Notification Center

This is our new notification center. Inside, you will find updates on the most important things happening right now.

Notifications

Hmm, push notifications seem to be disabled in your browser. You can enable them from the 'Settings' icon in the URL bar of your browser.

www.phonearena.com

Apple iPhone 12 User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

8.3

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
8.7
Camera
8.7
Multimedia
8.5
Internet
8.2
Call quality
8.5
Battery
7.8
Reception
8.3
Display
8.2
Build quality
9.0
Text input
8.8
Everyday usage
8.7
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

baldilocks posted on Nov 02, 2020, 6:17 AM
Posts: 1834; Member since: Dec 14, 2008

10.0

Great phone!!

baldilocks has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Seems to be a great phone so far and a good placeholder until the 12 Pro Max gets here! So far I cannot find anything to complain about. Unlike the Android fan who gave this phone a 5 just to bring down the score, I actually have and use the phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Camera
  • Screen
  • Size
  • Updates
  • Support
  • It's not Android

Cons

  • Still the notch.

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report

wickedwilly posted on Nov 01, 2020, 1:30 AM
Posts: 1424; Member since: Sep 19, 2018

5.0

A step up from the 11, but still not as good as the other phones at this price or even less

wickedwilly has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A big improvement on the old phone, but still behind other phones at this price point or less. Only the video can be regarded as top-notch. Speaking of the notch, while a fresh design for the iPhone it is still outdated with the huge notch, big bezels and generations-old design. Magsafe is not fully thought out, 5G a big battery drain on an already poor battery. No charger is a huge rip-off and in no way environmentally friendly. Only having one biometric and that being one not really suitable in out COVID times is a huge oversight IOS has at last got widgets and an app drawer but they are poor imitations of what they coped and still not enough. Quite simply an overpriced, uninspiring phone.

Build quality
6.0
Feels premium, but the repairs are far too expensive and is built to be difficult to repair
Reception
6.0
Still not as good as its peers, wifi and mobile signals weak in comparison.
Call quality
5.0
OK but not outstanding
Internet
6.0
Slower than other phones on the same network, far from class leading
Multimedia
4.0
Multimedia is not served well on a notched screen or by big black bars.
Camera
7.0
The camera is good for quick shots, but let down by a yellowish tint, zoom, unnatural shadows and no pro mode. Video is the best thing on this phone, but let down by the tiny and no expandable storage
UI speed
4.0
No 120hz, 240hz touch, sluggish animations, poorly laid out settings, no navigation button option, no customization makes actions slow.
Everyday usage
5.0
Good for interaction with other Apple products, but poor with others.
Text input
5.0
Not up to the standard on other phones
Display
4.0
A big minus for the notch and big bezels. Poor for multimedia and games standard features like higher refresh rates.
Battery
4.0
Poor for a phone at this price. Have serious doubts about overheating, throttling and longevity.

Pros

  • Video is up there with the best

Cons

  • Old Design
  • IOS is still playing catchup and lacks adequate customisation
  • Missing essential features at this price point
  • New features not implememted well
  • Display and battery package just not good enough at this pricepoint or less
  • Poor value for money

10 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Report

chaosengine007 posted on May 20, 2021, 7:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 03, 2013

9.0

The iPhone that makes most sense to buy

chaosengine007 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If you think about it, and really ask yourself what iPhone you really need as your daily driver, the answer for most people would be the iPhone 12. I tried all I could to rationalize the need for an iPhone 12 Pro, but I knew I didn't need it. Fortunately or unfortunately, the store did not have a Pro in stock, so I ended up settling for the 12. And it does everything I need it to do. I do miss the 3rd camera every now and then, and do wish it was a little more bulky in the hand, but otherwise, this is the device to own. The 12 Mini wouldn't have enough battery power to last a day, 12 Pro does not seem to justify the upgrade for the price it asks, and 12 Pro Max, way too bulky and overpriced, oh, especially here in India. So process of elimination suggests that 12 is the one to go with.

It's been amazing. Reliable. Few stutters. Some heating issues during charging that is to be expected. Battery could have been better, but the display is splendind and I don't mind the notch at all. Having moved from Android recently (for the nth time), the iPhone has been a brilliant device to keep my productive, engaged and entertained. I only wish it had better reception and internet, plus we don't really get 5G here despite the extra price we pay. But nothing to complain about.

Honestly, I am so much in love with this device that I pick it up JUST to use it even if I don't have the need for it.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Camera quality - resolution, colour accuracy and field of view
  • Speakers - well balanced and loud
  • Ergonomics
  • Touch response
  • Size/weight ratio
  • iOS - reliable, productive, no-nonsense

Cons

  • Battery - coming from a OnePlus 7 Pro
  • Not much else really

chaosengine007 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

tinedarix posted on Jan 25, 2021, 11:11 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Dec 14, 2020

9.0

Normal user, no complaints!

tinedarix has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Purchasing this, I already knew the difference with the camera/zoom capabilities. The only thing I've noticed--items in the distance aren't as sharp, but it still captures them just fine. My battery lasts all day, typically at 72% when I plug in at night--pretty awesome IMO. 5G is quick--still being rolled out and updated by the carriers, so I can't fault speed differences with the phone itself. I love the boxy shape but agree it's not as hand friendly. But using an Apple case (leather or silicone) makes it very comfortable. The addition of MagSafe is awesome, I love the wallet and charger.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Battery Life
  • Camera (every day)
  • Size/weight
  • Build quality
  • 5G
  • MagSafe

Cons

  • The buttons can be less tactile with various 3rd party cases. But with Apple's, you get the 'click feel' that I prefer.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

andrew1234567 posted on Oct 31, 2020, 3:59 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 31, 2020

9.0

The iPhone 12 model most people should get

andrew1234567 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The regular 12 (non pro) is the model I’d recommend most people get. You get 95% of the features of the 12 pro for $200 less. Unless you strongly prefer a smaller one handed phone, I’d spend the extra $100 to get the 12 over the mini. I was actually planning on getting the 12 mini, but my concerns for the battery life gave me second thoughts. And also the notch is the exact same size on the mini as it is on the regular 12, which means the notch will look proportionally bigger on the mini’s much smaller screen. This means the 12 mini will have a slightly smaller screen to body ratio.

Build quality
10.0
Improved durability on the front glass with the ceramic shield. The new squared sides give it a more premium and ergonomic feel to it.
Reception
9.0
Good reception with the new Qualcomm 5g modem
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
The only downside here is no headphone jack. But I use my AirPods and they work perfectly with the 12
Camera
9.0
Excellent dynamic range and low light photography. Stereo audio recording as well. Just missing telephoto zoom
UI speed
10.0
Smooth experience of iOS, combined with the A14 bionic chip
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Typing has been so much better since iOS 13 with the Swipe Type feature
Display
7.0
The display is overall pretty good. I just wish they shrunk down the side bezels and notch a bit. And 120hz would have been awesome to see
Battery
7.0
Battery is good and gets me through the day, but is a step back from 11 pro/pro. max. And 5g can drain the battery a bit

Pros

  • Good battery life (but not quite as good as on 11 pro)
  • Stellar CPU and RAM performance
  • Sleek and ergonomic feel with the new squared edges
  • More durable build quality with ceramic shield
  • Premium feeling, even though it’s aluminum instead of stainless steel
  • Almost exact same features as more expensive 12 pro

Cons

  • Still same size notch from 2017 iPhone X
  • No 120hz display
  • No rose gold color option
  • 64gb starting storage
  • Have to pay $30 extra to get sim free

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

SamsungApple21 posted on Jan 09, 2021, 11:32 AM

8.0

A great phone that feels beaten by it's alternatives.

SamsungApple21 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The iPhone 12 is the successor to the iPhone 11 and XR as Apple's cheaper phone in their lineup, and it does everything well. The iPhone 12 feels great, has a screen size and display that are perfect, and can connect to the best of 5G. I'd recommend this phone for Apple users and people who need a phone that's great and for longevity. Although.. it just feels, like, beaten already. The S20FE goes for less than this phone and gives you more, and the other alternatives listed would give you more too. Overall, if you don't mind the compromises it's a great phone.

Build quality
8.0
Aluminum and glass is a pair for premium feels.
Reception
9.0
5G and great connections with LTE
Call quality
7.0
Good call quality.
Internet
8.0
Great connectivity
Multimedia
8.0
The phone is great for multimedia, lasting a while with its battery and having a sharp and accurate display.
Camera
9.0
It's great! Takes accurate pictures with good HDR and great post processing, and the video is the best in the market. Wish it had a telephoto though.
UI speed
9.0
iOS is fast and fluid, and with the A14 is faster than ever.
Everyday usage
8.0
Best performance, great display, and lasts all day.
Text input
9.0
Display
8.0
While it's not as sharp as some other phones out there, it holds it own as being colorful and accurate, as well as nice to look at outdoors. The notch, while still in the way, is easy to get used to.
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Balanced overall phone
  • Great cameras
  • Great display
  • Battery life
  • Great color options
  • iOS 14
  • At least 7 years of software support

Cons

  • No telephoto
  • zoom capabilities could be better
  • New boxed design can feel odd sometimes
  • Would've been amazing for it to be $699 like the iPhone 11

SamsungApple21 alternatives:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless