Nokia N78 User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.3

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
9.0
Camera
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Internet
9.0
Battery
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Display
10.0
Reception
10.0
Text input
10.0
Build quality
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

lecaillon posted on Dec 08, 2010, 7:30 PM
Posts: 2; Member since: Oct 24, 2010

10.0

A classic.

lecaillon has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

One of the great phones of Nokia. Very reliable, good battery life, good photos, good GPS. I wish it was made of metal. It would be fantastic if Nokia made the navigation free for this phone. If this had a bigger screen I would never upgrade.I might hang on to this phone for quite a while.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

nebrass posted on Jun 02, 2010, 4:52 AM

10.0

Best phone for ever!!!!!

Am using this phone since august 2009
it is the best nokia symbian phone with wifi & gps & bar body
the 3.2 camera is sooo beautiful
the battery life is perfect :))))

The nokia N78 has:

NICE WIFI
NICE GPS: SO QUICK DETECTION
FM TRANSMETTER
3.2 MEGAPIXELS CAMERA
MEMORY CARD 2GB INCLUDED
NICE 3D SOUND
NICE BATTERY LIFE
NICE SYMBIAN SYSTEM S60v3 FP2
NICE NETWORK RECEPTION
BIG RAM
NICE CPU
NICE DESIGN
THE DPAD BUTTON IS SO NICE
2.8 INCH SCREEN

and until now, i didnot see anything bad on that phone


i love u my N78!!!!

Pros

  • NICE WIFI
  • NICE GPS: SO QUICK DETECTION
  • FM TRANSMETTER
  • 3.2 MEGAPIXELS CAMERA
  • MEMORY CARD 2GB INCLUDED
  • NICE 3D SOUND
  • NICE BATTERY LIFE
  • NICE SYMBIAN SYSTEM S60v3 FP2
  • NICE NETWORK RECEPTION
  • BIG RAM
  • NICE CPU
  • NICE DESIGN
  • THE DPAD BUTTON IS SO NICE
  • 2.8 Inch screen

Cons

  • NOTHING!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Leonardo Merwe posted on Apr 14, 2009, 11:56 AM

10.0

Nokia N78 simply the best!!!!!!

N78 what i can say about this phone
I have just bought it a weak ago and its working perfectly especialy it OS system
I have almost all nokia N series phone and I like N78 and N96 above all others

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

Ruta9 posted on Dec 09, 2008, 10:37 AM

9.3

Really Cool phone at a good price

I got this phone a couple of weeks ago. I wanted to buy a symbian smartphone so I could install apps, games and so. I wanted to buy Nokia 5320, becouse it was cheaper, but this one has built in GPS, wifi and FM transmitter.
The phone performance is awesome, it is easy to use right out of the box, even for someone like me who never had a smartphone before.
the screen is bright and the image quality is great. sound quality es very good using earphones and the stereo speakers work fine as well.
Built in applications are OK, comes with adobe reader, quick office(only lets you read docs, not edit them), zip, calculator and unit converter. There are lots of websites where you can download tons of apps and games for this phone.
GPS works well, takes a while to get the location the first time, but that happens with every gps I know.
Wifi works great, I got connected on restaurants, shopping malls, etc.
The camera takes good pictures, I have a good camera so I don't care about this feature so much. Still it is an ok camera if you don't have a better one at hand. The flash is useless if you want to take a picture of someone standing more than 1 m (3 ft) away.
The FM transmitter was factory disabled, I needed to search the web for the way to unlock it. It is really easy to do. You just have to change the product code and upgrade the firmware.
I didn't like the keyboard so much, the number keys are close together and are sometimes hard to press if you have large fingers like I do.
The D pad...  

Pros

  • Built In GPS
  • WI FI
  • FM transmitter
  • symbian 9.3 FP2.
  • easy to use
  • Great sound quality
  • 3 mp camera with flash

Cons

  • Cheap materials
  • short battery life
  • FM transmitter factory disabled

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Report

just one of the N78 user posted on Nov 25, 2008, 11:22 AM

9.7

Good phone with attractive price

The most complete N series, packed with newest OS and with reasonable price.
It has some minus, but more PROS than cons for sure !!!
fm transmitter, nice 3.2mpx smooth camera, nice battery life, HSDPA, WIFI, GPS and aGPS, sleek design...
It has some fault but hoping NOKIA could fix that in future.

Pros

  • fm transmitter
  • nice 3.2mpx
  • nice battery life
  • WIFI
  • GPS
  • reasonable price
  • sleek and elegant design

Cons

  • back cover
  • some complain about peeling in Dpad after months of use
  • not mainstream keypad

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Aug 25, 2008, 2:19 AM

10.0

Hello, it is possible change the language with productcode,when you write the productcode from your N78 with arabic I write also the productcode with french and than you must only change your productcode with NSS (see in Google)and than update with nokia updater

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

Rosie Hayatta posted on Aug 12, 2008, 2:55 AM

8.6

NokiaN78

The phone has the best options like camera, good FM Hi Fi sound, 44 play songs, elegant I am very proud to own it. One annoying term is I cannot change languages. I bought this N78 at the UAE it has English and arabic language only. I need to have selections like French etc. 2nd thing annoying when sending messages I could not find the key for spacing btwn words the display is not user frendly.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

kwame posted on Aug 03, 2008, 2:26 AM

8.0

blank problem

I just got this phone about a week ago and it is splendid so far.Before buying the n78,I noticed that most people were making a fuss about its battery cover, its ''awkard'' design and rather ''odd'' keypad.
Contrary to such views, I find this phone perfectly framed from battery cover to keypad.
Its elegant shape coupled with its flexibility as far as technology is concerned really makes the n78 a phone worth owning.I am a Sonyericcson fan yet I am really impressed with this product of Nokia.
Kudos Nokia.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Jake posted on Jul 12, 2008, 7:26 AM

10.0

The most modern and best cellphone today!

It's been great to use the phone for over 3 days now! I love it! Most of all is the new OS in nokia and the navi wheel! (oh so love it!)
just grab one and you'll know it how beautiful it is!
The keypads are good! It's not like what we've seen! hehe! so I grant this phone a perfect one! I have been used almost all the top notch nokia n series like n82, n95, n95 8gb, n73 and alse in e series the e65 and e61i but no one beats the n78! maybe the comming n96 but who know???! hehehe!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anson posted on Jun 22, 2008, 9:19 PM

8.4

Cool

I think this N78 is cool . I bought it for a week and i think the phone is gd. PROS and CONs !!!!!!!
PROS
1) Like the black colour and its design
2) Got MAPs which guide u to the destination u want while u are driving
3) Loud music and good audio player
4) When u view the menu and all the document u can use your thumb to rotate the direction button to move right and left quickly
5) SLIM and not heavy

CONS
1) Camera not that good as u think
2) sometimes will lag but rarely
3) most importantly point of all , THERE IS NO GAMES so KID better dun buy it coz i need to download to play the game.

Overall it is still quite a gd and nice phone probably business worker should buy it not the children. gd for driver also.

one more information
I bought it for $208 with trade in for $90 and sign a 2 year contract.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Rashel posted on Jun 20, 2008, 4:38 AM

8.0

Good

One thing is made the phone better that is document viewer. However this is good phone.

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.