Google Nexus 6 User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.6

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
9.9
Internet
9.8
Call quality
9.4
Battery
9.3
Reception
9.7
Display
9.4
Build quality
9.2
Text input
9.6
Everyday usage
9.1
UI speed
9.6
Camera
8.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

o0Exia0o posted on Oct 15, 2015, 9:52 AM
Posts: 903; Member since: Feb 01, 2013

9.0

Great phone; abit too big

o0Exia0o has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great phone. It is a little bit too big for my taste, though after using it for a while it is not bad. I wish that Google would have at least matched the Nexus 5X with this phone, but they didn't so I guess Ill stay with the Nexus 6 until next year....

Build quality
10.0
Amazing construction with premium materials
Reception
10.0
No dropped calls on VZW. Advanced Calling 1.0 works well where I am.
Call quality
10.0
Advanced Calling 1.0 gives superior HD voice in calls
Internet
10.0
Smooth, fluid experience using the Chrome Browser.
Multimedia
10.0
Front facing speakers make watching a movie or hearing music a joy when the screen is facing you
Camera
8.0
Camera is not bad but Nexus device cameras always leave something to be desired
UI speed
8.0
It has froze on me a couple of times making me have to preform a reset
Everyday usage
8.0
Phone's size is a little big for my liking
Text input
10.0
Easy to use the keyboard
Display
9.0
Beautiful, wish Samsung didn't hold back their best panels though. Max brightness leaves something to be desired.
Battery
10.0
Gets through 2 days with moderate usage of web surfing or streaming music. Be aware that if you constantly play videos or games that will dramatically decrease your batter %. I generally get over 5 and a half hours of Screen On Time

Pros

  • All day battery
  • QHD screen
  • Front facing speakers
  • Fi compatability
  • Great designe
  • Build quality
  • SoftwareOS updates/ Security patches from Google
  • No OS overlay; Vanella Android
  • Ability to use 1 device on all carriers
  • No carrier/OEM bloat

Cons

  • Size
  • No Expandable storage
  • Max screen brightness
  • Non-removable battery
  • 32bit SOC not 64bit

o0Exia0o alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

curiousDillan posted on Jul 16, 2015, 11:45 PM
Posts: 46; Member since: May 26, 2015

9.0

Great phone!

curiousDillan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I really like this phone. It's exactly what I wanted. I was a little worried about the size, but for me it's fine. It fits in my jeans; it fits in my jacket. No problem! The complaints I have are very minor: the display seems a bit dim in direct sunlight and the camera tends to focus in the middle of videos. Neither one of those things are very important to me. The biggest plus is stock Android 5.1.1. No skins. No bloat. It's excellent.

Even though this phone is getting a little long in the tooth (as far as current cell phones go), it's the best phone out there for me. It's has plenty of power for my uses, it has a nice, big display and great sound, and it runs stock Android, just the way I like it. I'm very happy I purchased it.

Build quality
9.0
It's a solid phone, and I have no complaints. I took a point off for the plastic. It's not perfect, but it's very solid.
Reception
10.0
I've had no trouble with reception.
Call quality
8.0
Call quality is fine as long as you position your ear over the speaker properly. It works really well with my hands free device in my car too.
Internet
10.0
I've had no trouble with the wifi.
Multimedia
10.0
Excellent! Those front mounted speakers are awesome!
Camera
6.0
It's the best I've ever had on a phone, but that is not saying much. The camera often tries to re-focus during video recording (for no reason), and meh, it's a phone camera. I use a nice DSLR usually, so this doesn't compare. Call me biased.
UI speed
10.0
The UI speed is excellent. Android 5.1.1 is very nice. I give it a 10 because it really works for me.
Everyday usage
9.0
For me, this phone is excellent in everyday use.
Text input
8.0
It works for me. The big phone has more room for typing. I gave it an 8 just because typing on a screen is never ideal in my opinion.
Display
8.0
The display is excellent indoors. I have to say that it's challenged in the mid-day sun.
Battery
8.0
It's not a 2 day phone, but it easily gets me through a day. I can charge it in the evening before bed, and I'll put 20 hours standby on it with 3+ hours screen time, and I'll still have 30% left. That's good enough for me. The quick charge feature is really great! I'm glad that I am no longer a wall hugger.

Pros

  • The dual front speakers are really nice
  • The UI is smooth and fast. Stock Android is the way to go--for me, anyway!
  • The nice, big display is great for videos, photos and reading your favourite blog
  • The quick charging battery is easily good enough for a day's moderate use.

Cons

  • The display could be brighter for outdoor viewing
  • The camera likes to adjust focus while recording videos

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

ozabb posted on Dec 23, 2015, 11:31 AM
Posts: 50; Member since: Dec 21, 2013

10.0

negetive review changed cos i goshdarn loved that phone

ozabb has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

my initial impression of nexus devices has always been bad, but i learn to love them once i configure them properly. coming from samsung i can safely say that the korean company leaves really less for the end user to configure or modify, which i cant say about the n6. using it without root was impossible for me
however it is still the best dam phone ive had. i lost it a couple weeks ago *sniff sniff* and im regretting all the horrible stuff i said here about it

Build quality
9.0
great build. beautiful phone. great button placement makes the otherwise big phablet easy to control. a bit heavy. curved back makes it great to hold and pocket
Reception
10.0
no complaints there
Call quality
10.0
i dont know if it was the update but the call quality was pretty awesome. i work in a noisy environment and never had a problem understanding the speaker
Internet
7.0
sometimes behaves weird connecting to wifi. doesnt automatically connect to saved wifi if another open network is available. while downloading/updating multiple apps from play store if the screen goes off it sometimes stops the download (i have checked all settings and have no idea why it happens)
Multimedia
10.0
dual speakers, and loud ones. great surround effect while watching or playing something in landscape mode
Camera
8.0
an awesome camera hasnt been something i desire. no complaints here for me but avid photo snappers might find it a bit bland
UI speed
9.0
in normal use it gives absolutely no lag. but while playing games a little lag is experienced. maybe its the qhd screen
Everyday usage
10.0
really crappy default apps, i had to change almost each. calculator has no history. the dialer sucks. not a fan of hangouts and the google sms app is also very limited. no notification lights without root. no usb otg (req root). i have no idea but putting the phone with screen touching my thigh causes it to automatically receive calls. big annoyance however most of these problems were ironed out after marshmallow
Text input
8.0
i dont use the default keyboard cause of habit but it aint bad. swiping is a bit difficult but tapping is easy and fun on the big screen
Display
8.0
very red display. had to change the kernel to reduce the redness. bad adaptive lighting. any lower than 40% brightness and everything starts getting red (theres probably a workaround). i think the red tint is for protecting eyesight in low lighting changed kernel and tweaked the settings and the screen colors got phenomenal. thats why i love nexus. so easy to customize
Battery
10.0
poor battery on lollipop. but on marshmallow i kept wifi on all day, kept data on too (3g). sometimes went with 50% charge to work and after 9 hours still had enough juice for minimal tasks

Pros

  • great design
  • good internal memory
  • loud stereo speakers
  • ram
  • rediculously fast charging
  • battery (marshmallow)
  • developer support
  • ability to customise everything
  • current price (300$) is nothing

Cons

  • had to change things from default
  • adaptive display turned off as it kept pocket dialing
  • not as unbrickable as nexus 5, found out the hard way

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

butteredjelly posted on Mar 20, 2015, 12:18 PM
Posts: 25; Member since: Apr 16, 2014

10.0

Best phone. Hands down.

butteredjelly has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Only just got the phone a week ago because of Verizon, but oh my god. This is the best phone I have ever had. I've used the iPhone 6 plus, Galaxy Note 4, OnePlus One, the works. And this beats all of them. Everything is great, from the beauty of Lollipop to the battery to the QHD resolution.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • No micro SD

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

dbareis posted on Mar 21, 2015, 2:28 AM
Posts: 9; Member since: Nov 02, 2012

9.0

Love it

dbareis has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Too hard to buy, was tempted to buy a non-nexus possibly the Note 4.

Lolipop in general is a big improvements with some steps backwards (like alarms don't work in "NONE" priority mode!). Like trusted bluetooth but miss that there is no trusted (& CONNECTED) wifi option.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
Much better than the one in the Nexus 5
UI speed
7.0
Some stutter, think thats known lolipop issue
Everyday usage
10.0
Nice big screen and fast
Text input
9.0
Keyboard larger due to big screen
Display
8.0
I like the look of the screen but still think HD would have been enough and would have helped the battery last longer and the CPU run faster.
Battery
8.0
Better than Nexus 5 but should have been bigger

Pros

  • Big screen, nice quality
  • Not as heavy as I expected
  • Good camera
  • Battery life not too bad

Cons

  • Round Back, can't put on desk and tap (without it moving), also makes QI charging more problematic
  • No accessible RGB LED (lightflow partial workaround, but haven't got that working yet) . With lightflow functionality still severely limited, not happy about this...
  • Took way too long to be able to buy the 64GB version
  • No SDCARD
  • Would rather have bigger battery than "thinness".
  • Would rather have 1080p and the better battery life that would give
  • Chugs a bit, hopefully 5.1 will fix that

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

JeffDenver posted on Jan 24, 2015, 10:02 AM
Posts: 7; Member since: Jan 24, 2015

10.0

The best cell phone available right now

JeffDenver has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I was actually kind of skeptical after reading the early reviews. Having owned it I can now say there is nothing to worry about...this is a great phone. It's not perfect, but it is as close to perfect as I have seen on a cell phone so far.

I could start with the build quality, but since I am using a case, that really is kind of irrelevant to me. But, if you don't like cases, this is a good choice as it is harder to break than the competition. Moto Build quality has gotten very good. Bonus: It's water proof. It is not officially listed on the box, but numerous YouTubers have confirmed it can withstand dunking for at least an hour.

The display is not as good as the Note 4...but it is close. The Note 4 has better PPI and color accuracy and is brighter, in addition to all the other advantages of AMOLED. The iPhone 6+ is also brighter and more accurate, but can't touch this phone's black levels or contrast ratio, and has a much lower resolution and PPI than the Nexus 6. AMOLED benefits are especially noticeable at night because of the way AMOLED works. You can tune the display VERY low...LCDs will always glow bright even when the display is all black, because the backlight is always on. AMOLED displays light each pixel individually. "Black" is a true pure black on this phone.

Ironically the thing I like best about this phone is the actual phone part. Reception is spectacular, and the speakers are the best I have ever heard outside of the HTC M8 (better sound, but Nexus still...  

Build quality
9.0
It has a very pleasant heft to it. The plastic on the back feels as resilient as metal. Will survive drops well and is (unofficially) water proof.
Reception
10.0
I have never used a cell phone with better reception or more clear sound. Speakerphone and HD Voice are a dream on this thing.
Call quality
10.0
Have never heard better. The Speakers are awesome.
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
One of the fastest CPUs on the market...Benchmarks are even better than the Note 4 and iPhone 6+ in many cases.
Camera
10.0
Equals the best phones on the market right now. Only the Note 4 is better, and it exceeds the iPhone 6+ in some areas (daylight photos especially, also night video).
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Only the Note 4 is better. Black levels, Contrast, PPI and Resolution are superior to the iPhone 6+. Awesome view angles. You will come to appreciate AMOLED displays a lot at night.
Battery
9.0
Definitely could be better, but I can easily get through a full day even with heavy use. Only games tax the battery.

Pros

  • Great camera (UHD video, dual LED flash, Photosphere capable)
  • Great Display
  • Good build quality (very durable, feels great in hand)
  • (unofficially) water proof (Youtube it)
  • Fast OS updates
  • Vanilla Android
  • Fast and reliable UI
  • Front Stereo speakers
  • Awesome reception and call quality
  • Very fast CPU and the best GPU on Android right now

Cons

  • Night photos could be better
  • Not the best battery life
  • Really big
  • Video limited to 30fps in all modes

JeffDenver alternatives:

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

asrr62 posted on Jan 24, 2015, 8:50 AM
Posts: 56; Member since: Sep 14, 2011

10.0

A much improved nexus.

asrr62 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

If you are a fan of the pure aosp experience this will not let you down. This is the best nexus yet. The processor is more than powerful enough. Front facing speakers are okay. You will not see pixels on the display. Size of the phone will let it fit into you smallest pockets. For having a larger screen, it is designed to not be bigger than others. Call and reception quality is pretty good. The speaker sounds great when talking on the phone. There is less aosp apps than previous android versions. Non aosp proprietary google apps include the camera, chrome browser, messenger, g+ photos. Google camera is good. Shutter time is a little delayed when taking pics. Chrome is probably the best android browser, aosp browser can't compete. Google messenger is the app for sending SMS text messages. Messenger app is very simple and easy to use. The google + photos app is the app you use instead of the old gallery app. You can upload pictures to the cloud. It has a variety of special effects you can add to the pics such as making them black & white. The whole lollipop experience is way afead of the previous versions of android. Lollipop is more polished. I am more than happy with the upgrades made.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • 6 inch 1440p amoled display.
  • Continuous developer support.
  • All the redesigned apps are well improved.

Cons

No Cons

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

wilder782 posted on May 18, 2018, 8:55 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 18, 2018

9.0

Best phone I've ever had

wilder782 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Had this phone since 2014. Used it until December 2016 and then switched to a Moto Z until January 2018 when I switched back to the Nexus 6. The build quality is amazing, although a bit heavy. The speakers are great. The camera is pretty good too. The battery is also fantastic. My only problem is it used Micro USB and the screen is pretty dim.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
8.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

cpc233 posted on Mar 02, 2017, 6:23 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 21, 2013

10.0

All around winner, big enough to substitute for a tablet.

cpc233 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Water resistant, wireless charging, UHD, 6" screen, nice looking, dual speakers, etc. Hope they incorporate these in the Pixel 2. Go big or go home. Big hands like big phones with lots of screen real estate.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Big screen
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Big enough to use as a reader, substitutes for a tablet
Text input
10.0
Good for big people with big hands
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Big uhd screen
  • wireless charging
  • dual speakers
  • sater resistant

Cons

No Cons

Is this review helpful?

Report

vklchck posted on Jun 03, 2015, 4:19 PM
Posts: 5; Member since: May 01, 2010

10.0

Great Phone, It is Not too big.

vklchck has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone looks and Feels amazing. It also runs much better than the Bloated Samsung/HTC/LG Phones. I have been through many phones, and this is a phone that I very much enjoy. It is extremely responsive.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Beautiful Build
  • Durable Feel
  • Comfortable hold, By no means is it too big.

Cons

No Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

aboudo_o posted on May 20, 2015, 8:15 AM
Posts: 3; Member since: Dec 03, 2013

10.0

Nexus 6

aboudo_o has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great phone, I have been using the phone since the release.... And it was HELL when I first bought the device due to the new Lollipop version 5.0... But after the update, especially now to 5.1, I have had no issues with the device!! Everyday it seems to be better to me than ever! Love jt

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

nickdlr posted on Sep 23, 2016, 9:43 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 01, 2014

9.0

Still a solid contender (written 9/22/16)

nickdlr has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Great Phone! Solid build, Love the screen size and the speakers - the front-facing speakers are amazing. Camera is good, not great, but it's 2015, and there really isn't a phone with BAD camera tech. The vanilla version of Lollipop isn't very vanilla. It's pretty and fast with plenty of customizability. They just need to fix the silent mode issue. Buy it. It's a large phone at first, but you get used to it. I upgraded to this from my OnePlus One.

Build quality
8.0
SOLID. developed issues with headphone jack and USB.
Reception
9.0
Sprint sucks. But they fixed some of the issues they had with the phone.
Call quality
8.0
Sprint is dragging this down. Otherwise It would be a 10.
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
front-facing speakers and a great screen.
Camera
9.0
seriously under-rated.
UI speed
10.0
No bloatware to hamper it. Specs are great, not #1 though. Should have waited for the Snapdragon 810.
Everyday usage
8.0
May not be for everyone because of the screen size, but I LOVE it. Plus there are some intangibles out there like the S-Pen or expandable memory that this just doesn't have.
Text input
10.0
Swipe texting is awesome, and the keyboard is an awesome size.
Display
10.0
Perfect display for the phone. No pixelation, super vibrant.
Battery
6.0
Started out great, but after 9-10 months I've been charging it up to 3x per day.

Pros

  • Size
  • Nexus, latest Android updates
  • Screen
  • Front-facing speakers
  • Camera

Cons

  • Size
  • Battery

Is this review helpful?

Report

robert7107 posted on Apr 11, 2015, 3:36 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 03, 2011

10.0

pure android pure bliss

robert7107 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

coming from a samsung note 3 to lg g3 i find this phone the perfect blend. motorola was actual the first android phone i ever owned so it was nice to come home so to speak. there is no perfect,flawless device out there but the nexus's strong points are very strong and there weak points are few and practically unnoticed .

what you wil find in this device is a pure android device running the lastest and greatest software on top of that if you look at the nexus line they update there phones even after two years... you find a samsung s3 running 5.0 and i doubt you will see the s6 running the lastest android o/i in 2017...

Build quality
9.0
finger prints and smudges on back.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
i use stock keyboard .google L and it is AWESOME!!!
Display
10.0
beautiful
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • lollipop,front of the line in updates,big display,great battery

Cons

No Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

xuandier posted on Mar 23, 2015, 2:50 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Mar 23, 2015

10.0

what you guys think motorla become "a lenovo company"

xuandier has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone originally assemblied by Foxconn Shenzhen,i used to in charge of materials purchasing for several months there,now i left foxconn to Lenovo and Mototola became a Lenovo conpany,what a coindence.
Not perfect but good enough,hope we can have Chinese version asap,^_^

Build quality
6.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • clear system,tremendous smooth

Cons

  • can not use google service in China,F**K

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

callmearia44 posted on Feb 01, 2015, 4:35 PM
Posts: 2; Member since: Jan 20, 2015

9.0

The King

callmearia44 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

While it might be too big for some, it has no other short comings. In fact the only negative I could find with this phone has nothing to do with the phone itself, but rather that I had to go through Sprint to get my hands on one and their reception/ data coverage is really bad compared to Verizon/ATT.

The phone is beautiful, the build quality/materials are top notch. There are only 2 other phones on the market (G3 & Note 4) with displays that can even remotely compare to the N6. The UI is as fast and responsive as can be. The camera is surprisingly great. Its not going to replace a dedicated DSLR but its leaps and bounds ahead of previous Nexus models.

The battery life is enough to get me through a day of heavy use and the Turbo Charger feature can't be beat.

The phone feels great in hand with the aluminum frame and curved back. It is HUGE though...that takes some getting used to. Its not the lightest phone either but its not overly heavy either. The best way to put it is that it feels expensive.

After the first few days it easily became my favorite phone on the market now or in past.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
The battery easily lasts me an entire day with heavy use.

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • none?

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Mikcoles posted on Jan 14, 2015, 4:09 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 14, 2015

10.0

Nexus 6

Mikcoles has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have upgraded from Nexus 5 and previously Nexus 4 and I love the Nexus 6.
So fast and love the screen. Love the size as I have quite large hands and it works like a dream. Great AuTuTu benchmark rating.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
Battery easily lasts for 15+ hours.

Pros

  • Great speed
  • Good battery
  • Quality build
  • Good sound

Cons

  • None

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Purvil posted on Jan 09, 2015, 6:52 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 09, 2015

9.0

Nexus 6 is the Best ! Period !!!

Purvil has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The best phone I've ever used ! I bought it about a month ago. My friends have Iphone 6, 4 of them. But it is only me who keeps bragging about how cool my phone is. Battery life better then an iphone, Disppay better then an iphone, sound better then an iphone. Hence, better then iphone. I am comparing it with iphone because it had a lot of hype and it is probably the 2nd best phone in the market right now.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

teletran posted on Dec 17, 2014, 8:03 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 17, 2014

8.0

Fast but freakishly large

teletran has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is the fastest phone I have ever owned. The only draw back is its size. It is too large to handle and I worry about breaking it while carrying it around in my pocket. I am planning to sell the phone as a result.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • bloody fast

Cons

  • extremely large

2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Report

Layman76 posted on Dec 08, 2014, 3:02 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 29, 2014

10.0

The perfect phone for power users

Layman76 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The best phone I've ever had the pleasure of owning, and I've tested a lot. Android 5.0 makes this powerful beast a beauty. Other reviews say the battery does not hold up, but I've gotten 5+ hours of Screen on time, but I never have to worry about being stranded when I have the turbo charger. Takes the battery from 0 to 30% in 10 minutes while on, and charges completely within an hour, powered off. In my opinion, this is the best phone of 2014, and running pure Android does not hurt it one bit.

Build quality
10.0
Phone has a professional look while maintaining a solid feel.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
Camera isn't perfect, especially in low-light conditions, but HDR+ greatly improves that.
UI speed
10.0
Android Lollipop makes going from page to page a quick but beautiful experience. The animations are just stunning.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
Battery isn't huge, but it doesn't need to be. Quickcharge takes care of that completely.

Pros

  • It's Nexus, obviously.
  • Android updates come straight from Google
  • Large display (Higher-Res than 2K)
  • Dual Front-Facing speakers, has a stereo-like effect when held at eye level
  • Dual flash evenly lights subjects
  • All in all, Android 5.0 Lollipop.

Cons

  • Android updates may be delayed based on your carrier
  • May come branded by certain cariers (in this case, AT&T: Boot animation+sound, back logo, and Ringtones)
  • Does not come with double tap-to-wake functionality, root is required to add it
  • Back is curved, so using it on a tabletop is very unwieldy

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Report

tsmfnatic posted on Dec 08, 2014, 12:57 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 08, 2014

10.0

Out of the world user experience!

tsmfnatic has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this phone is a top tier phone with android L and many features. the camera isn't the best nor the design, being based off the 2014 moto x. this phone has top of the line specs and battery isnt a problem because of turbocharging

Build quality
9.0
the material used for the back is a fingerprint magnet, not the best looking
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
not the best camera at 13 mp and 30 fps for 1080p vid recording
UI speed
10.0
android L is great!
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • NEXUS

Cons

  • not the best camera or look

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.