x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Wave S8500 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Introduction:

Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung's first bada phone - the Samsung Wave S8500 - is finally here. A few months ago we reviewed a prototype unit, which left us with rather high expectations for the final product. Now that it's here, we are ready to see what Samsung's latest and greatest creation has to offer. Being a full-featured mobile platform however, bada will inevitably face some pretty strong competition in the form of BlackBerry, webOS, Android and iPhone OS. Or will it? According to Samsung, bada is the easy to use type of OS, which will combine the greatness of having rich 3rd-party apps with a user-friendly interface that would appeal to every average Joe out there. So bada is not that much of an opponent to BlackBerry and Windows Phone, than it is to the iPhone, webOS and Android. Congrats, Samsung, you just painted some really tough future for yourself.

The manufacturer's vision is well-represented by its slogan "smartphone for everyone". Well, a bada smartphone for everyone is no doubt what every Samsung executive envisions, but as of now this is surely more of a dream than it is a reality. The question is if, eventually, some day, the bada-based smartphones would really become a part of the general customer's life, similarly to the iPhone now.


Design:

In terms of design, the Samsung Wave S8500 is a great achievement of technology (and of Samsung's design team). It is definitely a good looker, sports a pretty solid metal chassis and is really thin at just 0.43 inches (10.9mm). The in-hand feel of the smartphone is top-notch, thanks to the high-quality materials used and its significant weight.

The Samsung Wave S8500 sports a pretty solid metal chassis and is really thin - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The Samsung Wave S8500 sports a pretty solid metal chassis and is really thin - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The Samsung Wave S8500 sports a pretty solid metal chassis and is really thin - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The Samsung Wave S8500 sports a pretty solid metal chassis and is really thin - Samsung Wave S8500 Review

The Samsung Wave S8500 sports a pretty solid metal chassis and is really thin


The Samsung Wave looks similar to the Nexus One and has almost the same dimensions, but there's one important difference - the capacitive screen measures 3.3 inches, while the Nexus One has a 3.7-inch one. Except for that one issue, we are perfectly happy with the Wave's display. Like every AMOLED, it delivers great contrast, blacks are really pitch black, and colors are incredibly vivid. However, Samsung has utilized a new “Super AMOLED” technology, which is said to provide even better image quality and less reflection. The manufacturer has achieved this by removing the panel for the touch sensor and the air gap between the AMOLED and the touch sensor. This should also allow for better visibility under bright sunlight, which is something not very common for AMOLEDs. We compared the Wave's screen with the one of the iPhone 3G and it was better in almost every respect. When indoors, the Super AMOLED provides a lot more clarity and saturation, while its viewing angle is incomparably wider. The Wave is indeed quite usable when outdoors, but still the iPhone 3G demonstrated its supremacy here.

Samsung Wave S8500 (Left) and Apple iPhone 3G (Right) - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 (Left) and Apple iPhone 3G (Right) - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 (Left) and Apple iPhone 3G (Right) - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 (Left) and Apple iPhone 3G (Right) - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 (Left) and Apple iPhone 3G (Right) - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 (Left) and Apple iPhone 3G (Right) - Samsung Wave S8500 Review

Samsung Wave S8500 (Left) and Apple iPhone 3G (Right)


The resolution is 480x800 pixels - very good for this screen size, although things do not appear crystal clear.. For example, texts have an obvious pixelization to them, and you might also experience some not very accurate color representation.

The resolution is 480x800 pixels, which is very good for this screen size - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The resolution is 480x800 pixels, which is very good for this screen size - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The resolution is 480x800 pixels, which is very good for this screen size - Samsung Wave S8500 Review

The resolution is 480x800 pixels, which is very good for this screen size


Samsung has covered the display with tempered glass, which is really firm, and has even applied an oleophobic (from the Greek “oleo” – oil) coating so it doesn’t get the annoying fingerprint smudges. The end result is near perfect.

Samsung Wave S8500 Review

You can compare the Samsung Wave S8500 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Below the screen we get nicely designed send and end keys, as well as a menu key, which is also used to bring up the multitasking menu. On the left side is simply the volume rocker, on the right are the lock key and camera shutter, and on the top you'll find the loudspeaker, 3.5mm jack and microUSB port. On the back are the 5MP camera with 720p video recording capabilities and LED flash. We didn't really like the batter door, which is again made of metal, but uses a different shade of the color, making it look less uniform. Once you remove that, you get access to the 1500mAh battery. Once you remove that... you can then use the SIM and microSD card slots.

Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 Review
Samsung Wave S8500 Review


The sides of the Samsung Wave S8500 - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The sides of the Samsung Wave S8500 - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The sides of the Samsung Wave S8500 - Samsung Wave S8500 Review
The sides of the Samsung Wave S8500 - Samsung Wave S8500 Review

The sides of the Samsung Wave S8500


On the whole, the build quality of the Samsung Wave S8500 is great. It is obvious that Samsung wanted to come up with a killer handset for the introduction of bada, and we've got to admit they have achieved very good results here in the design department. It is clear however that what's more interesting on this particular handset is its software - the bada OS and its web browsing capabilities, its application marketplace and multimedia features. So, let's check it out!

Samsung Wave S8500 360 Degrees View:




72 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Kohai (Posts: 12; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


So let me see: -Not very intuitive interface -bada OS needs more improvement and fine tuning -Samsung Apps has a very poor catalog -Dolfin 2.0 browser is not really mature for this All this are problems for a phone which is on sale for a week and...which fw has your phone? last one is JEF I bet you have JEB or JEC (4 versions earlier). -Photos of the 5MP camera are not good enough This can really be a drawback. -Heavy 3D games might overwhelm the 1GHz CPU You called yourself "professionals" and do not know that wave and galaxy s have the most powerful 3d processor in any phone??? 3 times the power of an Iphone 3gs. The problem is the games are directly ported. Try and see twinblades and tell me if it looks like in the Iphone. Biased review...I see, is not an Iphone :-(

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 14:35

13. darwall (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


It seems Phone-arena are in love with Iphones only!!What a terrible review! I agree with the above

posted on 10 Jun 2010, 23:15

37. Daquest (Posts: 2; Member since: 10 Jun 2010)


I have to agree. This review is very bias; this phone is worth at least a 9. The HTC Evo 4G got 9.5 with a bulky size; sub-par photo image compared to other 8mp; poor video; and most of all, the wave hardware is superior to that of the evo 4g (the iphone 3gs is no comparison). The few minor drawback with a new os which gave a very good account of itself on the first try compare to the iphone os, does not justify this low rating. Lets just wait to see how they rate the iphone 4

posted on 04 Jun 2010, 13:55

2. ilia1986 (unregistered)


Well.. Let me understand. We have a phone which is thin and feels as if it's screen is small because of that, with 3 buttons, with basic menu graphics, a lot of small (and not so small) technical problems, a pathetic excuse for an app store, an average camera, horrible web browsing experience, e-mail problems, and overall not very good performance. Nokia 5800, anyone? Fail.

posted on 04 Jun 2010, 17:14

3. orchuman (Posts: 9; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


if you think the samsung wave has a avarage camera then what do you think most htc phones or a iphones camera is like? basic menu graphics? im guessing you are probably 14, you got to understand that just because its a new os which was released with 100 apps that its a not a pathetic excuse for an app store.... Everyone started like that you fool. You must be smoking something mate! The Good! 15 hours talk time! One of the best voice/audio quality phones out! Super amoled! Speedy smooth UI! Great HD Video recording and 5mp camera! The best multimedia device out at the moment with H.264, DivX ,Xvid , MKV plus Sub title suppourt! Sturdy build quality! Highest gaming quality phone with 89mil triangles per sec! as for this review it doesnt make sense! -Not very intuitive interface?? its like a iphone's interface which was praised by everyone! how can you guys even say that? i agree on the other points but damn could have given it a little higher score. if a phone doesnt come with a 50000 app store lets deduct 2 points for it. You will rate a samsung shark 8.2/10 and it cant do half of what this phone does! The main reason why this phone scores 9/10 in my opinion is the price! it does all of this for 4500rand in southafrica,a iphone 3gs 32gb is 11000rand cash. Yes thats twice as much! But yet lets give that phone a higher rating because yea its got lots of apps and its worth it =/ (end sarcasm) ..

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 14:37

14. darwall (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


Phone arena's rating system is so poor! Price really does make a difference, I think the app store will grow due to handset price. Does anyone know if Samsung will do OTA updates for future fixes?

posted on 04 Jun 2010, 18:48

4. speedfrog (Posts: 2; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


this is just fail from phonearena Cons: Not very intuitive interfacebada OS needs more improvement and fine tuning Samsung Apps has a very poor catalog Heavy 3D games might overwhelm the 1GHz CPU Photos of the 5MP camera are not good enough Dolfin 2.0 browser is not really mature for this

posted on 04 Jun 2010, 18:53

5. Balance (Posts: 2; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


Whoa! What's happened since the preview where you did nothing else but praise the same device in its pre-sale state? This one just sounds angry and far from being objective. I'm sorry but the style and wording kind of reminds me of the articles by a well-known Russian Nokia hater. Truly, that is not the way to go. I think you have done yourselves a tremendous disservice because this review is simply a disgrace.

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 14:39

15. darwall (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


GSMAREANA.com read the review, its like they have two different handsets!!

posted on 04 Jun 2010, 21:04

6. alstjd567 (Posts: 3; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


This phone certainly deserves a higher rating cmon -Super Amoled, -1Ghz processor, -Nice Design, -Free 100 Apps, -Cheap price -Smooth Interface with no lag Have you even see this before?? even Jet got 9. If so then Wave should 9.9 And really those cons up there are nonsense (except for the camera issue)

posted on 04 Jun 2010, 21:10

7. alstjd567 (Posts: 3; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


3.3" 16M-color Super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen, WVGA (480 x 800 pixels), multi-touch input support, scratch-resistant glass surface Solid 10.9mm-thin metal body Bada OS with Samsung Apps ARM Cortex A8 based 1GHz CPU Quad-band GSM support with dual-band 7.2Mbps HSDPA, 2Mbps HSUPA Wi-Fi 802.11b/g/n connectivity with WPS support, Wi-Fi tethering app Built-in GPS receiver with A-GPS support, digital compass, Samsung Mobile Navigator 5 MP autofocus camera with touch focus, geo-tagging, face, smile and blink detection and LED flash 720p video recording at 30fps 390MB user available memory, 1GB Bada apps storage and 550MB messaging storage microSDHC card slot Standard microUSB port and Bluetooth v3.0 with A2DP Standard 3.5mm audio jack, TV out Stereo FM radio with RDS, FM recording Webkit-based Samsung Dolphin Browser 2.0 with full Flash support YouTube client, Facebook and Twitter integration DivX/XviD video support Impressive audio quality And Phone arena gives 7.5 out of 10 WTH

posted on 04 Jun 2010, 22:12

8. dtn_93 (unregistered)


Im confused, the preview said this phone was great and GSMarena calls it a perfect feature phone it doesn't seem to have changed from pre production until now so why is the score so low? If the phone is to compete with android and the iphone the camera beats the iphone and the nexus one or desire. I guess you should never take the opinion of just one review site.

posted on 05 Jun 2010, 04:11

9. getalife7991 (Posts: 4; Member since: 05 Jun 2010)


i registered to this website just to comment on this, cos this is one of the most biased review i have ever seen and quite upset. Some reviews, yes, I agree, like the KM900 review. But sometimes, PhoneArena's reviews just go too overboard. Not very intuitive interface? bada OS needs more improvement and fine tuning? Samsung Apps has a very poor catalog ? Of course, its their first time using the properly working bada os since they have not reviewed the Galaxy S yet, and they are not used to it. But how can they say its not inuitive?? The bada OS is practically a Android+Iphone, which PhoneArena both loved. Secondly, let me ask ya, PhoneArena. What do you need more from the bada OS? Like I said, the OS is practically a Android+Iphone, what do you need more??? Lastly, the Samsung Apps. Yes, I agree that the Samsung Apps Store is quite limited, but you cant just put it as a negative sign. Like the Android and Apple application store, both were once very limited, but you never showed it as a negative sign before!! And one more thing to add, 'Photos of the 5MP camera are not good enough'??!! I tried the Samsung Wave during a Samsung roadshow and it was perfectly fine! Even, most reviews gave the camera positive comments. And what I want to say is, PhoneArena, I am quite dissapointed with this review.

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 06:53

11. vinsterdamus (Posts: 58; Member since: 20 Feb 2010)


"Of course, its their first time using the properly working bada os since they have not reviewed the Galaxy S yet" eh the galaxy S runs android ;)

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 05:17

24. getalife7991 (Posts: 4; Member since: 05 Jun 2010)


but there is some bada os in it, doesnt it??

posted on 28 Jun 2010, 00:49

45. simpleleong (Posts: 14; Member since: 08 Jun 2010)


Agree to your comment, i have tried the Wave outside and used it for a while. The Camera is very good, with Super AMOLED screen, the 5 megapix camera looks even more amazing than the quality Jet and Omnia series is having. No way the camera should be stated as a cons! The GPU wave is having is powerful too, no way it should be stated bad! No matter how i view this phone, it is way better than the iPhone 3GS! Just the number of apps is way too low compared to IOS tons of apps.

posted on 06 Feb 2011, 06:57

65. magnan5624 (unregistered)


Any comments on GPS, Maps & navigation ? Mr. getalife

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 06:51

10. vinsterdamus (Posts: 58; Member since: 20 Feb 2010)


i just don't understand this review. how can you say it can't handle big 3d games with the fastest chipset to date. this thing is faster then a ipad so you guys think that an ipad or a iphone is also not capable of good 3d games? the browser thing i can understand but the rest of the cons are stupid. btw 15 hours of talk time?!! nice. but in they end i'll stick with android for a while

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 08:27

12. whitelies (Posts: 2; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


Well, let me be honest here. The only reason I went through all that trouble to register to this messed up site is to tell you this, the so-called Phone Arena Team YOUR REVIEWS SUCK! Well in case you trying to achieve or win the position of the most critical mobile-review site, well there ain't an award as much! So, Badluck! A 7.5/10! Don u guys have the idea to rate a phone! Well, maybe the iPhone maybe your utopian phone! But it certainly ain't so for every Tom, Dick and Harry out there. I will be looking forward to that day when an iPhone will have a display like the Super AMOLED and most importantly have an option of DivX/XviD, MKV playback! -_-! So much for an iPhone. Just cause you wanna act all cynical and call yourself a critic, don forget your purpose! You are hear to give us a fair review on the phone not indirectly compel us to believe that iPhone is the best! And People, believe me, move over towww.gsmarena.com! They seriously got better reviews! So much for the cynical site! o_O

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 05:18

25. getalife7991 (Posts: 4; Member since: 05 Jun 2010)


yeah man, this is what i am talking about!!

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 14:47

16. darwall (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


Hmmmm, What a shock! I have been reading all the comments and am shocked! PhoneArena need to pull this review down and go back to the drawing board. The overall consensus is that the review is wrong! It picks at things which 5 other independent reviewer don't talk about or mention. Let me tell you an example. "Over saturated SuperAMOLED display!!" what!! Do they have any idea that they are the only reviewer to mention that the screen has a flaw? Anyway I believe all the comments above sum it up. Pull down this review and start again!

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 16:42

17. ilia1986 (unregistered)


It takes 1 really bad review for me to put a big red X on a phone model. And it's a shame since the Wave is actually coming to my country really soon. But thats ok. We all have our iPhones and Androids.

posted on 06 Jun 2010, 18:42

18. darwall (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


don't put a red X on it, go to gsmarena.com and read their review it shows you really what its like,

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 00:05

19. ilia1986 (unregistered)


Sorry. I bought my Nokia 5800. Everywhere I read - it got very positive reviews. However, I was still very very disappointed with it. It is horrible. Now, imagine what I would feel like if I bought the Wave, which has already got at least 1 poor review. I will not make the same mistake again. My next phone is either an iPhone, or a top-of-the-line Android phone.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 03:43

20. darwall (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


Well I have had all of those phones you mention, 5800 sucked big time for me, Iphone was very limited and was a pain to use as a actual phone, I have had 2 android handsets and both let me down big time, they crashed when playing music battery was poor and sms was really buggy. So as you can see Bada is the last hope for me!! After realizing that all phones arn't perfect I still think that this is really one of the best buys you would eva make or miss.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 05:03

22. ilia1986 (unregistered)


Well I don't know how you can say that the iPhone is limited - when there are 200k apps for it available. And of course no phone is perfect, but a lot of phones are much closer to it then others. And Bada simply cannot be better than Android and\or iPhone, because: 1. It doesn't offer anything new 2. It lacks a lot of stuff the latter two have. Namely - APPS. Its not just Bada - it's Symbian, and all the other crappy stuff out there. The only exception is Blackberry - as there is no real substitute to the Blackberry Server. Android and iPhone is the future. And the only one at that. What differs is obviously the hardware - but the OS is there. And it will be there.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 05:28

26. getalife7991 (Posts: 4; Member since: 05 Jun 2010)


yeah, i know that the samsung apps store is limited, but think about it! if u posted that comment when the apple apps just opened, u would not have given it as an excuse. and the iphone is yesterdays news. there are so many people using it that others who are tired of it would try to create a new trend

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 07:25

27. ilia1986 (unregistered)


Ahh but you see my friend - back at the time - when the first iPhone and first Android devices just arrived to the world - back in 2007\8 - nobody really thought that a staggering amount of apps is such an important factor - unlike today. So to sum up: Does Sumsung have a huge App store for it's Bada device? No. Could Samsung do something to remedy that, guven the relatively short time between the Wave's announcement and distribution? No. Do we need to take this into account when trying to evaluate the worthiness of one phone or anoher? No. Why? Because it's a disadvantage compared to Android\iPhone existing devices. It may not be Samsung's fault - but it's still there. And since this is a review - it should not be ignored.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 12:36

28. orchuman (Posts: 9; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


Show me a phone which cost's as low as the samsung wave with all those features. then lets talk. There isnt one. i dont care about the apps, i have a hacked psp with thousands of games and ps3 and pc games. Yea its nice to play a game when you sit on the loo but thats about it for a phone. Otherwise the samsung wave is the best quality in *audio - voice *screen *wifi n *bluetooth3 *15h tlk batterylife *thinest youch phone *Fastest Gaming cpu Those features which i can get at a low price are way more important to me than apps..... Just to show you how expensive a iphone is in southafrica its 11000rand where a samsung wave is 4650rand and samsung galaxy S is 7364rand for the 8gb version :). For that price this phone is the most amazing phone out! 10/10 the little flaws which phonearena complain about isnt even worth mentioning at that price!

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 12:56

29. ilia1986 (unregistered)


But dude - why on earth would you want a touch - screen phone if not for the apps? I had a Samsung E250 2 years ago. If I wouldn't have become aware of the fact that there are a lot of apps that allow your phone to do a lot of stuff - I would have probably never upgraded to a touch-screen smartphone. The whole purpose of a touch-screen is to allow your phone to do more stuff - as steve jobs himself said in 2007 - because when you develop an app - you can't run around and add a button to existing phones. More stuff = apps. No other way around it. Now when it comes to price - and I speak purely from a personal experience here - when it comes to smartphones - it's much better to pay more, and get a superb product of the highest quality, then to pay a little less and get a horrible experience. Compare - Nokia 5800 vs iPhone. And I would gladly turn my 5800 into atomic dust for all the frustration it caused me.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 15:13

31. orchuman (Posts: 9; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


My old thin samsung u600 just died after 4 years and a few drops. i want my phone to last long, super amoled,wifi n and high defenition video recording and the pure speed of this phone with smooth ui feel to it can make me enjoy this phone for along time. i had no apps on the samsung u600 and this will be my first touch screen phone. i want one because i think its brilliant and love typing on them plus the quality in games looks way better than normal phone with the bigger screens. My twin brother has the iphone 3gs, yes the games are cool but only for a short while then i get bored. i wish the iphone had a super amoled screen with hd recording and video recording. i know the new iphone comes with hd video recording but still i wont pay that amount for a phone in this country. iphones prices in america is cheaper. i understand what you trying to say but i think you are looking at this wrong . But look at it from my point. its cheaper than most android and iphones, its got alloy sturdy build. The best quality screen ever made, the fastest cpu ever made, wifi n, bluetooth 3, and a app store that looks like its growing by the day and all for a cheap price. You would be insane not to love that! This aint a nokia 5800 which is im sorry but crap, crap screen quality crap slow ui, fat phone and the worst of all crap resistive screen. i would never ever buy that phone lol. anyway what phone u currently got?

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 15:21

32. ilia1986 (unregistered)


I currently still got the Nokia 5800 - hence my hate towards it. At the time I didn't know how horrible it was - until I bought it. That was a time when I didn't know much about cellphones. I do now - in order not to get cheated like this again. And I hope you are absolutely right. I hear you on this. You understand that after trying that phone to see "What Nokia has to offer" - I became increasingly paranoid to anything that is not an iPhone - then Android came along - and I realized that there are also very good Android phones there. I hope for your sake that the same conclusion can be made towards Bada. Maybe I just have a Nokia Trauma lol.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 21:54

33. whitelies (Posts: 2; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


Tats xactly what I was talking abt, mate! You simply can't get a phone like that for a price like that! Way to go, Wave! Its certainly smartphones for everyone like you made it possible for everyone to have touchscreens!

posted on 18 Jun 2010, 17:58

43. ickyob (Posts: 24; Member since: 19 Mar 2010)


Hey ilia1986, good choice, but make sure to go with the high end Android phone if you really want the best experience! Evo 4G or Incredible, iPhone is a pretty decent phone but crippled on a terrible network. If you want a network where you can actually make and receive calls, and not drop every single one, go with Sprint or Verizon or even T-Mobile.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 04:53

21. alstjd567 (Posts: 3; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


Guys you should really check the review of GSM Arena cuz this review is just some biased crap. http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_s8500_wave-review-480.php And as a user of this phone, i can definitely say that this phone is better than Iphone.

posted on 08 Jun 2010, 14:05

34. Balance (Posts: 2; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


Sorry, there's no other way to contact you. Can we somehow get in touch because I'd like to hear your first hand experience regarding some of the phone's functions.

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 05:12

23. anonymous-x (Posts: 5; Member since: 07 Jun 2010)


Why buy Amoled when Super-Amoled is already made & when are people going to realize that 1st Gen phones are never worth buying? Are these people the guinea pigs for the market who just have plenty of money to throw away? Do it like H/D stay w/the product & improve,improve,improve, geez what a circle these makers carry us through. OK I'll be nice, what a cute phone but I'll wait for the next one or two... & oh yea when does Samsung update they're products, it takes awhile don't it? Out.

posted on 06 Aug 2010, 07:52

48. venkata sudheer (unregistered)


what is the use of Super AMOLED screen, if the os is not able to handle the needed stuff, you only struck with it

posted on 07 Jun 2010, 14:07

30. uk786 (Posts: 47; Member since: 30 Dec 2009)


This website used to be one of my favourites when it came to mobile phone stuff and what not, but recently it has turned so biased and fanatic its kind of pathetic! I mean c'mon saying 'Heavy 3D games might overwhelm the 1GHz CPU' when the handset features the most graphically powerful CPU ever on a mobile device is just nonsenses just shows how professional they are. Also they contradict themselves when they talk about the camera saying 'Both indoor and outdoor shots made with our unit are passable' then they say 'Photos of the 5MP camera are not good enough' make up your mind! And what is with that rating system? GSMArena is the best mobile phone site, unbiased clearer reviews and better lay out faster loading website. Heck they even updated for the iPhone 4 news before phonearena even though 'i'phonearena is licking Steve Jobs bum crack like as if there's no tomorrow. Guess I won't be visiting this site very often or hardly ever any more, if I do I will take what ever I read with a bucket of salt at least. Good day.

posted on 08 Jun 2010, 17:18

35. darwall (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jun 2010)


SO SO TRUE!!! Good Day and Good Bye Phone Arena!

posted on 18 Jun 2010, 05:58

42. dtn_93 (unregistered)


agreed PhoneArena is off my favourites list im visiting GSMarena more now

posted on 06 Aug 2010, 07:54

49. venkata sudheer (unregistered)


I have used the Phone and can definitely say that the cpu cant handle the 3d games, you know what games are there in bada o.s check that out. you can use this phone only for multimedia not more

posted on 06 Oct 2010, 06:26

60. Chetan Gowda (unregistered)


Can u pls mention 3d games available in Samsung apps

posted on 09 Jun 2010, 16:17

36. Zee (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Jun 2010)


MOST PATHETIC phonearena review!!! whats wrong with u guyz? ive been surfing this site since 2009 and found every review helpful (even rating), wave 7.5 ??? seriously? All the ''cons'' are rubbish!

posted on 11 Jun 2010, 00:44

38. wiemar (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Jun 2010)


Not very intuitive interface - lol? its some like on iphone Samsung Apps has a very poor catalog - like iphone when start Photos of the 5MP camera are not good enough - not? because you see beter maked with 8mpx+? its same like on nokia n95, n82 and i cant find beter camera on phone (i mean 5mpx)

posted on 11 Jun 2010, 04:02

39. f-s-moh (Posts: 3; Member since: 10 Jul 2009)


why the rate become like this just for overall ,,, the previous rate better than this

posted on 13 Jun 2010, 06:46

40. Trebol (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Jun 2010)


Phone Arena's 7.5 points given Samsung Wave is so fare below scores given by other reviewers that it is suspicious, specially when I se Phone Arena list 6 points for Samsung Galaxy S (it says "user score" but since the phone is not for sale I suspect it's the same testers as for Samsung Wave it is refered to). The web site "Test Freaks" list the average score for hundreds of mobile phones given by various review sites. They have listed 9.1 points as average given Samsung Wave. If the average score has been pulled down by the low score given by this web site, it must have been quite a good score given by other reviewers. A professional reviewer is weighing the pros and cons according to how important they are. Many reviewers fail here. For a MOBIL PHONE it is of cause more important to have an exelent phone quality than haiving the posibiliyy to customize your e-mail receiving page. This web site's reviewer show lack of profesionalism in this respect. I have lost confidence in this web site's objectivity and will not bother to use it again.

posted on 14 Jun 2010, 11:04

41. jpropin (Posts: 152; Member since: 20 May 2010)


I don't know why people get so worked up over reviews They are just the reviewers opinion They have to be taken for what they are worth. I place much more stock in user reviews than the so called "experts" It's the consumer who uses the product day after day as opposed to an hour or two who can really clue you in to a products performance in real time and real life. And even though I place more stock in user reviews, I still have to take pause and realize that we each have our own experiences. Some have good experiences, some have bad. We all have our own biases as well. For instance I hate Samsung Phones. I've had several over the years including the Behold and the Behold II. Pieces of crap if you ask me. I don't care if they Run Bada or Android or Smandroiid. I won't touch one. Cheaply made and break to easily IMO. Samsung may come out with phones whose specs will give you goosebumps, but my "PERSONAL" experiences have told me never to buy another Samsung. The dude next door may love Samsung Phones. The only way to really know anything in life is to try it yourself.

posted on 19 Jun 2010, 07:06

44. orchuman (Posts: 9; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


samsung wave. A phone with the best display on the market, the fastest cpu, solid smooth ui, amazing audio & voice quality, great easy interface, wifi n and bluetooth 3, solid aliminium build and 15 hour talk time!!!!!!!!!! end conclusion from phonearena = 7.5 >_< my end conclusion = 9.0 the ultimate [good] You get all that for a very cheap price. no other handset can give you those amazing features for that price. :)

posted on 05 Aug 2010, 12:15

46. liesallaround (unregistered)


This is the most biased review I have ever come across for the wave. How can the wave be compared to an iphone which is totally in a different league? And lemme tell u this phone has better features than the iphone 3gs which costs double its price. So wave is definitely a great value for money. It seems as the reviewer is greatly in love with the iphone. Totally a biased review.

posted on 06 Aug 2010, 07:38

47. venkata sudheer (unregistered)


Hi, I have brought the phone and I have to say that the review is absolutely correct, you can only tell after using the phone, not just by looking into specs sheet, The oopening and closing of the apps are slow and not as good as iphone, only certain icons open faster like my files. The pros: 1.good screen and nice build quality 2.data transfer is very fast (it downloaded the 5MB in one min from 2g network) 3.The bass enhancement in music is absolute kicka** 4. Video player controls are good I like this feature very much 5. camera zoom is very good, crisp images are got feven after zooming 100% in the phone 6. The mosiac search is very nice and fast, I need to check with movies. 7. Facebook and Twitter are excellent, the rendering is very good. The cons: 1.Dont play mp4 files with higher bit rate, very feeble speaker 2.The music sound is more in right side head phone, if you switch on the 5.1 then it comes to middle but the clarity reduces. Its spoiling the good music experience 3. The Font is very irritating in samsung and size of the names displayed is large. for example in Nokia 5800, for 3.2inch screen it displays 13 contacts (without photo). But samsung wave displayes only 5 contacts with/without photos(you cant change the setting so that the font is small). You need always swipe the screen too much 4. The wallpaper is distributed for all the three screens (man this sucks i want single wallpaper for each screen) 5. The icons/files are listed by the time modified, you need to change the list by to name in each and every folder, i done for some folders but given up so irritating. 6. looks like the camera has strong algorithams, the yellow colours are looking like orange and red was looking like meroon, wheatish skin is looking like brown, totally not satisfied 7. If the call manager is a waste and its very very annoying , it dont have incomming, missed like that it has common display we never know what are missed calls and at what time they arrived. 8. you need only task manager to close the apps, otherwise they are running in the background 9. One of the most annoying feature of the samsung is , if you want to set the wallpaper/ringtone after copying it to phone memory only it will set otherwise it will not set. man that only consumes the 300 MB phone memory 10. I struggled to configure the gmail for nearly 2 hours and after that I gave up, using the browser to login and logout in gmail. 11. The icons are like samsung star The Bada OS is good for only data transfer in other things it sucks, u cant configure the email,cant change the font size or themes, colors are unreal,music experience is only normal. My advice is please don't waste the money on this, wait for nokia n8 though the symbian is very irritating but you can get along it since

posted on 14 Aug 2010, 14:51

53. SilverArrows (unregistered)


1.Dont play mp4 files with higher bit rate, very feeble speaker have you tried adjusting the output db. It makes a good difference from the default settings. 2.The music sound is more in right side head phone, if you switch on the 5.1 then it comes to middle but the clarity reduces. Its spoiling the good music experience I am using a bluetooth headphone and I don't think such an issue exist. Please check with a different headset. 3. The Font is very irritating in samsung and size of the names displayed is large. for example in Nokia 5800, for 3.2inch screen it displays 13 contacts (without photo). But samsung wave displayes only 5 contacts with/without photos(you cant change the setting so that the font is small). You need always swipe the screen too much Yes and No. You need to swipe more, that's correct. but since the swipe speed is awesome, it doesn't matter much! 4. The wallpaper is distributed for all the three screens (man this sucks i want single wallpaper for each screen) Agree 5. The icons/files are listed by the time modified, you need to change the list by to name in each and every folder, i done for some folders but given up so irritating. Never tried 6. looks like the camera has strong algorithams, the yellow colours are looking like orange and red was looking like meroon, wheatish skin is looking like brown, totally not satisfied Camera is not as bad as you have put it. i found it decent. Afterall, it's a phone cam :) 7. If the call manager is a waste and its very very annoying , it dont have incomming, missed like that it has common display we never know what are missed calls and at what time they arrived. It does indicat which are the missed calls and what time it happened. All yoou need to do is pay attention to the missed call graphic on the left hand side in the common menu. 8. you need only task manager to close the apps, otherwise they are running in the background You can use the Right button after the use of any application. It will kill it. 9. One of the most annoying feature of the samsung is , if you want to set the wallpaper/ringtone after copying it to phone memory only it will set otherwise it will not set. man that only consumes the 300 MB phone memory Never tried. but if this is true, it's bad. 10. I struggled to configure the gmail for nearly 2 hours and after that I gave up, using the browser to login and logout in gmail. it took me 2 minutes to configure Gmail 11. The icons are like samsung star Is that a shortfall?

posted on 15 Aug 2010, 14:32

54. Venkata Sudheer (unregistered)


have you tried adjusting the output db. It makes a good difference from the default settings. if we need to adjust the setting for every video, then good old mp4 player is good,no need to buy this phone. Since it can play we expect good results I am using a bluetooth headphone and I don't think such an issue exist. Please check with a different headset. Try using the samsung default headphones. Bass enhancement feature is very excellent i.e eq: rock+ bass enhancement= amazing experience Yes and No. You need to swipe more, that's correct. but since the swipe speed is awesome, it doesn't matter much! You can't keep on swiping if you have a lot of data, i.e songs imagine swiping for contacts,files,messages,apps,swipe unlocking thats more work and since its regular even swipe is fast you will loose intrest Agree Actually, some low end phones are having the feature of each wallpaper for each screen, Camera is not as bad as you have put it. i found it decent. Afterall, it's a phone cam :) Even phone camera's like N82,N95 are old this one is advanced, so we expect atleast at par with rivals It does indicat which are the missed calls and what time it happened. All yoou need to do is pay attention to the missed call graphic on the left hand side in the common menu. actually if you call the same person 4 times then it wont record as 4 calls it will record as 1 call with latest time. You can use the Right button after the use of any application. It will kill it. Agreed, but it will kill all the running applications, if we need to kill one then you need to use the task manager. Never tried. but if this is true, it's bad. the phone boosts that it has 1.5Gb but user available is 300MB, all the time it will be filling with ringtones and wallpapers, my phone ran out of phone memory. it took me 2 minutes to configure Gmail This problem is existing only for some users. Is that a shortfall? yes since this is flagship model we need new icons or new themes, how many years you will deal with old icons, this is not bussiness phone, its an multimedia device boasting smartphone features. i.e semi smart phones

posted on 06 Aug 2010, 11:12

50. venkata sudheer (unregistered)


Hi all, Recently I had discoverd something the avi files which I encoded in format specified by samsung, I tried to play on wave and it it displayed beautifully the error " file has incorrect data ", don't know what that means, and I decided to move back to nokia 5800, atleast it does what it says..

posted on 12 Aug 2010, 03:43

51. dtzy (unregistered)


only con for wave IMO is the browser,, no text reflow.. that's lame in today's standards. Just how many apps do you put on your phone anyway? Out of the thousands of apps in other OS, I would probably use a hundred at most. Yeah heavy 3d games will overwhelm a measly 1ghz cpu,, as well as dual cores LOL! But Wave don't have a graphics controller so I get phone arena's point there. Wave is a great phone that has the potential to be almost perfect. I think the reviewer mentioned something like that in their last sentence.

posted on 14 Aug 2010, 14:40

52. SilverArrows (unregistered)


My first ever visit to Phone Arena and probably the last considering the 7.5 rating given for Wave in comparison to the 9.5 for IPhone 4 as well as the other high rating provided. You guys seriously need to calibrate your rating!

posted on 17 Aug 2010, 03:49

55. taltos (unregistered)


wow i almost feel the animosity from the start.. just adding a "good point" here and there so they "professionals" can't be called biased. and about the gaming thing are u sure ur not comapring samsung wave gaming to pc w/ i7? or are u sure the unit that you reviewed is the commercial unit? anyways, everybody have ups and downs but i just want you to know phonearean this one "professional" review of urs FAIL.

posted on 20 Aug 2010, 06:56

56. Zebe (unregistered)


Interestingly, my experiences (have had Wave some 6 weeks) with Wave are that it's a very nice as smartphone, for "other than phone usage" ... whereas I think the call quality is worst I've ever had with any mobile phone. Really crackling, noisy call quality at my end anyway. Batter power is not so great either - with heavy use you have to load the phone on daily basis.

posted on 01 Sep 2010, 09:31

57. madan1727 (unregistered)


Think...n..ponder...i hv nokia 5800...everything is good...almost...but the phone opens pics slow...BUT when i saw wave 8500 and galaxy 9000...i m stunned by the superb display....NO PHONE comes even close...all nokias, lg,sony,htc..goes to dust...iphone suddenly looking washed away....superamoliad display on wave is simply unbelieving....once u see its display..u will feel like throwing ur phone---all 5800, htc..or iphone 3, 4....all u feel is generation behind....do not take my word or any negative or positive review....go to wave dealer n see urself...u will find difficult to buy anything....i m restless since i have seen the QUEEN WAVE....

posted on 01 Sep 2010, 09:41

58. madan1727 (unregistered)


Oh..i forgot to add its screen is almost same size to iphone4..and wave is priced almost one third to iphone4...that mean 3 wave to one iphone4....why someone should give 3 times the price to apple....and the samsung galaxy9000 has blasted the iphone4 to dust....put the wave, galaxy n iphone side by side...u will not like to see the iphone...those with iphone will silently brooding to see the screen n specs of wave n galaxy...the the huge money the spent on the dull iphone....do not do the mistake...see n compare....in the shop....

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.3 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (283 ppi) Super AMOLED
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
1000 MHz
Size4.65 x 2.20 x 0.43 inches
(118 x 56 x 10.9 mm)
4.09 oz  (116 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 15 hours talk time

Latest stories