x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy S4 User Reviews

9.2 Based on 114 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed9.1/10
Camera9.4/10
Multimedia9.5/10
Internet9.4/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery8.6/10
Reception9.2/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality8.3/10
Text input9.2/10
Everyday usage9.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

karoafriyie
posted on 12 Sep 2015, 05:40 (Posts: 19; Member since: 19 Aug 2012)

10

THE GREATEST I HAVE EVER USED

karoafriyie has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

After using galaxy s4, i will upgrade still to galaxy s4. you can say i have been almost like brainwashed into loving this awesome phone. i came from a galaxy s3 and jumping to s4 i immediately noticed the difference. the screen is indisputably beautiful with full HD recording and playback capabilities. the battery life is above average under normal usage it gets me through the day without charging it and on 3g. my s4 is running kitkatt and i must say i sometimes push it to the limit to make it fail but it always come through. it handles games marvelously. the phone although made of plastic, it feels and looks very classy. this phone completely satisfy my needs and all i expect from a phone.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • display
  • camera
  • fast cpu
  • ir blaster
  • sensors

Cons

  • fragile screen

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yoosufmuneer
posted on 17 Feb 2015, 02:27 (Posts: 1518; Member since: 14 Feb 2015)

9

Galaxy S4

yoosufmuneer has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

One of the best Samsung phones! Removable battery, Micro SD expansion, Super AMOLED Display, Makes it one of the best Samsung Phones in the market. Lollipop update is coming soon so it should make it more stable. I would recommend this to anyone who doesnt care about the build quality.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • 5" Full HD Super AMOLED Display
  • Removable Battery
  • 13MP camera
  • IR Blaster
  • Micro SD Expansion
  • Thin Bezels
  • Thin and Light
  • Plenty of Accessories

Cons

  • Build quality

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

desgua
posted on 23 Nov 2014, 17:55 (Posts: 11; Member since: 12 Sep 2013)

7

Good phone

desgua has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Unfortunately the screen has crashed on the first month of use, but it is still working.
The camera takes good photos in strong light, provided you have the object on focus and steady hands.
I am very upset with the lag user interface and the poor life of the battery.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Good camera for steady hands.
  • Beautiful amoled screen.

Cons

  • Laggy user interface.
  • Fragile screen.
  • Protruding camera.
  • Poor battery.

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tripax
posted on 12 Oct 2014, 19:49 (Posts: 7; Member since: 12 Oct 2014)

9

Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505 User!

Tripax has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall, I can only say good of S4, as my analysis suggests, it works very well at all, does well what it promises, the only thing you should take into metal rim and not plastic, and the battery may be a bit of power, and must bring radio.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Display
  • Everyday usage
  • Call quality
  • Gorilla Glass 3
  • UI is user friendly
  • Removable Battery

Cons

  • Build quality (not have anything metal)
  • No Radio FM/AM
  • Battery should be better (3000Mhz)

Tripax alternatives:

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sputtle
posted on 13 Aug 2014, 00:36 (Posts: 8; Member since: 23 Jan 2013)

9

Great Phone

sputtle has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I got my Galaxy S4 the day it came out for Verizon. I have fully enjoyed it ever since. I had it rooted for a while and this was the only time I ever had any trouble with it. Swype was laggy, apps would crash and all sorts of other issues. But once KitKat was pushed out to the devices, everything was gravy again. I would recommend this phone to everyone I know! I especially like the IR blaster. I use it all the time.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Screen size
  • Very fast
  • Camera is fabulous
  • IR Blaster

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Speaker isn't loud enough

sputtle alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

warswics
posted on 27 May 2014, 16:14 (Posts: 19; Member since: 27 May 2014)

8

It's okay

warswics has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I switched in December to Galaxy from iPhone. Overall it's okay. If you own a mac then stick with iPhone. It's a bit of a pain trying to switch pictures over from the phone to the mac laptop. Also, if you hear a song on the radio or something it is far easier to quickly purchase it on iTunes. Finally I hate the fact that there are ads on the phone. Seriously that is annoying.
Personally I miss the iPhone and I'll switch back when the 6 comes out.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Screen

Cons

  • Voice recognition
  • wifi problems

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

greatoneiw
posted on 08 Apr 2014, 09:40 (Posts: 41; Member since: 08 Apr 2014)

9

S4 The Giant

greatoneiw has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great phone for a geek and a person who wants to play with his phone 24/7 but bad phone for average user cause UI is hard to learn and people who dont care about those air sensors are gonna hate it
+
this can be named a camera phone , the photos taken by this phone is better than my camera and detail and colors are amazing both for front facing and main camera

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Front facing Camera

Cons

  • Not flagship Call quality

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

GeorgeAF
posted on 27 Mar 2014, 05:20 (Posts: 73; Member since: 25 Feb 2014)

10

Samsung S4, I just love my phone

GeorgeAF has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall, it is a great phone. Stylish and also very much capable. for a phone that was released last year, it is still very relevant. The camera is just brilliant and the fact that the phone can do so much more is just enough to spin my world around.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kusalanupama
posted on 16 Feb 2014, 01:25 (Posts: 9; Member since: 15 Dec 2012)

9

Very much satisfied

kusalanupama has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

im switching from an iPhone to GS4. and so far the experience is joyful. one of the main things people complain about the GS4 is the build quality, for a person coming from an iPhone 5, till now i didnt feel much less premium. yes the iPhone is much premium than GS4 but no complain. i thought 5' be very big for a phone but i got use to it very quickly. the display is just stunning, its just a pleasure to look at it. there are so many features under the hood, but i dont use most of them but may come in handy sometimes. this is the 3rd month using this, and no lags at all. i got the snapdragon version i9505. the camera also got plenty of features but auto mode does cover all. pictures are in very good detailed condition. and the battery is also okay. in moderate usage can survive a day. almost everything about this phone is good. but there are two main things irritate me, they are TouchWiz and back facing speakers. touch wiz is just so ugly and is hate it. only HTC one got the speaker problem right.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Camera

Cons

  • TouchWiz

kusalanupama alternatives:

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

poikilo
posted on 16 Jan 2014, 11:34 (Posts: 49; Member since: 07 Jun 2012)

9

Impressive

poikilo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I was in two minds between this and HTC One, but after seeing its camera, i passes. Good at first, 4.3 update kind of screwed the battery life, hope they fix it.

I honestly dont understand why 200 characters need to be posted, ridiculous PA .

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Ergonomic in design
  • Brilliant camera
  • Multitadking
  • Air gestures

Cons

  • Low light performance
  • Battery life
  • UI hiccups

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MeGustaHC
posted on 18 Dec 2013, 10:44 (Posts: 12; Member since: 18 Dec 2013)

9

Not the best phone, but great!

MeGustaHC has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Not the best phone in the market, just awesome. Too fragile. Nice specs and display. The camera is very nice but not in low light scenarios, Snapdragon 600 and 2GB of RAM makes the performance be very smooth. Have some bugs.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Display
  • Camera
  • Performance
  • Gorilla Glass 3
  • Battery Life
  • Internet browsing

Cons

  • Camera in low light scenarios
  • User storage
  • Build quality

MeGustaHC alternatives:

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

koko1
posted on 13 Dec 2013, 18:44 (Posts: 103; Member since: 03 Dec 2013)

10

best phone on the planet

koko1 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

a great phone, i jumped from the s2 to the s4, i found it very amazing, camera, software features like s-health, s- trslator and air view are the best, of course with the camera features
great job samsung

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

davenycept
posted on 19 Dec 2013, 04:53 (Posts: 200; Member since: 03 Jul 2012)

10

they got it right

davenycept has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had every Galaxy S... this is the best.. I started with the vibrant which was a decent phone.. though gps was a major issue I stuck with it.. I just like the power matched with the fluidity... when I heard annoy this S4 I want sure if I should get it because I heard it's the same as the S3...when I was getting it immediately noticed the difference I'm screen quality and I wanted more...then I noticed the raw overall power and fluidity of this thing and I was hooked... now I just got the OTA from trouble the other day for 4.3 and it feels like a completely new phone...it's so smooth and fast...I persuaded my friends to dump his iPhone 5s to get this and he's loving it too..thanks

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • beautiful 1080p screen, smooth interface, very fast processor, multitasking, camera, smooth

Cons

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Honestcritic
posted on 14 Nov 2013, 21:07 (Posts: 15; Member since: 14 Nov 2013)

10

Solid improvement over my old s3

Honestcritic has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Beast phone. My favorite thing is that you can use it as a thermometer, metal detector(separate app), sound gauge.

Least favorite is the plastic built body.

Everything else is great, even the battery.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Powerhouse phone.
  • Everything included
  • SD card
  • Can multi task

Cons

  • Plastic body

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Scorpion
posted on 01 Oct 2013, 11:17 (Posts: 103; Member since: 28 Apr 2012)

9

A glimpse to the future

Scorpion has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

So after a month with it I'm ready to write about it. The basic functions work great and the extras are nice and even useful. The screen is amazing, the camera is great and the sound adapts to your ear. The battery and my 64GB SD card are swapable. On the downside, the camera sticks out, no stereo speakers, and some lag. Which is solved by removing Samsung's weather widget. Shouldn't happen on a flagship. White I9500 Exynos Octa 16GB, Android 4.2.2.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Scorpion alternatives:

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mr.Singh
posted on 13 Sep 2013, 13:26 (Posts: 12; Member since: 02 Aug 2012)

9

Its Galaxy S3S, not S4 !!

Mr.Singh has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Perfect Smartphone for me :) . Im a big fan of Samsung from Galaxy nexus. I love touchwiz interface. It is fast, stable, & quick notification settings. I have no complaint about plastic build quality.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Display
  • TouchWiz UI
  • IR Blaster
  • Expandable Storage
  • Removable Battery
  • Octa-Core Processor
  • Size
  • NFC

Cons

  • Radio
  • Camera Loading Time
  • Speaker Music Quality

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

htainlintha
posted on 22 Oct 2013, 06:25 (Posts: 44; Member since: 20 Mar 2010)

10

Extremely powerful Android Smartpohne

htainlintha has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

One the most powerful Android phone packed with great screen, 13MP camera and completely new features. I got this beast from Optus, Australia and it has been with me for more than 5 months. It rocks as I can do many stuffs with it. Android 4.2 is great and the phone has great camera with great features, good battery life and no reception weakness. The display is big enough to produce quality images and very crispy and normal to human eyes. Touch screen is ultra-sensitive as it even response to the fingers with gloves. Very wide acceptance of audio and video files. Swift task performance and multitasking. Removable battery and expandable micro SD card. New features. Though it is my first Sammy phone it never fails me. Well done!

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Cutting edge specs, High performance Quad-core CPU and Adreno 320 GPU)
  • 13MP Camea AF with flash, focal length F2.2
  • New and creative features
  • 5inch full HD screen with Super Amoled, bright yet natural
  • 4G cat 3,perform even faster than the already fast 4G internet
  • Great battery life(16 hrs or more for me) no other phone has outlast this yet for me as I don't use Note or other bigger-size smartphones.
  • Good speakers,pretty loud

Cons

  • Nothing yet

htainlintha alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MrKoles
posted on 06 Aug 2013, 05:53 (Posts: 368; Member since: 20 Jan 2013)

10

Amazing!

MrKoles has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best smartphone I´ve ever used!!! Almost everything is perfect. The design is beautiful and looks really high-end thanks to the thin bezels. It has everything what you will need in your everydays, and much more!

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Compact, high-end and eyecatching design
  • MicroSD card up to 64GB and 2GB of RAM
  • Super camera with amazing details
  • Always-fast responding , non-lagging UI
  • Nature UI is the best and most beautiful, with punchy colours
  • Astonishing Super Amoled display with very high pixel-density
  • Battery is among the best despite those beefy specs
  • Excellent gaming performance
  • Guaranteed updates (5.0 and beyond) thanks to Samsung
  • Wide choice of accessories

Cons

  • New Android users might be afraid of the complicated settings
  • Common overheating

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

johnriii
posted on 05 Aug 2013, 11:07 (Posts: 243; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)

9

DO believe the hype...

johnriii has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had the phone for two weeks. I've tried to wait before submitting a review, but I can't. the S4 is totally awesome. i'm coming from an HTC Rezound/Tbolt, and this is WORLDS above those. if you have an S3, stick with it, but if you're coming from another brand, jump right in, the water's fine! lag? what lag??? overheating??? what overheating??? bad battery life? really, I don't see it....

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Everyday use
  • battery life
  • size (just right)
  • display (gorgeous)

Cons

  • fragile (put a case on it)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rodkurt
posted on 26 Jul 2013, 06:34 (Posts: 128; Member since: 29 Nov 2012)

10

Upgrade!

rodkurt has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Well the phone itself does not have that premium feel but packs a killer processor and stunning features that would sure be useful for everyday usage. I think that the battery is good enough to last for the whole day but with that powerful processor and screen it would be best if they fit in a bigger battery, but still a great phone!
If your looking for a long term phone consider buying one. :D

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • S features
  • Air Gesture

Cons

  • Device overheats
  • Less than 9gb usable storage
  • Small rear speakers

rodkurt alternatives:

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

amalchummar
posted on 12 Jul 2013, 12:44 (Posts: 6; Member since: 01 Sep 2012)

9

NEVER A LOSS IF U PREFER BUYN THIS PHONE!!!!

amalchummar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have been searchn for a phone for the past one year.... i knw this souds stupid but i found the phone i really lyk... and i can proudly say its samsung galaxy s4.(Dnt worry this review is from my heart, which u can trust every word).... this is because it has a superb display , has lots of external memory( u can save most of ur applications on it), really thin, never been this easy to use a 5" display and much more.... but people who read the review lyk i did lots of time wanna knw the bad aspects more ( well thats what i looked for alwayz) and so here's the probs i face:
-The battery life sucks.... well i thnk there might be a problem for my batter but i get just 10 hrs of medium usage.... i thought i would get lyk 24 hrs or 1.5 days because where ever i read reviews they say it has a gud battery life.
- wifi connectivity.... u cant really move far away from ur modem i thnk because the signal strength decreases rapidly....even my mums lumia 620 has much more better wifi connectivity, so its not the modems problem.
-I am using the octa core version and so the phone does get a lil hot at times, not unbearable but has a higher temp than others... normally when chargin usin the charger given by samsung and gamn or net browsing.
-it gets stuck here and there, not too much though lyk 4 time a week... u dnt have to reset the phone but u knw ull have to either lock it and open it again or just wait....2 or 3 seconds, what my point is... is it has a slight problem which no one would...  

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Full HD amoled 5" display
  • Camera performance
  • Gaming performance
  • One hand usability
  • Fast charging (1.75 hrs max)

Cons

  • Samsung Bloatware
  • Not really usable but "its there" kinda gimmics
  • Battery life
  • wifi signal strength capability
  • Loud spkr loudness

amalchummar alternatives:

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Equilibrium
posted on 17 Jun 2013, 01:43 (Posts: 18; Member since: 15 Nov 2012)

10

The Return of The King

Equilibrium has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Easily the best phone I have ever used.

It has all the expected features of a smartphone, (unless you need a radio), and then its has all the bells and whistles too.

It takes a little while to get used to for new users, but this phone has it all.
Some Smart features are perfect for me, while others aren't.
(Air gesture and Air view are like magic!!)

The great thing is that you have to choice to use them or not. Even without those features this phone is jam packed with a great UI, consistent theme and a very polished experience.
Some may Hate touchwiz, but its easily the best OEM skin in terms of rich features and polish.

People spend thousands of dollars on laptops made of plastic, but a phone made with polycarbonate is apparently an issue. I tend to use a case for the first year (contracts aren't big over here so full price all round), and the S4 probably has the most options, bar certain rivals.

Just the right size in terms of build and screen. Still getting used to the buttons on the bottom, I prefer hardware keys as opposed to on screen, gives you a bigger screen and a few extra options on how to interact. (for example a dedicated menu key and pressing and holding for more options.

Basically unless you need a phone without a removable battery, SD card and have a higher preference for water resistance or brand loyalty, this phone has it all.
The media, the speed, the features and the screen!!!

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Display - Size, Colour and Resolution
  • Speed - Can run any game smoothly
  • Battery - Impressive and doesn't over heat
  • Touchwiz - Air view and Air gesture is wizardry
  • Multimedia - Tonnes of supported formats
  • Android - Open source, latest version and best Mobile operating system!

Cons

Equilibrium alternatives:

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

phljcnth
posted on 14 Jun 2013, 21:34 (Posts: 502; Member since: 30 Apr 2012)

10

Worthy upgrade

phljcnth has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is the best Android phone I've used so far. The design is just laudable, it doesn't feel big for a 5-incher phone. It is light and thin. The Air gestures and Air view work pretty well and are useful for me. Its screen is one of the best displays out there with very good color rendering, deep blacks and with wide contrast ratio. The 13MP camera is noteworthy. However I can still see room for improvements for UI optimization. The software is just too big that it occupies almost half of the internal memory for the 16GB version. Overall, this is a very powerful phone and is worth the upgrade.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Perfect size with sleek design
  • Impressive 5.0
  • 13MP rear-facing camera
  • Air gestures and Air View
  • Removable 2600 mAh battery
  • MicroSD card slot
  • IR blaster
  • Best multimedia device
  • Adapt sound and Adapt display
  • Fast and timely software update support

Cons

  • Small user memory for 16GB version
  • Stock browser doesn't support side-loaded Flash Player

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ifti313
posted on 08 Jun 2013, 08:37 (Posts: 16; Member since: 08 Jun 2013)

10

best smartphone ever owned!

ifti313 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Amazing display,fantastic camera,innovative features makes s4...the best samrtphone uptill date...I own it and wont upgrade to any...untill s5...wont be surprise to hear s4 breaking sales record...it already is d fastest selling android smartphone...proud to own a device like s4...I hope samsung will yet again impress me with s5...

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • beautiful display
  • famtastic camera
  • lighter,slimmer yet stronger
  • software

Cons

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xtremesv
posted on 30 May 2013, 12:15 (Posts: 298; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)

9

Good upgrade

xtremesv has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have owned all Galaxy S phones so far and none of them has disappointed me. The S4 is a good upgrade from the S3 but this time the improvement feeling is more conservative. The good things the S4 has over the S3: a brighter crisper display with more natural colors (the +0.2 inch is not noticeable), better camera, better battery life and that would be it. The software features like Smart Pause or Smart Scroll are gimmicks and sometimes unbearable for practical use. I am satisfied with the S4 and I recommend it to anyone with a previous generation smartphone willing to upgrade, however if you have a S3 and you are not a geek, I would say you’d better wait for the next generation.

0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10
0/10

Pros

  • Amazing vivid display, 5 inches is the sweet spot
  • Great camera
  • Very good battery life

Cons

  • Build quality lacks the premium finish
  • Bad implementation of some Smart features
  • Overheats sometimes
  • No FM radio
  • Expensive off contract

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories