GIVEAWAY: win 1 of 3 honor 5x phones

Apple iPhone 5 User Reviews

8.4 Based on 72 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Text input8.1/10
Build quality8.5/10
Everyday usage8.2/10
UI speed8.8/10
Camera8.5/10
Multimedia8.2/10
Internet8.5/10
Battery7.5/10
Call quality8.8/10
Display8.6/10
Reception8.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

iLovesarcasm
posted on 10 Apr 2015, 10:01 (Posts: 441; Member since: 20 Oct 2014)

8

Just an ordinary phone nothing special

iLovesarcasm has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It looks good and that's it. It is good enough smart phone and nothing special. The screen is not responsive to touch specially on sides. They say Apple devices don't lag and freeze but it does. It has no match againts othe midrange smart phone but it bring social status they say.

Build quality 9/10 It looks good and feels good on hand.
Reception 10/10 No delays
Call quality 10/10 Excellent call quality
Internet 7/10 The internet is slow and wifi is so short-ranged.
Multimedia 5/10 Nothing special, other gadgets are better.
Camera 8/10 Fast processing but pictures are just average.
UI speed 8/10 Responsive but sometimes it lags on apps, 8.3 update somehow lessen the problem.
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10 Predictive text is not accurate and have to download third party app. Too small screen and non-responsiveness makes it difficult to type
Display 6/10 Too much glare which can damage eyes and yet colors little pale. Use a polarized lens and you will see.
Battery 7/10 Good for standby, bad for heavy users. Just my back up phone so it's fine.

Pros

  • Exellent battery at stanby and it makes it a good back up phone
  • Good call quality

Cons

  • Not very much responsive to touch.
  • Too small screen size
  • Poor screen color

iLovesarcasm alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tim123
posted on 04 Feb 2014, 09:48 (Posts: 29; Member since: 27 Jan 2014)

5

Iphone 5 review

tim123 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The iPhone 5 is mostly outstanding due to it IOS and nice metallic finish but it is full of disappointment. The everyday needs are often lower then what is offered from other OS like Android or WP, especially if you are in a business where you need to more a lot, the phone couldn't take the heavy use even fro 8hours without a charge and is limited with the small screen and under average camera.

Build quality 5/10 The corners kept on getting damaged
Reception 6/10 Most of the time I got good reception but often when in buildings I was the only person who didn't have reception even thought all of my co-workers have the same carrier and deal.
Call quality 8/10 I can hear clearly most of time but my ear must be in perfect possession
Internet 5/10 It was very slow to load pages and couldn't open pdf often, i personally need to open a lot of pdf due to work
Multimedia 7/10 It small screen and also doesn't have a high pixel density
Camera 3/10 The camera is a huge disappointment and is the reason i need to carry a DSLR wit me everywhere
UI speed 9/10 Most time it was very fast with few exemption
Everyday usage 5/10 I needed to carry my surface everywhere because my iPhone was unable to support me with getting around and business
Text input 4/10 I dislike the way the keyboard is spaced and also the autocorrect is very bad in comparison with WP or android
Display 5/10 Way to small and the pixel density is very disappointing
Battery 4/10 Its very sad that i can't even get a full day out of a charge

Pros

  • IOS

Cons

  • Screen
  • Camera

tim123 alternatives:

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

superduper
posted on 20 Oct 2013, 05:22 (Posts: 151; Member since: 20 Oct 2013)

10

Loving it.

superduper has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I moved from Android to iPhone in 2012, and I haven't looked back. My old Android phone was prone to crashing; battery life was poor; the system would grow increasingly slow until I restarted it. Overall, I was not enjoying the Android experience. The phone's dependability became a problem, and it grew very frustrating to use.

The iPhone took all those reliability issues away. Yes, it's expensive. But it works as promised. Battery life is good, though it could always be better. It takes great photos. It has a great App Store. Software updates are fast. Even Apple Maps works quite well, and I've used it successfully for directions a few times now, although it still needs more data in order to match the richness of Google's Maps app. After almost a year of use I have found the iPhone to be reliable and consistent.

Overall, I'm happy with my purchase, and I would recommend this phone (or its 5S and 5C replacements) to others.

Build quality 10/10 Cool metal and glass enclosure. Very slim. Easy to use with one hand. The lightest high-end phone out there.
Reception 10/10 Good wifi and GSM reception.
Call quality 10/10 Loud and clear.
Internet 10/10 Great wifi, 3G, and LTE connectivity.
Multimedia 10/10 Plays music and videos well.
Camera 10/10 Takes very clear and accurate photos. HDR mode in iOS7 produces good results too. Plus, iOS 7's new Years>Collections>Moments photo organizer files photos according to date and location, making it very easy to view them.
UI speed 10/10 Silky smooth running iOS 7.
Everyday usage 10/10 Simple UI. No clutter or bloat.
Text input 10/10 Good keyboard, consistent throughout the system.
Display 10/10 Perfect display. Accurate, sharp, bright.
Battery 8/10 Good all day usability. Could always be better though!

superduper alternatives:

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

askarian
posted on 13 Oct 2013, 06:02 (Posts: 6; Member since: 13 Oct 2013)

8

Apple needs to step up its game

askarian has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Great phone otherwise but the screen seems a little small as per today's standards. Specs are 2011 and the new iOS7 just doesnt cut it anymore. Not to mention that extremely thin text that comes with this OS. I've experienced wifi and call signal strengths mostly.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Solid Built Quality

Cons

  • Weak Battery Life
  • Very Itunes Dependant

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ViBRATOt49
posted on 18 Aug 2013, 11:59 (Posts: 17; Member since: 06 Aug 2009)

8

overall great phone

ViBRATOt49 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i prefer maybe a 4.3-4.5 inch screen. but this phone has not failed me. pretty much iphones in general. yes its simple, but i dont need all the bells and whistles that androids have. the battery is my main thing tho, it dies pretty quickly especially having it on LTE

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 7/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • camera
  • design
  • ease of use
  • clear
  • fast charge
  • user friendly

Cons

  • battery life
  • every 13 year old has one

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

blubi
posted on 22 Jun 2013, 12:48 (Posts: 9; Member since: 22 Jun 2013)

10

Greatest Smartphone

blubi has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Been using it for 6 months till now, and still happy with it. Liquid smooth, punchy graphics, premium design,and packed with blazingly fast performance. There's almost nothing I dont like or love about this phone. It is totally awesome! When it comes to social networking, it even beats the Blackberrys with its fast loading time and fast typing experience. When it comes to camera, all my friends say WOW. The sound, the video, the graphics are all perfect eventhough its not a FullHD one. But with the Retina Display, you'll see things like real!

I am not going to switch this phone for other ones unless for the next iPhone. Apple did a good job! Splendidly! I love my iPhone 5 so so so much!!!

Build quality 9/10 Feels so premium and special, but scratches easily. Not if you use a case.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10 Safari is the best browser, very fast.
Multimedia 9/10 Sound is perfect, video and graphics are too awesome to be called awesome.
Camera 10/10 The best I ever seen on a smartphone. With fast capture and capable of producing the best panoramic picture in the world.
UI speed 10/10 never lag or hang.
Everyday usage 10/10 easy to use. User friendly!!!
Text input 10/10 best keyboard. Great sensitivity and response.
Display 10/10 Retina Display makes things real.
Battery 8/10 Very good for daily usage, normal for 6-8 hours if you turn on the 3G throughout the day.

Pros

  • Fast, easy to use
  • Great multimedia player
  • Camera is so damn awesome
  • Battery is one of the best

Cons

  • prone to scratches
  • too much of a looker
  • TOO MUCH APPS

blubi alternatives:

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

irvinkeith
posted on 17 Jun 2013, 22:00 (Posts: 56; Member since: 27 Jan 2010)

10

Perfect for me

irvinkeith has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Best all around phone, does everything and there is literally an app for anything u can think of in the App Store. The build quality is amazing and I expect iOS 7 to take it to an entirely different level

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kusalanupama
posted on 06 Jun 2013, 09:01 (Posts: 9; Member since: 15 Dec 2012)

9

Simply Awesome Phone

kusalanupama has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i'm was an android user, i had the Galaxy Nexus for 6 months, rooted. first the build quality of the iPhone 5 is just awesome, perfect weight perfect height. the reason i didn't like my GNX was its size, it was just too big for me although it is also a very good phone. i had plenty of troubles when doing something in a busy environment so big phones are just not for me. the display is very sharp in iPhone 5 though it has a smaller screen when compared its just a pleasure to watch something on it. the camera is an all rounder, it performed well in most of the situations, night or day. the apps are just so much rich than in andoid, the speaker is not very loud but the output is very much clear i even feel a small bass :) than even in Galaxy S4 which is very loud but distorted. im not a heavy user so the battery lasts a whole day which i'm pleased. the reception is good and call quality is very good. there's actually nothing i didn't like about this phone. overall its a very good phone. i'm totally happy with the purchase.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • a better battery
  • more functionality like in android

kusalanupama alternatives:

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

christony1120
posted on 01 May 2013, 17:38 (Posts: 65; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)

10

Best phone Ive had so far!!!

christony1120 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have Verizon and I've been through many of their top smartphones, (Droid Razr, Galaxy S3, Droid X, OG Droid) and honestly I can say that the iPhone has been the best phone I have ever gotten. I wrote everything next to the ratings bar :)

Build quality 9/10 The materials used are premium, but not really tough
Reception 10/10 Gets better reception than my past phones
Call quality 10/10 The ear piece is loud and the quality is really good
Internet 9/10 Safari is one of the fastest browsers out the. My only complaint is no support of adobe flash.
Multimedia 10/10 You have to app store which is filled with tons of apps. iPhones are also usually the first to have an app (Instagram, Vine, Whats the word)
Camera 10/10 Honestly think the camera is the best on a mobile phone. Every picture I take comes out clear and with amazing color saturation.
UI speed 10/10 I mean its IOS. There isnt any multitasking which makes the UI quick and fluent with no lag.
Everyday usage 10/10 The iPhone gets you through the day, and thats pretty much all I need in a phone.
Text input 10/10 I am in love with the touchscreen keyboard. Its usually very accurate and you get the hang of it quickly.
Display 10/10 The screen is amazing and the brightness is also amazing. The screen also has a good amount of PPI.
Battery 7/10 This is probably the worst feature of the iPhone. I have Verizon meaning the LTE drains the battery quick. Does it last me a day? No, i have to recharge it when i have the chance.

Pros

  • Screen
  • Fast UI
  • LTE
  • Keyboard
  • Beautiful constuction
  • Comes with earphones
  • Camera
  • Safari

Cons

  • Safari cant support flash
  • Battery Life

christony1120 alternatives:

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

javac
posted on 01 Apr 2013, 21:35 (Posts: 102; Member since: 04 Mar 2013)

6

Iphone 5

javac has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Lets be honest here all the top end phones are great but the iphone 5 is just lacking when it comes to a lot of features. I bought it and returned it the next day. I am very tech. savy and i notice issue a lot probably wont. This phone is falling far behind the others.
If you compare it wth the other phones out there it just doesnt seem able to compete.
The other thing that really bugs me is all the issues apple is having with the software. the purple haze in the pictures, the battery life after you updated the software, the random lines on the keyboard. They keep putting out more updates that just cause more issues. If you ask me im going to wait for the s4 and pirchase that.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 8/10 In my opinion its really based on the carrier
Call quality 6/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 3/10 Its really lacking in a lot of areas: hd sound quality( speakers give out) the only media is music and it doesnt even offer the best music quality anyway
Camera 6/10 the purple haze really jsut killed it for me. then i started to realize that all the pictures were just off. the colors in the pictures are just fake looking
UI speed 9/10 I will give them that their ui is fast but very dry and overrated
Everyday usage 6/10 I was bored after a day i couldnt imagin 2 years
Text input 7/10 The word predictions are just horrible. my girlfriend actually asked if i was drunk lol
Display 5/10 the screen looks good but its not true hd quality. in my opinion they had the chance to do great things and they failed. it looks like the 4 which is an almost 3 year old device now
Battery 6/10 Now the battery issues are really software issues in my opinion but all in all the battery is just ok. with todays technology and the price of the phone it shouldn't be this bad

Pros

  • Simple to start with

Cons

  • the quality of this device is horrible for the price
  • the software is just riddled with problems
  • the updates may fix some issues but from what ihave heard they just create more
  • in the end this phone becomes less and less user friendly

javac alternatives:

6 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abdullaaryan
posted on 28 Mar 2013, 13:10 (Posts: 8; Member since: 29 Mar 2012)

8

Bad iPhone

abdullaaryan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i had an iphone 5 for about 2 month.
I had tow big problemes with it
1- the build quality is so bad and very easy to scratch.
2- the battery life, it drained so fast.
I recommend iPhone 4s, it's one of the best phone I have ever seen

Build quality 3/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NokiaFTW
posted on 19 Mar 2013, 07:28 (Posts: 2060; Member since: 24 Oct 2012)

7

I expected much more

NokiaFTW has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

My close friend bought this mobile phone. I cant find a difference between that and my iPhone 4. The build quality is good but the user experience is like just the same as the first iPhone. Battery life is not the best and no expandable storage.

Build quality 9/10 Great build quality and great choice of materials.
Reception 9/10 Decent reception
Call quality 9/10 Great call quality and loud earpiece
Internet 8/10 Safari is good but I prefer chrome.
Multimedia 8/10 Speaker is average but movies look good on the display.
Camera 9/10 Great photos and videos are taken by the camera
UI speed 10/10 One of the fastest phones currently avaliable
Everyday usage 3/10 The UI is down right boring and very limiting and brings nothing new to the table. It is very outdated looking.
Text input 7/10 The QWERTY keyboard is OK , but I would like the option of downloading a third
Display 7/10 The display is sharp and crisp but seeing the current competition the display feels very small.
Battery 7/10 OK battery life on 3G connectivity.

Pros

  • Great build quality
  • Fast and smooth performance
  • Healthy ecosystem of third party apps
  • Very compact and light weight
  • Great camera

Cons

  • No expandable storage
  • The UI is very limiting and outdated looking
  • Average battery life.

NokiaFTW alternatives:

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

selena1000
posted on 17 Mar 2013, 08:31 (Posts: 84; Member since: 14 Mar 2013)

9

Pretty(and)Awesome

selena1000 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have never owned an Apple product before but decided to buy iphone 5 to see why its so famous and so liked. I guess now I know why,this phone is simply awesome.its a pleasure to hold this phone.it really feels like a swiss watch and the hard work and time on its design could be felt when you hold it in your hand.its smooth and fast.battery life is also satisfactory and screen might not be the best on paper n=but in reality its the best i have seen.

Build quality 10/10 just hold it to believe it
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10 fast and sometimes faster than my laptop
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10 best in any smartphone.megapixels arent everything
UI speed 10/10 agin just use it to see it
Everyday usage 10/10 clearly the best for everyday usage.simple and seemless
Text input 8/10 good but no breakthrough
Display 10/10 may not be the best spec-wise but in reality it is as good if not better than the competitors
Battery 8/10 survives a day and some time two days with me

Pros

  • best build quality
  • smooth and fast
  • the best appstore handsdown
  • pretty awesome camera
  • beautiful screen

Cons

  • ios ui is too simple

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

techguy22
posted on 12 Feb 2013, 11:31 (Posts: 227; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

7

good phone for any average joe ( review based on my sister iphone 5)

techguy22 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i have used this phone for quite few time. my sister loves it. for her its the best phone on earth. for me. its really a mediocre phone. there are so much better phone out, doesn't matter if its android or WP8. IP5 did not deserve all the hype. im sure the next iphone wont look any different from its predecessor

Build quality 9/10 course its an apple product
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 5/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • awesome build quality
  • light and attractive to most people
  • awesome apps
  • bigger screen

Cons

  • same boring OS
  • looks like any other IPhone with slightly upgrade
  • taller and awkward feel
  • small screen, 2013 is about 1080p the iphone isnt even 720

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jmoney62987
posted on 25 Dec 2012, 18:46 (Posts: 31; Member since: 16 Mar 2010)

9

Went fro i4 to gs3 to i5 back to gs3..now going back to i5

jmoney62987 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Same old same old...if you had the i4 I think if you want to stay with apple than get this. If you have the 4s stick with it until the 5s comes out. Personally I like the GS3 more but because I spent so much on apps etc I am sticking with apple; not to mention I really hate how android phones are replaced by better ones weekly it seems.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Camera- the best (yes i compared to my gs3)
  • Build quality
  • Value- it cost a lot to begin but it HOLDS that value
  • Apple has timely updates/ upgrades
  • App selection
  • facetime

Cons

  • Its exactly the same as the i4 except better cameras and siri
  • Its exactly the same as 4s except lighter and a tiny bit faster
  • UI IS STALE
  • Battery isn't as good as GS3
  • Apple limits a lot of what can be done
  • Doesn't have nearly the amount of features found on android

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Windsponge
posted on 24 Dec 2012, 17:36 (Posts: 92; Member since: 01 Nov 2009)

10

Best phone for me

Windsponge has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I know for some reason some people are dogging it more than they should. No phone out is as smooth or as dependable as it. The ease of set up and use are the very best. I have owned droids and really looked into the windows phone. They are both ok phones but they are not IPhones. Try for your self, don't go by other people's feelings.

Build quality 10/10 Best build of any phone out
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 Better than any other smart phone I have had.

Pros

  • Reception, ease of use, very good quality of build

Cons

  • I would like a bigger screen but it isa great screen

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

drdaly
posted on 19 Nov 2012, 21:40 (Posts: 61; Member since: 09 Nov 2012)

10

Totally awesome device

drdaly has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

iPhone 5 is a beast but, beautiful good looking one. You should all give it a try to feel that luxury in your hands, extremely responsive, one hand operated smoothly, battery is great and lasts even if you're a heavy user of games and social networking like i'm. I had a galaxy s3 blue one and it was large to fit in my bucket, laggy and battery is less than a day happy to get rid of it

Build quality 10/10 Amazing structure and materials
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Extremely fast
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • Needed bigger screen 4.5" would be awesome
  • IOS gets things done but, needs major change it' a bit boring

drdaly alternatives:

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SharanR
posted on 30 Oct 2012, 16:25 (Posts: 7; Member since: 02 Mar 2012)

7

Good but not innovative enough to be Apple standards

SharanR has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I actually switched from an iPhone 4 to an iPhone 5 and have an iPad 2 to accompany it, but definitely expected more from the phone.

Pros:

Love having LTE! It's amazingly fast and widely available with HSPA+ as a good back up.
Glad the back is no longer glass and is two toned. I have the white/silver model and it looks stunning for sure.
Siri is informative for the few times I've needed it.
Retina is still nice, and the text definitely looks crisp as ever.
Overall, the UI colour scheme adds a fresh look to it.

Cons:

Build quality itself may be great, but it's rather strange that there's no weight to this phone. Some people like it, some don't.
iOS is definitely getting stale. There's nothing new or useful. It may have the hardware over the 4S, but what's better on the software side on either?
Apps are not optimised and it definitely makes for an awkward experience. Maps app is pretty pitiful, true it's a first attempt and in "beta" per se, but Apple had another YEAR before their contract would be up. Passbook is somewhat of a fail, NFC integration with it would've made it more useful. Despite having a larger screen, landscape typing is STILL problematic (I do have slightly larger hands) but it feels like the keys barely moved even though there's more available space!
Camera is alright, but a few more options would be nice
Phone itself DOES lag, but compared to my 4 it's miles ahead. Sadly, I do have tons of apps that crash (including safari and mail) once in a while....  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 5/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

SharanR alternatives:

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

samsungapple
posted on 30 Sep 2012, 21:20 (Posts: 10; Member since: 30 Sep 2012)

7

Iphone 5 Review

samsungapple has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I got this phone after the samsung Galaxy s3. I was expecting something that can satisfy me, but this phone didnt. Apple always had some innovations in their phone every time they announced their iphone, but this time, i could find any. I was very disappointed so i went back to my Galaxy s3

Build quality 6/10 Too much scratch
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 6/10 Not that good compare to sgs3.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 4/10 texts are too small
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • feels great in you hand

Cons

15 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

doejon
posted on 26 Sep 2012, 15:50 (Posts: 397; Member since: 31 Jul 2012)

8

mahh.. u can use a iphone 4s with ios 6

doejon has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

unfortunately I expected more. since iphone 4s was very fast too
u can only notice the bigger screen and lte is only available at one carrier (t-com)
so lte won´t work in germany.. maps are a disaster, the build quality is very good but
its easy get scratches it allready had scuffs ,dents and nicks.. and i must use a bumper/case so now u cant notice the buildquality lol..

ios 6 is coming on 4s to so i felt that there is no need to switch from 4s to 5
everything feels the same except the lager screen...

sorry 4 my bad english

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

doejon alternatives:

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mandkeee
posted on 26 Sep 2012, 10:54 (Posts: 82; Member since: 27 Feb 2009)

10

best phone....just changed from GS3

mandkeee has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

no complain about this phone.....
fast display , luxury quality for design , fast recharge battery , best UI....

really hard to find out bad thing about this phone.....
i just saw my friend just got this phone and i used only few minutes...and i just went to verizon store and got this phone right away ...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

mandkeee alternatives:

13 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kaffebryg
posted on 28 Jan 2016, 12:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jan 2016)

7

Just another iPhone

Kaffebryg has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

A number of high profile news stories emerged soon after the iPhone 5’s release. These ranged from the metallic back and side chipping and revealing the aluminium beneath to issues with battery life and the Apple Maps fiasco. We go into more detail about the maps app further on.

The most complained about aspect of the iPhone 5 is battery life. More than 2,500 owners gave the iPhone 5 an average of 6.8/10 for battery life. The Galaxy S3 and S4 score 7.3 and 7.6 out of 10 respectively.

The next aspect of the iPhone 5 that most irks owners is its value for money. iPhone owners have known for a long time that Apple demands a premium for its phones. The cost of extra storage on an iPhone makes it particularly costly to go for a 32GB or 64GB model, whereas Galaxy owners are able to add extra storage on the cheap via the microSD card.

However, it’s not all bad news for iPhone owners in terms of value. The iPhone 5 retains its value better than any other smartphone. This means you can get back a lot of the original outlay by selling when you upgrade. Even better news is that the 2,500 owners who provided feedback scored the iPhone 5 with 9.2 for ease of use, 9.1 for features and 9.1 for design, clearly showing that it also has a lot going for it.


Build quality 5/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 5/10
Display 5/10
Battery 5/10

Kaffebryg alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

curtis28
posted on 13 Jun 2015, 07:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jun 2015)

5

Iphone 5- It's OK, certainly better out there for the same price

curtis28 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have experienced this phone previously to owning my current phone (Samsung galaxy s4). Personally I think the galaxy is 1000x's better than the Iphone, and because of it I will never change back. I also know that I am not the only one who believes android is better than ios, in fact every person I know who has switched does not regret it. I strongly recommend that if you are considering a phone of this type you look elsewhere because there is a high chance you may save some money and end up with a more likable phone.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Feels good in the hand
  • Fast and easy to use UI

Cons

  • Poor build quality
  • OS is very limited
  • Not many cool features
  • Overheats easily
  • Sudden glitches
  • Expensive for what you get

curtis28 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

earlgrey
posted on 17 Feb 2015, 06:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Feb 2015)

6

I loved it but I'm disappointed

earlgrey has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I had a lots of type smartphones and other gsm. I tried BB, Samsung, Huawei, Nokia, Lenovo. I hands on my phone as business phone. I talking 2 hours a day + emails, calendars. I had an iPad also. My opinion is the IOS the best opsys currently. iPhones and iPad hardware is weak to apply everyday. I f you wan to use it as your tool to connect others or organise your life is the construction is nice but weak. Expensive or not possible to repaire. My iPad also the second what I have to buy because of the screen. I had a cover to protect it (pierre carden leather) but it was not enough to lost my glass screen. Sometimes when I use it in my car and talk, it was very warm and i had to cooling with my cars aircondition. Summary my experience is worst and I'm disappointed. Price/ value ratio is lass than Lenovo forexample. I have no offer warmly.

Build quality 2/10 No service, glue technology is weak, no removable battery, SD cards , brokable glass, sensitive for wet an moisture, sensitive for heat and small hits as well
Reception 6/10 Its general
Call quality 8/10 good sound quality and speech understanding
Internet 7/10 fast enough
Multimedia 6/10 Nice but the shell or housing warmed after one minutes
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10 general
Everyday usage 5/10 nice IOS, nice apps, low battery life, good sound and music quality, sensitive for hot, moisture, wet , scratches mechanicaly weak and brokable. The leather cover not enough to protect it
Text input 6/10 general
Display 9/10 Nice
Battery 4/10 not so strong

Pros

  • IOS
  • apps
  • icloud
  • fingerprint sensor

Cons

  • Sensitive brokable glass
  • No repairement
  • media uses warm it up
  • long call warm it up
  • Nav+Call heat it up

earlgrey alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

EdwinBe
posted on 08 Feb 2015, 07:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Dec 2014)

10

2 years of usage

EdwinBe has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I'm using it for two years now and the only reason why I'm thinking of buying a new phone is a broken screen. It survived many fallings on different surfaces and the last one was just a bad luck. Even with the battle wounds it provides me all that Apple can: user-friendly interface, perfect phone camera, perfect music quality, perfect screen quality, reliability and etc.

Build quality 10/10 Everything works perfect after two hard core years (scandals with throwing a phone into a window, attending Marilyn Manson's concerts, etc.). It has some scratches, but it's my fault. By the way, the paint is really gentle (especially the black one) so I'm always using a case. Google 'scuffgate' for more information. Unfortunately this problem was exaggerated in the internet by people who crack nuts with their phones.
Reception 10/10 Didn't find any differences with any other phones. It works perfectly anywhere you can find a signal (there are many places where you can't in Moscow, no matter which phone you use).
Call quality 10/10 Speakers can be quiet enough to comfortably talk at night and loud enough to hear someone on an underground train. Its mic is fine too (it has anti-noise technology if I'm not mistaken), so you will be heard too.
Internet 10/10 iOS Safari is my favourite browser ever.
Multimedia 10/10 Does everything I need.
Camera 10/10 The only thing in the world apart from many film and some digital SLR cameras that satisfies me with its photo quality.
UI speed 10/10 Didn't find anything to dislike.
Everyday usage 10/10 User-friendly and comfortable in everyday usage.
Text input 9/10 The only issue I had is not having an armenian keyboard. But now you can set a third-party keyboard from AppStore, so from now on it's not that irritating. However, I still can't understand the absence of some keyboards in default settings. And of course you can only have T9-like predicative feature only in some widely used languages, like english, french, spanish and so on. In every other way iPhone's keyboard is the best one for me.
Display 10/10 Apple make phones with best displays. Or at least it seems like. Especially it's what catches your eye when you compare to to the rivals.
Battery 9/10 1) It was perfect for the first year of service, it could work unquestionably 9 to 5. But my usual needs are calls, messages and the internet. Games like Temple Run are not a problem for the iPhone, but Asphalt will reduce battery life by half. 2) As for now its battery started to spoil. Now it is only acceptable if using wi-fi. 3G kills it in 3 hours (but it's still okay with only wi-fi surfing somehow, so I always turn the cellular data off when at home).

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Useful dedicated 'ring/silent' button
  • Useful physical 'home button'
  • Beautiful design
  • Perfect size
  • Camera
  • Relative security
  • iCloud and other backup copying abilities to make sure you don't lose all your files
  • iTunes store with an ability to download purchased music at any time if connected to the internet
  • iOS; it's my favourite OS but it has some downsides, which I explain further in the Cons list

Cons

  • You can only have .mp4/.m4v downloaded from iTunes
  • General dependence on a single particular computer
  • Impossibility of free bluetooth sharing (AirDrop doesn't count since it's only iPhone to iPhone)
  • Impossibility to use some languages (like Armenian, Lithuanian and others) as a Phone language
  • Absence of some languages in keyboard settings
  • Geeks will call you gay and a slave of a consumer society for buying an iPhone

EdwinBe alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories