BlackBerry Bold 9900 User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.6

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
9.3
Camera
7.9
Multimedia
8.4
Internet
8.1
Call quality
9.0
Battery
7.3
Reception
9.3
Display
8.7
Build quality
9.4
Text input
9.7
Everyday usage
8.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

kentuckyloan posted on Sep 20, 2011, 9:46 AM
Posts: 7; Member since: Jun 28, 2010

9.0

BOLD 9900

kentuckyloan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I really like the keyboard and the improved browser along with the bigger screen to read email attachments. Really nice upgrade from my 9700
I would recommend to the business user. I practically live on my phone so it is very important to have a good, reliable phone that will last

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • keyboard, display, feel and style is great
  • email, pocketable, enterprise usage

Cons

  • price, battery is good, but could be better

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

PradeepKps posted on Jan 02, 2015, 7:00 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 02, 2015

9.0

Good except the battery

PradeepKps has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

My sister gave this phone as a gift which i am using more than a couple of months. This is really a very good phone except the battery. It also lack the front camera. The internet speed and facilities are very good in my area.
The internal memory is 8 GB which is long enough to store the media files. It also offers a 32 GB external memory. Its really great!! I enjoy with it :-)

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
6.0
The battery drains so fast when apps are running... within 6 hours it drains to 10%

Is this review helpful?

Report

pravinthaa posted on Aug 06, 2012, 1:07 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 06, 2012

9.0

Love it but...

pravinthaa has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

love this phone and i would reccomend it to anyone who texts/emails a lot because the keyboard is amazing!! It does lag but not to the point that it becomes a huge nuisance and also you have to be careful with the battery, if you have a lot of apps running the battery will drain insanely fast!! overall, it is a great phone :)

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
8.0
it lags when loading pages
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
6.0
no front facing, no auto focus, image quality is not very good
UI speed
8.0
it can lag sometimes
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0
you have to really manage your applications, make sure your exit things you are not using ,because the device is good at multi-tasking so you may not realize it but you may have ten or more applications running and obviously this will drain your battery, so you have to be careful or you will have a dead phone.

Pros

  • amazing keyboard
  • emails are effortless
  • durable phone
  • excellent call quality
  • always have reception
  • excellent video quality
  • great UI
  • good for multi-tasking

Cons

  • no front facing camera
  • no auto-focus on camera
  • image quality is not very good
  • can lag
  • battery can drain quickly if not careful
  • not a lot of selection in app world

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

jalobac posted on Dec 02, 2011, 10:44 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 02, 2011

6.0

dissapointed

jalobac has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Unfortunatelly, this is the worst BB I ever had. First of all they did not have enought technology and skills to create a good battery. Created for business? NO WAY ! If reely I use it, at 15.00 I have 0% battery left.

It is scrooling the text and image, without touching it.

It is turning off just touching the middle key (under the display).


Conclusion, worst expensive gadget that I ever had!







Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
8.0
Display
4.0
Battery
2.0

Pros

  • look
  • speed

Cons

  • battery
  • touch screen
  • squeaky keaboard

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report

t2859 posted on Nov 27, 2011, 8:29 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 18, 2011

9.0

Love my Bold 9900!

t2859 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had been waiting for a while for RIM to launch an updated version of the 0ld 9900, which I really liked, so I was very happy with the announcement.

I really like the new bold. The Keyboard is great, it feels really good to type. Also love the touch screen, it's so responsive, pinch to zoom works great and the size is so good for viewing email and watching videos.

The resolution is really good, detailed and clear.

The speakers are loud and it has a lot of memory for storing songs and videos.

Even though the Camera is also 5 mp the pictures don't turn out as well, so there's a downgrade on that department.

Overall this is a great phone. I recommend it.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
Not as good as the previous Bold
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Great Keyboard
  • Great, clear and beautiful resolution
  • Wide touch screen, very responsive
  • Faster browsing experience
  • Lots of memory for songs and videos
  • Records HD videos
  • Feels like a quality device
  • Really thin, not as bulky or heavy as the 9000
  • Loud speakers

Cons

  • Wish the Camera was better
  • Battery life, not so good
  • App World sucks!
  • Tends to get warm if you use it a lot
  • Youtube videos may take some time to buffer

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

geotr posted on Aug 15, 2011, 3:34 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 15, 2011

9.0

On first glance ... it feels fantastic

geotr has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This device feels fantastic in the hand, it is a bit large but the large keys of the keyboard make it a cinch to type. Feels great and very fast. Impressive and my next phone. I am an android person but this phone just blew me away with the keyboard and feel.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Large keys
  • Large Screen
  • Touch screen
  • Fast UI
  • Light

Cons

  • Wider than the 9780 not sure about 9000
  • No mute button at the top only power

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Report

rassouli5 posted on Sep 01, 2012, 9:51 AM

9.0

One of the best phones I've ever had.

rassouli5 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've never seen a camera on a phone as good as this one, despite it's 2MP, but the quality is astonishing. The build quality is very good but the material of the front door of the phone will get damaged in time.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.