Revamped OnePlus Nord coming to Europe on June 10 as Nord CE 5G

1
Revamped OnePlus Nord coming to Europe next month as Nord CE 5G
This morning OnePlus teased an upcoming ‘summer launch event’ on social media. Now, CEO Pete Lau has revealed exactly what customers can expect from OnePlus in the coming months.

The OnePlus Nord CE 5G will be announced on June 10


First off, Pete Lau confirmed to TechRadar that next month’s product announcement event focuses on the Nord CE 5G. That’s not terribly surprising considering Amazon India has been thanking users for signing up to receive Nord CE 5G info.

The CE in the smartphone’s name stands for ‘Core Edition’ and the phone itself is essentially a revamped version of the original Nord that incorporates “certain classic flagship features” to ensure a fast and smooth experience.

In Lau’s own words, OnePlus has “distilled the original Nord down to its core elements and added extra features to create a great everyday phone at an even more affordable price.”

For reference, the original OnePlus Nord retailed at €399 in Europe, meaning the Nord CE 5G could be available for €349 or even €299. That’d certainly help position it as one of the best budget 5G phones.

An official announcement is taking place at 7am PT / 10am ET / 3PM BST / 4PM CEST on Thursday, June 10. But we'll have to wait even less to hear about the phone's mysterious new features.

The first added feature found on OnePlus' next affordable phone will be revealed on Monday, May 31. The second one will follow a couple of days later on June 2, and the third feature will be announced on June 4. 

The final mystery feature will be introduced on Tuesday, June 8, just a couple of days before the big event. The Nord CE 5G will be released in Europe and India. It isn’t coming to the US.

The OnePlus Nord 2 seems to be a separate phone


Importantly, the OnePlus Nord CE 5G doesn’t seem to be the same phone as the OnePlus Nord 2. Pete Lau didn’t confirm this directly, but TechRadar reports that “his wording” suggested it would be a different product.

It’s also worth noting that OnePlus accidentally mentioned the Nord 2 on its website recently, so it certainly seems to be in the pipeline.
FCC OKs Cingular\'s purchase of AT&T Wireless