Motorola DROID Turbo User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.3

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
9.6
Internet
9.3
Call quality
8.9
Battery
9.7
Reception
8.7
Display
9.7
Build quality
9.5
Text input
9.7
Everyday usage
9.2
UI speed
9.6
Camera
8.7
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

kingkoopa765 posted on Dec 14, 2014, 5:20 PM
Posts: 31; Member since: Oct 22, 2011

10.0

High rating from a phone geek

kingkoopa765 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I sell Verizon wireless and have had a long line of high end androids, recently HTC M8 and LG G3. I have to say the Turbo does live up to it's name, very snappy between menus and motorola left their android experience pretty vanilla (not as much branded bloatware). Overall I'd have to say it's the best phone on the market at the moment (christmas 2014) and I am looking forward to the Lollipop 5.0 OTA since root isn't available on this phone. The ballistic nylon is a nice touch, nice happy medium size coming from a 5.5" G3

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Battery is outstanding
  • Fast as hell
  • premium feel
  • Verizon rules

Cons

  • no micro sd slot
  • "turbo charger" scares me with it's heat

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

manzer posted on Nov 02, 2014, 8:03 PM
Posts: 56; Member since: Apr 05, 2014

10.0

Its the phone i need

manzer has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I use my phone religiously. Work mostly, and I needed a battery to last the day. I was use to charging my other phones throughout the day and they would still die by the end of the day. Now there is no issue. I use it and finish the day at fifty percent. That's the battery, the phone is fast and being Droid, it doesn't have all that extra garbage loaded in. Screen could be brighter but I can't say its that big of a deal. It takes nice pictures. Sound is great. Love the 64 GB too.

Build quality
10.0
Solid feel
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • long battery life
  • battery +++++

Cons

  • could be brighter
  • could have been 5" or 4.7" screen

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Report

Firedogee posted on Nov 01, 2014, 12:22 PM
Posts: 9; Member since: Sep 19, 2014

10.0

Best. Phone. Ever.

Firedogee has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Ignore all the talk about low screen brightness and tethering issues. That has already been fixed with a day 1 patch from Verizon. This phones only real competition is the Note 4 - which doesn't have the very nice Moto apps like always listening Moto Voice and low battery comsumption on screen notifications from Moto Display. The camera is very good, not perfect, but its one of the best available for Android ATM so I'm giving it a 10. For performance, very little bloatware and a nearly stock Android experience make it live up to its Turbo namesake. This is by far the most attractive and ergonomic Droid phone ever made. And the battery life, oh the battery life! I'm getting 2 days easy with moderate use and about 5hrs screen time. Go to your local store and hold the Turbo. I have a feeling you won't let go of it.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • BATTERY LIFE
  • Silky smooth performance
  • Great display
  • Turbo charger included
  • Rock solid build quality with water resistant nano coating
  • 1 Free broken-screen replacement through Verizon
  • Price is unbeatable for a truly flagship phone
  • Front facing mono speaker is loud and clear
  • Wireless QI charging built in
  • Same Moto Apps as the 2014 Moto X

Cons

  • VOLTE is not active yet, no simultaneous Data/Voice yet
  • In call volume is not the greatest
  • Both body styles are a bit slippery to hold
  • Only has Android 4.4.4 but should get 5.0 soon

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Report

goldeneye617 posted on Nov 23, 2014, 1:26 AM
Posts: 9; Member since: Sep 27, 2014

10.0

Great phone

goldeneye617 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a great phone. It's fast, has a great battery, is the perfect size, has the great Moto features, and a beautiful screen. Switching from an iphone and I'm in love with it so far. I got the ballistic nylon 64 gb version. I'm hoping the material doesn't wear over time.

Update:
Fixed the call volume issue by adjusting the position of the phone speaker to the ear. Camera shutter speed is slow and the front facing camera lags especially in low light situations. Other than that the phone is great.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Great battery
  • Fast performance
  • Looks even better in person
  • Near stock Android
  • Moto voice & display are great
  • Crisp display

Cons

  • Screen could be brighter
  • Camera is solid but not amazing
  • Call volume is a little quiet

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report

DocOc posted on Oct 31, 2014, 10:00 AM
Posts: 143; Member since: Apr 23, 2014

10.0

Excellent Device

DocOc has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When it comes down to it, people want a fast phone with a nice display and long battery life. The Droid Turbo hits those points perfectly in my opinion. You can't ask much more out of a phone. The brightness in actual use is not an issue. I found the brightness to be more than adequate. I do wish calls could be a little louder, but it hasn't been much of an issue. Love the phone, highly recommend.

Build quality
10.0
Sturdy and strong
Reception
10.0
No issues
Call quality
9.0
Wish it was a tiny bit louder
Internet
10.0
Fast, smooth
Multimedia
10.0
smooth
Camera
10.0
When compared to phones, pictures are great. I'm not going to compare it to a DSLR like many like to do.
UI speed
10.0
crisp, fast
Everyday usage
10.0
Easy and fast, pleasure to operate
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Hands down, the best
Battery
10.0
Excellent, one of the best

Pros

  • Beautiful dispaly
  • Very fast operation
  • Solid build quality
  • Long battery
  • Near stock Android
  • Handy extra Moto features

Cons

  • slightly low on the call volume

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Report

Cha7520 posted on Oct 30, 2014, 10:54 PM
Posts: 222; Member since: Oct 31, 2010

9.0

Pretty good phone

Cha7520 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Coming from the LG G3, the Droid is just a bump up in an upgrade. Other than a faster 805 processor and a bigger battery, the G3 is on par. I will use the phone for 14 days and still see if I want to continue using it. The 21mp is over-rated. Its not bad...but the LG G3 13mp is clearer.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Big Battery
  • Almost stock Android
  • Smooth UI interface
  • 5.2 Screen is easier to use

Cons

  • Camera isn't as sharp as my LG G3
  • Even though its 565 ppi, its not as shape as my LG G3
  • Phone gets really hot when charging
  • The Phone charges quick, but its not a rapid charge, I did a speed test between the Turbo and the G3...actually the G3 charges quicker

19 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Report

omar92 posted on Dec 19, 2016, 5:13 PM
Posts: 5; Member since: Dec 09, 2016

9.0

2016 and still rocks

omar92 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've bought this smartphone a year ago, and it´s still as smooth as the first day, I can play any game available without problem, only complain is small size and no sd slot, ff camera is only 2mp and struggles in low light, and i'd rather have stereo speakers

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Fast UI
  • really good GPU
  • great DPI
  • Amoled+Moto display is awesome

Cons

  • No micro sd
  • FF camera struggles
  • only 1 speaker

omar92 alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

Webedelic posted on May 26, 2015, 12:46 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 26, 2015

7.0

Turbo kiss of death

Webedelic has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

In order to check email (data) while on a phone call, you need to be on advanced calling. I have been through so much with this phone. I have had to master reset my phone and had a replacement sent. It is the phone with advanced calling with both Turbos I have been through. While using an internet app (like Google voice) or even when I was using hotspot, if I receive a call, 20% to 30% of the time I canot hear the caller and I have to call them back. The google voice piece seems to be a bigger culprit, not letting go of the speaker and microphone for a call that comes in and they hear dead air and so do I. It was sold to me to do just as my previous phone would and though I cannot always hear someone, Verizon still deems it as a phone and I have to pay hundreds to get out of it. Both phones both do auto brightness even when turned off and both turbos blared music at me randomly while idle and while in the middle of a phone call. I disabled google's play music and it used another audio app to still randomly blare music at me for no given reason. Worse phone I have had, with so much more processing power, it does less. Needing advanced calling to use data while on the phone is a huge step backward, and Verzion not standing by their sales people and tech support people's promises is all shameful. If data and voice simultaneously is important and you may use a data app that could act as mine does, run away from this phone.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
3.0
Because I can't always hear people when they call.
Call quality
3.0
Because I cannot always hear someone when they call and essentially data call on advanced calling so it drops calls
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
5.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • fast phone

Cons

  • no data while calling without advanced calling
  • with advanced calling, I do not get all my calls

1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Report

LGISve posted on Apr 02, 2015, 1:22 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 02, 2015

9.0

Great phone!

LGISve has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought this phone with a lot of spectation but at the end, the battery is one of is pros but I change it for the HTC One M8 because w/Motorola (android pure) could not configurate some aspects that i.e. Waze need to 2G to work properly (caused by the Android migration from 4.4.4 to 5.0.x) and w/Motorola cant select manually the 2G, 3G or auto.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Excellent build quality
  • Ballistic Nylon
  • Excellent battery life and recharge time

Cons

  • Can't change 2G, 3G or auto (some apps. have trouble w/this)
  • Medium sound on the ear speakers
  • Android pure and w/Lolipop many old apps. may not work

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

trimaze posted on Mar 21, 2015, 10:17 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Dec 21, 2014

10.0

Love it!

trimaze has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

its just a power house of a phone, battery and speed everything i want out of a phone. all the games i want and the space i need as well. I just came from the tiny droid razr m, i dont think i can ever go back to small screen.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
if i could i would put 11!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

jake7405 posted on Feb 10, 2015, 10:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 10, 2015

10.0

An amazing device

jake7405 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is an AMAZING phone overall. The battery can easily lasts me close to 2 days with regular usage, and charges very quickly with the turbo charger. The 21MP rear camera is great, and shoots high-quality pictures and videos. The 2.7ghz processor makes the phone and UI run incredibly fast and smooth, and the screen is very sharp and nice to look at. Also, unless you're using it very heavily, the phone does not get hot. The ballistic nylon is very easy to hold and feels nice, and the metalized Kevlar version is also nice. Not to mention the front facing speaker, which makes for some powerful sound! My biggest problems were the lack of quick settings, though that is easily remediable, and the lack of root support, though that will probably change soon, here. Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this beast of a phone. You will not regret buying it.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Battery lasts long time
  • Nice design, easy to hold
  • Great rear camera
  • Very fast
  • Sharp display
  • BIG sound

Cons

  • Cases can muffle sound and mic if too thick/big
  • Front camera is laggy sometimes
  • Not rootable (yet)
  • Not really quick settings (Can be remedied with 3rd party app)
  • No microSD

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Decenzo24 posted on Feb 07, 2015, 10:29 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 07, 2015

10.0

Droid turbo

Decenzo24 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great phone. I have the 32 GB ballistic nylon which is really about 24 GB with the system software installed. My only problem so far has been a very minor scratch from when I stored my phone in the same backpack area as a container with a zipper. The screen must have scratched on the metal housing of the zipper. I expected gorilla glass 3 to be better but it is not noticeable unless the screen is off and at a certain angle. The front camera also has extremely low frame rate in any situation unless a lamp is shining on your head. This is probably a software problem. Other than that, this phone is great. I can use it all day on social media and YouTube and still end with 30%. The display is also amazing. I saw in a YouTube video that with this phone they could watch 1440p video on YouTube, but mine only goes up to 720p. I have never detected any lag or an app acting slowly. Overall this phone is incredible.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
I don't have much of a comparison here but I get 4g where I never did before
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
Front camera has about 12 FPS in anything but the best lighting conditions
UI speed
10.0
3 GB of ram and 2.7hz
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
It's a stock android experience
Display
10.0
550 pixels per inch
Battery
10.0
Best battery in the phone world

Pros

  • Display
  • Battery
  • Processing power

Cons

  • Low frame rate in front camera. Probably software issue

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

MotorolaSlovakia posted on Jan 31, 2015, 9:09 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 19, 2014

10.0

Turbo the best

MotorolaSlovakia has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

64GB nylon edition the best build quality no competition . Phenomenal battery life 3days no problem, Qi charger ultimately operate normally, Advanced features like active display to facilitate the use,64 gigabytes of memory suffices not need an SD card.

Build quality
10.0
nylon version the best
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Call volume is OK
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
AMOLED screen is fantastic IPS LG G3 is not so nice
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • The best

Cons

No Cons

MotorolaSlovakia alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

catfan42 posted on Jan 29, 2015, 7:11 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 29, 2015

9.0

Incredibly fast, unbelievably long battery life

catfan42 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Phone is amazing. Incredibly fast and responsive. The battery will easily last 2 days on a single charge, 3 if you optimize your settings (turn off unnecessary data features, use low screen brightness, etc.). Screen resolution is on par with that of a 13" MacBook Pro Retina Display.

Tips to get the most out of your phone: turn off battery-draining features (WiFi, GPS, Bluetooth, app data syncing, screen brightness) unless when needed and you will get over 2 full days of usage on a single charge. Don't use the turbo charger that comes with the phone, it heats the battery too much. Top your phone battery off when you can / don't let your battery fall below 30% (Li-ions degrade faster when their charge is ~30% or lower).

Build quality
10.0
Phone is slim, sleek, and doesn't shatter when you drop it.
Reception
10.0
Reception is perfect (in my city at least) in buildings, and even underground (in most places).
Call quality
9.0
Call quality is fine, but the ear speaker is only standard-quality.
Internet
10.0
Internet is fast.
Multimedia
8.0
The phone's external speakers aren't as good as you would expect a large, high-tier, modern phone to be. Even on fully-downloaded 320 kbps MP3 files, the sound seems washed out, like low-grade internet streaming.
Camera
8.0
Camera takes beautiful pics, and the 4K video is amazing. But the user interface of the camera app is sub-par: it takes pictures when you try to manually focus, and changing basic settings like turning the flash on and off requires you to navigate through a few layers of a cumbersome menu, instead of simply clicking a button that should always be present. I'm sure you could solve it by using a third-party camera app, but I shouldn't have to.
UI speed
10.0
Phone is really, really fast
Everyday usage
9.0
My only criticism is that the default messaging app does NOT have a dark theme (which would take advantage of the AMOLED screen to save battery). If you want a messaging app with a dark screen, use 8sms.
Text input
10.0
Screen is large so text input and swipe works great.
Display
10.0
The screen has a resolution approximately equivalent to a 13" MacBook Pro with Retina Display, which is amazing. The screen is also AMOLED, so pixels displaying the color black are not turned on, so when you use dark themes on applications, you save major battery life.
Battery
10.0
If I could give the battery 11/10 I would. They say you get 2 days of battery usage on a single charge, but if you turn off unnecessary features (like haptic feedback, GPS, WiFi, BlueTooth, automatic app data syncing, and use dark themes for applications) and keep your screen on minimum brightness, you can definitely get 3 full days of moderate usage (texting, a few calls, and occasionally looking something up on the internet) on a single charge.

Pros

  • Ridiculously long battery life (2-3 days on a single charge)
  • AMOLED screen helps save power
  • High resolution screen
  • 21 MP camera with 4K video capabilities
  • Gorilla glass screen is resistant to scratching and shattering from drops
  • Extremely fast and responsive processor
  • 3GB of RAM

Cons

  • No removable memory
  • "Turbo" charger heats up your battery
  • No simultaneous data/voice

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

patricles43 posted on Nov 26, 2014, 10:55 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 26, 2014

10.0

Excellent

patricles43 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Extremely good battery life, solid build, and I love the near-stock ui. I don't love the point to the bevel on the bottom of the metal phone. One accidental, low-height drop before I got my case and it flattened one corner.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
excellent picture quality, could use faster shutter
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
beautiful screen
Battery
10.0
I am a heavy user, and I get a little over 24 hours to a charge

Pros

  • Battery
  • Screen
  • fast
  • decent speakers
  • takes nice photos

Cons

  • would like slightly better build strength

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Sheed posted on Apr 14, 2015, 6:49 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 21, 2014

7.0

6 Months later, the phone is not working out

Sheed has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I originally bought this phone after having the Samsung GS5, bu after months of use, the phone really started to become a let down. The battery is highly over rated, build quality dimished with creaky sounds, it's heavy, laggy, and no 5.0 in sight. I've moved on to the GS6, and it's wonderful.

Build quality
7.0
Solid feel, kevlar back, all good.
Reception
6.0
No issues.
Call quality
6.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
5.0
So laggy. Lag. Lag. Lag.
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
9.0
Display
7.0
Amazing Screen, pixel density is primo.
Battery
7.0
Off the charts good!

Pros

  • Screen
  • Stability

Cons

  • Camera shutter
  • Battery Life

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

nzundel posted on Nov 20, 2014, 7:10 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 20, 2014

10.0

Great phone

nzundel has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Loving the phone but learned recently that the reason Verizon offers FREE screen replacements (little know fact) is because there is a known defect in the glass/screen so thought I'd share. Ultimately an AMAZING phone with killer battery life. I make calls non-stop for a living and after a full day's use my phone still have 58% battery! I was goofing off on Facebook, email and web surfing a bit too! I highly recommend.

Build quality
8.0
Sturdy but there's a known defect in the glass and the ballistic nylon seems to be fraying near the Motorola logo on everyone I've seen.
Reception
8.0
Seems to drop LTE/3G connection in areas my last phone had no problem with
Call quality
9.0
Relatively quiet speaker
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
21MP and 4K video... nuf said
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
I make calls from my cell phone for a living. Plus I've been surfing the web, on Facebook and more all day AND the battery is at 58%!!!
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
Fast Charge and after a full day of making calls, surfing the web it's still at 58% battery!!

Pros

  • Verizon will replace a broken screen for free
  • Rapid charge
  • LOOOOONNNNGGGG lasting battery

Cons

  • known defect with breaking glass screen
  • no simultaneous data/voice
  • quiet speaker for calls & music

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

dt2000 posted on Nov 05, 2014, 3:23 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 05, 2014

8.0

Good Phone but has issues

dt2000 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Pros: Form factor is perfect, Fast, Great battery (not 2 days but still great), good photos, good call quality, good speakers

Cons: Horrible signal strength, Camera has no settings buton (e.g. turning HDR on/off) or button to jump to gallery (review pics), No Data and voice simultaneously, screen unlock is awkward

Build quality
10.0
Reception
2.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
2.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

11 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.