Microsoft Lumia 950 XL User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception
9.5
Display
9.8
Build quality
7.6
Text input
9.5
Everyday usage
9.2
UI speed
9.1
Camera
9.5
Multimedia
8.8
Internet
9.3
Call quality
9.8
Battery
8.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

vanquished posted on Mar 29, 2017, 8:56 AM
Posts: 11; Member since: Apr 15, 2012

10.0

Love the 950XL

vanquished has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've used Android extensively in the past couple months and it's still god awful. Windows 10 Mobile is the best mobile experience you can have and the 950XL is the best (or tied for the best with the X3) hardware you can run it on.

The camera is fantastic, the screen is brilliant (QHD), Retina scanner, wireless charging built in, USB-C, MicroSD support, removable batter, Dual Sim...

Nothing about this phone is half-assed.

It's a shame that Microsoft couldn't convince people to build more apps for their ecosystem because this phone deserves to be in everyone's pocket.

Unlike Android, most non-third party functions are baked right into the OS, so you don't need to clutter your device with silly ad supported apps, the Edge browser is so good that you don't need apps for simple websites either.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
The only downside of this phone is the lack of some popular third party app support. It doesn't hurt me but other users may find this inconvenient.
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Great Camera
  • Super High-Def (and very large screen)
  • Fast UI
  • 3GB of Ram
  • 8 Core CPU
  • Wireless Charging
  • Windows Hello (facial recognition)
  • Micro SD support
  • Dual Sim
  • Removable Battery

Cons

  • Lack of third party app support

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

cdgoin posted on Dec 07, 2016, 7:39 AM
Posts: 614; Member since: Jul 28, 2010

10.0

One year later still the best

cdgoin has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Excellent phone. Typical of all my phones I wore out the plug so it has a hard time charging now. So got a Alcatel Idol 4s. Considering buying a new 950XL I miss my old one that much. The Idol seems faster in some aspects, but photo processing isnt one. The 950XL is much faster, faster to zoom, fater to process, and better pictures overall. The 950XL screen is a year later still the best in WP, and on par with the iPhone 7 and Galaxy phones. The 950XL is probably still the best phone on the market for Windows Phone users and prices are coming down. Haven't had a chance to get or view a HP Elite X3 yet. But looking at the specs I would say the camera in teh 950xl is still better. Which is what really matters to me as the WP10 platform is pretty universal. The only thing I find the Alcatel has that is vastly better than the 950XL are the external speakers. Those on the 950 are loudish, and clear but only on average with most phones I have used. As noted by other user with Live Tiles App Gap is a misnomer. Many websites can be simply made into a live tile. Most apps from Dominos to Fandango, Yelp to Waze, Paypal to Ebay, Spotify to Netflix are there. Just sometimes a little older than Android or iOS versions. But in case of Android thats relative. Havent found many apps outside of NFC and banking apps that I don't have. With banking and even eBay to a point the mobile website is just as good if not better than an App and with WPs unique live tiles you can make your own app by just...  

Build quality
8.0
What the front has going for it in an almost bezeless fashion, is countered with a boring plastic back, and the logo falls of with age. That said, its a tough phone and the battery is easily removeable.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Speakers are only OK
Camera
10.0
Fast and awesome in low light. Very clear pictures and refocus ability. The triple LED flash produces excellent pictures.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Removable battery
  • Fast UI
  • Excellent Camera
  • Excellent Flash
  • Superior screen resolution
  • Large Screen
  • Tough case and screen
  • Windows Phone OS
  • Live Tiles
  • Good Battery Life

Cons

  • Boring design
  • Weak external speakers
  • App Gap ( be it overhyped )
  • Lost Facebook integration

cdgoin alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

raiter posted on Sep 13, 2016, 4:50 AM
Posts: 36; Member since: Mar 10, 2014

9.0

(The last?) Real flagship of Windows 10 phone

raiter has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I got this phone in last moment, the 950XL where out of sale at local retailers. So got 50% off initial price, ant it where worth it.
Migrated to 950XL form Nokia 930. Reason: I use e-mail and sms a lot, needed larger screen for text input. Was looking for HP elite X3, but the delivery time where unclear, and dimensions of 6"-inch too scary, ... and that price ~800EUR ... :-/

The Lumia 950XL problem is the 2015 edtion WinPhone 10 OS release, that where too soon, not ready, full of bugs, and it scared away lot of consumers and retailers. The damage where done, and itš sad that so nice phone has been underrated.
After 2016. Win10Phone update, things are really good, the phone runs smooth, nice, no bugs, everything works just fine.
Had some trouble with setup (due to many updates)That could be real pain for for new WindowsPhone user, or average everyday user.
So the device is cool, good screen, best (on my opinnion) camera...
The only real downside for now, is unclear future of Windows Phone OS. If Microsoft will drop the OS and support, it puts under doubt the possibility to use 950XL for years. I really hope, Microsoft will find the way to keep the Win Phone OS alive. (otherwise, there is no more choice in the world :) )

Build quality
8.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Large and superb dislay
  • Perfecd dimensions (for 5.7" phone), not too large, feels light and thin
  • IRIS scanner
  • 21 mpix camera with good software
  • Windows eco-sysem integration

Cons

  • Buggy setup for use (due to much updates)
  • Plastic design
  • The last LUMIA phone, with unclear future of Windows Phone OS

raiter alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

alierna posted on Jun 05, 2016, 11:45 PM
Posts: 15; Member since: Apr 06, 2016

9.0

great phone.

alierna has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

amazing phone. fast. everyone notices the beast in your hand. the only problem is plastic back which is not important in the end. who uses his phone without a case or cover? no one. nobody can see full of metal phone body cuz we all use cases and we all have plastic cases (most of us).
but it would be nice to have this thing too.
everything else is unspeakably great

Build quality
7.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • amazing camera

Cons

No Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

hkindle posted on Jan 11, 2016, 12:12 PM
Posts: 6; Member since: May 10, 2013

7.0

Unhappy

hkindle has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Over all a good phone, but for a flagship price, I expected more. Support and updates have been poor. I had to do a software reset to upgrade Windows 10. Continuum is useless to me. The App Gap is a pain. I have to use the web browser to replace some apps, and Edge doesn't have plug-ins yet and is not ready for prime time. I had Windows phones until my last Android. I am really trying to like this phone and Windows, but it is really hard. I regret leaving Android.

Build quality
4.0
Back does not fit to case well and squeaks. Display has a "stain" visible in direct sunlight.
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
6.0
Edge browser, and the only alternative is Opera Mini
Multimedia
5.0
App Gap
Camera
9.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Random Reboots
Text input
8.0
Display
6.0
Display is good, but mine has a slight but bothersome flaw.
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Camera

Cons

  • Flawed display
  • poor support
  • fit and finish
  • App Gap
  • stability
  • Edge Browser

4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Report

Austiniter posted on May 21, 2016, 10:50 AM
Posts: 22; Member since: Dec 06, 2015

9.0

UPDATED REVIEW: LUMIA 950 XL - SOLID - HARDWORKING - RELIABLE PHONE

Austiniter has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

My previous review had me rating this phone badly, however I kept the phone and found once MS updated the Lumia 950 XL that most of the issues went away. I travel internationally, thus I wanted a reliable dependable dual-sim phone. This phone has finally measured up to being a great phone (with the new MS updates).

Build quality
6.0
MS Should had built this phone with some metal in it versus plastic.
Reception
10.0
Phone is dual-sim. Reception is excellent.
Call quality
10.0
Call quality is excellent, however it also depends on which carrier your using. If you're using Cricket Wireless there is no HD calling. If you use Metro PCS there is HD calling and the sound/call quality is excellent.
Internet
10.0
Internet connectivity was excellent.
Multimedia
10.0
MultiMedia worked great, no issues and speed was excellent.
Camera
10.0
Camera worked flawlessly, one of the best cameras I've experienced using.
UI speed
8.0
UI speed was about as I expected, a bit better than average.
Everyday usage
10.0
Excellent phone for any business user, or any individual. The only gripe I have is that the battery should last much longer.
Text input
10.0
Great text and predictive text input.
Display
10.0
Display was also excellent. I could easily adjust display for brightness, font size and clarity. MS does very well in this area.
Battery
7.0
Battery life has significantly improved since MS Update, however it still lags. If charged at 6:30 AM one might expect the battery to last until 9:00 PM. 5/21/2016 I'm advised MS is soon to do major update in a few days whereas fixes battery consumption.

Pros

  • Built-In Camera (Exceptional)
  • Great Internet Connectivity
  • Dual-SIm Capability
  • Exceptional Text Input Capability
  • Excellent Display
  • Long-lasting Battery (Exceptional)
  • MS Windows 10 (Exceptional)
  • MS CORTANA (Exceptional)
  • Reception (Excellent)
  • Call-Quality (Excellent)

Cons

  • Build Quality - Plastic (Feels Cheap)
  • Battery (Lasts maybe 8 hours)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

setht06 posted on Aug 21, 2016, 10:00 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 21, 2016

10.0

Almost a flagship

setht06 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Everything works great but feels cheap and app gap is still there. That being said an amazing camera, fantastic display and the best UI on a smart phone make up for it. As a phone I have no complaints dual sim is a great feature.

Build quality
8.0
wish it would feel more premium but it is very durable
Reception
10.0
no connectivity issues
Call quality
10.0
sounds great
Internet
10.0
no connectivity or speed problems after latest firmware update
Multimedia
8.0
could have better external speaker
Camera
10.0
one of the best cameras on a smartphone
UI speed
10.0
beautiful user interface
Everyday usage
9.0
Amazing for productivity but app gap remains
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
crisp quad hd display with great blacks
Battery
10.0
will give a full day of use and is replaceable

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Kurdo posted on Jun 22, 2016, 6:21 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Dec 10, 2014

10.0

Flagship neglected

Kurdo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I would be more satisfied if its screen was the size of Lumia 1520, i.e. 6 inches. But, anyway, this size is easier in pockets and on the palm. The building material has a lot of space to improve. Separation of volume up and volume down buttons was not a wise decision.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Screen Resolution
  • Removable Battery

Cons

  • Should have been 6"

Is this review helpful?

Report

Fuchur84 posted on Mar 06, 2016, 2:58 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 06, 2016

9.0

Nice phone with little flaws

Fuchur84 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The phone is much better than people seem to rate it if you ask me... Maybe the expectations were too high because it was the first flag ship windows phone in years. It has a great camera, it is fast, it is easy to use and the "app gap" is really only noticeable for gadget-lovers who are using exotic stuff if you ask me... with one or two exceptions like snapchats and people who do not get that this is a microsoft phone and not a google phone. (yes, there is no google drive, etc. implementation but each and every Google App has an quite equal or even better integrated Microsoft equivalent... The build-quality is okay for me too... especially if you understand, that it has a polycabonate case... that is written everywhere so do not complain about that... if you do not want that, do not get this phone....

Build quality
8.0
Feels good in the hand, protects the phone well. For some it is given small sounds when pressed at one side (not for me), but that is not important if you use a case or a different back cover.
Reception
9.0
I get nice reception on it...
Call quality
9.0
People can be easily understand and people understand you well.
Internet
8.0
The Edge-Browser is a good browser... it is fast and easy to use... I still would like to see Firefox or Chome on the device, but it is absolutely useable and working well.
Multimedia
9.0
Fast and nice playback, good Groove Music, Deezer and nice spotify apps. Works well with video streaming apps too and has great abilities like a very good camera and microphones for creating multimedia content.
Camera
10.0
One if not the best available in smartphones
UI speed
8.0
Some apps need a few seconds to start, but the UI itself is very fast and responsive.
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0
Good battery life... will hold for one and a half day by average usage or about one day with heavy usage.

Pros

  • Great Update policy
  • One of the best cameras available with great flash and the best images in dark situations.
  • Very productive in work life
  • Nice Cortana assistent on pair with Siri

Cons

  • For some the back cover is not perfectly fitted. A cover by Mozo or a good StilGut-case is recommended in that case.
  • The OS still needs some work, but it is very useable.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

BUCKWEED123 posted on Feb 11, 2016, 10:17 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 24, 2014

10.0

Extremely Happy With This Bad Boy

BUCKWEED123 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Overall this is a very good phone, I can't fault it aside from the App availability on the OS itself. However it seems to be improving given Win 10 being easier for porting apps over. The device itself is awesome, very light, well built, extremely amazing screen, expandable memory, removable battery, Continuum, Windows Hello is very slick and fast - phone unlocks extremely fast with facial recognition

Build quality
10.0
Perfect finish to the screen and case, although the case is lightweight and plastic, it really makes a dramatic difference to the overall weight of the phone. It's deceptively light and adds to the manageability given the size of the display
Reception
10.0
I have the Dual Sim model, never have any issues with either connection.
Call quality
10.0
The call quality is a step up from the Lumia 930 which I had previously, and it was very good. The audio quality is a big improvement.
Internet
9.0
Edge is very nice, it's improving continually and actually a very responsive browser. Few bugs which were apparent in the first few weeks around videos playing, are all resolved now.
Multimedia
10.0
Really happy with the multimedia features that are available. It plays the audio and video extremely well, the variety of compatible versions are very good. 60fps HD videos on Youtube are something to behold on this display
Camera
10.0
Awesome, and improving regularly. A lot of new updates are improving responsiveness etc that were sluggish upon Win 10's initial release. Camera quality is awesome overall.
UI speed
10.0
Very responsive, rarely any lag in any areas and the soft menu keys are perfect, allows the full screen usage and always works perfectly. Love the new menu's, all are sharp and responsive.
Everyday usage
10.0
Love it. I have a 200gb card in it too and office 365, so using Continuum is really functional for me. I save a lot of stuff on the phone and it's just so handy having everything so close.
Text input
10.0
Flawless, nothing drastic here, I've had the 930 before this and there are improvements on an already excellent setup.
Display
10.0
The highlight of this device, it's epic. Video quality - amazing. Picture quality - amazing. Sharpness - Amazing. Brightness - Amazing. It's quality, and unbelievable how light the overall phone is given the size of the display
Battery
10.0
Always get the full day minimum, depending on usage this can run well in to two days. I never have any complaints and have seen improvements with each iteration of the OS update and occasional Firmware update.

Pros

  • Screen is Amazing
  • Phone is extremely light given the size
  • Continuum is very slick
  • Fast Charging
  • Micro SD expansion
  • Removable battery
  • Camera is awesome

Cons

  • Lack of Apps - OS issue rather than phone issue

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

coolram posted on Feb 10, 2016, 4:09 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Feb 10, 2016

9.0

Optimistic!

coolram has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

After buying the phone, it did a lot of updates, which is good. I don't have problems with account setups coz had hotmail accounts for decades. Foremost, being a phone is the best experience I have. Super call quality at even a one bar signal. I had few updates since buying it and small bumps been cleared. Love the removable battery and external SD card, in w/c Iphones and latest Samsung high end phones don't have. But overall, I love my Lumia 950 XL and windows 10. And i'm very optimistic that it will be more better just like my windows 10 laptops.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Reception and call quality. Display (wow) and camera.
  • Office and Onedrive.
  • Removable battery
  • External SD card

Cons

  • OS sluggish with some very few apps.

coolram alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

poweralert posted on Feb 04, 2016, 1:14 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 04, 2016

7.0

unsuccessful

poweralert has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

*This phone frustrating for several reasons:
1. Made of full plastic so Chassis made from plastic.
2- very expensive and very few features and unattractive
3- no improvements on the camera ... just three flash and unhelpful
4- the battery is not enough
5 - high temperature and coolant is not effective

*Features
1- no skimp USB Type-C cables
2- system improver and developed
3- Pure sound

Build quality
3.0
Made of full plastic
Reception
7.0
Call quality
10.0
Pure sound
Internet
10.0
faster
Multimedia
5.0
no application .......... poor store
Camera
5.0
no improver and no developed
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Good but cannot is unreliable longer
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
good resolution 565 ppi
Battery
3.0
High temperature and not enough

Pros

  • Pure sound
  • system improver and developed
  • no skimp USB Type-C cables

Cons

  • high temperature and coolant is not effective
  • the battery is not enough
  • no improvements on the camera ... just three flash and unhelpful
  • very expensive and very few features and unattractive
  • Made of full plastic so Chassis made from plastic.

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Report

bijak_riyandi posted on Jan 31, 2016, 4:29 AM
Posts: 3; Member since: Dec 02, 2015

9.0

Highly Satisfied

bijak_riyandi has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Excellent camera, probably the best of 2015. Great display. Good performance with only rare hiccups ever happened. Good battery life. Overall a well-rounded performer if you don't really mind about apps.

Live Tiles are GREAT! Learning curve of Windows 10 Mobile may be a little bit steep, but seriously, if you're changing platforms you should NEVER use the same way of thinking as your previous platform.

Build quality
7.0
Out of the box, the phone doesn't look sexy, but not looking cheap either.
Reception
9.0
Never really had problems with network. Wi-Fi sometimes feels slow, but not much of a problem anyway.
Call quality
9.0
Calls are quite clear either in input or output. Greatly enhanced with the four microphones.
Internet
8.0
Edge is great, but occasionally I ran into some web pages that are a little bit sluggish.
Multimedia
8.0
Great performance in games and watching videos. The amount of games, on the other hand, not really impressive.
Camera
10.0
One of the best if not the best camera on a phone right now. Even surpasses the mighty Nokia Lumia 1020!
UI speed
9.0
The Windows 10 Mobile animations takes more time than other platforms thus making it feels slower when you compare it side-by-side. In daily use, you won't notice it.
Everyday usage
10.0
Have I never mentioned the Live Tiles is probably the BEST UI/UX ever?
Text input
8.0
WordFlow keyboard is great, although sometimes giving me headache because I'm quite a "grammar Nazi". One-handed mode also works well.
Display
10.0
1440p AMOLED ClearBlack display on this phone is excellent!
Battery
9.0
Extensive use of gaming or web browsing may drag the battery down, but in my normal usage the battery can last about 12 hours.

Pros

  • Continuum
  • Iris scanner
  • WaaS will bring updates faster

Cons

  • Out-of-the-box unimpressive look

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

charudutt.malhara posted on Dec 31, 2015, 8:57 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 31, 2015

10.0

greatest smartphone ever!!

charudutt.malhara has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Lumia has come a long way.. From Lumia 800 to Lumia 950XL , lumia has grown..
With its super cool UI which basically remained same the OS looks fab! Lumia is fast, fluid and responsive.., camera works exceptional! Battery is also good..!! Apps is an issue yet but with Project Astoria I hope that will go away!!

Build quality
10.0
Feels Strong
Reception
10.0
Great network
Call quality
10.0
It works well!
Internet
10.0
Verry fast
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Gorgeous
Battery
10.0
One and half day long!!!

Pros

  • Camera.
  • Continuum
  • Great SPecs
  • Windows 10 (UNiversal)
  • Dual Sim
  • Supports 1TB microSD card

Cons

  • Looks(Doesnt Feel Premium)
  • Apps(Lacks few imp apps)

charudutt.malhara alternatives:

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

K4M41 posted on Dec 30, 2015, 2:30 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 19, 2015

9.0

A good Phone that will be better

K4M41 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have had the phone for 2 weeks now and so far I do not regret it at all. The OS in my opinion is the best Phone OS yet. The camera is more advanced than any camera on a 2015 smartphone. UI is awesome, no space is wasted; live tiles are very efficient. Battery life is good generally is more than 24h with average use. Build quality could be better in terms of feel not materials (I have always preferred polycarbonate). And for a 5.7 inch screen sized phone it does not feel that big. And finally, being one of the rare flagship smartphones to bring back the removable back and battery, plus a micro SD slot, the phone gets an additional plus according to me.

Build quality
8.0
I would have liked it better if they had kept the same materials but made it feel a little tougher.
Reception
10.0
Never dropped on me.
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
8.0
The OS can still be optinized
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Awesome display
  • Amazing screen to body ration (It does not feel as big as a regular 5.7 inch)
  • Good battery life
  • Windows 10 Mobile
  • Exceptional camera
  • Dual SIM
  • Have the most advanced UI for smartphone OS yet
  • Cortana Integration

Cons

  • Not for people who like to have a flashy phone
  • OS needs a little optimization

K4M41 alternatives:

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report

Didier3001 posted on Dec 15, 2015, 7:11 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Dec 15, 2015

10.0

Windows Mobile that fix everything that was missing on the 930 plus exciting new features

Didier3001 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Here my own feedback on the phone after using it for 6 days now.

I’m very happy with the Lumia 950 XL. I used to have a 1020 and then a 930. I was a bit disappointed with the 930 because of the Camera and lack of Glance screen. Everything else was good but not perfect. In my opinion the 950 XL fix all the problems.

Negative point: Finishing touch of the case does not feel Premium. Camera and Screen looks brilliant and Premium. Solution here is to order one of the case from Mozo, they are expensive but Premium look and quality.
No oversampling in the Microsoft Photo app / Microsoft Camera.

On the positive side of things:
# Camera is much much better than the 930. Not as much detailed as the one on the 1020 when zooming (a lot) at the picture but very very close and the camera is also much much faster. Globally I’m very happy as I was very disappointed with the camera on the 930. Macro (close-up) and nigh shots are again very close or sometimes better than the 1020.

# Support for Micro SD card.

# Glance screen is finally back and I love it.

# Continuum works very good. So far only few Apps are compatible but I’m confident it will increase. So far All MS apps are compatible (Groove Music, Microsoft Photo, Outlook, Word, PowerPoint etc…) and also FaceBook, TripAdvisor, FitBit, Uber. I’m looking forward to see TubeCast and Plex compatible with Continuum. So far I only had a chance to test it Wirelessly and it works very well. My free dock should arrive in the coming weeks.

#...  

Build quality
8.0
Camera and Screen are fantastic but cover does not feel Premium.
Reception
10.0
Reception is as good as any other phone I have owned so far.
Call quality
10.0
Call quality is very good. Nothing I have to complain about. To me it seems even better than my 930 or 1020.
Internet
10.0
With the very large screen, the latest Edge Browser version, browsing the net or watch video on this phone or a big screen with Continuum is a real pleasure.
Multimedia
10.0
Plex, Netflix, TubeCast works flawlessly and the additional storage space that can be added with Micro SD card allow me to save my own movies and Music. Microsoft Band 2 now allow me to control any Music app running on the phone when I'm running or when the phone is connected in my car. This is brilliant.
Camera
9.0
Very fast camera, very nice and sharp pictures. Quality is a bit inferior than 1020 when zooming at the pictures but don't get me wrong, they are very very good and much better than 930. I'm also a bit disappointed that there is No oversampling in the Microsoft Photo app / Microsoft Camera. Maybe this will come with a future update.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0
With more than 200 Apps installed, multiple email accounts and multiple Social network apps giving me real time notification and spending a few hours per day to read my news on the phone, it last at least a full day

Pros

  • Camera
  • Glance Screen
  • Continuum
  • Windows Hello
  • Micro SD card support (up to 2 TB)

Cons

  • No oversampling in the Microsoft Photo app / Microsoft Camera
  • Case does not feel premium

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

SamirKumar posted on Dec 10, 2015, 8:16 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 10, 2015

10.0

Phone for Camera Geeks

SamirKumar has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone you can say for MS W10 fans and Camera geeks also if you want use the refreshing W10 Mobile UI and fluidity. If they ship it with one of the MOZO Cover then this would have given tough competition to currently so said flagships. APP GAP won't get you until you are using some very specific local apps anyway Edge is capable enough to handle them as a pinned web pages as Tile that's the beauty.

Build quality
9.0
I think the design is very optimal to use and handle the big phone and also you can go premium with MOZO cases.
Reception
10.0
No issues till get expanding the Nokia legacy.
Call quality
10.0
No issue in Noisy environments as well as in crowded lifts.
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
just got better due to the screen quality as 4Ks are flawless and very smooth
Camera
10.0
The best camera you can find on a Phone
UI speed
9.0
Better than androids but yet to catch up the benchmark set by WP8/8.1
Everyday usage
9.0
Most daily used apps are there as well as good battery backup on more than a moderate use
Text input
10.0
Best thing even guess local words in English fonts as per your uses it learns all the way
Display
10.0
one of the best on Smartphone in the market
Battery
9.0
should have little more 3G uses time given its huge battery

Pros

  • Best Camera in the Market
  • Screen quality is very good
  • Natural Flash works just perfect
  • Camera dedicated button is nice to have
  • Continumm works pretty good for basic PC use
  • Live tiles are fantastic
  • OS is secure
  • Good for Enterprise user
  • Bezels are very less
  • Cortana is exceptional

Cons

  • OS is little buggy
  • Should have shipped with MOZO back Cover

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.