x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy S4 User Reviews

9.2 Based on 114 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed9.1/10
Camera9.4/10
Multimedia9.5/10
Internet9.4/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery8.6/10
Reception9.2/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality8.3/10
Text input9.2/10
Everyday usage9.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

karoafriyie
posted on 12 Sep 2015, 05:40 (Posts: 19; Member since: 19 Aug 2012)

10

THE GREATEST I HAVE EVER USED

karoafriyie has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

After using galaxy s4, i will upgrade still to galaxy s4. you can say i have been almost like brainwashed into loving this awesome phone. i came from a galaxy s3 and jumping to s4 i immediately noticed the difference. the screen is indisputably beautiful with full HD recording and playback capabilities. the battery life is above average under normal usage it gets me through the day without charging it and on 3g. my s4 is running kitkatt and i must say i sometimes push it to the limit to make it fail but it always come through. it handles games marvelously. the phone although made of plastic, it feels and looks very classy. this phone completely satisfy my needs and all i expect from a phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10 great signal reception
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 the best in this department
Camera 10/10 great sensor
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 smooth and snappy
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 absolutely beautiful
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • display
  • camera
  • fast cpu
  • ir blaster
  • sensors

Cons

  • fragile screen

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yoosufmuneer
posted on 17 Feb 2015, 02:27 (Posts: 1507; Member since: 14 Feb 2015)

9

Galaxy S4

yoosufmuneer has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

One of the best Samsung phones! Removable battery, Micro SD expansion, Super AMOLED Display, Makes it one of the best Samsung Phones in the market. Lollipop update is coming soon so it should make it more stable. I would recommend this to anyone who doesnt care about the build quality.

Build quality 1/10 Design Is awesome but Build Quality could be better with a metal trim.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Great in Daylight, Acceptable in Lowlight
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Full HD Super AMOLED is Awesome!
Battery 10/10 Pretty Good. 4.5 hours of Screen On Time

Pros

  • 5" Full HD Super AMOLED Display
  • Removable Battery
  • 13MP camera
  • IR Blaster
  • Micro SD Expansion
  • Thin Bezels
  • Thin and Light
  • Plenty of Accessories

Cons

  • Build quality

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

desgua
posted on 23 Nov 2014, 17:55 (Posts: 11; Member since: 12 Sep 2013)

7

Good phone

desgua has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Unfortunately the screen has crashed on the first month of use, but it is still working.
The camera takes good photos in strong light, provided you have the object on focus and steady hands.
I am very upset with the lag user interface and the poor life of the battery.

Build quality 4/10 The screen broke on the first fall. The camera lens is protruding.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 4/10 Laggy.
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Good camera for steady hands.
  • Beautiful amoled screen.

Cons

  • Laggy user interface.
  • Fragile screen.
  • Protruding camera.
  • Poor battery.

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tripax
posted on 12 Oct 2014, 19:49 (Posts: 7; Member since: 12 Oct 2014)

9

Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505 User!

Tripax has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall, I can only say good of S4, as my analysis suggests, it works very well at all, does well what it promises, the only thing you should take into metal rim and not plastic, and the battery may be a bit of power, and must bring radio.

Build quality 8/10 Could have more metal parts.
Reception 9/10 I have a lot assistance where I live.
Call quality 10/10 The best, when caught in other smart notice that nothing comparable is weaker audition.
Internet 9/10 Load web pages very fast in Wi Fi and 4G.
Multimedia 10/10 Very simple and beautiful full marks.
Camera 10/10 Easy to use, the best I've ever seen, just the S5 may be slightly better but only for 4k video, but this has only fullHD 10 I rate your overall.
UI speed 9/10 I think quite fast and super cute, could be faster, with pure android, but the TouchWiz for me and very beautiful, and works very well in S4.
Everyday usage 10/10 Always worked beautifully, never let me down, very fast, a great friend.
Text input 10/10 Very good, and excellent Qwerty keyboard Samsung has the numbers up at the top that helps a lot, very identical SwiftKey, and we still have the option of putting the old way samsung keyboard mode 3X4.
Display 10/10 The best they had seen, until it reached the S5, and are very identical perhaps the S5 is a little better in brightness, but forget the S5, this and the best I've seen.
Battery 8/10 The battery overused internet always connected lasts 1 full day with 20 calls and 30 messages thereabouts, use of internet connected 30 minutes per day and 20 calls and 40 messages it lasts two days, only use the phone and messages only, it lasts close to four days, it loads in just 1 hour and 45min at 100% when this 10%.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Display
  • Everyday usage
  • Call quality
  • Gorilla Glass 3
  • UI is user friendly
  • Removable Battery

Cons

  • Build quality (not have anything metal)
  • No Radio FM/AM
  • Battery should be better (3000Mhz)

Tripax alternatives:

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sputtle
posted on 13 Aug 2014, 00:36 (Posts: 8; Member since: 23 Jan 2013)

9

Great Phone

sputtle has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I got my Galaxy S4 the day it came out for Verizon. I have fully enjoyed it ever since. I had it rooted for a while and this was the only time I ever had any trouble with it. Swype was laggy, apps would crash and all sorts of other issues. But once KitKat was pushed out to the devices, everything was gravy again. I would recommend this phone to everyone I know! I especially like the IR blaster. I use it all the time.

Build quality 9/10 There is still too much plastic on these phones to get a 10 for build quality
Reception 9/10 Reception in my area is poor all around, but I still have signal issues at work while others do not.
Call quality 10/10 Can't expect more from call quality.
Internet 10/10 Loads web pages very fast, as long as the connection permits.
Multimedia 8/10 This could definitely use a louder speaker. Otherwise, no other complaints.
Camera 10/10 Pictures are far past my expectations.
UI speed 10/10 Everything flows nicely and is easy to organize.
Everyday usage 10/10 It never leaves my pocket. I use it for everything and it handles its daily chores nicely.
Text input 10/10 Swype gets laggy sometimes, but that's not Samsung's fault. Their keyboard may be better but I never use it. It's functionality just doesn't work for me.
Display 10/10 Always bright enough and dim enough.
Battery 8/10 Given the battery technology today, this phone does do pretty well. Cudos to Samsung and Google for offering all of the power saving options. But it is difficult to get it into deep sleep mode.

Pros

  • Screen size
  • Very fast
  • Camera is fabulous
  • IR Blaster

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Speaker isn't loud enough

sputtle alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

warswics
posted on 27 May 2014, 16:14 (Posts: 19; Member since: 27 May 2014)

8

It's okay

warswics has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I switched in December to Galaxy from iPhone. Overall it's okay. If you own a mac then stick with iPhone. It's a bit of a pain trying to switch pictures over from the phone to the mac laptop. Also, if you hear a song on the radio or something it is far easier to quickly purchase it on iTunes. Finally I hate the fact that there are ads on the phone. Seriously that is annoying.
Personally I miss the iPhone and I'll switch back when the 6 comes out.

Build quality 8/10 It's nothing great. Kind of cheap plastic.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10 I've had problems with the phone and its ability to remain on wifi.
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Screen

Cons

  • Voice recognition
  • wifi problems

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

greatoneiw
posted on 08 Apr 2014, 09:40 (Posts: 41; Member since: 08 Apr 2014)

9

S4 The Giant

greatoneiw has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great phone for a geek and a person who wants to play with his phone 24/7 but bad phone for average user cause UI is hard to learn and people who dont care about those air sensors are gonna hate it
+
this can be named a camera phone , the photos taken by this phone is better than my camera and detail and colors are amazing both for front facing and main camera

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Front facing Camera

Cons

  • Not flagship Call quality

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

GeorgeAF
posted on 27 Mar 2014, 05:20 (Posts: 51; Member since: 25 Feb 2014)

10

Samsung S4, I just love my phone

GeorgeAF has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall, it is a great phone. Stylish and also very much capable. for a phone that was released last year, it is still very relevant. The camera is just brilliant and the fact that the phone can do so much more is just enough to spin my world around.

Build quality 10/10 The phone fits into my hands, its slick and it looks good as well
Reception 10/10 i always have a working signal even when people turn to complain about theirs
Call quality 9/10 it is good but not always clear during windy days
Internet 10/10 I mean, its an Android phone. Even the galaxy pocket has good internet capablities
Multimedia 10/10 it comes standard with the ability to support many file formats and the screen size compliments the experience
Camera 9/10 Better than most
UI speed 9/10 Sharp but it could be faster
Everyday usage 10/10 I love it
Text input 10/10 Very accurate
Display 10/10 Clear
Battery 8/10 Not enough juice for a heavy user

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kusalanupama
posted on 16 Feb 2014, 01:25 (Posts: 9; Member since: 15 Dec 2012)

9

Very much satisfied

kusalanupama has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

im switching from an iPhone to GS4. and so far the experience is joyful. one of the main things people complain about the GS4 is the build quality, for a person coming from an iPhone 5, till now i didnt feel much less premium. yes the iPhone is much premium than GS4 but no complain. i thought 5' be very big for a phone but i got use to it very quickly. the display is just stunning, its just a pleasure to look at it. there are so many features under the hood, but i dont use most of them but may come in handy sometimes. this is the 3rd month using this, and no lags at all. i got the snapdragon version i9505. the camera also got plenty of features but auto mode does cover all. pictures are in very good detailed condition. and the battery is also okay. in moderate usage can survive a day. almost everything about this phone is good. but there are two main things irritate me, they are TouchWiz and back facing speakers. touch wiz is just so ugly and is hate it. only HTC one got the speaker problem right.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Camera

Cons

  • TouchWiz

kusalanupama alternatives:

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

poikilo
posted on 16 Jan 2014, 11:34 (Posts: 49; Member since: 07 Jun 2012)

9

Impressive

poikilo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I was in two minds between this and HTC One, but after seeing its camera, i passes. Good at first, 4.3 update kind of screwed the battery life, hope they fix it.

I honestly dont understand why 200 characters need to be posted, ridiculous PA .

Build quality 9/10 Glossy back, no no.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10 Stutters sometimes
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 The best, period.
Battery 9/10 4.3 update kinda ruined the battery life. Hope they fix it.

Pros

  • Display
  • Ergonomic in design
  • Brilliant camera
  • Multitadking
  • Air gestures

Cons

  • Low light performance
  • Battery life
  • UI hiccups

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MeGustaHC
posted on 18 Dec 2013, 10:44 (Posts: 8; Member since: 18 Dec 2013)

9

Not the best phone, but great!

MeGustaHC has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Not the best phone in the market, just awesome. Too fragile. Nice specs and display. The camera is very nice but not in low light scenarios, Snapdragon 600 and 2GB of RAM makes the performance be very smooth. Have some bugs.

Build quality 7/10 cheap plastic rear, too easy to damage
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10 What you expect...
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 Outdoors experience is horrible... but indoors Galaxy's display should be the best.
Battery 9/10 Better than others, anyways, not the best

Pros

  • Design
  • Display
  • Camera
  • Performance
  • Gorilla Glass 3
  • Battery Life
  • Internet browsing

Cons

  • Camera in low light scenarios
  • User storage
  • Build quality

MeGustaHC alternatives:

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

koko1
posted on 13 Dec 2013, 18:44 (Posts: 103; Member since: 03 Dec 2013)

10

best phone on the planet

koko1 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

a great phone, i jumped from the s2 to the s4, i found it very amazing, camera, software features like s-health, s- trslator and air view are the best, of course with the camera features
great job samsung

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

davenycept
posted on 19 Dec 2013, 04:53 (Posts: 200; Member since: 03 Jul 2012)

10

they got it right

davenycept has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had every Galaxy S... this is the best.. I started with the vibrant which was a decent phone.. though gps was a major issue I stuck with it.. I just like the power matched with the fluidity... when I heard annoy this S4 I want sure if I should get it because I heard it's the same as the S3...when I was getting it immediately noticed the difference I'm screen quality and I wanted more...then I noticed the raw overall power and fluidity of this thing and I was hooked... now I just got the OTA from trouble the other day for 4.3 and it feels like a completely new phone...it's so smooth and fast...I persuaded my friends to dump his iPhone 5s to get this and he's loving it too..thanks

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 Once I received the 4.3 update the battery dramatically improved

Pros

  • beautiful 1080p screen, smooth interface, very fast processor, multitasking, camera, smooth

Cons

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Honestcritic
posted on 14 Nov 2013, 21:07 (Posts: 15; Member since: 14 Nov 2013)

10

Solid improvement over my old s3

Honestcritic has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Beast phone. My favorite thing is that you can use it as a thermometer, metal detector(separate app), sound gauge.

Least favorite is the plastic built body.

Everything else is great, even the battery.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Powerhouse phone.
  • Everything included
  • SD card
  • Can multi task

Cons

  • Plastic body

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Scorpion
posted on 01 Oct 2013, 11:17 (Posts: 103; Member since: 28 Apr 2012)

9

A glimpse to the future

Scorpion has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

So after a month with it I'm ready to write about it. The basic functions work great and the extras are nice and even useful. The screen is amazing, the camera is great and the sound adapts to your ear. The battery and my 64GB SD card are swapable. On the downside, the camera sticks out, no stereo speakers, and some lag. Which is solved by removing Samsung's weather widget. Shouldn't happen on a flagship. White I9500 Exynos Octa 16GB, Android 4.2.2.

Build quality 7/10 The camera sticks out and the back cover is thin. Other than that, it's solid.
Reception 8/10 Sometimes it would load and play youtube but wont show my account on it. Weird,
Call quality 10/10 Very loud voice have to turn down the volume. Which is a good thing.
Internet 9/10 The default browser has some neat features like tracking eye movement or hand waive movement - but Chrome is faster. Give me both speed and features it might have been a 10
Multimedia 10/10 Adapt sound - Performs ear check (Yeah exactly) and makes me hear everything at volume 4-5 with the headset. Video player - Perfect + Air view allows to see scenes while playing.
Camera 9/10 Great pics, great modes, doesn't load instantly.
UI speed 8/10 Could have been better but still really fast
Everyday usage 9/10 The lag is annoying but the feature set is more than worth it.
Text input 10/10 Love the numbers row above the letters
Display 10/10 1080p Super Amoled with automatic color adjustment. And manual too.
Battery 9/10 Very good, not old Nokia good

Scorpion alternatives:

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mr.Singh
posted on 13 Sep 2013, 13:26 (Posts: 12; Member since: 02 Aug 2012)

9

Its Galaxy S3S, not S4 !!

Mr.Singh has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Perfect Smartphone for me :) . Im a big fan of Samsung from Galaxy nexus. I love touchwiz interface. It is fast, stable, & quick notification settings. I have no complaint about plastic build quality.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Display
  • TouchWiz UI
  • IR Blaster
  • Expandable Storage
  • Removable Battery
  • Octa-Core Processor
  • Size
  • NFC

Cons

  • Radio
  • Camera Loading Time
  • Speaker Music Quality

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

htainlintha
posted on 22 Oct 2013, 06:25 (Posts: 41; Member since: 20 Mar 2010)

10

Extremely powerful Android Smartpohne

htainlintha has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

One the most powerful Android phone packed with great screen, 13MP camera and completely new features. I got this beast from Optus, Australia and it has been with me for more than 5 months. It rocks as I can do many stuffs with it. Android 4.2 is great and the phone has great camera with great features, good battery life and no reception weakness. The display is big enough to produce quality images and very crispy and normal to human eyes. Touch screen is ultra-sensitive as it even response to the fingers with gloves. Very wide acceptance of audio and video files. Swift task performance and multitasking. Removable battery and expandable micro SD card. New features. Though it is my first Sammy phone it never fails me. Well done!

Build quality 9/10 Plastic body=can absorb more damage, the most important thing is to give you access to battery and MicroSD card while other don't give you that options.
Reception 10/10 No weakness.
Call quality 10/10 When you receive the call there is an option to let you choose the one suits you best. It can produce the best sound even in windy circumstances.
Internet 10/10 Mine is I9505 version so it has 4G capabilities. To be precise 4G Cat 3, 100Mb download and 50Mb upload. Perform really faster than other competitors 4G.
Multimedia 10/10 5 inch 1980x1080 pixel Super amoled, ultra-sensitive, response to your finger even with the gloves on!
Camera 10/10 13 MP can also record 1080pHD videos with continuous auto focus. F 2.2(Aperture size) with flash can produce great quality images both indoor and outdoor plus great,handy features pack. Who doesn't want it?
UI speed 10/10 Android 4.2 for now and will be upgraded to 4.3 in October,2013. The bets of the best OS.
Everyday usage 10/10 It never fails me and I think it never fails anyone who uses SGS4.
Text input 10/10 Swype, support many different languages etc
Display 10/10 Very natural and brightness didn't make the colour look bad. Good combination of resolution, super amoled and the size(5 inch)
Battery 9/10 Battery can last for a day plus if you are not a heavy user. I check email, play games and use 4G and it can survive for a day or more for me. Thanks to plastic body you can put in bigger battery if you want like 7500mAh Zero Lemon battery. etc!

Pros

  • Cutting edge specs, High performance Quad-core CPU and Adreno 320 GPU)
  • 13MP Camea AF with flash, focal length F2.2
  • New and creative features
  • 5inch full HD screen with Super Amoled, bright yet natural
  • 4G cat 3,perform even faster than the already fast 4G internet
  • Great battery life(16 hrs or more for me) no other phone has outlast this yet for me as I don't use Note or other bigger-size smartphones.
  • Good speakers,pretty loud

Cons

  • Nothing yet

htainlintha alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MrKoles
posted on 06 Aug 2013, 05:53 (Posts: 368; Member since: 20 Jan 2013)

10

Amazing!

MrKoles has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best smartphone I´ve ever used!!! Almost everything is perfect. The design is beautiful and looks really high-end thanks to the thin bezels. It has everything what you will need in your everydays, and much more!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Compact, high-end and eyecatching design
  • MicroSD card up to 64GB and 2GB of RAM
  • Super camera with amazing details
  • Always-fast responding , non-lagging UI
  • Nature UI is the best and most beautiful, with punchy colours
  • Astonishing Super Amoled display with very high pixel-density
  • Battery is among the best despite those beefy specs
  • Excellent gaming performance
  • Guaranteed updates (5.0 and beyond) thanks to Samsung
  • Wide choice of accessories

Cons

  • New Android users might be afraid of the complicated settings
  • Common overheating

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

johnriii
posted on 05 Aug 2013, 11:07 (Posts: 238; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)

9

DO believe the hype...

johnriii has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had the phone for two weeks. I've tried to wait before submitting a review, but I can't. the S4 is totally awesome. i'm coming from an HTC Rezound/Tbolt, and this is WORLDS above those. if you have an S3, stick with it, but if you're coming from another brand, jump right in, the water's fine! lag? what lag??? overheating??? what overheating??? bad battery life? really, I don't see it....

Build quality 7/10 it could be better, but it could be worse. I love the weight of the phone, and with a spigen slim armor case, it's just right.
Reception 9/10 Verizon network: what more needs to be said? you get what you pay for....
Call quality 8/10 calls are crisp and clear, what more do you want from a phone?
Internet 9/10 again, Verizon makes the difference. snappy response, no embarrasing moments when trying to show a friend something on your phone.
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 I'm not even a picture taker, and this phone makes me look for things to shoot. great camera, still learning all the things it can do.
UI speed 10/10 do I really have to explain this?
Everyday usage 10/10 this phone is a joy to carry, use, and learn. my wife, who is not a techie, has no problems getting around this phone at all.
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10 simply beautiful. find yourself some good HD wallpapers and watch the haters hate!!!
Battery 9/10 i easily get 16 hours of medium to heavy use from the phone. with about 25% to spare after that. use power saving mode, turn off GPS and bluetooth, and be on a good network (verizon). most people should be able to get at least 12 solid hours of use, even on lesser networks.

Pros

  • Everyday use
  • battery life
  • size (just right)
  • display (gorgeous)

Cons

  • fragile (put a case on it)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rodkurt
posted on 26 Jul 2013, 06:34 (Posts: 128; Member since: 29 Nov 2012)

10

Upgrade!

rodkurt has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Well the phone itself does not have that premium feel but packs a killer processor and stunning features that would sure be useful for everyday usage. I think that the battery is good enough to last for the whole day but with that powerful processor and screen it would be best if they fit in a bigger battery, but still a great phone!
If your looking for a long term phone consider buying one. :D

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • S features
  • Air Gesture

Cons

  • Device overheats
  • Less than 9gb usable storage
  • Small rear speakers

rodkurt alternatives:

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

amalchummar
posted on 12 Jul 2013, 12:44 (Posts: 6; Member since: 01 Sep 2012)

9

NEVER A LOSS IF U PREFER BUYN THIS PHONE!!!!

amalchummar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have been searchn for a phone for the past one year.... i knw this souds stupid but i found the phone i really lyk... and i can proudly say its samsung galaxy s4.(Dnt worry this review is from my heart, which u can trust every word).... this is because it has a superb display , has lots of external memory( u can save most of ur applications on it), really thin, never been this easy to use a 5" display and much more.... but people who read the review lyk i did lots of time wanna knw the bad aspects more ( well thats what i looked for alwayz) and so here's the probs i face:
-The battery life sucks.... well i thnk there might be a problem for my batter but i get just 10 hrs of medium usage.... i thought i would get lyk 24 hrs or 1.5 days because where ever i read reviews they say it has a gud battery life.
- wifi connectivity.... u cant really move far away from ur modem i thnk because the signal strength decreases rapidly....even my mums lumia 620 has much more better wifi connectivity, so its not the modems problem.
-I am using the octa core version and so the phone does get a lil hot at times, not unbearable but has a higher temp than others... normally when chargin usin the charger given by samsung and gamn or net browsing.
-it gets stuck here and there, not too much though lyk 4 time a week... u dnt have to reset the phone but u knw ull have to either lock it and open it again or just wait....2 or 3 seconds, what my point is... is it has a slight problem which no one would...  

Build quality 9/10 the phone still if plastic has gud quality... because i buy a phone to use it for a long time so i indeed need a cover and so still if the body is plastic.... no worries for me and since its so thin u wont even realsize it with a cover!!!
Reception 7/10 the reception is just ok because the wifi connectivity % remains strong if ur close to the modem.... but that is not what wifi is for..... but the call connectivity is up to mark.
Call quality 8/10 the phone has gud call quality but the speakers should have been a bit more loud because if ur in a loud grp or so ull be havn a hard time.
Internet 9/10 the internet speed is really gud... trust me!
Multimedia 10/10 yeah its grt to watch movies on the 5" full HD super amoled display!! but theres one thing.....since i use headphones a lot im very happy with the sound quality and loudness.... but if ur a loud spkr kinda person u wont be so happy.....
Camera 9/10 grt camera!!! grt pics and video too!!! the best android camera there is actually!! but this is for the picture quality... there are many other aspects.... if u wanna knw how it performs in dim light... trust me ur gonna be in tears!! also since its doest have image stabilization lyk nokia or htc one u've gotta have real steady hands to get that picture perfect shot!!
UI speed 9/10 ui speed is really up to the mark... that is if u dnt use the gimmiky things samsung throws at u! if all of them are on it wont be as fast and smooth( the battery drains up too) as a win 8 lumia or apple iphone 5 or even htc one... but hey not everythings perfect!
Everyday usage 9/10 yeah i take my phone where ever i go and since it so slim and all u wnt even notice its in ur pocket and easy to handle with one hand and all so i say yeah its grt for everyday usage... that is if ur a moderate user!
Text input 10/10 yeah the onboard keyboard not so bad... i lyk it though... nice response and so its gud.
Display 10/10 the display as i mentioned before is superb... but it comes at a price... i mean sucks up ur battery if on full brightness.
Battery 6/10 yeah this is the part which i didnt lyk at all... to tell u the truth i had nothin on but a power savin mode and screen rotaion then wifi and well nothin else really but still got upto 14hrs max... then 8hrs if u used it for watchn videos and on the internet always and if the videos are full HD i thnk 6 hrs max. that is if ur lucky!

Pros

  • Full HD amoled 5" display
  • Camera performance
  • Gaming performance
  • One hand usability
  • Fast charging (1.75 hrs max)

Cons

  • Samsung Bloatware
  • Not really usable but "its there" kinda gimmics
  • Battery life
  • wifi signal strength capability
  • Loud spkr loudness

amalchummar alternatives:

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Equilibrium
posted on 17 Jun 2013, 01:43 (Posts: 18; Member since: 15 Nov 2012)

10

The Return of The King

Equilibrium has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Easily the best phone I have ever used.

It has all the expected features of a smartphone, (unless you need a radio), and then its has all the bells and whistles too.

It takes a little while to get used to for new users, but this phone has it all.
Some Smart features are perfect for me, while others aren't.
(Air gesture and Air view are like magic!!)

The great thing is that you have to choice to use them or not. Even without those features this phone is jam packed with a great UI, consistent theme and a very polished experience.
Some may Hate touchwiz, but its easily the best OEM skin in terms of rich features and polish.

People spend thousands of dollars on laptops made of plastic, but a phone made with polycarbonate is apparently an issue. I tend to use a case for the first year (contracts aren't big over here so full price all round), and the S4 probably has the most options, bar certain rivals.

Just the right size in terms of build and screen. Still getting used to the buttons on the bottom, I prefer hardware keys as opposed to on screen, gives you a bigger screen and a few extra options on how to interact. (for example a dedicated menu key and pressing and holding for more options.

Basically unless you need a phone without a removable battery, SD card and have a higher preference for water resistance or brand loyalty, this phone has it all.
The media, the speed, the features and the screen!!!

Build quality 10/10 Plastic is Fantastic. Light, durable and removable battery + micro SD is just perfect. In my experience, if you flash roms and your phone boot loops pulling the battery out is the best option.
Reception 10/10 Probably more due to local carrier, haven't lost signal at all and data is always quick.
Call quality 10/10 Best call quality on a phone I've used. The phones sits comfortably against face without harming the ears. As minor as this seems the Xperia Z i have has is screen a bit lower than the body of phone and the bump is not omfortable very noticeable.
Internet 10/10 I use Chrome more than the Samsng browser. Both are quick, but i sync my bookmarks with my laptop so cant really comment specifically. Fast, fluid and great Ui.
Multimedia 10/10 Supports every format i have tried to play on phone. All movies and songs work flawlessly. A small but immensely useful feature to me is the ability to rotate the screen just while watching a video on the device. I usually have auto rotate off so having the choice to turn it on with a case by case basis is perfect!! (Note this is not referring to youtube which already does this) Also back speaker is surprisingly loud.
Camera 10/10 Great camera and clarity, and finally a good UI to find out which feature does what and how to use it. Not clunky, not confusing. Very well implemented.
UI speed 10/10 Fastest phone I have ever used. I usually just have one weather widget and a ut of icons and folders so not really challenging it. The overall interactions are fast and smooth. Animations are probably a bit long which some may think is a stutter. Consistent theme across device so it looks very polished.
Everyday usage 10/10 I have an Xperia Z as a work phone and bought this specifically for everyday use. It blows any phone I've ever used out of the water. Jam packed with useful features ( and some i don't see a need for), it is android at its finest. A shotgun approach, pack in as many things as you can and let the consumer decide what they want to use or not. Smart phones need to be future proof and this meets all my current needs, and there are features which i do intend to use in future.
Text input 10/10 As with any keyboard takes a while to get used to. LOVE having the numbers on top of the letters, alot more like a laptop. Saves a few seconds each text when i have to type numbers. Makes you wonder why this hasnt been implemented in the past. It makes textingsimpler and more convenient.
Display 10/10 Best display i have ever seen!!! Amoled is known for its vibrant colours and wow factor. Tried using the more realistic color modes on the phone, which may be good for some, but not the reason you get an Amoled phone. As with everything about this phone, the choice is yours, Vibrant colours or more realistic ones
Battery 10/10 I turn on quite a few of the smart features and its getting me a day and a halfs usage easily. Of course when i play games this gets cut down a huge amount. If I'm working it'll get me through two day easy, as long as there isn't any late night gaming.

Pros

  • Display - Size, Colour and Resolution
  • Speed - Can run any game smoothly
  • Battery - Impressive and doesn't over heat
  • Touchwiz - Air view and Air gesture is wizardry
  • Multimedia - Tonnes of supported formats
  • Android - Open source, latest version and best Mobile operating system!

Cons

Equilibrium alternatives:

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

phljcnth
posted on 14 Jun 2013, 21:34 (Posts: 485; Member since: 30 Apr 2012)

10

Worthy upgrade

phljcnth has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is the best Android phone I've used so far. The design is just laudable, it doesn't feel big for a 5-incher phone. It is light and thin. The Air gestures and Air view work pretty well and are useful for me. Its screen is one of the best displays out there with very good color rendering, deep blacks and with wide contrast ratio. The 13MP camera is noteworthy. However I can still see room for improvements for UI optimization. The software is just too big that it occupies almost half of the internal memory for the 16GB version. Overall, this is a very powerful phone and is worth the upgrade.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Perfect size with sleek design
  • Impressive 5.0
  • 13MP rear-facing camera
  • Air gestures and Air View
  • Removable 2600 mAh battery
  • MicroSD card slot
  • IR blaster
  • Best multimedia device
  • Adapt sound and Adapt display
  • Fast and timely software update support

Cons

  • Small user memory for 16GB version
  • Stock browser doesn't support side-loaded Flash Player

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ifti313
posted on 08 Jun 2013, 08:37 (Posts: 16; Member since: 08 Jun 2013)

10

best smartphone ever owned!

ifti313 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Amazing display,fantastic camera,innovative features makes s4...the best samrtphone uptill date...I own it and wont upgrade to any...untill s5...wont be surprise to hear s4 breaking sales record...it already is d fastest selling android smartphone...proud to own a device like s4...I hope samsung will yet again impress me with s5...

Build quality 9/10 Though got the criticism...I still love s4s design...looks better than s3!
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 Woah! Beautifull screen,crisper text and software(some gimmicky)makes web browsing experience amazing!
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Fantastic camera! Amazing software...best camera phone I ever owned
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 The biggest difference between s3 and s4...mesmerizing screen on s4.. what a beauty!
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • beautiful display
  • famtastic camera
  • lighter,slimmer yet stronger
  • software

Cons

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xtremesv
posted on 30 May 2013, 12:15 (Posts: 298; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)

9

Good upgrade

xtremesv has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have owned all Galaxy S phones so far and none of them has disappointed me. The S4 is a good upgrade from the S3 but this time the improvement feeling is more conservative. The good things the S4 has over the S3: a brighter crisper display with more natural colors (the +0.2 inch is not noticeable), better camera, better battery life and that would be it. The software features like Smart Pause or Smart Scroll are gimmicks and sometimes unbearable for practical use. I am satisfied with the S4 and I recommend it to anyone with a previous generation smartphone willing to upgrade, however if you have a S3 and you are not a geek, I would say you’d better wait for the next generation.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Amazing vivid display, 5 inches is the sweet spot
  • Great camera
  • Very good battery life

Cons

  • Build quality lacks the premium finish
  • Bad implementation of some Smart features
  • Overheats sometimes
  • No FM radio
  • Expensive off contract

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories