Samsung Galaxy S III vs HTC One X
In this comparison, we're using the international version of the Samsung Galaxy S III, which comes with a quad-core Exynos CPU and 1GB of RAM. The U.S. versions come with a dual-core Snapdragon S4 CPU and 2GB of RAM, as well as LTE, except for T-Mobile's, which lacks LTE.
We're also using the international quad-core Tegra 3 version of the HTC One X - the AT&T version has dual-core Snapdragon S4 CPU and LTE.


Introduction:

The HTC One X was the first new-generation Android smartphone to come out this year. It introduced us to a new kind of Android experience – one powered by an ultra-fast quad-core processor. Moreover, it helped HTC become relevant again, after a brief period of slowdown in innovation that caused the company a few disappointing quarters. Until now, the One X was pretty much the go-to phone if a user wanted one of these new Android marvels, equipped with an extremely large screen and the latest silicon inside. With the recent introduction of the Samsung Galaxy S III, though, things are going to get much more interesting. While HTC has always been a leader in the Android sector, even its best phones have always been in the shadow of Samsung's Galaxy S series, at least in terms of popularity. Thanks to their relatively close launch timings, we now have a perfect opportunity to pit these two powerhouses against each other.

Take a deep breath, people, as what follows is the most epic Android clash for the first half of the year – the Samsung Galaxy S III is facing the HTC One X!

Design:

Samsung and HTC have always had two completely different approaches regarding the design of their handsets. While the South Koreans have never really paid attention to those expensive materials that can make your phone feel like a tank, the Taiwanese from HTC have clearly been big fans of crafting devices that look better, and last longer. Pretty much the same tendencies are found with their newest hits. On one hand, the One X is also made of plastic, but a higher quality one, giving it somewhat more refined look and premium feel. The Galaxy S III, on the other, is also using polycarbonate, but it feels no where near as high-quality as the body of the One X.



Design has always been a strength of HTC, and this is once again proven by the One X's impressive build quality. This, however, doesn't translate to how comfortable the phones are to hold. To tell you the truth, the Galaxy S III feels better in the hand, as its side edges are actually much smoother compared to those of the One X. Otherwise, both handsets are about the same size – no big difference between the two in that respect (meaning they are both very big).



Display:

The radical differences between the two phones continue with their displays. The Galaxy S III, being a Samsung handset, is employing an HD Super AMOLED screen. In contrast, the HTC One X is sticking to good-old LCD, but in the significantly refined form of S-LCD 2. After our latest screen comparison, we concluded that the One X has the best phone display at this time, sporting very high levels of brightness, as well as saturated colors, with natural temperature. So, how does the PenTile-based HD Super AMOLED of the Galaxy S III compare to all that? Well, due to its AMOLED nature, the GS III's display is superior when it comes to color saturation and contrast. This screen can easily look spectacular and eye-catching – that's what it's best at. However, it is significantly colder than the One X. And thanks to its colors being saturated enough in order to guarantee an enjoyable picture, we'd consider the screen of the One X to be superior in terms of image quality.

As you know, both handsets sport HD resolution screens, so they both look incredibly crisp and clear. You might be wondering if the PenTile pixel arrangement of the Galaxy S III doesn't make it look a bit more pixelized. Well, there is a difference, but it is so small, that it can be easily neglected. In 99% of the time using the GS III, the effects of the PenTile matrix will not be noticed.

Samsung Galaxy S III 360-degrees View:



HTC One X 360-degrees View:



FEATURED VIDEO

173 Comments

175. TMach unregistered

Sold the 4X at a loss....ouch! As for the S3 and One X, the One X gets my vote and to suggest the S3's camera is better is neither here nor there as I don't find that to be the case. The user experience overall, build quality, Sense 4 makes it the One X all the way.

174. ricky0702

Posts: 11; Member since: Jul 09, 2012

I'd select the Samsung GSIII since it has a removable battery and expandable memory.the Galaxy S III camera is definitely the superior camera. Many people who've had extensive time with comparison of the One X and Galaxy S III have agreed Galaxy S III better than the One X camera in terms of overall quality. I heard that Galaxy S III and iPhone 4S used the same 8M pixel image senor from Sony.

173. TMach unregistered

Having lived with the LG Optimus 4X HD for a week now, I think I am going to have to say goodbye. This is not that the phone isn't all its cracked up to be but it does not, simply, offer me any more than my S3 or One X! Will sell to Cex as soon as I am able, given it is not out in England yet and this being one bought from Amazon.de, so it is not on their website yet! The S3 is probably the best phone of all 3 but the gimmicky stuff does not elevate it above the One X in everyday use. The One X gets my vote as you simply cannot beat the Sense 4.0 experience!

170. chocolaking

Posts: 495; Member since: May 22, 2012

Samsung Galaxy S3 battery light on fire. I guess the battery is too big or too powerful. lol Good thing I did not buy a S3, but I love my One X hahahaha!! http://www.androidauthority.com/galaxy-s3-fire-melts-case-96549/

171. SunMa_

Posts: 7; Member since: Mar 01, 2012

I was also choosing between S3 and One X and i LOVE My One X!!

168. SunMa_

Posts: 7; Member since: Mar 01, 2012

I have no lags or other issues you mentioned!Samsung is becoming another Apple like-but people out there must realize that HTC One X is good as S3!

167. SunMa_

Posts: 7; Member since: Mar 01, 2012

Oh.cmon Phone Arena!It is very clear that you favorize S3 more than HTC.Yes in some ways S3 is more practical but One X has also advantages over S3.In the past i was Samsung boy (i had Note,S2,S1).This is my first time with HTC (One X) and i love this phone.I see S3 every day and i have no desire for getting one.They are both powerhouses and bye the way-HTC One X takes better pictures than Galaxy S3!

169. sniper1087

Posts: 537; Member since: Dec 31, 2011

not even closed i had the s2 and tested the one s and one x camera and the s2 has a way better camera and the s3 is even better.

166. rowlin

Posts: 50; Member since: Jun 14, 2012

So the S3 doesn't re-flow the text to fit so you have to constantly scroll back and forth to read a web page, and that's a better browser than the One X that automatically fits the text? Sounds like a very biased review, not really believable.

165. bstringy

Posts: 1; Member since: Jun 07, 2012

What would be really great in the photo comparisons, if both shots from each camera were displayed side by side as a single image. Or better yet, display one photo that changes to the other upon mouse-over. Otherwise, it's really hard to compare shots here the way the windows are drawn even with the cumbersome magnifying glass.

163. TMach unregistered

Just bought the S3...I've got OCD and like to have the latest gadget! Having used both, in day to day use, it really does come down to personal preference. Sense 4.0 makes a big difference and is pulling me to favour the One X! Also the attention to detail and available options when customising the home screen with widgets, in respect of which the One X offers more attractive options. The S3 does feel a tad smoother on certain functions and the keyboard is a dream. Can't say I have noticed the pentile issue but then again, I am not all that savvy on the tech front nor particularly inclined to be interested. Also not about to stare at the screen until I notice! Bottom line, I love both handsets and my iP4 has been relegated to the drawer and houses my pay as you go SIM so will see the light of day occasionally but not all that often.

162. jackhammeR

Posts: 1548; Member since: Oct 17, 2011

hts one x camera suxx...look how laggy it is when you're moving your phone trying to focus on sth...dropping frames and sloooooooowmotion

164. gwuhua1984

Posts: 1237; Member since: Mar 06, 2012

I didnt have the problem, whether it was straight from the box on stock Rom or custom rom. the video recording was great with no frames dropped and steady fps. Unless you actually handled a non faulty one x, you shouldnt be going around saying it sucked.

155. nthnbrckn

Posts: 3; Member since: May 27, 2012

n its a well known fact that rgb is better than pentile...... n htc has higher pixel density n produces natural color....... so how the hell Samsung screen better?????

153. nthnbrckn

Posts: 3; Member since: May 27, 2012

lmao :-D that wht I really meant...... its a matter of personal preference........ n well I dun keep saying tht 32 gb is more than enough..... its really more than enough...... n i hadn't seen s3 stock browser but it's way better than s2 Web browser...... n i m nt a gr8 fan of stock browser n keyboards.... dey dun seem to address the bugs n r slow..... yeah it does nt come with beats headphones.... but it has a chip n software installed on phone..... n we can upgrade to it any tym. n i used a simple headphones n the difference can be easily experienced.... Samsung touch wiz is crap n had always had been.... color of amoled are unnatural..... i had used s2 over a year n when I switched to one x I really loved the sober and elegant natural colors produced on one x...... now I swear I will never switch to amoled screens.... they produce over the top unnatural colors..... so u c its a choice of personal preference...... both are gr8 phones...... for me s3 looks lyk a Chinese phone..... its ugly to the core.... the flagship device should never look lyk dis...... compare I phone, Sony experia and obviously htc......... it does nt feel premium and luxurious lyk d one x for sure...... n it shd also be a matter of personal preference...... what really meant tht the reviewer shd bring you the best of each phone Warning to all girls: If you don't treat your bf well, someone else will ! Never criticize ur bf's faults. Remember it may have been these little imperfections that stopped him from getting a better girl. :-P :-D n leave it to d ppl to decide..... he surely is nt doing tht.... htc one is nt tht bad phone the way he had described.... n d points given is a testimony f that.......

131. Dark4o90

Posts: 205; Member since: Feb 20, 2011

the display of s3 looks pixelized in some moments. if you compare s3 xperia s and one x the displays of the xperia and one x look better in pixel density although i saw the white s3 aaand it looks reaaaally really amazing and actually feels better in the hand than the one x. I can say even that one x is really ugly and the rear bump for the camera is awfull. When you put the phone on the table it stays on that bump and i think that the camera will be scratched a lot

130. nthnbrckn

Posts: 3; Member since: May 27, 2012

the reviewer is an idiot or a paid reviewer...... the reviewer job is to clarify the differences between two phones n let him choose what he wants in his phone what he dont and he said market browsers work below par on HTC one x..... this idiot hasn't tried anything..... i have downloaded opera and chrome n dey both work silky smooth and opera works like a dream.... pinch to zoom double tap, never crashes even if I open 20 tabs..... n he said Samsung screen is better....well htc has better pixel density..... it's using rgb instead of pentile...... produces more natural color in contrast to amoled screens..... htc looks much better any day..... s3 does feel premium at all htc has 4 + 1 chip....... which addresses battery issues.... i must say htc has done a huge improvement in providing more juice...... Samsung lacks it Samsung has provided some nifty features lyk smart say...... v ol know tht it will use the front camera.... c'mon its gona use so much juice n i bet 90 % of ppl won't gona use whn u can simply touch the screen...... plus htc comes with beat..... earlier I had s2 n used philips headphones..... the sound was average but with htc one x.... its so clear.... it might not v the loudest bt the sound clarity is unbelievable htc sense has always been better than Samsung crap touch wiz...... highly customisable n much much visually appealing..... touch Wiz is so ugly..... yeah it does nt have memory card but 9 out f 10 ppl dun need it whn u hav 32 gb f storage on board... n i rally dun understand how the f**king hell u use htc one x..... my phone has never crashed so far n it has been a month n i use it very heavily.... N lastly yeah I was disappointed by htc keyboard... so I downloaded swift key.... its the best keyboard I hav ever used....... still I think htc did a much better job in keyboard rather then providing ics stock keyboard d way Samsung did....... n htc swype keyboard I used sumtym in night whn I dun wish to use my both hands n. It works perfectly... so I would say htc keyboard is better...... though it shd be personal preference.......... both phones has pro and cons.... U shd not tell wat dey shd go for and not...... U jst bring out the differences n ppl decide what dey want out frm Their phone....... GS3 MIGHT BE A BETTER PHONE THOUGH BUT HTC ONE X ISNT BAD THE WAY U HAD DESCRIBED...... INFACT IT'S NECK TO NECK....... ONE THING'S FOR SURE U WILL NEVER BE DISAPPOINTED HAVING ONE X..... I DINT NEITHER DID MY COUPLE OF FRENS..... V LOVE OUR HTC ONE X!

136. Dark4o90

Posts: 205; Member since: Feb 20, 2011

first of all both chrome and opera aren't as good as s3's stock browser. Second the RGB is better but overall the s3 display is better and that is what he said. Third the colors of the amoled are prettier. Fouth one x is very ugly and it doesn't look better and it even doesn't feel better. Fifth the battery life IS better on the S3. The fifth core of the tegra doesn't make huge difference. Sixth - Smart Stay isn't turned on all the time and the front facing camera isn't so power hungry. Seventh even the one x is beats audio branded it doesn't mean it comes with beats earphones (actually it doesn't comes). Eighth the audio quallity of s3 is better in the earpeace and through the earphones. Ninth Sense UI isn't better for me. For you may be but not for me so this is personal choice. Tenth - if you repeat enough times to you that lacking a SD card slot is not a big deal maybe you will believe it. the keyboard is also personal choice but on s3 IS better and writing is easier. Both phones are great and if I had a chance to own them I will never regret that but I personally prefer S3.

127. TMach unregistered

I suggest Ray.S takes a leaf out of Engadget's reviewers and would suggest if you want a honest opinion about these 2 beasts, then you go and take a read of it! On balance, it seems at best they seem to think it is about even but leaning to the One x as the best overall package. Conclusion below in quotes "The worst thing about the GS III? No matter how hard it tries, it just isn't greater than the sum of the HTC One X's parts. That's not to say it falls short, but merely to emphasize that times have changed since last year's Galaxy S II, which landed on an unsuspecting world that was largely devoid of predators. The Snapdragon variant of the One X has similar computing power, battery life and photographic credibility, but it also has a much better user interface that sticks more closely to the guiding ethos of Android 4.0. The One X also has a more forward-looking physical design, while the GS III clings to the tried and true styles of old. Perhaps the biggest sacrifice you'd make by going for the One X over the GS III is the loss of the cheap storage offered by the microSD card. That's a painful thing to give up, but given how deeply we feel about the need for Android to move forward and not get stuck in a Gingerbread-flavored groundhog day, we might just take the hit". No bias, just a thoroughly professional job. Oh, by the way, for those who love to make judgements on performance/benchmarks and such things, they both came out about even, however, the lesser spec'd One S shines brightly...make of that what you will. In a nutshell, the two best phones out there are the One X and SGS3, once released. THE CHOICE WILL BE DOWN TO PERSONAL PREFERENCE! Enjoy/debate or whatever.

128. hung2900

Posts: 966; Member since: Mar 02, 2012

No bias? Have you read the comments below this article? Although that many of them were deleted, you can still see many complaints about the quality of this review. It ignored a ton of advantages belonged to S3 and with 21 times comparing S3 to some bias/subjective features of One X, can it be not bias? Have you recognized a strange thing that engadget always tries to underestimate Galaxy S3 by using suck benchmark scores? At the first day that S3 releashed, they shew a linpack score that S3 had olny over 100 points in multi-thread (which actually is about 170) and now only 4400 points in Quadrant (which all oher reviews show more than 5300). They ignored the fact that Antutu, BrowserMark, GLBenchmark Offscreen, Smartbench and CFBench are more reliable than the things they focused like BS Nenamark/GLBenchmark Onscreen (Limited V-sync), Vellamo (Qualcomm product) and Linpack (40 years old benchmark tool). And finally, why were comments complained about this article deleted? Have you seen these things on other websites?

129. TMach unregistered

That is exactly the point dude! I am not even going to speculate whether something from the article was deleted or not, there are plenty of complaints about PA or more accurately Ray S' "review"! The S3 may or may not be better and will probably sell loads more as it is the more popular Samsung brand. An article or review is meant to be objective rather than subjective and bottom line, choice of phone is ultimately down to personal choice! By the way, I could not care less about BENCHMARKS, they are numbers on a paper, I doubt the average user on the street cares about them. The reason iFruit sells so many handsets is not down to spectacular benchmarks but because they know about marketing and make aesthetically pleasing products. Most will go with one of these two, undoubtedly the best phones on the market, based on the same principles and not because they will ask the shop keeper about benchmarks. You will be aware that GSMArena also felt it would be about personal choice when they compared the two!

152. hung2900

Posts: 966; Member since: Mar 02, 2012

I totally agree, everything you said is correct (in my opinion). The only point I mention here is the quality of Engadget's review abt S3. I don't care much abt the review of PA or Ray S, just like the entertainment ( although i think this review is better than others before, especially the reviews of Iphone)

135. Dark4o90

Posts: 205; Member since: Feb 20, 2011

you just can't say that the sense ui is better. For you is better for me it is NOT. I don't like the shiny pictures of the sense and it annoys me. This is personal preference and this is not a "BIAS". And s3's hardware is better. In the quote is said "The Snapdragon variant of the One X has similar computing power, battery life and photographic credibility" NOT BETTER BUT SIMILAR which means s3 is the best for now

126. RORYREVOLUTION

Posts: 3131; Member since: Jan 12, 2010

While the Exynos processor does play a very big part in making the SGS3's web browser the best there is. It also has to due with Touchwiz's browser. Even on lower end devices like the Exhibit 2 which ran Gingerbread Touchwiz's web browser, it was suprisely quick and responsive, even with flash on and that device only had a 1ghz processor with 512mb or RAM.

122. theniner

Posts: 2; Member since: May 20, 2012

The Bias in this video is really, really bad. Literally everything, save the design, went in the Galaxy S III's favor. I'm not saying the Galaxy S III is a bad phone but I feel that he should have done a less biased video. The interface for one is something I feel HTC nails.

134. Dark4o90

Posts: 205; Member since: Feb 20, 2011

so why do you think that if you think that the video is biased everyone think this way. Where is the bias if you can tell if you didn't hold the both phones in your hands. Everything in the video is true. s3 feels better, looks better (the one x is really ugly), the photos are better and everyting is better if you prefer the sense ui that is your opinion

121. TMach unregistered

One last post - for those wanting to make up their own minds about whether to buy the One X - nsuggest you read Phonedog's review by Taylor.Link to the review below. http://www.phonedog.com/2012/05/16/htc-one-x-wrtten-review-by-taylor/

120. TMach unregistered

Well, this review is "yawn" making!. The screen on the One X is generally rated as better by most sites who have reviewed both phones. In terms of the average user, I doubt any marginal perception that the S3 is better would make a single jot of difference so it will come down to aesthetics. There is nothing wrong with the One X, with reference to its alleged faults, that a software update can't fix! Two software updates have been released, possibly 3 depending on where you are. There is a noticeable camera improvement since the second update and the performance and the pictures are superb. Personally, not being a "geek"/expert, the One x is blazingly fast and quad core is presumably more about future proofing the phones. In terms of my next handset, this is more likely to be the Sony Xperia Mint if it is quadcore than the SGS3 as the design/aesthetics are not enough to grab my attention and whatever perceived advantages it has over the One X, real or otherwise, are not enough to sway me. Personal preference exercised. Finally, a review should never be about personal opinions but about objectivity and facts. Ray.S - your personal opinion does not qualify on that front. .

133. Dark4o90

Posts: 205; Member since: Feb 20, 2011

there is no such thing as objectivity in smartphones area and your comment proves it. your opinion is that the one x is better OK mine is that the s3 is better. One x's display is actually a bit better because of the RGB and this is noticeable when you compare both side by side, inspite of that i prefer the amoled. In every other way the s3 is better.

154. TMach unregistered

That is the problem with people who get so defensive they don't even take the time to understand what they have read. My post does not suggest the One x is better than the S3, pay attention please as it clearly states that it is likely the S3 has better performance! I always get top end phones and I will probably end up with both, if I can't decide. By the way, I doubt anyone has played with the S3, apart from journalists since it has not been released yet. For my part, all I want is someone to lay out the pros and cons of each so as to make an informed judgement, not some idiot journalist's opinion.

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless