Sony Xperia Z5 Compact User Reviews

Overall user rating

7.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality
7.8
Text input
7.2
Everyday usage
6.5
UI speed
9.2
Camera
6.8
Multimedia
8.5
Internet
8.8
Call quality
8.2
Battery
6.2
Reception
8.5
Display
7.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

singertat posted on Apr 01, 2016, 10:04 AM
Posts: 10; Member since: Dec 10, 2013

8.0

The best crashing phone ever

singertat has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I regret buying this SONY smartphone. Z5 compact keeps crashing all the time. And even more after I updated to Marshmellow 6.0. My former LG G2 was a better phone. LG G2 toke better macro photos. And you only have battery life for half a day..

Build quality
8.0
Plastic and very slippery
Reception
8.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Fast and easy
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
Not a very good macro camera
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
7.0
Craby smileys
Display
9.0
Battery
6.0
Too small battery. It last half a day

Pros

  • When it works it´s a good phone

Cons

  • Crashes all the time
  • Crashes even more after updated too Marshmellow 6.0
  • Never buying SONY again
  • Not good for close up pictures
  • LG G2 is a better phone

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

tasior posted on Feb 26, 2016, 6:08 AM
Posts: 265; Member since: Nov 04, 2012

9.0

The last small phone

tasior has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I don't know, why this phone get's a lot of bad press. I was nearly discouraged to buy it. Fortunately I bought it anyway.

This phone has one crucial feature - it's compact. If You don't care about it, You, should probably find something else. If You like compact phones, this is best choice by far.

This phone is very fast. Snapdragon 810 connected with light UI and small screen, means blazing fast experience. Thanks to Sony Z3+ experience with 810, Z5 does not have overheating issues, though during 3D gaming, You can definitely feel the heat.

Screen has better viewing angles than Z3C had. For me pixel density is absolutely enough, but one of my friends said, he can see pixels on this thing. Blacks, are quite good, but not nearly as good, as amoled...

I had no issues with reception, or calling quality. Even in elevators. Ear-speakers are loud.

Battery life is great. Two days of mixed usage is no problem. When left alone percentage hardly drops. Only when I got addicted to SimCity, and played it nearly 2,5 hour a day, it needed daily charging.

Stereo front speakers, are very good. I don't know, where complaints come from. It even doesn't fail in lower register, as long as You don't put volume to maximum. It's enough for watching news, or YouTube, and frankly if You listen to any kind of decent music on a phone via phone speakers You're an idiot...

Camera quality is good, although low light pictures are mediocre. Before this phone I used Nokia 808, it was far better than...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
8.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • battery life
  • managable with one hand
  • very fast
  • great build quality
  • decent camera

Cons

  • no WOW effect

tasior alternatives:

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Report

ilanag1 posted on Nov 13, 2017, 10:30 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 13, 2017

5.0

It's the worst phone I've ever had.

ilanag1 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Even when I'm not using it, it gets very hot; because of this, the battery runs out quickly. Headphone jack has a false contact, making it impossible to make calls without headphone aids. It is very annoying that such an expensive phone has such a poor performance.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
10.0
Display
6.0
Battery
1.0

Pros

  • Small and powerful

Cons

  • It's a heater!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

lorinc posted on Jul 25, 2017, 4:34 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 25, 2017

6.0

the most slippery material in existence put in a WRONG use

lorinc has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I had Xperia Z5 compact for 2 years. My wife had Z3 at the same time, a phone almost this annoying.

These phones are the masterpieces of planned obsolescence, they barely survived the two years contract they come attached with. I will never buy a Sony phone ever again.

Almost forgot - I was searching for a protective case for this model for months, without success, which makes a beautiful harmony with the beyond-imagination-slippery chassis material.

For the record, problems at age 24 months:
- Camera stopped working months ago, making all applications using camera freeze immediately.
- Screen goes blank when taking or starting call and stays blank until the other party hungs up. You can not stop the call. You can not use the phone. Z3 had exactly the same problem.
- Home, back, app buttons stopped working, rendering the phone completely useless.
- I've spent ~2000$ on repairs (how extremely stupid of me)
- No water touched the phone, but its front panel was loose, dust could go in.

Build quality
3.0
The corpus of the phone is made from some space-tech material that is slippery beyond imagination. So bad they used this scientific breakthrough to drive their customers raging mad.
Reception
8.0
Call quality
5.0
It was perfect, until the phone started to go blank when you took or initiated a call. You can not hang up. You can not navigate through customer service menus. It is just black. Oh yes, my wife has an Xperia Z3, that does exactly the same. Imagine the long conversations we had.
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
3.0
Oh, the camera went broke after a year or so, making all applications that are remotely connected to the camera hung up immediately. All.
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
2.0
This was the my most annoying phone EVER. I will never buy a Sony product ever again. Have I mentioned "ever"?
Text input
3.0
Aw, that was just mediocre until it started to fail too... Then the soft buttons on the bottom stopped to work. Nothing important, just the back, home, apps.
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • fast
  • good camera (until it works)

Cons

  • so slippery, it is not safe to hold in one hand
  • barely survived two years
  • good example of how a single design flaw can completely ruin the customer experience

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.