x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Asus Padfone 2 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Asus Padfone 2 Review
Thanks to our partners from Tekshop for providing the review unit.

Introduction:


Last fall, we had the chance to check out the specialized device in the Asus Padfone, which introduced us to a whole new gadget category worth applausing. We're already seeing its successor in the aptly named Asus Padfone 2. Naturally, it's blessed with the usual set of hardware upgrades we'd expect to find, but in the world of always-evolving tech, does it stand a chance at attracting consumers to its uncanny dual-form functionality?

Asus Padfone 2 Review
Asus Padfone 2 Review
The package contains:

  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Product Safety and Warranty Guide

Design:

Independently as a phone, the Asus Padfone 2 doesn't deviate much in terms of design over its predecessor, and in fact, the only noticeable new thing is its larger size in footprint – to accommodate the bigger screen. Utilizing a wedged tapered design similar to what's used by its Zenbook Prime ultrabooks, it gives the handset a very distinct look over other highly respected smartphones. Sure, its spun plastic casing might not be regarded as premium, but regardless of that, it contributes in making the handset deceptively lightweight. Obviously, it's not often we see Asus making smartphones, but we're so darn impressed with what they have here.

Despite it being a mostly stock Android 4.1.1 Jelly Bean device, Asus opts to give the handset the usual trio of capacitive Android buttons beneath its display. On the opposite end, we naturally find its earpiece, light & proximity sensors, and front-facing 1.2-megapixel camera.

The Asus Padfone 2 doesn't deviate much in terms of design over its predecessor - Asus Padfone 2 Review
The Asus Padfone 2 doesn't deviate much in terms of design over its predecessor - Asus Padfone 2 Review
The Asus Padfone 2 doesn't deviate much in terms of design over its predecessor - Asus Padfone 2 Review

The Asus Padfone 2 doesn't deviate much in terms of design over its predecessor



Asus Padfone 2 Review

You can compare the Asus Padfone 2 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Looking around its sides, we appreciate the matte aluminum trim it's sporting, which adds a sprinkle of elegance to the device. Furthermore, the power button and volume control on the right edge of the handset are raised and offer springy responses when pressed. Rounding things out, it feature a noise-cancellation microphone, nanoSIM slot, 3.5mm headset jack, microUSB port, and standard mic.

3.5mm jack (top) - The sides of the Asus Padfone 2 - Asus Padfone 2 Review
Power and volume keys (right) - The sides of the Asus Padfone 2 - Asus Padfone 2 Review
Charging port - The sides of the Asus Padfone 2 - Asus Padfone 2 Review

3.5mm jack (top)

Power and volume keys (right)

Charging port

The sides of the Asus Padfone 2


Higher than what we typically see, the Padfone 2 is packing along a beefy 13-megapixel auto-focus camera, which features an LED flash and 1080p video recording. In close proximity to it too, is the handset's speakerphone grill. And lastly, since it's donning a closed design, there's no access to its internal battery – nor do we find a microSD card slot.


Display:

Continuing to amaze us, this is sporting one heck of a sharp looking display that really gets our attention from the onset. With its sizable 4.7-inch 720 x 1280 Super IPS+ display, it no doubt produces the same level of detail we're accustomed to seeing nowadays on rival high-end devices, which is attributed to its pixel density of 312 ppi. At the same time, however, its Super IPS+ display is extraordinary vivid with its warm colors, modest viewing angles, strong brightness output, and high contrast – all of which combine to offer superior outdoor visibility. Frankly, we're mesmerized by it!

Viewing angles of the Asus Padfone 2 - Asus Padfone 2 Review
Viewing angles of the Asus Padfone 2 - Asus Padfone 2 Review
Viewing angles of the Asus Padfone 2 - Asus Padfone 2 Review

Viewing angles of the Asus Padfone 2



Padfone Station and Docking:

If you are not familiar with the Padfone concept, it consists of a smartphone that docks into a tablet “station” – the station features its own internal battery and display, but is not a fully featured tablet – it doesn't work without the phone, which provides the processor, memory, etc.

This time around, Asus decided to change how the smartphone is docked into the Padfone Station. Easier than before, the handset is simply requires being slid into the slot in the rear of the Padfone Station, where it makes the connection.

The Padfone Station - Asus Padfone 2 Review
The Padfone Station - Asus Padfone 2 Review
The Padfone Station - Asus Padfone 2 Review
The Padfone Station - Asus Padfone 2 Review
The Padfone Station - Asus Padfone 2 Review
The Padfone Station - Asus Padfone 2 Review

The Padfone Station


Specs-wise, there isn't anything too extraordinary, seeing that it features a 10.1-inch WXGA (1280 x 800) IPS display with Corning Gorilla Display. Indeed, it's not the most detailed thing out there, but nevertheless, it's sufficient enough to accept and use. Looking at the design, we're somewhat irked by its choice of using a soft touch matte finish – mainly because it doesn't quite contrast well with the spun plastic rear casing of the smartphone.



Asus Padfone 2 360-Degrees View:



22 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 14 Feb 2013, 09:17 5

1. mpoznic (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Feb 2013)


awesome phone. :D

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 09:37

2. Commentator (Posts: 2467; Member since: 16 Aug 2011)


Hoping the next one revives the missing keyboard dock. I'd still prefer the OG Padfone because of that.

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 09:40 1

3. Diego! (Posts: 508; Member since: 15 Jun 2009)


Why did just get an 8 when is absolutely wonderful?

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 09:51 9

4. buccob (Posts: 1533; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)


Phonearena missed some very important features...

The PadFone 2 has MHL capabilities through the phone, and USB on the go via the Tablet Station.

The Camera is able to record video: 720p @ 60 frames per seconds, or 480p @ 90 fps!!

There are 3 available options for the PadFone, the 16 GB, 32 and 64GB and they did not mention it...

Your rating process sucks!...

This should be around 8.5...

Xperia Z should be at least a 9

Why dont you criticize the iPhone for being over price?

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 11:31 2

10. CanYouSeeTheLight (Posts: 885; Member since: 05 Jul 2012)


I agree, IMO the iPhone is far more overpriced than this in my country this costs 799 euro 32gb unlocked with the Station and the iPhone costs 949€ for the 16 gig version unlocked. This is on one of the biggest retail stores of my country.

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 12:47 1

14. b1acktiger (Posts: 210; Member since: 19 May 2012)


Coz iPhone gives you the value for money ? An apple product which is notoriously known for higher pricing will never be in over priced list. if some other manufacturer asks to pay for their innovation, thats a "over priced" phone. and yeah, Apple's non removable and no expandable features will never be a minus point for them.

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 13:52 4

17. buccob (Posts: 1533; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)


Yeah I guess thats their logic... Anyway, Asus is known for having quality+budget friendly devices... But at the same time they have expensive offerings...

The rating should be something standard and consistent at least among reviewers in the same web site.

So if you are pointing out that a phone does no have microSD slot... then point it out in all of other phones in the same category...

I really like this site for news and info... but I hate their phone reviews... very biased towards whats "popular" and not meant to be a deep insight review on a piece of technology.

GSMarena is best at reviewing... though they do not score phones... I guess they know better...

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 15:16

18. CanYouSeeTheLight (Posts: 885; Member since: 05 Jul 2012)


Words of wisdom my friend! When it comes to reviews no website beats GSMArena or Anandtech, they know what they are doing and they at least know what features the phones have, unlike iPhonearena.

posted on 15 Feb 2013, 02:31

22. louiemapa (Posts: 28; Member since: 01 Nov 2012)


I agree with you, this is more like a popularity contest.

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 10:20

5. GG_SHAH (Posts: 19; Member since: 13 Feb 2013)


Pixel density:

312 ppi

VEry disappointing

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 10:25

6. GG_SHAH (Posts: 19; Member since: 13 Feb 2013)


As new phones have ~440/1 ppi

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 10:36 2

8. lallolu (Posts: 244; Member since: 18 Sep 2012)


It was released before full HD screens became the norm for the very high-end phones.

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 10:50

9. GG_SHAH (Posts: 19; Member since: 13 Feb 2013)


Hm......

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 12:43 1

12. buccob (Posts: 1533; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)


Correct, it was release last year, but PA is a bit late to review it... although in their defense, Asus never released an American version, which is why I bought the Xperia Acro S and I am waiting for the Z

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 13:24

16. GG_SHAH (Posts: 19; Member since: 13 Feb 2013)


So thats the reason :) .. thanks

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 15:19

19. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


geez dude...if 312 is not enough for you....check your eyes quickly
you're a victim of marketing and 1080p magic

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 10:35

7. lallolu (Posts: 244; Member since: 18 Sep 2012)


It is too expensive and I don't care one bit about the pad. I think it is better to buy a phone and a tab separately so it they are 2 devices which 2 people can use simultaneously instead of having to combine the phone with the pad everytime one needs the pad. Maybe thee phone price would have been lower then. I really like the phone though.

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 12:46

13. buccob (Posts: 1533; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)


Well, I think the Pads idea is awesome... since if you get 2 phones and just 1 tablet accessory, both you and your partner, sibling, or whatever can use it without bothering with others account, apps, information, files...

And this way you are expending less than having 2 phones + 1 tablet... (kinda)

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 12:06

11. darac (Posts: 2156; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


An 8?
BS

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 12:48 1

15. Taters (Posts: 3461; Member since: 28 Jan 2013)


Now the Xperia Z fans can't complain. This got a lower score despite being superior in a lot of ways. Same with the Oppo Find 5, it got an 8 only too. 8.5 for the Xperia Z is a great score.

People also need to realize that their are different reviewers with different tastes. Lol

posted on 14 Feb 2013, 18:51

20. gmracer1 (Posts: 646; Member since: 28 Dec 2012)


FML I want this phone!

posted on 15 Feb 2013, 02:25

21. louiemapa (Posts: 28; Member since: 01 Nov 2012)


the only con you put is "very expensive" yet the score is just 8? it has the same specs as the optimus G but this phone has more features than Optims G and this one got an 8? because its expensive? or bcoz its Asus? I dont get it.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Asus Padfone 2

Asus Padfone 2

OS: Android 4.4 4.0.4
view full specs
Display4.7 inches, 720 x 1280 pixels (312 ppi) Super IPS+ LCD
Camera13 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro APQ8064, Quad core, 1500 MHz, Krait processor
2048 MB RAM
Size5.43 x 2.71 x 0.35 inches
(137.9 x 68.9 x 9 mm)
4.76 oz  (135 g)

Latest stories