Samsung Galaxy A8 User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
9.0
Internet
9.0
Call quality
9.5
Battery
8.2
Reception
7.8
Display
8.8
Build quality
9.0
Text input
7.5
Everyday usage
8.0
UI speed
8.2
Camera
7.5
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

SuperAndroid17 posted on Nov 01, 2015, 9:22 PM
Posts: 9; Member since: Feb 03, 2013

8.0

COULD HAVE BEEN THE PERFECT SAMSUNG PHONE

SuperAndroid17 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

What makes this phone amazing is the looks, very slim, and the body to screen ratio is great. The Sd card reader is what i truly love about this phone and something that i hope samsung brings back. It takes decent pictures as long as you are not moving. Phone is very fluid and fast. Now the cons, the rear facing speaker on the back is VERY weak, no led notification light which are cheap to make, and the phone signal drops a lot when traveling , i guess that is from it being a international phone. These are little personal gripes but to me if this phone didn't have those cons i mentioned it would be what the samsung galaxy s6 should have been.

Build quality
10.0
excellent build
Reception
5.0
I get a lot of drop calls when traveling.
Call quality
9.0
Great
Internet
9.0
Great speeds and no LTE.
Multimedia
8.0
Great picture, but speaker is very weak.
Camera
8.0
Great as long as you holding camera still.
UI speed
9.0
very fast
Everyday usage
8.0
Pretty good
Text input
5.0
Its slow delay input when it comes to texting.
Display
9.0
Great display
Battery
8.0
It will get you thru the day.

Pros

  • micro sd
  • build
  • Screen
  • finger print scanner

Cons

  • weak speaker
  • no led notification light
  • poor signal reception when traveling
  • slow txt input when texting.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

baraheemo posted on Oct 23, 2015, 6:01 AM
Posts: 15; Member since: Nov 21, 2011

6.0

Not good enough

baraheemo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought it before 2 weeks ... and im willing to sell it now
It always stoppes when i open big app or open big Facebook page includes many videos.
It is less than i expected.
I advice all users to buy htc or iPhone.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
5.0
Text input
6.0
Display
7.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • design
  • metal
  • call quality

Cons

  • battery
  • screen size
  • software
  • flexibility
  • ram
  • camera
  • video recording

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

vikassinghideas258 posted on May 25, 2016, 6:03 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 11, 2016

10.0

Nice Smartphone

vikassinghideas258 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Samsung galaxy A8 design is more attractive and nice. Galaxy A8 rear camera is fantastic and gives you a perfect picture. This phone attracts people from almost all the age groups because operability is very easy and battery life is last long.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Akkh99 posted on Oct 24, 2015, 8:29 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Oct 24, 2015

9.0

Just buy it and you won't regret!

Akkh99 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have A8 duos exynos version(SM-A800F)
Both design and build quality are good but plastic back reduces some points from overall asthetics and so build quality score is 8.
Camera is good in most occasions but no OIS means you can get blurry pics sometimes.
UI can get sluggish sometimes(you won't get flagship grade smoothness) but most people can live with this.
Display is good in terms of both sharpness and color production. It's 5.7 inch sAMOLED screen is a joy to watch.
Battery life is the department it excels most. You can consistantly get upwards of 6:30 hour screen on time up to astonishing 9:30 hour SOT. It will last at least a day no matter how you use it.
Fingerprint sensor is easy to use, fast and accurate. It will correctly reads your fingerprint 9 out of 10 occasions at least(If you register your fingerprint properly).
Bottom line-a good all-around upper midranger but a bit overpriced.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Impressive battery life
  • Good design and build quality
  • Thinnest Samsung phone ever
  • Fast and accurate fingerprint sensor
  • Latest touchwiz with themes support
  • Good screen

Cons

  • UI is not smooth sometimes
  • A bit over priced

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.