x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson S500 User Reviews

6.9 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera2/10
Multimedia2/10
Internet2/10
Call quality2/10
Battery2/10
Reception2/10
Display2/10
Build quality2/10
Text input2/10
Everyday usage2/10
UI speed2/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

imransail
posted on 04 Jun 2011, 13:25

2

Too weak

imransail has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Salaam to every body: i like sony s5oo too much so stylish & so cute but too weak that's used to be very carefully forever.also a big problem in their keypad its craking in just 3 days in the using for text messaging. its design is too beautiful i love it.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

luxan
posted on 02 Nov 2008, 16:00

8.7

s500 in short terms

I had this phone for almost 4 months now I have to say it's a very beautifull phone and very elegant.Sony did make a mistake with the keypad and a lot of users are complaing for the keypad to brake.But Sony knows about the cracking problem so all the new S500 which had been packed THIS year,in some late month (around july or june) have been reinforced so the crakcing isn't a problem.
I have to say that I am very pleased with this phone and if anyone want's an opinion should he/she buy this phone then it's the best buy stylish mobile phone!!!I guarantee you won't be dissapointed!!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • -slim design
  • -good battery life
  • -cool themes
  • -friendly user interface

Cons

  • -small keypad
  • -function buttons are some times hard to use

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lenny
posted on 10 Jan 2008, 01:39

7.2

w580i keys crack also

i had the s500i. sony replaced it after the 4th time they worked on it for cracked keys. very frustrating. was happy to get a new phone (w580i) but now the keys are beginning to crack. my sister has the same issues with her s500 so..........i wouldnt throw away your old phone if you get one of SE's sliders.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hannah Cassford
posted on 05 Jan 2008, 15:24

6

love the phone !

However after three days i noticed that the keys began to crack ! The '1' key completly fell off meaning i had to go through the trouble of sending it back off where they replaced it without a problem.

After recieving my new phone three to four weeks onwards all the keys had cracked again and the star key fell off i am now in the process of trying to sort out my phone!

apart from the key pad i would rate the S500i highly !

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 5/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Frog Princess
posted on 14 Sep 2007, 08:34

5.8

Avoid it...

This is such a beautiful phone but the cracking keypad ruins it. I have returned three of them now and had a lot of trouble getting the supplier to take the first one back. Sony are denying there is a manufacturing fault and they say they will charge for user induced damage if you send yours back.

I'm so sad. Its such phone apart from that, but google s500i cracked keypad and see what I mean.

Design 1/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 1/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mike
posted on 31 Aug 2007, 00:52

8

Good, but....

Nice looking phone but does not offer what the w580i does. Although I do miss the changing wallpaper on this one, I prefer the Walkman counterpart. Pressing on the sides when the slider is up, gives a soft sqeaking sound. I did not have this problem on my w580. And the key-cracking issue is mostly on the Mysterious Green version (although some yellow ones have had problems).

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ck
posted on 03 Aug 2007, 14:52

8

Cheap Materials Used

This is a great phone on picture.

"On picture" is the key phrase.

Once you get a hold of it, you will realize the plastic used is obviously not the highest quality. That makes the slider rather "squeaky" and kind of "wobblely".

If that is not enough, the low quality keypad Sony Ericsson decides to use on this phone is just mind-boggling. My S500's keypad had a "crack" on the "2" key just after two weeks of usage. I have to admit that I use SMS a lot, but all my previous phones never experienced this problem. Just google "Sony Ericsson S500 keypad crack" and you'll get a bunch of results. It seems this keypad crack I had is not an isolated case.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Chad
posted on 31 Jul 2007, 21:59

8.6

Chad

A really good looking phone, people say that the features arent very good, but hey it has everything i think is cool. Media player, average camera, games, mp3, card slot, so its a real good phone, very stylish too!

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sam
posted on 18 Jul 2007, 09:20

8.6

uber cool only lacks FM radio

this is a really sexy phone, EDGE is ok for speed only drawback is there is no FM radio... the camera interface is new but is ok to use... it retails for around 10500 here in india thats pretty good value for money too....

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sridev
posted on 31 May 2007, 04:06

6

luxuries

oh fine this phone is looking very luxurious, its fine edge looks cool and smart... if its price come somewhat @ 12000 i may buy it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but its looking executive in black................

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories