x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung SGH-D900I Ultra 12.9 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

x
posted on 16 May 2009, 14:25

4.7

Has sell-by date

This mobile was initially quite good but after 1 year began to show it's software failings, literally.  Of it's own accord, the signal would simply disappear - sometimes up to a few hours - unless I pressed the 'cancel' button then it would immediately reappear.  Therefore, I'd have to check the phone more than I wanted too.  Coincedentally, the exact same error appeared on a different model Samsung of a friend.
SMS' would 'jam up' in terms of you're typing then couldn't send unless you cancelled the SMS (sometimes it'd not offer the opportunity to save it to draft).
After seeing it advertised with the Piscal viewer, it came without.  A Samsung UK rep. acknowledged this and said "we'll have to change the advert then".  Nice. 
The metallic plastic coating on the sides wore off which left a nasty look and a bit of a mess. 
The sliding function is a bit of a hassle at times.
An average phone that still functions but is relgated to the draw.

Design 6/10
Features 4/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • Good-sized screen; good memory for your average user; quad-band

Cons

  • Slider cumbersome; software errors after 1 year; missing software - yet this software was advertised; shoddy shell

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NP
posted on 01 Oct 2008, 13:42

8.7

my pros and cons about the d900i

Personally i had expected more.But, everything that it did have worked really good.conclusion: the d900i is good multimedia phone and considering it's current price...                 i really recommend it.

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • - excellent screen reolution
  • - really, really good image quality
  • (it even beats my gf her g600, witch has 5mp...)
  • - fast menu's
  • - nice looks
  • - theme background is nice, it changes when u go abroad.
  • ( when u receive a message there is firework lol xD)
  • - bright flash.
  • - the keys are all nice and large for easy usage.

Cons

  • - no front camera
  • - u can't watch video's in wide screen
  • - the camera isn't oriented in landscape mode
  • - pre-installed games are all trials (except cannonball.)
  • - no preloaded images.
  • - no doc vieuwer, but there is a folder to put documents in
  • (don't know what they were thinking :s)
  • - a bit limited in functions, for being an ultra phone.
  • - when using the autofocus the camera is really slow...

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

d3k
posted on 17 Aug 2008, 22:25

9

Highly Impressed

I did a little research on this phone prior to buying it and it has certainly paid off. I bought the Samsung SGH-D900 (Black) in May of 2007 for about $250, the next cheapest I could find was $399. If you want to know the website, send an email, I'd be more than happy to assist you.
Pros: MS Office Viewer, PDF File Viewer, Expandable MicroSD Slot, 3.15MP Camera with flash, 7 language options, slim.
Cons: Keypads feel a little cheap but after months of usage, you should develop a feel for use.
The website I bought it from is selling it for $120 now, brand new and fully unlocked. Overall, I think the screen should be slightly bigger since it does view files, keypads should be harder/more responsive.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

thefallenfew
posted on 07 Aug 2008, 11:10

6.4

Think twice

I really wanted to like this phone. My last phone was a Samsung D807 and I loved it so much I researched to find what the update was. I ordered an unlocked version of the D900i from overseas since it wasn't available in the States. I especially looked forward to the FM radio and Piscel viewer feature. I read a lot of negative user reviews online, but the "professional" reviews were all glowing, so I figured I'd take a chance.

Half of the features described in the professional reviews are absent. There is NO Piscel viewer and, as far as I can tell, no way to view PDF or MS Office docs on this phone, which is a major shame. The FM radio requires the included headset to function since it acts as an antenna, so even though it supports Bluetooth stereo, you'll have to bring these earbuds with you to use the only thing the D900i has over the D900 (which DOES support Piscel).

Customization options are gimped as well. No custom SMS or MMS sounds. Only two background options. No options for dialing screen, etc. Real shame, lots of missed opportunities.

The phone itself is nice. Great design, size. The 3 megapixel cam is as nice as you'd think and the screen and sound quality is great. If I could do it again, I'd get the D900 and skip the D900i.

Design 10/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 4/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 30 Jul 2008, 19:27

10

fantasic phone i am astonished with it had no problems had it nor for a few months no damage no cracked screen still in one piece fantastic
and i after reading that comment i pressed on my screen fairly hard to see if anything would happen and nop stayed as normal so you didnt look after it sorry mate but its true :P

decent phone

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

heru
posted on 12 May 2008, 02:18

9.8

rocks

the style, the design, the quality are goods...
those who break the slide, they just didn't took care of it...
the only thing i dont like...
it does not a 3G phone, also do not have front camera!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Desmond
posted on 23 Apr 2008, 08:30

2.2

DO NOT GET THIS PHONE!

I bought this phone two weeks ago and despite being treated very carefully, the LCD cracked, leaving it useless. I've had about 8 mobile phones before and never had a problem with any of them.

LCD problems aren't covered by warranty. This phone is structurally weak (and the rest of it isn't too flash either).

It's a lemon.

Design 1/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Leahhhh
posted on 06 Apr 2008, 00:55

8.6

Its o-k

ive had it for, idk a while now
and it is a pretty good phone.
the only part i dont like
is how you cant have mp3 tones
as your sms tone.
:/
the sound when you want to play mp3 is ok, but not the loudest.


other then that id give it an 8 over all !!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

w
posted on 21 Feb 2008, 13:17

9.4

good phone

great value for this money, indeed!but...they could let us put some mp3 for the sms tone, the camera is not amazing, but u get nice photos.all in all, great value for the money.and great design!battery surprising for such a slim phone!very good!lasts for 3-4 days with medium use.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

G'Funk
posted on 05 Feb 2008, 02:50

6.8

Average


well, right now I have it for like 5-6 months. It's really good phone BUT...
You can't change themes or put mp3 for message alert, which kinda sucks...
Camera needs like 5-6 sec to capture the picture...

And my slide has broken

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 14 Dec 2007, 05:53

9.8

The phone is really good....the camera takes some time long to capture in autofocus mode but its ok in pan focus mode. Its really light and is invisible in a jeans pocket. Looks delicate but it has survived 3,4 falls... so its strong too... message tone cant be changed other than defaults and no ringer profiles... But in 200$ its worth the money.. great value phone

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dude That has this phone, FOR REAL
posted on 25 Nov 2007, 12:58

6.8

well, right now I have it for like 5-6 months. It's really good phone BUT...
You can't change themes or put mp3 sound for message ton, which kinda sucks...
The earphones/headphones (whatever) are weird, they keep falling out off my ears...
Camera needs like 5-6 sec to capture the picture...
And the sending message really starts to pissing me off... Me personaly!!!
Plastic is little too easy to damage...

All in all, it's quite good phone!!!

ENGLISH IS NOT MY MATTERNAL LANGUAGE!!!!!!

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

BLA live
posted on 25 Sep 2007, 05:43

10

Very good phone excellent camera

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

onur
posted on 09 Jul 2007, 13:34

9.2

thats a style

I got it 3weeks ago, black edition , ;) I like itS STYLE very perfect and not heavy..very good camera ;) I think u want to be a unique,get it now :)
really carisma :D

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ADRIAN THURSTON
posted on 12 Jun 2007, 08:31

10

DA BEST

I JUST RECEIVED MY SAMSUNG D900i TODAY AND MY WORD, THIS PHONE IS OFF THE HOOK. WELL DONE SAMSUNG. YOU ROCK.
YOUR NUMBER ONE BOY
ADRIAN - SOUTH AFRICA.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Whitney
posted on 16 May 2007, 23:52

7.4

cool.

it needs to be sold in the US at a major carrier like AT&T or Alltel.but it seems to be a good phone.i like it and would most definitely buy one once it gets to the united states.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories