x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

HTC One X Review

HTC One X 7.8

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
HTC One X Review
This is a review of the international HTC One X. In the U.S., the phone will launch through AT&T and will be equipped with a dual-core processor and LTE.

Introduction:


There's always a certain amount of coolness involved with being the first at something. Usually, the products that manage to be the first to deliver a new exciting technology to consumers are the ones that get the most recognition for their achievement, even if other competitive offerings also do that shortly afterwards.

Such was the case last year with the LG Optimus 2X, which was the first handset to come with a dual-core processor – the Tegra 2. This year, however, phone manufacturers had a new technology to implement in their products – the quad-core Tegra 3 processor, and this time, it was another company that got to the finish line first. HTC needed that. The firm went through a series of underwhelming financial results lately, which made some analysts express opinions that the unprecedented success story of the Taiwanese manufacturer has finally come to an end. However, opening the season early this year, HTC has already launched its new One series of phones, consisting of the One X, One S and One V.

HTC One X Review
Considered to be “the one” solution for all of your communication, organization and entertainment needs while on the go, the HTC One series is striving to dramatically improve on the capabilities of HTC's smartphones, and deliver a high-quality all-in-one package. At the top of the One hierarchy sits the HTC One X – the handset that we're dealing with in this review. This is the new top HTC model, the personification of the very best the company's capable of, at least for this first half of the year.

At first glance, there's a lot to love in the HTC One X – the quad-core Tegra 3 processor, brand new ImageSense camera technology, beautiful 4.7” S-LCD 2 HD screen, massive amounts of internal memory and pretty much everything else a smartphone aficionado might dream of. However, we never judge a book by its cover...


Design:

It must be difficult to come up with a phone which has a very large screen, beautiful and thin body, as well as a relatively reasonable weight, all at the same time. HTC has done it for the most part. For the casing of the One X, the company hasn't used aluminum, as it often does with its handsets, but polycarbonate. This has basically ensured that the giant One X actually doesn't weigh that much at 4.59 oz (130 g). At the same time, its polycarbonate body doesn't feel bad at all. To tell you the truth, it's completely the opposite – the One X feels incredibly solid and fine to the touch.

In terms of size, there's just no way that it doesn't feel bulky, and that's exactly what it is, both in your hand and pocket. Alas, one can't have a small phone with a 4.7” display. But who says that the One X is even trying to be compact?! This is a smartphone targeted at the hardcore user who needs more function than form.


The HTC One X feels incredibly solid and fine to the touch - HTC One X Review
The HTC One X feels incredibly solid and fine to the touch - HTC One X Review
The HTC One X feels incredibly solid and fine to the touch - HTC One X Review

The HTC One X feels incredibly solid and fine to the touch

HTC One X Review

You can compare the HTC One X with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

When it comes to its looks, we can only speak of the white variant, because that's what we tested, but the other color variants shouldn't be too different, of course. At least in white, the One X is a great-looking handset. It's very thin, but not too much, and has that sense of elegance to it, unlike previous HTC handsets, which also had premium written all over them, but where thicker and thus had a generally more masculine appearance. The front of the device features a nicely-shaped black glass framing the display, which also contributes to a somewhat sophisticated retro look. Interestingly, HTC has decided to stick with capacitive keys under the display, rather than on-screen ones. On one had, this leaves more space to display the interface at any time, but on the other, accidental presses are more likely. Above the screen is where you'll see the 1.3MP front-facing camera.

HTC One X Review
Android buttons - HTC One X Review
Front-facing camera - HTC One X Review
 

Android buttons

Front-facing camera



Taking our sweet tour around the sides of the handset, on the left we find the microUSB port, which doesn't fit the white casing really well. If it had some kind of a cover, that would have been a different story. However, we can imagine that it probably won't look bad in the darker versions of the handset. On the right is the volume rocker. It reacts OK when pressed, though the volume down key could have used a bit more travel. On the top of the HTC One X sit the power/lock key — which could also be a bit clickier, but is mostly fine — as well as the 3.5 mm headset jack and the second mic for noise-cancellation. Right behind the lock key is the Micro SIM tray, which is ejected in the same way that you eject the iPhone's Micro SIM tray – with a special tool, or, if you are a professional, with a clip. The bottom side of the phone houses only the primary microphone, while on the back you'll get to see the 8MP ImageSense camera with LED flash, awesomely-designed speaker grill, some dock connectors, as well as the HTC and Beats Audio logos. The 8MP camera actually sticks out like a sore thumb due to its protruding shape, and when we factor in the contrasting gray color that HTC used to distinguish it, this pretty much becomes the only area of the device that we find hard to look at (again, this is for the white version). Of course, this might be totally subjective, and some users might even like it just the way it is.


microUSB port (left) - HTC One X Review
Volume rocker (right) - HTC One X Review
Bottom edge - HTC One X Review

microUSB port (left)

Volume rocker (right)

Bottom edge

3.5mm jack and power key (top) - HTC One X Review
Speaker grill - HTC One X Review
SIM card tray - HTC One X Review

3.5mm jack and power key (top)

Speaker grill

SIM card tray



Display:

HTC One X Review
The gigantic 4.7” display of the HTC One X is very good-looking. Not only is it big enough to let you fully enjoy your videos, but it also has this great resolution of 720x1280 pixels. This means the pixel density comes in at 312 ppi, making it very hard to spot an individual pixel. The screen uses the so-called Super-LCD 2 (it uses IPS) technology, which is said to bring better viewing angles and less glare, compared to traditional S-LCD panels. We did find the viewing angles to be pretty good with this device, although the glare was about equal to what you get on other premium smartphones. The screen also treats us to some very saturated color. Actually, it's much closer to AMOLED, rather than LCD displays in this respect, which isn't a bad thing. In some situations, its colors might seem a bit too saturated, but in most of the cases the visuals that it produces are extremely pleasant. For those who still care, the pixels of the display are arranged in a standard RGB matrix, so no PenTile here.

All in all, HTC has done a terrific job with the One X's design. The phone is very big, as we said, due to its gargantuan display, but it still manages to appear elegant and pretty. Its polycarbonate body may not be anything that fancy, but it's solid, light and feels relaxing to the touch.



HTC One X 360-degrees View:



116 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 02 Apr 2012, 02:14 36

1. JackDude (Posts: 6; Member since: 03 Mar 2012)


Only 7,8/10?! My crapy LG Optimus One 8/10!!! Is it because of the price?

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 02:22 53

2. android_hitman (unregistered)


it's because it's not an iphone..!

i will wait and see other reviews.. i never trust PA when it comes to reviews.. they are too apple oriented

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 06:05 23

24. Chronos (Posts: 258; Member since: 25 Feb 2012)


No, it's because PhoneArena believed the One X deserved a 7.8.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 10:39 13

49. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


The Verge, Engadget and other Apple Biased Sites gave it a very high mark in their reviews. They even said it's the king of all android phones right now, why 7.8 then?

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 13:36 7

57. Chronos (Posts: 258; Member since: 25 Feb 2012)


Different opinions.

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 05:12 5

77. boingboing (Posts: 3; Member since: 03 Apr 2012)


Apple "biased". Ha, good one!

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 05:48 2

80. boingboing (Posts: 3; Member since: 03 Apr 2012)


I like how 4 people disliked that comment. The truth hurts!

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 09:44 9

83. saket.shrivastava (Posts: 55; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


phoneArena iBiased

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 07:59 11

35. benfrost100 (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


This is true. Engadget has a more balanced review as well as the verge. I read PA for laugh breaks only.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 10:17 24

46. cripton805 (Posts: 1454; Member since: 18 Mar 2012)


I agree. They list the iPhone 4s as having cons and theres essential features that are missing on the iPhone like Flash, a longer battery life, the SAME DESIGN, the same UI with tiny tinks, etc...

Its a good phone, but its not outstanding.

Phonearena was too harsh and based its score on opinions like the keyboard layout. Some might prefer it that way. 7.8 puts it around some low2mid end Android phone and the hardware was enough to give it more.

What did it for me was the Razr Maxx review. The Razr got a 9 and the Maxx got an 8.5? Its the same phone with a longer batt. Its a winnn. Not drawback. Its like saying a 120gb iPhone is worse than the 16gb because it would be thicker by a tiny amount. Doesnt the + outweigh the -?

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 13:36 9

58. Chronos (Posts: 258; Member since: 25 Feb 2012)


The One X and 4S were reviewed by two different people.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 16:54 12

63. Commentator (Posts: 3709; Member since: 16 Aug 2011)


I'm generally content with PA's reviews, but I have to speak out on this one. I agree that some points should be docked for the browser issues (which look weird, to say the least), but they seem to be nitpicking to the extreme. The keyboard layout, for instance, is a complete matter of opinion. I personally love the directional arrows on my Evo 4G. As for the 23 fps 1080p, that seems a little strange. If I may quote Engadget, "the One X captures 1080p video at a silky smooth 30fps with continuous autofocus and stereo audio." Something seems a little fishy here.

Oh, also, I'd think this phone would get higher marks simply for the fact that its the FASTEST FREAKING SMARTPHONE PRODUCED TO DATE (with the possible exception of the One S). I'd think that warrants a few more points...

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 21:57

69. Birds (Posts: 1164; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)


I see what you mean but PhoneArena said that the Razr Maxx should have been released at the same time as the original so there wouldn't be a lot of disappointed people who bought the original device months ago. They also argued that this phone is only for power users and if you don't need the extensive amount of juice of the battery then the original is fine. But my opinions are a little different from theirs though. In my opinion. If you are selling it for 100$ more than the original, put in a 32 gigabyte SD card and we have the perfect phone.

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 05:37 4

79. boingboing (Posts: 3; Member since: 03 Apr 2012)


Or maybe the iPhone got a better score because it's the better phone? I know that may be a little hard for you to understand - after all, it doesn't run Android, so how could it be better? And so what if the new iPhone shares the same industrial and UI design as the last one? It's a good design that's held up very well (only the Lumia 800/900 and One X come close to matching the elegance of the 4/4S hardware, imo). Sure, the software may not be as eye-catching as Windows Phone or ICS, but it works and works well, which is the one thing most people want from their phones.

Also, Flash is missing on every smartphone now because Adode simply isn't developing a mobile version of it anymore. Never understood why Android fanatics put such credence in Flash anyway - it was always just another way for app developers to put even more ads where they weren't wanted.

As for "the same UI with many tinks"... erm, isn't that Sense 4.0 all over or am I missing something here? I'll admit I'm not the biggest Android fan, but I do think what Google did with the UI design of ICS was a huge improvement and a massive step forward for the platform. Where Sense and other, similar skins once pushed Android forward in the early days, I can't help but feel they're now holding it back. There's something to be said for consistency in design language, but as long as OEMs continue making these skins, this will unfortunately never be a reality for Android. The impression I got from reading the review was that the writer believed this too, which may go some way to explain why such a promising phone scored so...averagely. Shame, 'cause it is a really nice phone - if it ran something closer to stock ICS, I'd be all over it.

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 06:12

81. kshell1 (Posts: 1143; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)


its not missing they just will not advance it to next version of android os. or further develop flash on mobile devices. it is not missing

posted on 04 Apr 2012, 01:42 2

91. cripton805 (Posts: 1454; Member since: 18 Mar 2012)


If you really think the iPhone is better thats dumb. LoL
If you like it better, thats another story.

You do realize you gave 0 reasons to why the iPhone would be better and you bashed on things that are offered through Android Os as flaws. "Even though it gives a better experience offering a FULL pc like browser..." Are you sure thats a con? Sound more like excuses and you dissed the iPhone in your own words lol.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 11:16 16

53. ZEUS.the.thunder.god (unregistered)


one of the best reviews i have ever seen (yeah sarcasm). this phone deserved 7.8 because as reviewer said 4.7 inches keyboard is not spacious enough in comparison to iphone`s 5 years old, BIG, 3.5 inches, perfect and magical keyboard.
iPA.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 18:57

66. glentomas123 (Posts: 70; Member since: 01 Jun 2011)


lol!!!

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 02:25 13

3. Crossblade (Posts: 211; Member since: 21 Apr 2005)


http://www.phonearena.com/howdowerate

The Optimus One is not better than the One X :)

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 12:11 1

55. Mittal (Posts: 493; Member since: 14 Dec 2011)


Sure! But it's gr8 in it's own right!!
;)

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 09:45 4

84. saket.shrivastava (Posts: 55; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


iPA try to make us ''iBi A$$ ed''

Haters Gonna Hate !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 05:58

23. ddxmms (Posts: 170; Member since: 09 Feb 2012)


wait for it,,i think this is another april fool thing.

but but but,,its april the 2nd!!!

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 08:06 1

39. legospace9876 (unregistered)


On German magazine, Connect top list LG GT40 (Optimus) is placed front of Samsung Galaxy Nexus. So, from a magazine or web site does not necessarily mean that everything is in practice as.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 11:07 5

52. ZEUS.the.thunder.god (unregistered)


iPA... or just iRAY

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 16:29 3

62. itiswhatitis (Posts: 423; Member since: 23 Jan 2012)


i'm really confused now when i read the reveiew on engadget the only con was battery life and camera quality is better than iphone 4s but not as good as N8,i guess i'll have to wait for gsmarena review cuz i feel they have the most detailed review!

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 22:01 1

70. Birds (Posts: 1164; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)


They do.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 02:27 14

4. rawbow (Posts: 428; Member since: 30 Mar 2012)


It may do good in the market considering this is the first quad by a big name company.
Best of Luck HTC. Always liked the design and the sensible interface. Just like cigar and scotch is not for everyone, HTC is not for everyone. It has good class and style.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 02:50 1

5. Jon_33 (Posts: 10; Member since: 17 Feb 2010)


What I really hate about Sense 4 is that Gingerbread app tray

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 03:10 11

6. bloodline (Posts: 706; Member since: 01 Dec 2011)


Terrible review, even from the get go you has a negative out look while writing this review.

Even when talking about its positives you still seem negative.

I always goto GSM arena for there reviews.

posted on 02 Apr 2012, 08:01 1

37. benfrost100 (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


spot on bloodline... sport one.

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC One X

HTC One X

OS: Android 4.2.2 4.1 4.0.4 4.0.3
view full specs
Display4.7 inches, 720 x 1280 pixels (312 ppi) S-LCD 2
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
NVIDIA Tegra 3 T30, Quad-core, 1500 MHz, ARM Cortex-A9 processor
1 GB RAM
Size5.29 x 2.75 x 0.35 inches
(134.36 x 69.9 x 8.9 mm)
4.59 oz  (130 g)

Latest stories