Motorola Crush User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

5.7

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
2.4
Camera
3.9
Multimedia
3.0
Internet
2.8
Call quality
4.9
Battery
5.3
Reception
5.6
Display
5.2
Build quality
4.2
Text input
3.8
Everyday usage
3.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

cliff50 posted on Mar 13, 2012, 6:49 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Mar 13, 2012

7.0

Very satisfied with this phone.

cliff50 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

My wife and I recently bought a pair of these phones, primarily because of the touch keypad, and couldn't be more satisfied with our decision. We didn't want the monthly data plan bill, just a good responsive phone that didn't force you to work tiny little buttons. The phone apparently came out about two years ago but you would never know it by the performance. Calls are clear, the touch pad dialing and texting work very well, and battery life is great. Despite some negative reviews, we took a chance on the only phone we were able to find that had on-screen keyboard but didn't require a data plan. Very satisfied.
(My review scores low for internet ability because we don't use it. However, the review would not post without a rating.)

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
1.0
Multimedia
1.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
1.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

angellegirl posted on Dec 05, 2011, 11:01 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 05, 2011

3.0

Motorola Crush

angellegirl has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for two years and it really is starting to suck and the touch screen i all screwed up. You can not do more than two things at a time and it freezes. thats all i have to say about the phone for know

Build quality
4.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
6.0
Internet
2.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
2.0
Everyday usage
3.0
Text input
5.0
Display
7.0
Battery
2.0

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

jtskhs posted on Sep 20, 2011, 10:27 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 20, 2011

9.0

Best phone i have ever had

jtskhs has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I like it because it does not require a data plan. And i love the touch screen it was my first touch phone and i really enjoy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • touch screen
  • pedometer
  • tip calculator
  • on screen keyboard

Cons

  • nothing

Is this review helpful?

Report

TC posted on Apr 16, 2011, 3:58 PM

4.0

Definitely not the best I ever had.

TC has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I wanted to get a fairly decent phone without having to dish out the extra bucks to get a smart phone. What a bust! If you're not getting a smart phone, don't bother with this one even though it's discontinued. Haven't had too many technical issues, other than it resetting custom my ringtones, overly sensitive touch screen, and periodically I notice that the phone will be connected to Easy-Edge, even though it's not in use and the keyboard is locked. Sales people aren't techs so don't bother asking them - they say it's "normal"! Free Apps aren't worth the effort to push the keys. Total waste. If I have to do it again, I'll spend the extra and get an android or go back to my flip-phone!

Build quality
5.0
Average build quality
Reception
6.0
Call quality
4.0
Internet
2.0
Supposed to have internet access but I constantly have to go thru the WARNING screens and accept any charges that might be incurred. Bullcrap!
Multimedia
5.0
Music playback is good, videos I wish could be more selections for recording options (mpg, wma, etc, not APPLE format). Would like do be able to put some MOVIES on it when I'm flying and wish it was easier to select ringtones.
Camera
5.0
Like the camera quality for stills but the video has something to be desired
UI speed
2.0
Speed here can be kind of slow to DOWN RIGHT slow. Definitely NOT a speed demon.
Everyday usage
2.0
Definitely not my choice for an everyday phone.
Text input
3.0
Keyboard can be too touchy at times, and all too often it is slow to catch up.
Display
6.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Touch screen, 2.0Mpx camera, music playback, calculator

Cons

  • Touchy, slow, screen too small for internet use

Is this review helpful?

Report

Glers posted on Mar 21, 2011, 9:50 AM

1.0

Worst phone in the history of cell phones

Glers has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

When you put this piece of crao phone to you're ear, the screens start changing and sometimes dial other numbers, while you are talking, so you have to lock this phone every time you talk, which sucks when you have to use the dial pad to press 1 for english etc

Build quality
1.0
back panel falls off
Reception
1.0
no problem with reception but I credit the Carrier
Call quality
1.0
N/A
Internet
1.0
Multimedia
1.0
software does not work
Camera
1.0
UI speed
1.0
N/A
Everyday usage
2.0
Everyday I use it is another day I want to smash it with a hammer
Text input
1.0
awful, the touch screen suck
Display
2.0
looks aren't everything
Battery
5.0
so far it works

Is this review helpful?

Report

miranda posted on Mar 12, 2011, 7:13 AM

2.0

this phone is horrible

miranda has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone more than a year, and everything about this phone sucks! The texting is slow, and if my hands are warm, i can't even press anything. My phone tends to just spaz out randomly. Last night, my phone's screen turned blue and now I'm not able to do anything on it! I've had a lot of phones that sucked, but this one is by far the worst. DONT GET IT

Build quality
2.0
Reception
2.0
Call quality
2.0
Internet
2.0
Multimedia
2.0
Camera
2.0
UI speed
2.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
2.0
Display
2.0
Battery
3.0

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Jo posted on Jan 14, 2011, 4:42 PM

2.0

Okay, No One Should Ever Get This Mother F-ing Phone

Jo has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone sucks! I reccomend it to no one... every time I tried to call my voicemail the screen wouldn't unlock for me to type in my passoword. and whenever i tried to send a text message, the part on the screen where it would say "New Text Message" it wouldn't let me touch it so I would have to go to voice commands and say "New Text Message" and say the person's number :/ Nevertheless, the phone blows.

Build quality
1.0
Reception
6.0
Call quality
1.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
1.0
Camera
1.0
UI speed
1.0
Everyday usage
1.0
Text input
1.0
Display
2.0
Battery
2.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

DeputyChiefBrendaLeeJohnsonOfTheLAPD posted on Dec 11, 2010, 2:39 PM

2.0

It's a Murder Investigation

DeputyChiefBrendaLeeJohnsonOfTheLAPD has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Ever since I got this phone it's been one of the WORST PHONES I'VE EVER HAD!!! The textig is AWFUL, I want to shoot myself when I use it. Every time it rings, it won't answer and just want to throw it over a bridge. Oh, the Blue Screen of Death came up every five seconds, I wanted not to shoot myself anymore, but shoot the phone, set it on fire, then dump it in the desert. I'm very happy with it at the end of the day, because I get to go to sleep and dream of killing it.

Build quality
2.0
Reception
2.0
Because I am never able to answer the blessed phone!
Call quality
2.0
Internet
2.0
Multimedia
2.0
Camera
2.0
UI speed
2.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
2.0
Display
2.0
Battery
2.0

Pros

  • Dreams of Killing The Phone

Cons

  • EVERYTHING!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Lindsay posted on Nov 28, 2010, 9:28 PM

4.0

Ehh, wouldn't recommend this phone!

Lindsay has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

To actually send a text, you must go through almost 6 screens..and that's just to begin typing the text. If you have it locked, many times you can't unlock it quick enough to answer your call. If you're in the middle of a text and someone calls, your phone freezes and many times you'll end up hanging up on the person. The one good thing is the picture quality besides the lack of camera or flash. The battery life is suprisingly good as well as the memory.

Build quality
4.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
2.0
Multimedia
3.0
Camera
2.0
UI speed
2.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
1.0
Display
6.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Battery life

Cons

  • Numerous screens in order to start texting
  • Slow touch when there is a call coming in
  • Can't type if fingers are at all wet
  • Can't look at recent texts during a call

Is this review helpful?

Report

Crushed posted on Sep 21, 2010, 12:21 PM

5.0

MOTOROLA CRUSH SHOULD BE CRUSHED

I got the phone thinking it will be nice to have a touch phone, but I quickly learned that it didn't have the full functionality of my previous phone. I did get the prepay from US CELLULAR and came to find out that I could not download any pics because the phone doesn't have flash. Speaking of flash, the phone's camera doesn't have one. What a waste of money. I suggest skipping this phone and getting something else. I'm hoping someone can tell me how I can download flash player on this phone. I like that i can view videos. I rank this phone a 4 on a scale of 10.

Pros

  • Video
  • Pedometer
  • GPS/Navigator
  • Music Player
  • Datebook

Cons

  • No flash for camera
  • Cannot download pics/vids
  • Most pages cannot be loaded through US CELL service.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Sep 06, 2010, 11:22 PM

2.3

The name is what you'll want to do to it.

This was my first touch screen phone, so when i saw it in the store for the low price i felt i had to have it..unfortunately i realized quickly why it was inexpensive. though to the eye it is very appealing you'll find that using it for even a few minutes will make you want to pull your hair out. the screen is so unreliable that it might work fine as your typing a few words here ad there, then spontaneously "freak out" by pressing a bunch of buttons on its own.. for instance, my text effort might look like this: "hey whatshfnb nkkrnkrewkfnevklnb".. or when you push delete once it might stick and clear everything..and thats just my complaint for the texting..the lack of features is astonishing for the fact that its such a cool looking phone. the phone is so slow a kindergarten student could probably complete a quadratic equation by the time you finish and send your text. the re-occuring freakouts make you want to crush the phone under your foot then light it on fire..im going to stop now before i develope an ulcer. for your own health, life, and happiness.. do not buy this phone (:

Pros

  • cool looks

Cons

  • EVERYTHING other than its looks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

matt is alsomo posted on Sep 05, 2010, 2:14 PM

4.0

Motorola Crush

I bought this phone because (at the time) it was the only touch screen phone that didn't have to have a data plan. But i wouldn't recommand this phone. The keys are slow. When i text i cant text fast because the lag when pushing letters The phone is slow and doesn't have much features. Anyways I like the QWERTY keyboard when you turn it landscape. And the step counter. Their is some good thing here and there.  

Pros

  • Touch screen
  • Doesn't need Data plan
  • QWERTY Keyboard
  • Step counter
  • Records up to 1 hour.

Cons

  • Slow touch screen
  • Slow phone
  • LAGS ALOT
  • Hard to text.
  • Camera
  • Not much features

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Nathan posted on Aug 06, 2010, 5:22 PM

2.7

This Phone is a Nightmare!!!

I've had this phone for 2 months and I HATE it!!! After 2 weeks it was glitching badly, so I went to USC and traded it in for a new one. The new phone was EXACTLY the same. Unfortunately, I couldn't trade it in for a new one. So I drove 15+ miles to get a USC tech to look at it two seperate times, and each times nothing was fixed. So I went back to using my old flip phone. The motorola crush is probably best used as a paper weight.

Pros

  • It looks cool

Cons

  • Absolutely nothing works. Calling, txting, shooting video, shooting pics, buying app,s etc. The touch screen is extremely faulty, and affects every aspect of the phone.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Dimario posted on Jun 13, 2010, 1:44 PM

5.3

Motorola Crush -- Crush is what should be done with it

I was taken by its smooth design and hi res. imagery, unfortunately the usability of this phone is far beneath  its manufactures reputation for functionality. As in prior reviews here aprox. a month after usage it begins to falter badly.  mine ending in the ability to unlock because of loss of use of any of the touch keys above the midline..  including the touch slide,  I couldnt even get to 611   or  911 for that matter. had there been at true emergency even with a full charge I would  be  in Deep trouble.  Then as a kick in the pants.  the Store rep as he prepared to send it off  to TEXAS  for 3 to 5 weeks.. said , since the touch screen is not functioning I cannot get any of your numbers or information off to transfer to another phone .  Ok  Im a cancer patient with LOTS of important numbers of Docs and Support people on that phone. You know what ..    Run.. Run away fast   from this one if you are thinking of it ,, I have read Nothing good since I started questioning its reliabilaty.

Pros

  • looks good
  • cam is sweet
  • key response pulse is great

Cons

  • everything else below standard

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

someone who hates this phone posted on Jun 02, 2010, 5:26 PM

4.7

awful

this phone was great the first month or so that i had it but after just two months it broke in so many ways. I cannot text fast or else the screen glitches up, it shuts off all the time by itself, the screen freezes a lot. It also glitches other times and the screen presses buttons i dont even press!!! The absolute worst part about this phone is the fact that when i am calling my voicemail or getting a call from someone, the screen does no turn on so i can answer the call and i cant type my password to hear my messages. THIS PHONE IS AWFUL  SO DONT GET IT

Pros

  • decent camera
  • cool design

Cons

  • many: freezes alot
  • shuts itself off alot
  • glitches alot
  • not able to check voicemail because the screen stays off when i am calling it
  • not able to recieve calls because the screen does not turn on
  • there are ALOT more

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on May 31, 2010, 8:38 PM

4.0

hate it

i bought the motorala thinking it would be cool and a sweet touch screen. at first it was great but then in a month is started gettin glitthy some key parst didnt work and i hated it. then i got a new one and is sucked just as much NEVER BUY THIS PHONE I HATE IT SOO BAD IM GOING BACK TO A RAZOR

Cons

  • everything

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Michelle in TN posted on May 01, 2010, 8:40 AM

2.7

This phone sux!

My hubby wanted it, got it, had it for 3 months, couldn't stand it and traded me for mine and I HATED IT!!!!! Took it to USC 2x and the tech finally exchanged for another flip phone. I was so disaapointed we wasted over $130! Spontaneous dialing, hanging up, locking up and having to take battery out, not able to unlock quick enough to answer, easy edge VERY hard to use do to no on screen or slide out keypad, etc.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Al Winston posted on Mar 31, 2010, 6:25 PM

2.0

A brick with a touch screen

My girlfriend got this phone based on use in the US Cell store.  On getting it home, she had several BSOD, spontaneously dialing, spontaneously turning on and off, and intermittent responsiveness to the touch screen.  It went back to them, and on returning it the tech people said, "Yeah, we've had a lot of them do that".How did this make it to market?  She got two of them and they BOTH did the same thing!  The fact that US Cell tech support noted it was bad is also a warning sign.  Look, I don't mind the Motorola staff coming on here and saying how great this product is, and being from Chicago I desperately want Motorola to recapture the market share it self-destroyed in the cell phone market over the past decade.  But this dog isn't going to cut it.  Instead, she went for their clamshell phone with the military grade components inside.  Clunky, but awesome reception and sturdy as heck and waterproof!!One last item- usability and customizability of the Crush is ZERO.  You are stuck with a clunky interface with little hope of upgrade.

Pros

  • Nice idea at a good price

Cons

  • Unreliable touch screen, BSOD, horrid and noncustomizable layout

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

finnfinn posted on Mar 14, 2010, 5:14 PM

6.7

nice phone

not a bad touch screen if this is your first one. so go get the phone it is real good i had this phone for two days now and i really like it so go get it if u looking to have a touch screen that don't put a hole in your pocket. the screen is a little small but i have no problem wit it so over all its a phone you will like or/and get to love like i did.

Pros

  • nice size good talk time touch srceen every thing

Cons

  • look in inbox while on the phone

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

Abby posted on Jan 24, 2010, 8:53 PM

10.0

Great Phone

This was a great phone, everyone who said it wasnt is wrong. I've had this phone for a month now and it works fine! The only glitch i had was it muted peoples calls sometimes but i handled it pretty easily by not pressing it on my cheek. But overall great phone, awesome touch screen, great features!

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Report

abcdefg posted on Jan 23, 2010, 10:51 AM

4.7

Ehh its okay....

So i have had this phone for about a month..its an okay phone and has some cool features like the built in pedometer.  The problem with this phone lies in the touchscreen.  I purchased the phone from u.s. cellular. Because it doesn't need the internet plan, the touchscreen is slow.  Overall, I would call this whole phone slow. When you hit a button, expect a delay to get to your next screen.  The texting is difficult and is very very very slow.  It also lags up a lot and freezes in the middle of a txt.  To fix it, you have to push another button.  

This is the glitchiest phone i have ever had.  The buttons will sometime select themselves and the only way to stop it going nuts is to pop out the battery.  I had the phone call a random person in my contact list 4 times last night while the phone was in my pocket.  It just started selecting buttons.  Also, the touchscreen is heat sensitive so if you are working out, dont expect to make a call or send a txt...your hands will be too hot. 

It only holds 100 inbox txt but almost 500 outbox txt...whats up with that?! If you want to delete all of you outbox txt it will take about 3-5 minutes.  Very slow processor in this phone.

Overall, I am at the end of my 30 day trial period with this phone and I plan to take it back today...would not recommend!

Pros

  • nice looking
  • cool features like pedometer
  • nice camera quality (2.0 megapixel)

Cons

  • touchscreen doesn't work the greatest
  • lags after each button
  • slow at processing
  • bad txt
  • only takes 15 sec of video at a time
  • overall, the phone is just so glitchy

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

LJ posted on Jan 04, 2010, 11:05 PM

6.0

Its ok

I really liked it beucase it was a touch screen and I didn't need a data package. But if your hands are hot it will not work. WHen I am done working out my hands are hot, not even sweaty and you can not text or make a call. The phone just freaks out. It is impossible.  I am not looking forward to the summer when its hot. I probably won't be able to use the phone at all! It is supppper annoying. Also the textting is really slow on it.

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

Dannah posted on Dec 30, 2009, 12:28 PM

6.3

Had this phone for a week...

Well I have had this phone for a week.I have noticed things i have liked and didnt like.Some things i Didnt like:I have removed the pac man app by easy edge and it still appears on my menuIt does have more of a delay then most touchscreensIt has froze a few times sense i got it but not that oftenI have not dropped it once so im not sure on how durable it is, but i try and be careful I had over 200 pictures on my memory card and once i put it on this phone none of them appear not even in the memory card partSometimes it Goes crazy when you put it close to your face so you should lock it right after you answerIt put all my old ringtones in the music partSome things I liked:I can take up to an hour videoThe backround images let you set it as animated pictures and video I have never had a touchscreen so im getting use to it, texting is not so badI'm gonnah invest in a stylist for this phonehas pink covorOverall i just am really careful with it.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

Austin S posted on Dec 28, 2009, 12:44 AM

10.0

Moto Crushes Competition

I got this phone not too long ago, but long enough for me to realize that I should have given my sister-in-law this phone instead of the original Blackberry.  She's very much into new technology and efficiency and the phone I gave her was outdated and I'm thinking of returning it and buying her this one instead.  The size is so perfect and can easily fit into someone's pocket.  Plus, the size of the screen is fantastic and doesn't distort images as you would expect it to.  The only problem that I've been able to find with it so far is the reception.  It's not bad, but it's not great.  However, this is because of the area I live in.  Every phone provider has difficulty with reception here.

This phone is the best one I have owned, and even the old fogies can figure it out thanks to it's simple layout.  It's nice to have an easy to use, yet up to date phone that is worth the price.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

Deirdre posted on Dec 26, 2009, 10:14 PM

10.0

is this phone the one??

I recently turned in my samsung intensity after it busted from me dropping it a distance of about 4 inches and majorly upgraded to this beauteous cell phone.  Everything about this phone fits my life style.  The size is perfect, the display screen is HUGE, the arrangement of the menu is so easy to figure out, and the 2.0 megapixel camera is great for taking pictures.  They only thing I didn't like at first was the texting because I didn't realize that I didn't have the use the number pad style.  My provider showed me that you turn the phone to its side and it automatically turns into a qwerty touch key board.  Similarly, with the camera, you can turn it to the side to take pictures landscape style.  This phone is great for anyone and I reccomend it 100%

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless