x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung GALAXY Fit Review

Posted: , by Nick T.

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung GALAXY Fit Review
Introduction:

While any self-respecting Android enthusiast would go straight for a dual-core beast, such as the Samsung GALAXY S II or the HTC Sensation, for example, when picking their next smartphone, the budget-conscious smartphone user would pick something rather cheap and modest. The Android-powered Samsung GALAXY Fit falls right into that category and offers entry-level specs, namely a humble 600MHz processor and a 3.3-inch QVGA display, at an affordable price. But is it any good and could it be a smartphone that we would recommend getting if your budget is tight? Let us take a closer look at the Samsung GALAXY Fit and find out.


Design:

There is nothing spectacular about the way the Samsung GALAXY Fit looks The device is basically a run-of-the-mill slab of plastic with no visual features to make it stand out of the crowd. In terms of build quality, however, it feels balanced and well-crafted. The smartphone fits nicely in the hand and its weight seems to be nearly perfect for a device of this size. The battery cover of the GALAXY fit sports a nice texture pattern that makes it both easy to grip and immune to fingerprints. Fingerprint immunity is a feature that its display may also brag with thanks to its oleophobic coating. The volume rocker and the power button, which are located on either sides of the device, are well-exposed and provide a good amount of tactile feedback.

The Samsung GALAXY Fit fits nicely in the hand and its weight seems to be nearly perfect for a device of this size - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review
The Samsung GALAXY Fit fits nicely in the hand and its weight seems to be nearly perfect for a device of this size - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review
The Samsung GALAXY Fit fits nicely in the hand and its weight seems to be nearly perfect for a device of this size - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review

The Samsung GALAXY Fit fits nicely in the hand and its weight seems to be nearly perfect for a device of this size


Samsung GALAXY Fit Review

You can compare the Samsung GALAXY Fit with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The basic TFT LCD screen that the Samsung GALAXY Fit is equipped with, however, is pretty underwhelming. Although it is 3.3-inches in diagonal, it packs a resolution of only 240 by 320 pixels, which means that things on it look pretty awful. There is a noticeable lack of sharpness, which makes reading long passages of text, such as emails, somewhat hard on the eyes. Furthermore, colors look a bit off as green tones lean towards the yellow side. At least it is bright enough to be used comfortably outdoors, and its viewing angles are satisfactory.

Front - The sides of the Samsung GALAXY Fit - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review
Back - The sides of the Samsung GALAXY Fit - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review
Battery compartment - The sides of the Samsung GALAXY Fit - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review

Front

Back

Battery compartment

Left side - The sides of the Samsung GALAXY Fit - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review
Top edge - The sides of the Samsung GALAXY Fit - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review
Right side - The sides of the Samsung GALAXY Fit - Samsung GALAXY Fit Review

Left side

Top edge

Right side

The sides of the Samsung GALAXY Fit


Overall, the Samsung GALAXY Fit scores a point for being comfortable and easy to use. On the other hand, its poor display is a major drawback that has to be taken into account. Perhaps, the features that the smartphone has to offer will be able to make up for this flaw?

Samsung GALAXY Fit 360-degree View:



18 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 13 Sep 2011, 11:30

1. jthiagesan (Posts: 104; Member since: 20 Apr 2011)


this is a very old phone. it was released 6 months ago in asia

posted on 14 Sep 2011, 01:30

3. UltraElectroMagneticPOP (Posts: 49; Member since: 30 Aug 2011)


Yes. This was released alongside the Galaxy Ace, Galaxy Mini and Galaxy Gio a while back. Way before the SGSII hit Asia.

posted on 14 Sep 2011, 00:07

2. cheeseycheeser (Posts: 373; Member since: 24 Mar 2011)


Why don't we get good Low-End phones like this in the US? This is actually a good phone!! :D

posted on 20 Sep 2011, 06:59

4. Shubh0602 (unregistered)


Positive:-
1) Very smooth touch.
2) Application's run like ease.
3) reasonable price

Negative:-
1) Battery backup is pathetic. For me it's 3 hour's if used conti. else it give's 8 hours, when i am using it normally.
2)The phone is Slow, once you compare it with little higher model like "Ace".
3) Automatic restart happens when it get's hanged .

posted on 22 Sep 2011, 01:22

6. sagar rathod (unregistered)


thanks dude

posted on 20 Sep 2011, 15:57

5. mongza (unregistered)


Battery backup is horrible. Fully charged battery goes kaputt within an hour. When the battery is being charged the whole phone gets heated up. It actually gets very hot. So i am wondering if the fault is with my phone alone. I would like to know if you are facing the same problem before I go to the shop to ask for replacement.

posted on 03 Oct 2011, 05:24

11. Ratheesh (unregistered)


Yes, its a big defect.

posted on 22 Sep 2011, 05:36

7. ritika (unregistered)


is samsung galaxy fit tht bad?? pls rply

posted on 22 Sep 2011, 05:43 1

8. ritika (unregistered)


if i dnt use mch of internet thn hws d battry life?
lovd the phone shud i go for it?

posted on 06 May 2012, 10:16

17. Rehan (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 May 2012)


i think you can buy it cause its not that bad!
besides it has a drawback of battery backup else its a damn good mobile.

posted on 22 Sep 2011, 10:00

9. Northy (unregistered)


mongza,same on mine - very hot when charging,20 minutes on the internet reduced the battery from fully charged to 66%,I've heard androids use a lot of power but that's pushing it!My first android,all reviews say the display and resolution are poor - to me it's fine although I haven't seen a higher resolution phone to compare it to.The call quality is fine on mine,very clear and crisp with no background noise or distortion.I would recommend this phone,just bear in mind the battery is pretty weak.Nearly got a San Francisco,same price,better resolution.....just didn't fancy the Orange branding on the back and San Francisco on the front,fussy like that!

posted on 01 Oct 2011, 08:53

10. Aditya_1234 (unregistered)


hi, I liked my galaxy fit here are pros n cons in every phone.
Pros:
1) full touch screen n touch is faboulous.
2) Feels good while holdind and it has 2.2 android in it, every feature a smart phone can provide.
3) Good quality picture and video as well. You can gain acess of your mail accounts from this phone, as i am doin using 2g in airtel.
4) screen gurad is must if you want its screen to be good.
Cons
1) Poor battery backup if using some applications specially like internet or games.
2) Preety satisfied with the song playing .. Consumes less battery when on headphone but more when on loudspeaker.
3) Not great sound as compared to apple or erricson but comparatively good one...
4) Ya , i hangs for some applications n that application closes automatically . But you will get used to it :).
5) Some missing features : missing flash, front camera.

In all its a good phone, i like it and will recommend others if they go with this budget. (arnd 10k INR)

posted on 08 Oct 2011, 10:53

12. 13naser52 (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Oct 2011)


I like it and best divoice that i see until time.

posted on 10 Oct 2011, 02:05

13. manish (unregistered)


I have been using this phone.and even though poor display is a major flaw.it is efficient. The camera is amazing but lacks flash.hanging frequently lets u down sometimes.overall to start ur android world its a great and smart opening. .

posted on 10 Oct 2011, 02:17

14. shreeramkvn (unregistered)


The phone is really awesome.
Goods:
Processor runs fine
Applications work well and good
My battery stands for around 18 - 20 hours on a nominal usage basis
Runs perfectly on Android 2.3.4 Gingerbread

Bads:
It doesn't have tactile feedback for all touch related works done on phone
Its a bit difficult to go back or use the menu key when using it in night since there is no back light for the touch pad
Compared to ace -> phone has a slower performance since it just holds a 600MHz processor
Installation of applications badly reduces memory of phone.
Naturally phone memory is very low, may be better if we would have had at-least 512Mb / 1Gb of space for phone.

posted on 01 Dec 2011, 09:05

15. mr_uzzo (Posts: 7; Member since: 28 Nov 2011)


guys what do you think, it is ok to use the battery of this phone as a replacement to my battery?(i just bought a galaxy y last november 16 and im too disappointed with its battery life, i wonder if its ok to use some battery.))

please response

posted on 04 Jan 2012, 13:23

16. coolkid12130 (Posts: 3; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


The battery on this phone should last at least a day if not constantly using the Internet and GPS on it.
If the Battery is still playing up(It is a lithium iron battery, wat the hell man?) buy a new one or down grade its memory capacity from 3Gb to 2Gb.
hope this helps :-p

posted on 20 hours ago

18. sarasu (Posts: 1; Member since: 20 hours ago)


hi, i am not sending messages in my samsung galaxy fit,pls help

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung GALAXY Fit

Samsung GALAXY Fit

OS: Android 2.3.4 2.2
view full specs
Display3.3 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (121 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 MSM7227, Single core, 600 MHz, ARM11 processor
Size4.34 x 2.41 x 0.50 inches
(110.2 x 61.2 x 12.6 mm)
3.82 oz  (108 g)
Battery1350 mAh, 10.45 hours talk time

Latest stories