New tools from Facebook make it easier for you to forget your ex
Once you change your relationship status on Facebook to indicate that you are no longer in a relationship, the app will automatically prompt you to try these tools. Posts from a former partner can be stopped from gracing your News Feed, and Facebook can be blocked from suggesting that a message be sent to your former partner.
But that is only half the story. Now that you've done what you could to prevent the ex's name and photo from showing up on your Facebook page, certainly you are going to want to block her from reading your posts. Not only does Facebook give you this opportunity, it also can prevent others from seeing older pictures of you and your former partner together before the split.
Facebook is testing this out on mobile first before it decides whether to extend this to the desktop. That decision will depend on the feedback that Facebook gets. If you're the emotional type that finds it hard to cope after a relationship hit the rocks, you'll be happy that Facebook has taken the time to sit down and think about this.
Thanks for the tip!
source: Facebook via TheVerge