ZTE Blade X Max User Reviews

Overall user rating

7.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
6.0
Camera
5.2
Multimedia
7.8
Internet
7.2
Call quality
8.0
Battery
7.2
Reception
9.2
Display
9.5
Build quality
7.8
Text input
6.0
Everyday usage
7.2

Alternatives

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Stacymcquar posted on Apr 21, 2019, 11:04 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 21, 2019

6.0

Hackers delight phone

Stacymcquar has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Anything can turn the Wi-Fi on. I find that while I'm driving, this Wi-Fi screen would pop up several times a day. You can not block any Wi-Fi/internet providers especially Comcast. The keyboard on this phone always auto predict the wrong words at the last minute, right before you press SEND! THE APPS CRASHES ALOT! The phone runs hot all of the time. The there are apps that you can't delete which is a direct link for a smart individual to hack! You can not block... phones calls regular and spam text messages, Wi-Fi, viruses. This phone can not trace calls either. The Bluetooth shuts itself of by itself. One thing that I like is the wide screen. Even the sound quality will wear down, which will lead to buying a wireless Bluetooth speaker in order to hear some videos!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
5.0
Internet
5.0
You can't block or stop harmful content
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
5.0
Mediocre
UI speed
5.0
Everyday usage
7.0
I have to scramble to turn off Bluetooth or Wi-Fi while using GPS everyday.
Text input
5.0
Display
10.0
Battery
1.0
The battery takes at least 4-5 hours if you have had the phone for over a year without a protective case on it!

Pros

  • Wide Screen

Cons

  • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth can be turned on automatically without it asking you for permission, can't block other users and the turn off feature doesn't work so well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

GingerLee posted on Mar 27, 2018, 2:11 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 27, 2018

9.0

All in all, a great phone!

GingerLee has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is my second ZTE phone. I love them! It has a couple of issues, but they can be dealt with easily. (My first ZTE lasted 17 months before the charging port became too loose to charge.)

Cons and my solutions:
1. Text too quickly and the phone thinks it's a quick-3 to enlarge the screen. Annoying when you are a fast texter! To be fair, I haven't talked to the mfr to see if this can be resolved.
2. Photo color isn't always true. I have to adjust the color after the photo is taken, depending on the light.
3. Re: The review on freezing: My phone froze several times/day when I first bought it. It seems to do with how many apps you have running in the background, and how hot the phone gets. I downloaded AIO's "All-In-One Toolbox", and that took care of 98% the problem.

There are a lot of ZTE's out there with cracked displays. Spend the money to get a good case! And this phone has gorilla glass, which I also covered with a screensaver.

I would buy ZTE again, and of course get the next generation, always!

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
I frequently have to edit the photos to make the color true to life. Otherwise, it's sharp, and wonderful quality!
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
8.0
1. For a phone this large, it's hard to find a keyboard app where my fingers don't overshoot or undershoot a key. It's the size of the phone (vs. my hands??), not the phone itself. 2. If I press any key 3x too quickly, the screen type enlarges. To be fair, I haven't yet let ZTE know I'm having this problem and given them a chance to fix it.
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0
The battery discharges pretty quickly, but charges lightning-fast. This phone gets really hot when it's charging, even when it's not being used. I set the phone face down while charging to let the heat dissipate. It does have a "charging paused/high temperature" feature, which I really like.

Pros

  • 1. It's a phablet. Large enough to see!
  • 2. ZTE's allow us to change the text size from small to jumbo. My over-50 eyes can read the phone!!

Cons

  • 1. Text too quickly and the phone thinks it's a quick-3 to enlarge the screen.
  • 2. Photo color isn't always true, depending on the light.
  • 3. WAS freezing, Isn't now. See my review !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

ravester posted on Dec 27, 2017, 12:47 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 27, 2017

9.0

Big Bang For The Buck.

ravester has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

OctaCore Processor. 2 gb ram. Not bad for just over $100 & Unlimited data by Cricket Mobile. It's got a great UI speed, and the display is pure with codecs. Camera is great on back. Grainy on front IMHO. Call Quality is decent, and picks up in normally dead areas. Good Reception. 128 GB Expandable makes it worth it. Can't wait for the rootkit :)

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
7.0
Drags. But I have about 30 Apps open when operating.
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
MUCH MORE LIFESPAN ON DAILY USE AS A POWER USER THAN EXPECTED

ravester alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

PRINCESSKELEA posted on Dec 25, 2017, 6:41 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 25, 2017

4.0

WORST PHONE EVER!

PRINCESSKELEA has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The phone constantly freezes if you have too many things open simultaneously. You have to close other apps/windows in order for it to "catch up" with itself. The external storage screws up all your photo albums and lumps them by date instead. HATE, HATE, HATE this phone. Seems you get what you pay for for certain in this case.

Build quality
2.0
Reception
7.0
Fairly good considering it's a lousy phone.
Call quality
7.0
Fairly good considering.
Internet
4.0
Terrible signal unless on Wi-Fi then questionable at times.
Multimedia
1.0
Very poor when trying to multitask.
Camera
2.0
Takes horrible pix. No ability to speak to take pix. You have to confirm the review in between taking pictures. Terrible.
UI speed
1.0
Phone freezes constantly. Slower than molasses if too many apps/windows open.
Everyday usage
2.0
Phone freezes constantly.
Text input
4.0
Terrible swype processes.
Display
8.0
Great display. Large screen.
Battery
9.0
Excellent battery power.

Pros

  • Decent size.

Cons

  • Phone freezes often.

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless