x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Palm Treo 700w / 700wx User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Albert Pena
posted on 06 Jan 2009, 13:34

5.7

I thought this phone was going to be the best phone i had used in my life time. BOY was i wrong it drops calls ALL the time and every time i call some one either they can not hear me or i can not hear them. Its ridiculous trying to call some one 4 times before anyone could hear me. The only cool thing about it is that i can surf the web but ' about it. The camera sucks on it with only 1.3mega pixels and NO flash. Some time the touch screen doesn't even work.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • internet
  • theft deterant (throw it at someone)

Cons

  • Everything

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jake
posted on 27 Nov 2008, 16:48

6

okay features, bad phone and quality

i was very excited to get a winmo phone, having previously only had dumbphones and an older blackberry. the operating system was great, and i even updates the device to winmo 6.0. unfortunately the quality of the phone is sub par. many dropped calls, and fewer bars than with my motorola and samsung phones ive had before. ultimately a large dissapointment. i just order a samsung sch-u550 to replace this phone after only a month of use.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • great op sys
  • touchscreen
  • qwerty

Cons

  • bad call quality
  • bad reception

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dan
posted on 18 Nov 2008, 21:19

8.3

Solid Performance, Dependable, Proven Quality

I've had a 700wx for 3 months now and I am absolutely hooked.  Having used other OS types in the past, I am a huge fan of the Palm tweaks to the Windows OS.  I updated to WM 6.1 and haven't looked back, I applied a SDHC.cab file to expand storage and have not had a single problem.  I also use Spb Time and Spb Pocket Plus which provide an amazing amount of personalization and features.  I really prefer the 700wx to other options - I like having the QWERTY keyboard, touch screen (w/stylus or finger), expandable memory, speakerphone, Bluetooth, Infrared, Audio/Video Recording, etc. etc.  I tried phones without QWERTY keyboards and hated typing those tiny keys on the screen that don't FEEL, hated typing with the stylus-so slow, I also hated "hidden" keyboards - slide out or fold out - it made the phone feel flimsy/weak.  More moveable parts = more risk for breaking or scratching, friction wear marks... etc.
Trust me - just buy a Treo 700wx or a Treo Pro.  the only thing I wish it had was WiFi, but a SD wifi card fixed that one negative mark.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Touch Screen
  • QWERTY Keyboard
  • TONS of Software/Accessories
  • Dependable Quality
  • Long Battery Life

Cons

  • No WiFi (SD WiFi available)
  • Thicker than most
  • Antenna Stub

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hivolume87
posted on 08 Sep 2008, 17:58

8

Great phone, could be better

I work for Verizon and purchased the phone for $99 that's without any type of discount. I have never had any problems with the O.S. The Sound is just fine, Ive not had any problems with it. It never locks up, or runs short on memory. Good solid all around phone

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Accurate touch screen. Expandle Memory. It's Quick to start programs. Battery life is above average.

Cons

  • External power antenna, alittle on the bulkier side. No wifi.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Brian
posted on 30 Aug 2008, 16:13

5

Glitches galore

Software glitches galore.  the phone is possessed, randomly changing to Central Standard time, turning off the blootooth connection, and the sync feature often cuts the phone off when ringing.

Design 4/10
Features 8/10
Performance 3/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Paul
posted on 18 Jul 2008, 12:50

9.6

Mine Rocks

I got this unit free from microsoft and it is awsome.
got it hooked to exchange server and syncing all my contacts and email. i have had not call issues and its sound quality is way better than me previous phone samsung a930 people are always clear and i have not had anyone complain about my voice. the ringer is LOUD so i hardly ever miss it. video quality is poor thow. i like that i can record any length video but the quality in my opinion should be better especially on the audio for the record it way to sensitive.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

brentalliston
posted on 25 Jun 2008, 12:27

9.6

great phone

I love it it does everything its like having a computer everywhere i go!!! best phone i ever had!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

awesomeman
posted on 13 Jun 2008, 18:46

3.2

this phone is a peice of CRAAP!!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 2/10

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nate
posted on 15 May 2008, 22:18

5

Ringer

Mine will not ring either, must keep phone on vibrate at all times.

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 4/10

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

The Zune Lune
posted on 16 Apr 2008, 08:47 (Posts: 41; Member since: 09 Apr 2008)

6

Call quality/Sound

The sound quality is exactly why I am considering switching to either the HTC Touch or even the non smart phone LG vx9700.

Friends and family are all so irritated by this phone, I can't stand it. I love the PDA functionality, but the phone quality has persuaded me not to buy another Palm product.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 7/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bluedevilmsn
posted on 05 Apr 2008, 08:25

6.2

Palm Treo WX

I bought this phone seeking a solution to all of my hi-tech needs. I love most of the features, but have a persistant problem with the phone not ringing and missing calls. People think I'm ducking their calls.... not good! I only find out I have calls if the phone vibrates while I'm holding it, or if I just happen to notice the screen light up when a call is incoming. It will make other sounds, and will play the ring tones on the phone when attempting to program it, but just will not ring. I have already had Alltel replace the phone once, and am getting ready to go back again. I don't know if I would purchase this produce again, and I had a Palm PDA produce prior to this phone purchase.

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

66tiger
posted on 10 Nov 2007, 05:36

7.2

sound quality

Treolover is definitely off with the comment that adjusting TTY "solves all sound problems". I've had mine on TTY full, and many many times I can hear other people fine, but they cannot hear me. This is described by other 700wx users as well on a thread on the palm website.

Does anyone know the solution? It is an intermittent problem.

The rest of the phone I love, but this is highly frustrating to have to repeatedly call people back before they can hear you.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tony
posted on 12 Apr 2007, 12:00

3

Follow Up

I ended up going through 2 more phones before Palm acknowledged to Alltel that the Palms have a problem with certain digital services when roaming. Palm stated to Alltel that they are aware of the issue and don't have any intentions of trying to fix it on the 700p/wx products. I was very dissapointed with this product and have now gone to a Blackberry 8703e. It doesn't have as many additional features, but works almost flawlessly.

Design 3/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tony
posted on 17 Feb 2007, 15:46

4.2

Locks up

I have Alltel service and thus far in the past 2 months have gone through 3 phones. I have spoke with technical service multiple times and they acknowledge there is a problem and don't have any solutions. The phone locks up all the time, there is no single cause of this. Half the time I'm not able to receive text messages or phone calls and don't even know about it until someone calls my other cel phone hours later. Alltel's only solution thus far is to send me a new phone every couple weeks and it's not solving my problem. I'm requesting they allow me to change phones to either a Blackberry or Motorola Q (it's anticipated to arrive in the next couple weeks, the offices have already been trained on the phone).

Design 3/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

TreoLover
posted on 22 Jan 2007, 15:38

8.4

How to fix SOUND QUALITY

The sound quality on the Treo 700 WX is easily fixable. It's an error with the manufacture's settings. You need to change the TTY mode to TTY FULL. This will correct all sound issues. Other than the sound errors, this is an amazing phone. Personally, the navigation isn't the greatest and the flexability in changing menus isn't amazing compared to the 700P but all around, it's a great phone for what you get.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

April
posted on 13 Jan 2007, 20:13

4

Ehhh...

Well, I think this phone is pretty bad ass! I love the fact that it is like a computer, however the sound sucks horribly!!! I make videos and record voice memos and half the time i can't understand myself because the sound is so distorted!!! However, I do like the phone all in all and I have not had any problems with programs crashing and so forth. Ehhh... It's pretty good for me!

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

PhoneSucks
posted on 31 Mar 2006, 12:12

5.6

Treo 700W - Nice Try But Fails

This is a nice phone. Love WM5.0. The small screen is clear and actually very nice. But, sound quality is way below average. Battery life is awsome. The biggest issue is that you can't do anything with this phone. It suffers from major memory problems. It actually only has 10 meg for running programs, and crashes constantly from memory full errors. If it had only 32 meg more of ram, it might have a chance. As it stands now, don't plan on opening PDF doccuments. Don't plan on using advanced contact management or scheduling. It is just a $700.00 phone cripled by a lack of usable program memory. The memory card is just for storage, wven with the 2 gig memory card, can run any programs as there is not enough system memory. I am out $700.00...

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories