Notification Center

This is our new notification center. Inside, you will find updates on the most important things happening right now.

Notifications

Hmm, push notifications seem to be disabled in your browser. You can enable them from the 'Settings' icon in the URL bar of your browser.

www.phonearena.com
Black Friday deals
Catch limited-time Black Friday deals on tech before they are gone!

Samsung SCH-R410 User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

5.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
7.0
Camera
3.0
Multimedia
2.0
Internet
3.0
Call quality
5.0
Battery
3.0
Reception
5.0
Display
2.0
Build quality
5.0
Text input
7.0
Everyday usage
4.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

michele posted on Mar 11, 2011, 2:03 PM

4.0

DON'T GET THE METROPCS SAMSUNG! MEMORY FULL PROBLEM!!!!

michele has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This was for basic use. Phone calls,& texting. THAT IS IT! 3 or 4 pictures, It was simple, supposedly. Suddenly, for no reason at all, I can't text message anymore, states MEMORY FULL! This is not true. I have no pics, no saved msgs. They (metro) put in a trouble ticket for this- when this is an ongoing problem!!

Why should I spend money that I don't have for a new phone, because this one is inadequate? I am greatful that I found out that there was an issue with the memory , and its common. Ironically, as I was filling this out, I got a survey call from them.Would I refer their service to anyone?
HELL NO!

Build quality
5.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
5.0
Internet
3.0
Multimedia
2.0
Camera
3.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
4.0
Text input
7.0
Display
2.0
Battery
3.0

Pros

  • easy to use

Cons

  • its a piece of crap!The reception is terrible,this is a great disappointment.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Anonymous posted on May 18, 2010, 2:04 AM

2.0

Piece of crap.

I've had this phone for almost two years, it's worthless. It randomly turns off while I'm on the phone, the buttons are wearing off sooo much. When I call people my phone doesn't ring and the end button STOPPED working so to end a call I have to take the battery out and pray the end button starts working for it to turn back on.
As of right now my phone is completely gone, the end button stopped working and that happens to be the key that turns the whole phone on. Don't EVER buy this phone, such a waste of $200.

Cons

  • End button stops working, turns off randomly.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Gloria Seeband posted on Dec 14, 2009, 4:13 AM

1.0

Piece of crap phone

I spent over $200 on this phone because it had a decent camera and bluetooth, with the full expectation that I would be able to download photos to my laptop. I spent countless hours on the phone with Metro PCS, Samsung and Toshiba (my laptop) to try to figure out how to transfer photos and data, but nobody knew anything. I finally ascertained that there is no memory card and the bluetooth is useless, ergo, no way to transfer photos except to e-mail them one at a time. What a nuisance! The phone itself works okay and I have had no memory issues in about 2 years or so, but I would have been as well off with a phone at 1/3 the price. I definitely did not get what I believed I was paying for. It simply never occured to me to ask, when paying more for a better camera, whether it was actually possible to download the photos, naturally assuming they would know customers would want a convenient way to download them. It's about as efficient for transferring photos as smoke signals would be for text messaging. Very, extremely, irritating. Thought Samsung produced better products than that. Will have to think twice about buying Samsung again.

Pros

  • Phone looks nice - until the finish wears off of the send and end buttons.

Cons

  • Inability to download photos except one at a time by e-mail is a deal-breaker for me. The slightest bump turns on silent mode, causing me to miss many important calls. The lock feature doesn't stay locked. This is a very frustrating and irritating phone, which I would not recommend to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

latavia posted on May 31, 2009, 10:18 PM

5.3

Samsung sch-410

The phone is really great for texting, but after a couple of months it's like the chip dies or something and the memory is shot. It can be zero ringtones and or pictures and your memory will still say it's full. The memory is crappy but other then that the phone is pretty decent

Pros

  • works wonders with texting

Cons

  • The memory is crappy! The memory runs out on you in about 6 months..then you'll have to buy a new phone..no matter how much u delete things out of your phone the memory still going to read Full..i bought 3 of these phones

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Tony Morales posted on Apr 01, 2009, 5:08 PM

3.0

ANY HELP??

ok well i see u guys are complaining about free ringtones jus go on your phones browser type in at google funformobile.com click on the second entry  then go down a little and it says search ringtones then type in the name of whatever u are willing to get
but this phone is pretty good overall but its pretty good with txting the blutooth frickin sucks.and i think 200 bucks is too much for this phone i think the quality needs to be fixed serious i can is someone underwater lol.and no video camera??? what the heck whats the point of having a camera with no video camera.And i wish their was a mp3 with this phone.i would sell this for a bout 125$
 

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Mee posted on Feb 05, 2009, 10:50 PM

4.0

Sheer and Utter CRAP...

I had this phone for almost 2 months and traded up for a RAZR.  The subject line says it all.  Who ever heard of a phone with bluetooth that you couldn't use to transfer photos to your PC?  This one doesn't.  It also doesn't allow bluetooth connections to most other phones.  Camera was OK at best but for 640x480 resolution, why not use the webcam on your laptop?  At the time this phone was introduced, there was no data cable available for it either.  The only way to get a photo out of this phone is the e-mail it to yourself, but why bother; the resolution SUCKS!
To say "don't buy this phone" is an understatement.  I'm saying "change your phone company because they offered this phone!"

Pros

  • QWERTY keyboard

Cons

  • Keypad won't stay locked
  • Poor battery life
  • Small amount of user memory (24MB)
  • Non-existent bluetooth connectivity to PC
  • Non-existent bluetooth connectivity to other phones
  • Poor sound quality

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

tamika posted on Jan 12, 2009, 1:45 PM

5.7

If u r having memory usage problem like me.....

this a defect on the phone that is covered by your insurance thru your carrier company. There  is nothing u can do to fix it yourself. If u dont have insurance thru your carrier u can call samsung @ 1-888-987-4357 they will have u ship ur phone to them to be fixed if your still covered by a warranty! only bad thing is that u will need a temporary or loaner phone cause it takes 15-20 buisness days for them to fix and return it back to u. the number is also located on the back of the phone under the battery. Good luck! water damages are not coverede.

Pros

  • great for texting!

Cons

  • terrible battery power and memory defect would not recommend this model of samsung to anyone

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

janette posted on Jan 03, 2009, 5:29 PM

4.7

HELP ME PLEASE....MEMORY ISSUES

I got the phone...worked great...the pix are awsome and i had lots of them ...i never got into downloading ringtones or anything like that...just wanted to be able to text, pic messages, and talk...well....one day i tried to send a text message..and it wouldn't do it..SAYS...MEMORY FULL....ok..so i deleted all the pix i had saved...deleted all messages, and there are no extra apps...DIDN'T HELP...MEMORY FULL..ok i'm looking at the memory usage...
TOTAL....23.64MB,  AVAILABLE 0.36MB,  MY PHOTO  22,44MB, (i have 0 photos),  RINGTONES 0.0MB,  SOUNDS 0.0MB,  APPLICATIONS  1.20MB...
ok so now what...i cannot take any photos, cannot receive pic messages because not enough memory to view. I Checked online and found that this is a somewhat common prob.  i followed the advice, downloaded BitPim program to my pc..then bought a data cable to hook my cell..and guess what...BitPim...doesn;'t have the SCH-R410 listed.   IF ANYONE KNOWS HOW TO FIX THIS PLEASE...PLEASE...PLEASE HELP ME....
PS....how the heck do you enable the JavaScript on the piece of crap...
NOPE DON'T RECOMMEND THIS PHONE..EVER...the newer version with the memory card is much better....

Pros

  • love the keyboard....and if you stay very still...the photos are beautiful

Cons

  • HAS SERIOUS MEMORY PROBLEMS, sound isn't the greatest, is slow to execute commands, can't view many web pages..

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Becky posted on Sep 25, 2008, 1:51 PM

4.0

Not all that great...

I've had this phone for about 6 months now, i love the sleek design but i wish the key board had actual keys instead of a soft-key display keyboard. This would make for much easier texting (like the Sidekick)! No ringtones, bluetooth sucks, no video?! Late response to commands switching screens. I feel like i am always 2 steps ahead of the phone. I really wouldnt recommend it but if youre into mega-texting, go for it. I much rather upgrade!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Kitami posted on Jul 17, 2008, 3:10 PM

7.0

I add mp3's to mine and images via blue tooth and data cable. Don't know what probs you guys are having... Yeah it's costly for such few perks but I make it work for me. :P

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

anonimous posted on Jun 06, 2008, 11:44 AM

5.8

DONT WAIST YOUR $$$

1-well in my opinion this phone is ok because all i do with it is text but it doesnt let u download ringtones or use bluetoooth which is totaly crapy for the two hundred dollars it costs :'(

2- i like that it has a good speaker and a pretty cool design plus its good for texting but thats the only good thing i have 2 say about it ._.

*honestly i bought this phone thinking it was cooler then what it is but it sucks unless all u do is text with this phone DO NOT BUY IT u will b waisting your $$ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:-) =-* :'( o:-) =-] :-@ ;-) ^_^ :-$ 3-) B-) =-c

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Lucia posted on May 28, 2008, 2:55 PM

5.4

Sucks ASS

If you want a phone for a phone then get it but other than that don't. The keyboard is cool but you sacrifice so much other stuff. You can't connect to other phones via bluetooth, you can't get ringtones and you can't send video via messages. The case for it makes it hard to press the lower keys and the design makes it annoying to talk with without bluetooth. If all yu do with your phone is txt than get it. Other than that keep your $200.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Lori posted on May 22, 2008, 10:27 PM

9.0

its a good phone

Me personally, I like this phone. I have had no problems with anything except trying to get free ringtones. that pretty much sucks. But as far as the quality i love it. U just have to know how to work it. DUH.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

braighton posted on May 16, 2008, 12:28 AM

6.6

ugh

keyboard is cool along with the camera no camcorder cant get ringtones so gay as hellllllll i wont get it again haha

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

koralkid posted on May 03, 2008, 9:27 AM

5.8

dont buy this p.o.s

u cant buy ringtones all the tones it has gay tones already i wana tthrow it across the earth the only cool thing is the keyboard

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

bbb_forever posted on Apr 26, 2008, 3:01 PM

4.4

I found the Underscore character in the right-side soft menu

I finally figured out how to find and enter the Underscore character "_" on a Samsung R410 phone.

Go to a text field first, then you have to press the RIGHT-soft key (not LEFT-soft key that the manual incorrectly states) to see a menu pop in the right bottom corner of the screen.
The menu shows Emoticons, abc, 123, Symb, or whatever.

Select "Sym", and the popup dialog presents a full list of available symbols.

Use the Navigation button on the phone keyboard to go to the symbol you want (e.g. _ ), and press OK to input it into the text field.

Not intuitive at all, but it is possible to enter the "_" character on a Samsung R410 phone after all.

Is this review helpful?

Report

bbb_forever posted on Apr 26, 2008, 2:14 PM

4.2

No UNDERSCORE character, so cannot send email to certain addresses.

I would have to agree with the review by Chris.
The keyboard doesn't provide the UNDERSCORE character ( _ ), or I couldn't find it.
That means, you cannot send email to any address like "John_Q_Public".
That's a serious flaw.

Is this review helpful?

Report

k.ho posted on Apr 21, 2008, 11:54 AM

5.0

i hate that the bluetooth sucks

but for the person with the underscore problem if you use the keypad and hit the button on the bottom right go down to symbols and then next twice and the underscore is there. i dont like this phone just because i love having lots of ringtones and pictures and the camera is horrible...i might as well just kept my crappy razr.

Is this review helpful?

Report

chris posted on Mar 29, 2008, 7:58 AM

3.8

returned in one day...

MAJOR FLAW...No underscore (_) in Email! No symbol screens available in email/web mode either...you can ONLY USE the keyoard. This is horrible if your email address is something like "first_last name@blah.com". Please reply if I'm wrong, but don't post your opinion because you have a similar phone and/or think it's common knowledge to use symbol screens-that's not how it is on this phone. There is no info on this on the net as of 03/08 and nothing from MetroPCS/Samsung, however the manual seems to backup what I say.
ALSO, for a $200 bluetooth phone you get: NO MP3, NO Video capture, NO memory card slot and only 28mbytes of phone memory!! Why did they even bother to have bluetooth on it??
Pros: The phone has nice reception and a loud speaker phone (but you needn't pay $200 for this). It is also very pro looking and stout. Too bad it has no substance!

Is this review helpful?

Report

JOSE V posted on Mar 08, 2008, 4:48 PM

3.6

WORST PHONE EVER

I BOUGHT THE SAMSUNG R410 THINKING IT WAS GOING TO BE THE BEST PHONE I EVER BOUGH BUT IT TURN OUT TO BE THE WORST THE BATTERY DIES LIKE IN 3 AHOURS IT TAKES FOREVER TO LOAD UP THE CAMARA ALSO I HAVE TO CHARGE THE PHONE EVERY 2 AHOURS AND YOU CANT PUT YOUR SOUNDS AS YOUR RINGTONE!!! EVEN IF YOUR FRIENDS SENT THEM TO YOU SO Y WOULD YOU WANT TO RECORD SOUNDS IF YOU CANT PUT THEM AS YOUR RINGTONE!!!! THIS PHONE SUCKS RELLY BAD AND ALSO THE FRONT KEYBAD MAKES IT KINDA HARD TO TEXT .... SUMTHING THAT NO ONE KNOWS ABOUT THIS PHONE IS THAT IF YOU DOWNLOAD SUMTHING FROM THE INTERNET{PIC} IT WONT LET U SAVE IT BUT ITS GOING TO STAY IN UR MEMORY AND U CANT DELETE IT SO UR MEMORY GETS FULL AND YOU CANT DO NOTHING ABOUT IT THIS IS THE WORST METRO PCS PHONE BUT THE ONLU THING GUD ABOUT THIS PHONE IS THE KEYBOARD ALSO THE BLUETOOTH REALLY SUCKS U CANT TRANSFER PICS OR SOUNDS

Is this review helpful?

Report

M posted on Mar 01, 2008, 9:05 AM

6.2

Basic is as basic does well

Could be a contender for the best basic phone. Doesn't look or feel cheap.

Phone does lack connectivity for even simple data saving (calendar, phonebook,messages) or capture, etc. via bluetooth or USB cable.

Net and call connectivity can be spotty at times.

Limited to the basic phone memory, there is no expansion card.

Slideout keypad is convenient and lends itself to significant texting.

Camera is good, not great.

Charging the phone is very fast but don't expect to be on the net for very long.

Accessories are $$$ (out of $$$$$)

Phone price is $$ after rebate.

Is this review helpful?

Report

J. Stokes posted on Jan 04, 2008, 12:39 PM

8.6

This phone is for when you are ready to grow up

We know the phone choices for Metro PCS are slim to put it mildly. For the person looking for a phone that can do text and check e-mail there are really only two choices the Strobe (still avalible in stores) and this Samsung SCH-R410.

In short the Strobe is for high school/college kids while the R410 is for the adults in the room. For $200 (actually $125 because the price includes first month service =$50 and a $25 gift card) it is a definite buy.

This phone has all the essential features needed
*great picture
*great camera
*great reception better than the strobe
*great qwerty keyboard
*clean display LCD which is a good size for the size phone
*sleeek, lightweight, compact phone
*intuitive (don't need the manual for 99% of the features)
*orgainzational bells and whistles (contacts, claender. etc)
* vibration, voice dial, bluetooth
*little surprises (like the animations) that gives a sprinkle of cuteness without going overboard
*awesome speaker phone

People complain about this phone because it doesn't have trivial things like being able to download ring tones but it comes with a bunch of pre-installed ring tones already.The other complaints i have seen is the fact it does not have an mp3 player. My response is so what.This phone is a great phone because it does the phone thing and the phone thing only. I have had other phones that tried to do everything making the phone suck. I like toys bells and whistles but when I need to make a phone call I need to make a phone...  

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless