Sony Xperia M2 Aqua User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.5

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
9.8
UI speed
9.0
Camera
8.8
Multimedia
9.5
Internet
9.8
Call quality
10.0
Battery
9.5
Reception
10.0
Display
8.5
Build quality
9.5
Text input
9.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

giulianoviana posted on May 16, 2015, 12:28 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 16, 2015

10.0

Better than Moto G 2015, IMO.

giulianoviana has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A good smartphone to do Sports, Take pics under Waterfalls, Go out in Brazilians carnavals without fear of everythink wet. Rain is nothing. Good battery to camp for 2 days with normal use (without nets), the rear cam can substitute a huge and non WP CamOnly device, if it isn't your work.

Build quality
10.0
well thinked plastic buddie, with good style and great scratch resistence. WP. Button for pics under water.
Reception
10.0
LTE 150Mbs with many channel
Call quality
10.0
Clear as we need.
Internet
10.0
Fast in use, WF turn on well. Many others connections to explore.
Multimedia
10.0
I use with SBH20 in my bike... Awesome.
Camera
9.0
Good rear camera, with many manual ajusts. Frontal works when in a ligth place and can record and take pics in the same time at VGA quality.
UI speed
8.0
With others Lauchers the result is poor. Can be better, My F3 p655h be better. Don't suck everythink, but some times i see and thik about lag in UI with sock (conservative) settings in Devellopers settings.
Everyday usage
10.0
Fucking awesome
Text input
10.0
Better than LG, IMO.
Display
9.0
So huge and low res. Can be 4.5 with the same resolution and we can use the device with one hand for more time, but if yu have a huge hand like me, yu will do that.
Battery
10.0
My previous phone has 4'' and 2440mha, but i like. Dont unmount blocks if falls. I hope the battery changes dont be expansive in Sony's shop.

Pros

  • WaterProf
  • Hardware
  • Battery
  • Price
  • LTE 150Mbs

Cons

  • Huge, low Res. device.
  • Front cam
  • Sony Tunnigs turn the device whost than possible in UI.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Rafalex_House posted on Sep 14, 2015, 9:22 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 05, 2015

10.0

Average phone + Sony UI = Great phone

Rafalex_House has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The biggest pro is the biggest con! The Display! It's big but 540p is like the minimum it could have gotten for 4.8"! A 720p screen would have gone just great! It is not such a big deal but still! The camera isn't what i was expecting from a 8MP one! Its quality is just average!

Build quality
10.0
Feels great in my hand! Although it has a plastic back the phone doesn't feel cheap at all!
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
I have not had problems with my calls at all!
Internet
10.0
Very responsive even on 3G! (Chrome)
Multimedia
10.0
Although it has a 540p display it can play 1080p videos without any hassles! The sound quality is also great. For a Mono Speaker it is a very loud one!
Camera
9.0
Even though it has a 8MP camera don't expect much! When you add the Sony features it gets quite better. (+HDR Video)
UI speed
10.0
As always Sony has done a great job! Super responsive UI!
Everyday usage
10.0
It will give you what you need but don't forget to update it when you can.
Text input
10.0
Xperia keyboard is fast and responsive with a lot of language support! The keyboard dictionary receives updates from time to time. Features one-hand keyboard and an Emoji button for all your needs!
Display
9.0
A big display! 720p resolution would have been great but 540p is enough! You can watch 480p video quality on YouTube and 1080p in the Movies app. Also it is an IPS Display which is better than the M2's TFT one! I have particularly chosen the Aqua version not for the water-ressistance but the IPS Display!
Battery
10.0
100% battery would last a whole day if you are using it non-stop! Gaming is not such kind of a big deal! I recommend setting the brightness a little bit lower when playing.

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Multi-tasking
  • Speaker(Mono but Loud)
  • Big screen
  • Design
  • Quad-core processor (1.2 Ghz)

Cons

No Cons

Rafalex_House alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

DarkD3stroy3r posted on Jan 10, 2015, 10:34 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 06, 2015

9.0

Good first impression!

DarkD3stroy3r has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've only had this phone for a few days so some of my ratings could be biased. First impressions? It's pretty good.

The phone is very easy to use, has a large screen, is fast and performs all of the basic stuff quite well.
There is barely any lag and the screen is responsive almost all the time (sometimes freezes if there are too many actions at once.)

Web browsing and gaming is fairly fast thanks to its quad core processor. The UI keeps lag to a minimum.

The battery life is pretty good too. Under heavy usage - gaming and web browsing, 55% was lost over a period 3.30 - 4 hours.

And now the bad stuff.

Screen resolution is average considering alot phones out there have a 720p screen at this price point. This phone has a 540p display - 229ppi which doesn't make the screen as sharp as I would like to be. A 720p display would be perfect for the price.

Next is the camera. You get an 8mp camera which performs poorly in low light. Pictures can become blurry due to weird autofocus. Not to mention you can only take pictures in an aspect ratio of 4:3 when using 8MP rather than the standard 16:9.

Then there is the low amount of usable memory. Only 5GB which is poor if you are someone who likes to game a lot. An Sdcard card can be fitted but for games, it's kinda pointless. I was hoping for at least 5.5 - 6GB.

I think this phone is pretty average for the price - £125. It has some bad points to it but overall it's a decent phone.

Build quality
9.0
Opening the flaps to access the USB and Headphones ports is a bit annoying as they could easily break. Overall it is a nice design.
Reception
10.0
Good signal.
Call quality
10.0
Nice and clear.
Internet
9.0
Webpages load fairly fast.
Multimedia
9.0
This phone comes with a lot of Mulitmedia features such as Track ID.
Camera
7.0
Camera is average bit still produces decent photos.
UI speed
9.0
I haven't experienced any lag.
Everyday usage
9.0
It's fairly rare but sometimes the screen can freeze if too many actions are being inputted.
Text input
9.0
Keyboard pops up whenever I need it.
Display
8.0
A PPI of 229 is pretty average. I was hoping for a 720p screen at least.
Battery
8.0
I can get through the day without the need to charge under heavy usage (gaming, web browsing, videos)

Pros

  • Screen size
  • Battery
  • IP 68 - Waterproof
  • Attractive design
  • Fast in most areas
  • Easy to use
  • Decent price tag
  • Supports 4G
  • Ability to move Apps & Media to an SD card
  • Quad core CPU and decent GPU

Cons

  • Sceen resolution
  • Camera
  • Flaps are a bit annoying
  • Low user memory

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

wasler posted on Dec 28, 2014, 6:39 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 28, 2014

9.0

phone arena is full of s**t

wasler has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

in the m2 review they said that the batery is great at least it says so.in the m2 aqua review it says the batery is nothing special,eaven though it has larger batery than the og M2...i would rather see user reviews than theirs because users tend to be more honest..the phone is worth the mony and thats all you need to know-it is functional and thats most important.only thing you might run into as being not "good" is the flaps on the phone and thats it this rewiev is over.......(sorry for bad english)

Build quality
9.0
i dont like that you have to open headphone jack,just like the usb one-being one of the only things i did not like about the phone..
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • all about the phone

Cons

  • exept for the flaps that close the headphone jack

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.