Nokia announces IFA 2019 press conference; new phones expected

13
Nokia announces IFA 2019 press conference; new phones expected
Just one day after HMD Global was spotted on the list of exhibitors at IFA 2019, the company responsible Nokia-branded smartphones has confirmed that it will be attending the event for the “first time ever.”

The Finland-based brand will be holding a press conference in Berlin at 4:00 pm CET/11:00 am EDT/8:00 am PDT on Thursday, September 5. It hasn’t yet revealed what kind of announcements are in store and instead told customers to “stay tuned.” Nevertheless, recent leaks and rumors could provide good indication.

While successors to the Nokia 5.1 and Nokia 6.1 were technically due in January and May, HMD Global appears to have been rethinking its product refresh cycle. The company itself hasn’t yet confirmed the existence of a Nokia 5.2 and Nokia 6.2 but multiple reports do suggest they’re on the way and IFA 2019 could potentially be the perfect place to introduce them.

Accompanying these two devices may also be the Nokia 7.2. Its predecessor wasn’t announced until October but the new model apparently shares its exterior with the Nokia 6.2, therefore making a joint unveiling very likely. It’s unclear at this stage if the Nokia brand has any other smartphones up its sleeves for the near future. 

Joining HMD Global at IFA 2019 should be a number of other companies. So far, only LG has confirmed its presence but the likes of Sony and Huawei are to be expected too. LG should be announcing the LG G8X ThinQ and V60 ThinQ, Sony is expected to debut the Xperia 2 and Xperia 20 lines, and Huawei may be introducing the Kirin 990 chipset.

New reasons to get excited every week

Get the most important news, reviews and deals in mobile tech delivered straight to your inbox

FCC OKs Cingular\'s purchase of AT&T Wireless