my network provider is a cheap one
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10 Not the best one especially when you zoom in. Video the same, even though it has a 720 HD reecording
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10 This is a phone for ordinary people. I am a College (High school in the US) (or secondary school) student and fits for me. Not too expensive but mind the camera!
Text input 9/10 Good, fast input but I would recommend turning off the word auto-correction (it turned FRED into DRESS). You can only see the text column when typing horizontally, not the stuff above it like iPhone.
Display 10/10 Good display for this price.
Battery 8/10 Battery doesn't last too long. I installed an app about battery use and it says when fully charged, you can only browse 3G for 5 hours. But strangely, you can listen to music for a long long time...

Pros

  • Good display
  • Good text input
  • Good calls
  • Browser fast (maximum download speed fast)
  • In my opinion, BETTER THAN ACE 2

Cons

  • Games like bad piggies and angry birds can run slowly
  • Processor not so fast, most of the times it needs about 5-6 seconds to load everything on my home screen after use
  • Camera (when zoomed)
  • Only has 300 MB internal memory
  • Thick phone (more than 1cm but surprisingly not too heavy)
  • Could have more battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alans
posted on 17 Oct 2012, 03:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Oct 2012)

9

Xperia Neo V soft ware problems

alans has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have had two replacement Xeperia Neo V phones in just under 12 months and the latest has just arrived and stil has the same problems as before.
First problem was the screen would not unlock even after removing the battery and rebooting system.
I tried reloading latest software using Sony PC Companion very easy to use and should have cured the problem.
It sorted the locked up problem but created others.
The camera would not work it says no memory source and would not take a picture.
The camera fault may get fixed by Vodafone are sending me a sd memory card FOC but if my blue tooth will not work then its going back again.
Second fault it would not connect to blue tooth on my car.
Such simple tasks but its not going to connect after repeatly trying.
All other phone features have been working great and if these little niggles get fixed then it is a great phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Great looking phone lots of features

Cons

  • Has a few software problems

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

phonemaniacguy
posted on 01 Oct 2012, 04:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Oct 2012)

9

well its a AWESOME phone

phonemaniacguy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i have been using it since 6 months and this phone has been satisfying my need for the time in a manner that i am satisfied.This phone is a must have.I most of the time stick to the neo v as it is much more compatible and easy to carry around.The phone has a great display but the problem is that the display lowers when the sun falls over it.
Overall this phone is a must have.

Build quality 10/10 built to perfection. a great body design and its hard since it had fallen a lot and not even a scratch :)
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 can hear every thing mike is very clear
Internet 9/10 well force closes some time when on google ect
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 high quality cam good for 5 mp and also thanks to the sony bravia engine much more clearer pics are their
UI speed 10/10 fast response considering i have 12GB full of games :)
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10 key board is small so some time hard when chatting
Display 9/10 its some times black when is nearer to the sun that's why i gave -1 rating
Battery 8/10 since i am a gamer it runs out quick

Pros

  • has fast 1.0 ghz processor i love
  • good touch system
  • many apps are available
  • can upgrade to android I.S

Cons

  • some apps dont work
  • lags some times(not all the time)
  • some time force closes for no reason

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

venat0r
posted on 15 Sep 2012, 14:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Sep 2012)

7

neo v

venat0r has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Neo V is good for this its price. It have hdmi connection. I've tested and is quite nice feature. This phone have too host usb so you can with special cabel (eg nokia CA-157) connect external mouse and keyboard but if you want connect gamepad you will need usb host with external power supply. I've tested logitech chillstream and xbox360 game-pad and it awesome combined those things with emulation software like fpse.
One of the things you must buy with for this phone is silicon cover without it i dosent lie good in the hands.

Neo v is gaming phone its cheap and have good performance.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10 I had before omnia i900 and camera was better.
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • cpu and gpu
  • price

Cons

  • camera
  • battery
  • build quality -> cover

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

spongewirbb
posted on 13 Sep 2012, 03:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Sep 2012)

5

Xperia Neo v is a disappointment

spongewirbb has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Pros:

Display, design and graphics are great

Cons:

performance is bad.

It always freezes, restarts by itself and its not durable. The smartphone that you cant do anything with. I don't recommend it.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sashi
posted on 05 Jun 2012, 03:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Jun 2012)

10

sas

sashi has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

having used this for abt 6 months, just have to say this is an awesome phone for this price range... worth ur money!!! Better than many of the samsung models in this range... I recommend this phone....

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

randomvideogamer123
posted on 18 Apr 2012, 10:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Apr 2012)

10

Neo V is the best!!

randomvideogamer123 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The best economic smartphone ever.Only 200 euros!! It has everything i want.Well,it has a bit small battery but it's not a problem.And with 2.3.4,wow.Now I'm waiting for the ICS update but first i want to see what other people say about the update

Build quality 9/10 Very nice quality but the back case is a bit hard to open
Reception 10/10 An economic smartphone with evrything you want
Call quality 10/10 Nice quality and and clear calls!
Internet 10/10 Great browser with flash support!!
Multimedia 10/10 Very nice the multimedia and good music player.And HDMI support.Wow!
Camera 10/10 Nice 5mp camera with HD and cler sound video recording!!And the front camera isnice for skype and google talk and google+!
UI speed 9/10 Very good speed but the home screen reboots if i use some applications for a while
Everyday usage 10/10 A must especially if is filled with games!!!!
Text input 10/10 I like the qwertykeyboard especially the swype feature!!!
Display 10/10 Great and clear display!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Battery 9/10 Good battery but is a bit small

Pros

  • Almost everything!

Cons

  • A bit small battery time
  • The home screen reboots if i use some applications for a shile
  • A bit hard to open the back case

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mahikupp
posted on 29 Mar 2012, 12:01 (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 Jan 2011)

10

I'm in LoVe with SE Xperia Neo V

mahikupp has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The SE Xperia neo V is priced at Rs 18,000; although you can get it for a lot less if you look around. For that price it definitely makes for a good buy. Older phones like the Galaxy S and the Nexus S would have given it a run for its money but they aren’t around anymore and the neither of the Motorola DEFY+, LG Optimus Black or the Galaxy S LCD have much on the Xperia neo V. Moreover, the SE is the only 1 here that will be getting Ice Cream Sandwich update for sure, which is more than what one can say for the other three. Whether it is in hardware or software, the Xperia neo V outdoes its current competition.

Some of the more expensive phones like the Optimus 2x and the Samsung Galaxy R have already approached the Rs 20,000 price point. As such it makes more sense to spend a bit more and go for these phones as they have much more power under their hood. However, if you’re strapped for cash, the Xperia neo V makes for a fine purchase.

Build quality 10/10 Excellent build with metal finish !
Reception 10/10 I had no issues as such with the signal or calling quality so far and it's been a good time with the quality of the phone.
Call quality 10/10 I had no issues as such with the signal or calling quality so far and it's been a good time with the quality of the phone.
Internet 10/10 Sooth as butter
Multimedia 10/10 I'm in love with it's multimedia features specially with android on SE is awesome.
Camera 10/10 5MP cam is justified with decent LED flash and a secondary camera makes this phone worth buying.
UI speed 8/10 Too many open apps slows down the UI speed and i see a lag in scrolling screens.
Everyday usage 10/10 Can't live without SE Neo V
Text input 10/10 android type pad is cool and has good space between the letters.
Display 10/10 3''7 is ideal above this you cant use it with just one hand
Battery 10/10 Pretty good for daily use with multimedia and camera along with games it survives a day and half n that makes me put smile on face .

Pros

  • Awesome work with Camera & LED Flash

Cons

  • Lagging while too many apps are running

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hutch
posted on 27 Jan 2012, 01:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jan 2012)

9

One of the Best Choice I ever made!!

hutch has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Hello friends :) I have been using Sony Xperia Neo V for nearly a month.. Hope my review wud do some good for the persons desired. First let me talk about the Cons:
* Just Two hours since i bought my set it started to reboot on its own, i first thought tat due to insuuficiency of the charge. But this continued nearly 7 times within next 12 hours.
I went to the Mobile store outlet where i bought and xplained my problem, they took the set immediately to sony ericsson show room and xchanged the same with a new set.
On analysis, this problem seems to swallow few handsets and it not model specific but HARDWARE specific. (1/1000 faulty sets, i took tat on jan1st and see wat a begining got a new set the next day :P ). The new set is too awesome to let it off.
* The mobile tends to get bit hot at the begining, when ther s too much of CPU consumption but with the latest update from SE, the degree of hotness has got reduced dramatically. But anyway, u will surely feel the heat/warmth on prolonged usage.(almost every smart phone gets heated due to number of process consumption but this gets heated bit higher).
* SAR radiation : SAR(specifict absorption rate) the rate at which the human body absorbs the radiation is comparitively high for this range about 1.1 where as other fellow competitors from samsung has less than 1. So it s a need to carry a headset always in your hand for your betterment. Coming to the pro's :
Friends, i think i have selected the best handset in this range for...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • And ya about battery, one cannot expect a smartphone to cross even 12-14 hours thats natural with any phone but neo is not any phone.
  • On a nominal use with 1-2 hours f call/1-2hrs of gaming/1 hr of audio... this really touches 16-24 hours depends on the brightness, timeout parameter that u set.

Cons

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karanjagdish
posted on 22 Dec 2011, 22:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Dec 2011)

10

Sony ericsson Xperia neo v

karanjagdish has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

its a amazin phone ders no lag wat so ever no matter how many apps i install
build is also pretty good wat i really like isthe bravia engine and the sound quality
internet is superfast the design whoa has sony ever let us down in design ? i dont think its jus amazing to look at

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chunkybeats
posted on 15 Nov 2011, 21:25 (Posts: 6; Member since: 15 Nov 2011)

9

Xperia Neo V is Awesome!!!

chunkybeats has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Pros:
Gorgeous looking, really it is especially in White!.
Fast and zippy with 2.3.4 on board.
SE Gingerbread update with added features 3D sweep, gesture input etc.
The ability to use HDMI to a TV.
Battery life is big improvement.
Great camera for 5MP, better than iph4 camera.
Probably more but loving this phone.....

Cons
Just a small thing, the standard smartphone problem of not being able to switch off the phone and use the Alarm Clock.

Really why does everyone go and get iphone, this really trumps it because i bloody well love this phone. Thank you SE!!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

80 out of 81 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories