HTC One S User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.7

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera
9.3
Multimedia
9.5
Internet
9.5
Call quality
9.3
Battery
8.9
Reception
9.5
Display
9.7
Build quality
9.7
Text input
9.4
Everyday usage
9.8
UI speed
9.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

kentuckyloan posted on Aug 04, 2012, 12:03 PM
Posts: 7; Member since: Jun 28, 2010

9.0

Good phone for money

kentuckyloan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I really enjoy it for my business. Good battery, light, very fast. I would recommend to camera or phone users. I highly recommend upgrade to T Mobile users. Would of the best phones on the market.
Beats Audio is okay, but camera is the best

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • slim, battery, light, fast
  • upgradeable to jelly bean
  • latest ui HTC 4.0 sense

Cons

  • maybe too light.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

VladUK posted on Jun 01, 2012, 11:58 AM
Posts: 8; Member since: May 24, 2012

10.0

Amazing...

VladUK has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm the owner of this beautifully crafted mobile phone, quality of built is really stunning, screen is absolutely amazing to look at as everything is so sharp ( size of a screen is 4.3" with 540 x 960 resolution, much better than my Samsung Galaxy SII ) fast user interface and new Sence 4.0 is a real treat combined with latest Android 4.0.3. Plenty of useful apps: flashlight, notes, PDF viewer, Polaris office etc...
Best thing about it is rich, clean sound when listening your favorite music, I don't own Dr Dre (beats audio) headphones but my Sony ones are more than enough to enjoy too.
One negative thing about this device is that comes with limited memory in this case 16GB (you end up only with 9.3GB) but still enough to store your favorite music, videos etc.
Another thing is that also comes with non user replaceable battery, but I hope that is not a problem as I am sure it will last minimum 2 years or more.
Fast internet browsing, very easy to type your text messages and emails, call quality very, very good..."one hell of a mobile phone" is the last thing I should say about it!

Regards

Build quality
10.0
The aluminium is placed in a plasma field and electrocuted, making it as tough as ceramic.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Fast and very responsive browser
Multimedia
10.0
beatsaudio works like a charm
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Large 4.3 inch display very sharp and crisp
  • Latest Android release (version 4.0, or Ice Cream Sandwich) out of the box
  • Outstanding photographic capabilities

Cons

  • No memory card slot
  • Battery integrated non replaceable by user

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

kingkoopa765 posted on May 01, 2012, 6:33 PM
Posts: 31; Member since: Oct 22, 2011

10.0

Best yet from HTC

kingkoopa765 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Coming from a long line of HTC androids from the G1 to the Amaze, I can say I'm impressed over the first week of having this device. First thing you notice is how light and thin it is, and the crisp look of ice cream sandwich with the sense UI over it. I was a vanilla android fan from the G2 but the new sense has grown on me with the lock screen shortcuts coming in handy, and nice looking widgets. Upon testing the camera, you will be blown away by shutter speed and ability to hold it down for up to 99 continuous shots. Also to be able to record video and take still shots from it is a really cool feature. Camera quality is awesome and even better than the amaze and 4S. Everything through the menus is snappy, and there's no lag with multi tasking flipping through open apps. I havent done any intense 3D gaming yet but the screen is really nice considering having lower specs than its one X counterpart. The colors are really vivid and the blacks are very black. As a phone salesman I am pretty picky and get to use a lot of different models, but HTC has definitely came through nicely with this one series.

Build quality
9.0
Great shape, the only thing holding it back from a 10 is a little bit slippery plastic feel and not having the micro arc oxidized body of the black international version.
Reception
9.0
pulling in a pretty strong signal from everywhere I've been so far
Call quality
10.0
No echo or tinny, fuzzy sound
Internet
10.0
web browsing fast and smooth
Multimedia
10.0
Video is clean and sharp
Camera
10.0
Best camera that I've ever used on a phone
UI speed
10.0
HTC sense is not lagging at all the processor and RAM handles it smoothly
Everyday usage
10.0
I sell phones for a living and this is eye catching with the super thin body, but can last through a whole day without charge.
Text input
10.0
No problem with the touchscreen, I use Go SMS pro so its all custom settings how you want it even down to the vibration pattern.
Display
10.0
Don't read too far into the pentile vs. RGB or whatever, this is a crisp beautiful screen.
Battery
9.0
off the first charge I got about 30 hours off the battery which has gotten to be less with heavy use but it's better than expected from such a thin phone. Use juice defender

Pros

  • Amazing camera
  • Thin and light
  • ICS with sense 4.0
  • Beats audio
  • Extremely fast
  • Battery life pretty good

Cons

  • No micro SD slot
  • No black color available yet in U.S.
  • No dedicated camera button

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

androidgamer posted on Dec 02, 2014, 5:34 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 02, 2014

10.0

HTC is good

androidgamer has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I'm very happy with this phone. Overall it's very smooth and fluid, a painless experience. Works well. One of the speakers broke after it fell 5 feet but I can still hear calls and audio just not "stereo style" audio

Build quality
9.0
One of the speakers broke after if fell 5 feet but I can still hear calls and audio just not "stereo style" audio
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

simiyuandrew posted on May 20, 2014, 5:40 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 20, 2014

10.0

Amazing

simiyuandrew has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Simply the best at this range. superb build quality,amazing interface,great camera. HTC have once again proved to be the best droid maker. I can hardly find a fault with this phone, maybe no expandable memory but lots of cloud.

Build quality
10.0
good aluminium body
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Fast browser
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0
not user replaceable

Pros

  • Display
  • User interface
  • Camera
  • Build quality
  • Good ppi

Cons

  • non expandable memory

simiyuandrew alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

madar007 posted on Feb 07, 2014, 5:26 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 07, 2014

10.0

htc one s z560e

madar007 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have this phone for 2 years and it still working great with no faults at all .
it has a 4.1.1 jelly bean and sense 4+ , the music is better with beats audio built in.
the phone in this category is much better than samsung s2/s3 and iphone 4s.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • beautiful design and easy ui

Cons

No Cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

hedilio posted on Nov 17, 2013, 3:11 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 17, 2013

9.0

Pretty good!

hedilio has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for almost two years, and it has really held up. I really love the way the phone was built; it's nice to look at for sure. It's not the best phone I've ever owned, but it's pretty great for people who want a little more than what the low-end phones have to offer.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
8.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Great build quality

Cons

  • No expandable storage

Is this review helpful?

Report

miguelmendezv posted on Apr 11, 2013, 11:25 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Apr 11, 2013

10.0

Un grandioso telefono

miguelmendezv has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Es la primera vez que poseo un móvil de HTC la verdad estoy muy conforme con el, es un grandioso teléfono, tiene muy buenas prestaciones. HTC Sense es lo que mas me encanta en este teléfono, te brinda muchos servicios y lo mejor de todo perzonalizacion

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Diseño
  • Calidad
  • Pantalla
  • Prestaciones

Cons

  • Bateria

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Destined2Rock posted on May 06, 2012, 3:27 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 06, 2012

10.0

The lack of memory card slot isn't as big a deal as you think.

Destined2Rock has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is one word: AMAZING. The screen is so vivid and the camera is amazing! Calls are great, and it's so thin! People are saying negative things about no memory card slot and that they hate that you can't remove the battery, but it comes installed with dropbox and you get 25gb free for two years (through a promotion that HTC runs with Tmobile and Dropbox right now), so if you want to save space you can just save all of your pictures/videos/etc to dropbox and move them to your PC later! I'm in love with this phone.

Build quality
10.0
The chrome back is beautiful! The grey/blue details are beautiful
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Very clear - I only wish I could turn up the volume! Some people (in my life, anyway) are very quiet and a little more difficult to hear, but nothing earth-shattering.
Internet
10.0
4g speeds are lightning fast! No problems here.
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
Continuous shooting is amazing! Picture quality is outstanding and for an art student like me, I love having a nice camera that I can keep in my pocket for every day shots instead of having to lug around a DSLR.
UI speed
10.0
Super responsive, no lag time.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
I haven't found a way to customize the input sensitivity integrated Swype keyboard and I find it's not easy to set up
Display
10.0
Super AMOLED screens can't be beat - the color density is wonderful.
Battery
10.0
Best battery I've ever had in a phone!

Pros

  • Gorgeous Camera
  • Super AMOLED Screen
  • Very thin and light
  • Very Fast Processor

Cons

No Cons

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

Sponge posted on May 01, 2012, 6:19 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 15, 2012

9.0

Benjamin Bennett

Sponge has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Awesome phone , lightweight with a sexy design that has the better speaker than any other T-Mobile device . Highly recommend this phone . Even though it lacks a memory card slot , it's still a great phone .

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Beats audio
  • Camera

Cons

  • Lacks memory card slot

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.