x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review

Posted: , by Ray S.

Tags:

Go to page
Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
Introduction:

Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
There are not many phone manufacturers nowadays that are brave enough to venture outside of the well-known and safe field of doing large black slabs, stuffed with dual-core processors. Indeed, from design standpoint, the times are much simpler now than they were before. We're witnessing a relatively bland landscape, mostly filled with boring-looking smartphones, which, albeit powerful, have visibly little sense of style.

Until now, this trend went mostly unnoticed, due to the very nature of the smartphone-rocking crowd – tech-savvy individuals who mainly care about the specs and capabilities of their devices, rather than how they look. However, with the rapid proliferation of smartphones, we're beginning to see more and more casual cell phone users making the jump to using an iPhone, an Android handset, etc. With such popularization, sooner or later there's going to be demand for devices that look a bit more refined, a bit more sophisticated, if you will.

Some manufacturers are already willing to target their devices to this new, previously unexplored area of the market. Sony Ericsson's Xperia line is a perfect example. With handsets like the arc, ray and mini, the joint-venture is openly showing that its offerings don't rely on specs alone. They'll attract people by looking cool. A rather atypical solution can be observed with the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini and mini pro – the new additions to the manufacturer's “super-mini” class, which have taken all the good sides of their predecessors, and managed to complement them with some more up-to-date specs. Let's see how the QWERTY-sporting Xperia mini pro fares in this cruel world of smartphone juggernauts!

In the box you'll find:

  • Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro
  • Wall charger with detachable microUSB cable
  • MH410 GreenHeart handsfree
  • 2GB microSD card
  • Small cleaning cloth
  • Screen protector
  • Lots of papers


Design:

This is where the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro should shine. The handset is designed to be stylish and compact, and it's safe to say that the goal has been achieved. We have the all-black variant, but there are also all-white, as well as white with pink or blue back covers to give it a fresher appearance. Due to the presence of a side-sliding QWERTY keyboard, the Xperia mini pro is a bit chubby. Because of that, its presence in your pocket is definitely noticeable. This won't really be a problem for female users, who put their phones in their handbags, and for this purpose, the Xperia mini pro is ideal, managing to remain pretty compact.

The Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is designed to be stylish and compact - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
The Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is designed to be stylish and compact - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
The Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is designed to be stylish and compact - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review

The Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is designed to be stylish and compact


Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review

You can compare the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Sony Ericsson has done a remarkable job with upgrading the mini pro so that it fits today's standards. The display is up from 2.55” QVGA to the much more bearable 3” of HVGA goodness, all the while keeping the dimensions of the device in tact. The display itself is pretty decent in terms of colors and viewing angles. Unfortunately, the ambient light sensor cannot be turned off, so you definitely lack some flexibility in terms of brightness. Outdoors, you'll have to shield your device with your hand, in order to get a readable view. Thankfully, the HVGA resolution plays well with this screen size, and thus the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro delivers fine details, although not Retina Display-quality.

The front of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
Speaker - The front of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
Buttons below the display - The front of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
 

Speaker

Buttons below the display

The front of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro


The screen is also blessed with Sony's Mobile Bravia Engine for enhanced photos and videos, which is something we do appreciate. Finally, while the 3 inches of screen real estate are good enough for simple everyday tasks like checking the mail, but hardcore smartphone users will have to look elsewhere and find a bigger option.

The buttons around the device left us with some mixed feelings. For example, while the camera shutter is fantastic, the volume rocker clearly lacks some of that pronounced travel that we enjoy so much. And while the power/lock button seems fine, it's like its tiny dimensions are making it a bit uncomfortable to use. The home button is okay, though could be a bit less stiff.

Right side with volume rocker and camera shutter - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
Top side with power key and microsUSB port - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
Bottom side - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review

Right side with volume rocker and camera shutter

Top side with power key and microsUSB port

Bottom side


The sliding mechanism is executed perfectly – the upper part quickly and firmly snaps into place, leaving you alone with that four-row QWERTY keyboard, that has to be pretty well-made, in order to be usable within the compact realities of the Xperia mini pro. And indeed it is! We had absolutely no problems using the keyboard, even then it's not the most spacious one out there. Keys are still nicely spaced out from one another, allowing you to avoid pressing the wrong ones, while they also provide a reassuring feedback when pressed, due to their “clickiness”.

The sliding mechanism of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is executed perfectly - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
The sliding mechanism of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is executed perfectly - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
The sliding mechanism of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is executed perfectly - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
The sliding mechanism of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is executed perfectly - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review

The sliding mechanism of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is executed perfectly


The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
Camera - The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
Battery compartment - The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro Review
 

Camera

Battery compartment

The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro


Overall, we can say that Sony Ericsson has done a terrific job in creating an overly compact, yet usable handset. The screen is now big enough for everyday tasks, while the great QWERTY keyboard also elevates the device's messaging inclination to a very high level.

Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro 360-degrees View:



44 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 19 Aug 2011, 10:08 1

1. raka (unregistered)


have had it for a couple of days...its a very very good device for its class..keyboard can be better, but like i said, it isnt a high-end smartphone. one complaint though keyboard visibility isnt consistent. in a good-enough lighted room you cant really see the letters, but in another room also with good lighting, keyboard is visible...all in all keyboard backlit is actually the problem, unfortunately you cant switch off the backlit...

posted on 19 Aug 2011, 12:17 1

2. Titanium.7 (Posts: 2; Member since: 11 Jul 2011)


this is my next phone !

posted on 19 Aug 2011, 15:52

3. bobble (unregistered)


I love this Phone. Already got an N8 but i think it's looking so sexy.. Even the specs are good!

1 year to go for my next contract but if Sony keeps on bringing good phones this was my last Nokia,,

posted on 20 Aug 2011, 02:51

4. David V (unregistered)


Can this work in the US with T-Mobile (3G or 4G)?

Would love to have this on t-mobile!

posted on 20 Aug 2011, 07:40

5. selva (unregistered)


Surely, it needs Android 2.3.4 for video call……

posted on 21 Aug 2011, 10:47 1

7. m.cyrilljohn (Posts: 1; Member since: 21 Aug 2011)


This is an excellent performer in it's class of mobiles. Really it is in a good gadget in its class of mobiles. Camera 5 MP is equal to 12 MP of other so called symbian platform mobiles. It is the only mobile which is having 2 cameras which will help to go for skype connectivity instantly. First HD camera for video coverage in small size. Music is good. Display is awesome. super sensitive.. Key board is designed in its class of look. Handy, versatile, elegant, stylish to have a corporate look which will upgrade one's personality too... Great ya.... Cost is around Rs.15,500/- in Chennai. One should not miss it to have Android Gingerbread 2.3 platform to have numerous applications............ I am enjoying much. I wish you to have one for you.

posted on 22 Aug 2011, 12:09

9. chatfornow (unregistered)


can any 1 tell me about batterylife of this phone? surely I like this ph very much.

posted on 22 Aug 2011, 12:10

10. chatfornow (unregistered)


can any 1 tell me about batterylife of this phone? surely I like this ph very much.

posted on 22 Aug 2011, 19:11

11. Marluce (unregistered)


Hi !
I have my Xperia mini pro more than 8 months and I love it.
The battery is so good that it last more than 5 days using as phone and 1 day and a half using internet, twitter, mp3 and more
Only when I use GPS for a long time it needs recharge at the same day

posted on 25 Aug 2011, 05:45 1

18. netscavenger (unregistered)


Funny you have this phone for last 8 months.

Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro
Announced: 6 May 2011
Market Status: Released
Release date: 09 Aug 2011

posted on 23 Aug 2011, 14:34

13. steveemmax (unregistered)


Had this a few weeks now, moved from Nokia and its ill fated N900...
Feels well made, screen clear and well laid out.
Nice and compact, battery life is typical smartphone - recharge most nights unless youve not used anything and it will probably last till the morning!
Figured out the Skype app and as I bought one for the wife as well, we have had video calls FOC thanks to free wi-fi where available.
Plenty of worthwhile free apps, Go SMS is neat and adds colour to texting. As Im new to Andriod Market it seems well laid out and easier than Ovi.
Poor that you cant make it work properly with Mac's - though you can transfer files when in mass media mode, so all is not lost.
Neat that it can stream iPlayer, and the other tv channels (wifi - unsure about 3g) though small screen gets tiresome and loudspeaker sounds tinny.

Negatives - removing the back panel feels like you will break it. Havent done so yet though. If you hold it in the left hand whilst typing, your index finger sits directly on the camera lens.. Come on SE this is a silly mistake, no wonder pictures look cloudy...
2gb micro sd card is not big enough - should came with a bigger card.
Would be nice if you could use the volume rocker to zoom in/out rather than pinch. Its such a small screen its tricky.
Web browser is pants, tricky and not intuitive. I tried Opera but no flash support so took that off. Not the main reason for the purchase so not too big an issue.

Oh, this is NOT an X-10mini as some think - its the SK17i.

posted on 24 Aug 2011, 09:11

14. mr.cuccuou (unregistered)


is it me or the reviews of phone arena is getting better. one suggestion though, i tink its way better to present the pros and cons instead of a + and - bulletin mark, go for like ++for really pro and --for really negative, cause for me a - Some physical buttons could be better, as the review stated, is more than a annoyance than actually cons... other than that it stills feels the review is a little 'biased' i mean it feels as though all reviewer has dis mentally of comparing phones WAAY over their league, at least they didnt include for cons - small screen can be tricky for big fingers s**t, u know... theyre learning but its phone arena, its their flavor, if u will. And lastly... come on phone arena, either u have a ridiculous piss poor reception or have a ridiculous strict standard in call quality, u know, its just insane... just sayin... so yeah, overall gud review guys...

btw, ur vid reviews is just stellar as always... y cant ur review be like dat, just sayin, peace

posted on 24 Aug 2011, 09:23

15. mr.cuccuou (unregistered)


is it me or the reviews of phone arena is getting better. one suggestion though, i tink its way better to present the pros and cons instead of a + and - bulletin mark, go for like ++for really pro and --for really negative, cause for me a - Some physical buttons could be better, as the review stated, is more than a annoyance than actually cons... other than that it stills feels the review is a little 'biased' i mean it feels as though all reviewer has dis mentally of comparing phones WAAY over their league, at least they didnt include for cons - small screen can be tricky for big fingers s**t, u know... theyre learning but its phone arena, its their flavor, if u will. And lastly... come on phone arena, either u have a ridiculous piss poor reception or have a ridiculous strict standard in call quality, u know, its just insane... just sayin... so yeah, overall gud review guys...

btw, ur vid reviews is just stellar as always... y cant ur review be like dat, just sayin, peace

posted on 24 Aug 2011, 10:01

16. ashiz29 (unregistered)


great phone..got it for 14700 INR...value for money good battery back up...

posted on 14 Sep 2011, 08:39

30. rohitkiller (unregistered)


from where did u get the phone?? wats its current market price??

posted on 24 Aug 2011, 16:15

17. rizk (unregistered)


This is definately my next phone....

posted on 26 Aug 2011, 12:16

19. Xunsu (Posts: 3; Member since: 26 Aug 2011)


Its a lovely little phone, and certinly may be replacing my X8 when O2 let me upgrade my paygo sim.

I like phones like this small BUT usable, before I had my X8 I was looking into X10 minis and I m glad I didn't I dunno who people can put up with a 2.5 inch screen, with or without a hardware keyboard.. I have seen people slating SE for brining the mini phones out, but again they failed to see this, these phones ARE far betterr to the X10 minis bigger better screen, better cam......more inportantly better guts. how can they be the same O_o just before anyone does here :p

posted on 30 Aug 2011, 06:52

20. ayush yadav (unregistered)


acchha hai par mobilo ka bacchha hai magar sacchha hai

posted on 05 Sep 2011, 07:09

21. Salmanexon (unregistered)


yoo i'll goin it to buy a.s.a.p. (within a month)
its one of the cutest mobile i have ever seen.........

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 13:04

22. ssssssss (unregistered)


thiss phone sucks if you want to play games or anything that uses the screen but everything else is great

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 13:05

23. sonyuser (unregistered)


the phone is awesome what are you talking about man stupid itiod

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 14:05

24. zed (unregistered)


This is not a good phone.... the android suckss its quality .... i have bought it and found that nokia 701 is far better with nokia's symbian belle.... nokia rocks..

posted on 09 Sep 2011, 08:47

25. ltamasek (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Sep 2011)


What do you think - HTC desire z or xpieria mini pro? I need compact phone for net browsering mainly

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 10:53

26. Kin (unregistered)


Does anyone know what is the difference between Sony ericsson Mini Xperia Pro and Sony Ericsson Mini Xperia Pro SK17 ?
How many variant of this product ?
Thanx

posted on 11 Sep 2011, 23:59

27. rajjj (unregistered)


when this mobile is releasing in chennai.............

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 01:03

28. phoneinsane (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Sep 2011)


I think 3 inches screen is comfortable enough.

posted on 14 Sep 2011, 03:08

29. manoj kumar (unregistered)


battery not good

posted on 14 Sep 2011, 08:40

31. rohitkiller (unregistered)


can anyone tell me the current market price of this device??

posted on 16 Sep 2011, 21:17

32. Klon1 (unregistered)


What's the difference between this phone (Xperia MINI PRO) and the Xperia Mini?

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 01:44

33. hemanth (unregistered)


supper phone .................

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 11:44

34. Glenn jacob jackson (unregistered)


Hi , i m going to buy this phn by replacing my x8 , recently hear some news
About the bugs in sound quality , is this true ????
I knw dat new sony ericsson xperia mini pro is very good at the price of 15000k(indian rupees) so bugs will fixed or not by future updates ???

posted on 20 Sep 2011, 06:14

35. XPERIAX10MINIPRO_USER (unregistered)


WORST PHONE EVER..POOR BATTERY LIFE, NO FLASH PLAYER, TOO SMALL SCREEN SIZE, INTERNET SPEED TOO SLOW EVEN ON 3G, UNABLE TO PLAY HD VIDEOS AND THE LIST GOES ON

posted on 23 Sep 2011, 13:34

36. mbu (unregistered)


GUYS PLS COMMENT ON THE BATTERY LIFE...HOW LONG DOES IT STAY WITH SINGLE CHARGE....

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 16:04

40. Ned (unregistered)


not long at all. can go up to about 10 hours if you have all internet connections turned off, brightness to lowest setting, and dont use it at ALL. ususally I use it as a normal phone and mione last about 6 hours. dont invest in it!

posted on 07 Oct 2011, 13:19

37. khalid (unregistered)


I am writing this post from my Xperia mini pro.its the best u can get.if it were 100 bucks more expensive I would still be buying it

posted on 10 Oct 2011, 06:30

38. AARJAY (unregistered)


Guys!!! the phone has awesome features.............. but the it has a really poor battery life....... so its of no use if you have a phone with cool features with Poor battery life....... the batterys doesnt last even a day with normal use.......... sony ericsson should improve their battery life......... overall good phone except the battery issue..

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 16:00

39. Ned (unregistered)


DONT SPEND MORE THAN 20 pence ON THIS JUNK. crashes ALL the time, battery life of 6 hours if your lucky, touch screen too small. VERY slow. worst phone I have ever had.

posted on 15 Oct 2011, 20:09

41. mile (unregistered)


Just tell us about the static noise, don't hear it in the sample video, somewhat in the left channel?! The whole phone is making static noise, tell us about that, the issue is all over the web, we yet have to find mini pro without this fault.

posted on 09 Dec 2011, 02:04

42. Sooraj.U.S (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Dec 2011)


I owned it for 3 month......its amazing fast android smartphone.......which can play HD video and pictures with great clarity with the help of SONY BRAVIA mobile engine.....battery stands up to 3 days....

posted on 28 Jan 2012, 20:07

43. yuese (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 Jan 2012)


Very nice phone, i must say. Except for some weak points:

Buttons
* I don't like its 'Cancel' and 'Menu' button being a touch sensitive because i always accidentally press it when playing games.
* Yes, qwerty key pad isn't well lit, but when you get used to it, you don't even need to look at it

Camera
*With Sufficient Lighting, this phone camera can capture fast moving objects, but careful with your fingers covering the lens.

Memory
*I think Android OS is consuming nearly half of its 400mb internal memory?

Battery
* Full usage - with WiFi, Continuous Data Traffic(i'm downloading a movie), and GPS all turned On while playing game, my battery lasted nearly 4.5 hours.

posted on 13 Apr 2012, 16:03

44. co4070 (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Apr 2012)


I had this phone since Oct last year, best compact phone I ever used, better then HTC chacha, wildfire, and Blackberry.

never had any problem with this phone, and I have used many slide keyboard phone before, this is one of the best.

if you change the setting with your cam, you can take very good and fast picture, but night time flash can be better

only downside is the battery, I had to carry an portable charger with me everywhere I go unless I turn 3G off.

but still happy with it

posted on 22 Jul 2012, 02:08

45. charwhee (Posts: 1; Member since: 22 Jul 2012)


I own this phone and have been trying it out. It works on AT&T in the states.

As an aside: While T-Mobile is a GSM network their data currently runs on an odd frequency and you should use T-Mobile phones otherwise you're stuck with Edge data, very slow. It works, but it sucks.Good news is they are upgrading by end of year.

So the data xfer on this is quite good because it uses the fast 3G which damn fast and of course it has wifi.

I wanted a phone I could put in my pocket, so I was willing to sacrifice screen size, and the slide-out keyboard makes up for a lot of on-screen typing. That being said, you still do a lot of gesturing on the screen and it is highly sensitive and works well.

Battery life is the downfall of this phone. It's just really bad. Given the size of the battery, I think they should be able to get more mAh in there, but I can get a full day on standby if I barely use the phone or keep it turned off. But who does that? So I am seriously considering one the Mugen batteries mentioned above. It may be that I am running too much stuff. I haven't really optimized my phone for battery life and if anyone has suggestions, love to hear what you have to say.

It's true, this phone is not for gaming or watching videos. The screen is just too small. But it is a damn good screen with Sony's Bravia engine, etc. no complaints. I did try to watch a movie, and my eyes just couldn't handle it.

But I have a phone I can throw in my pocket and carry around. That is really nice, and what I wanted. GPS works great, and I've used Google to get turn-by-turn directions which is fantastic.

Tip on carriers: If you have this phone and you're traveling to the US from another country, Straight Talk works great with this phone and you can get unlimited talk/text/data for $50/month no contract. Coverage seems decent, and data works great. I think they ride on AT&T's network.

posted on 08 Aug 2012, 21:51

46. atulhere (Posts: 3; Member since: 31 Jul 2012)


anybody tell me how to use multitaking in this mobile xperia mini pro , (by pressing home button it just show recent apps used)

posted on 19 Mar 2013, 22:03 1

47. vssiva100 (Posts: 1; Member since: 19 Mar 2013)


hii ! iam using xperia mini pro last 4 months . WHILE IAM BROWING FOR 5MINUTES IT IS SHOWING TO CLEAR MEMORY AND ALSO IT WAS VERY SLOW WHILE ZOOMING THE PAGE....WHAT CAN I DO??? ANYBODY HELP ME ?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 320 x 480 pixels (192 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8255, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
512 MB RAM
Size3.62 x 2.09 x 0.71 inches
(92 x 53 x 18 mm )
4.80 oz  (136 g)
Battery1200 mAh, 5.66 hours talk time

Latest stories