LG Watch Urbane Review

LG Watch Urbane Review

LG Watch Urbane Review
LG Watch Urbane Review
LG Watch Urbane Review
LG Watch Urbane Review
LG Watch Urbane Review
LG Watch Urbane Review
LG Watch Urbane Review
Introduction


When we got our hands on a modern-day smartwatch for the first time back at the end of 2013, we weren't quite sure what to make of this new paradigm. Here was a whole new category, with hype around it reaching a crescendo, and many wondering if it wasn't destined to take a place next to smartphones by providing a lucrative new revenue stream for traditional and emerging gadget manufacturers alike.

Entrants — such as Pebble — definitely made a small fortune on the form factor, but things have been rather quiet overall. That is, until Apple announced that it's going after the still small and highly niche market with its own Watch. By then, however, we had an entirely different view on smartwatches.

Smartwatches weren't going to be as big a deal as smartphones were (and still are) — not even close. Instead, their function would be auxiliary at best. For the time being, this is a more than fair assessment — some would, for example, go as far as saying that they're useless. But there's a problem with that mindset, and one that LG, among others, has been trying to address with its latest smartwatches, but most notably — with its new Watch Urbane.

So what's wrong with that aforementioned assessment? Basically, all the hype raised expectations way beyond what is practically achievable on a gadget that has to conform to your wrist. Indeed, now more than ever, the way forward seems to be for manufacturers to go after a blend of useful features and more classic, less-intimidating design choices. Certainly, LG has taken this philosophy to heart with the Urbane.

Let's see how well that worked out.

In the box:

  • Charging cradle
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall charger (0.85A)
  • Quick start manual

Design


Square or rectangular, round or oval, there's no single form factor to rule them all when it comes to watches — smart or otherwise. Like so many other things in life, it's a matter of taste. But be that as it may, we have no qualms about calling the Urbane one of the most dashing smartwatches currently on the market, and that includes the Apple Watch.

LG's latest wearable comes in two color options as pertains to the stainless steel body of the watch — silver and gold (though that one looks like copper). In almost every way, the Urbane reminds us of its predecessor, the Watch R, but there are some important differences. For example, the pronounced defensive bezel of the R is much more subdued on the Urbane, and while that means that the display is less protected from bumps and scratches, we do appreciate the look of it more. Also similar is the sleep/wake crown dial on the right of the newer smartwatch, though it's slightly smaller, all the while protruding more. At the back, we see that LG has found a way to remove the four unsightly screws holding the gadget together from view.

LG has done some splendid work in other important areas as well — like straps. Not only are we treated to a genuine, stitched leather strap this time around, but you can switch for another, at least so long as it's 22 mm in width. In all, from the smaller, more elegant clasp and duo of free loops, down to the skinnier default strap, the water- and dust-resistant Urbane is LG's best shot at blending gadgetry with classic timekeeping yet. Just make sure you pick the color option that will better match your wardrobe.


Display


LG is sticking with a display of proven quality — a round, 1.3-inch P-OLED panel with 320 x 320 pixels, or the same model it's using with the Watch R. From what we've seen so far, the two render rather identical images in terms of brightness and color reproduction, though the Urbane does look a little warmer. Generally, there are no visible improvements to speak of.

Unlike Motorola's Moto 360, the Urbane doesn't feature an ambient light sensor, which means that tweaking brightness falls on you. Android Wear allows you to do that from the main screen — just slide down from the top, as you would with your notifications bar on your smartphone, and you can activate 'Brightness boost'. With summer right around the corner and all, this is sure to come in handy, and soon.

Lastly, as fellow smartwatch owners would expect, LG's gadget's screen is set to always-on, so you can take a peek at the time and any new notifications without having to manually wake up the device.

FEATURED VIDEO

30 Comments

1. sgodsell

Posts: 7004; Member since: Mar 16, 2013

Great design, and great specs. Password protected watch. Comes with WiFi. Better menu system. Great voice controls. Great ecosystem with endless watch faces. What's not to love about this watch.

3. sgodsell

Posts: 7004; Member since: Mar 16, 2013

The DND mode has been their before the latest version of Android Wear. I should point out that the Urbane also has a compass, and it can also play music over Bluetooth speakers or headset, and you can install music directly on the watch. I have 225 songs installed on my Urbane.

7. SuperAndroidEvo

Posts: 4888; Member since: Apr 15, 2011

I really can't stand when I take the time to READ a whole review & then there is no video review in the final page. The pictures are cool, but in 2015 we also need to see how the watch/device moves & performs. To not have a video at the end of a review is clumsy & not professional. Why release an uncompleted review. I don't have the time to come back to see when they have posted the video to complete it's review. PhoneArena.com please fix this. This happens way to often & not it's frankly getting annoying. If you guys are going to do something, please do it right. SMH

16. waddup121 unregistered

Get rekted Apple Watch.

2. Finalflash

Posts: 4063; Member since: Jul 23, 2013

Got to love the variety and diversity in the Android wear ecosystem. The software is the the same but at least it is focused and easy to use. Hopefully with Android M they will introduce greater flexibility for the software as well.

4. arch_angel

Posts: 1651; Member since: Feb 20, 2015

the apple watch is slightly better when it comes to functionality but id get the watch urbane cause the apple watch is damn ugly.

18. Neros

Posts: 1016; Member since: Dec 19, 2014

One is for android, the other for ios, so I wouldn't even bother comparing them.

19. arch_angel

Posts: 1651; Member since: Feb 20, 2015

That might not be true pretty soon since google is working on a way to bring android wear to ios devices plus why wouldn't we compare them we compare android phones to iphones. and i own both ios and android devices so i should compare them.

5. maherk

Posts: 6746; Member since: Feb 10, 2012

What's the diameter of this watch?

6. kkmkk

Posts: 699; Member since: May 06, 2013

nah tha fruit watch is much better it even come with something innovative called lag !!

8. nctx77

Posts: 2540; Member since: Sep 03, 2013

You have never used an Apple watch my friend.

30. tedkord

Posts: 17181; Member since: Jun 17, 2009

Maybe he's just read the reviews. When an Apple sycophant like Gruber complains about lag on the iWatch, it's got to be bad.

9. Takeharu

Posts: 283; Member since: Oct 28, 2013

I like it how they made the score 0.1 lower than the Apple Watch just to clarify that they think the Apple Watch is superior in their opinion.

10. Chris.P

Posts: 567; Member since: Jun 27, 2013

You caught that. Good. In case you're wondering why that is, and this is coming from someone who's been rocking a smartwatch since the Galaxy Gear, it has a ton to do with the fact that the software goes haywire at least a few times a day, not to mention that it also becomes completely unresponsive occasionally. What exactly is the cause of this is unclear, but it's a fact that I've observed over the length of the last two weeks. Another two weaknesses of the Urbane in comparison are the fact that it simply won't appeal to women — or give or take 50% of the world population — and Android Wear's still quite unsatisfying number of apps that actually live on your smartwatch and don't just serve as proxies that require you to constantly pull out your phone to do anything (ironically, this goes against the very premise of a smartwatch). Apple Watch isn't a whole lot better in this regard, but it is better, and the ecosystem is sure to be approached with more interest than Android Wear. Some of these are pretty 'global' issues or comparative weaknesses that we have to account into the score. The Urbane isn't just for you, it's supposed to be for the guy (certainly not gal) on your left, right, and behind you. In any case, Apple Watch vs Urbane isn't really a decision customers will be making, as you're either Android (like me) or you're iOS. For me, personally, the Urbane is the better buy since I trust that the software bugs will be ironed out promptly (and I'm patient enough) and I'm a guy, so I have no issues rocking it on my wrist. I also like its design better. Still, I can't deny that Apple's approach is more promising at this point — I've given Android Wear enough time to evolve and start offering functionality that transcends beyond notifications and is actually carried out by the watch itself, not my phone. That's still hardly the case.

14. Takeharu

Posts: 283; Member since: Oct 28, 2013

To be honest this watch won't appeal to a lot of guys either. In my opinion the Urbane looks awful! It's trying to be chic but it's overly glossy design just makes it look like a cheap knockoff watch. Not only that but for many guys it will be too big as well. I for example have very small (often smaller that women) wrists so the Urbane won't fit me either. And yet, I simply can't deny the fact that the Apple Watch offers more at this point in functionality. The Apple Watch is what Android Wear should've been functionality wise and that's a shame too considering many people that are willing to wear smartwatches to begin with are geeks and from what I see/read online most of those geeks use Android (me included). If the second generation Apple Watch looks better and works on Android (which it obviously won't) I could see myself purchasing it because as of now Android wear just doesn't do enough to qualify it's price.

26. ibend

Posts: 6747; Member since: Sep 30, 2014

yeah, this one look like cheap knockoff, their bezel is so plain, even the leather strap look bad.. (i dont like smartwatch design as general, but i like mechanical movement watch, but i guess next samsung's round smartwatch is worth to look at :P )

11. SamDH1

Posts: 419; Member since: Apr 21, 2015

The reviews of the smart watches are making no sense. This is nicer than the R, yet a lower score. Even funnier, it is 0.1 below the Apple watch, when all of the pros and cons of the Apple Watch, are in the Pros of this delightful watch. I need to be enlightened. I must also say, on some of the Apple Watch reviews and points, you say there is no point comparing the Watch to Wear, because iOS users can't use Wear. But then you state at the end of this, Watch is better for everyday use, which A) Isn't possible for 2/3rds of smartphone population, and B) Is not true because you are far more limited with the Watch regards to lower battery life, need to keep the phone next to you at all times, and a personal thing, the always off screen is well annoying. Wear; I want to talk to my wrist, otherwise, what can really be improved? Battery is getting better every model with 3 days life now, design is amazing and broad, specs are perfect because it is just a notification centre... Watch is also somewhat broad with it's customisation, but for people who don't like rectangles, (and it's clear people prefer round by looking at the sales of Wear devices), or the super high entry price tag. I don't understand your rating system at all, PA.

12. Chris.P

Posts: 567; Member since: Jun 27, 2013

In regards to its rating relative to the Watch R, you're forgetting (or are unware) that we don't rate products in a vacuum:http://www.phonearena.com/howdowerate. That is, all things being equal, a product that got an 8/10 last year won't get an 8/10 this year because a successor is supposed to improve upon its predecessor, not to mention that competitors could have improve their own offerings in the meantime. The rest, I believe, has already been addressed in my above comment.

13. SamDH1

Posts: 419; Member since: Apr 21, 2015

So what has brought a competition to the R, or this? Android users can't buy Watch, iOS users can't buy Wear. So surely, this device should be compared to other Wears, not Watch, and I still don't believe Watch is able to compete with this, and you even said just above, the lagging issue is probably baby step problems with 5.1 and will get ironed out, which leaves only one con... Fair enough you guys live and work with these devices, but like you said before, we won't be buying our next phone based on watches, so rating them towards the real competition makes way more sense, because right now, it looks like this is worse than the R and 360 to the average Joe, but we all know this is way sweeter.

24. Chris.P

Posts: 567; Member since: Jun 27, 2013

Um, just because the two devices -most likely- won't compete for consumers doesn't mean that they shouldn't be compared to each other. Keeping in mind what competitors have to offer is fundamental to the review process, and I don't think I'll ever agree that Android Wear smartwatches should be spared this. In fact, I think it's ludicrous. What competitors have to offer matters. A great deal, in fact. As for the lag/freeze issue, if we adopted a policy of pardoning products because the manufacturer will -probably- take care of it, then things would get out of control really, really fast. After all, where do we draw the line? Next it will be some inexplicable camera algorithm that we leave out, hoping that the company will -maybe- address it. It doesn't work that way, and I'm sure you'd agree were that the case. Finally, and I believe I've never spent as much time justifying our review scores before, you're disregarding my earlier clarification on how we rate. Both the Moto 360 and the Watch R are some some 8-9 months old, so you keep that in mind. Were we to review the Watch R right now, we'd have higher expectations, too, and would rate it less favorably. Again, we don't rate products in a vacuum — both time and competition matter a -great- deal.

25. SamDH1

Posts: 419; Member since: Apr 21, 2015

Alright, my fault about the review system. I get that, but it doesn’t really apply to the smartwatches, does it? These are fashion items first. You clearly love this, it has the best battery than any other, Wear 5.1 may be laggy, but so is the Watch (I’ve played with one, it’s laggy and buggy with iMessage and Maps, plus you can -only- use iMessage and Email on the Watch for messaging features, unlike Wear which you can use –all- of your messaging applications), but why has the Watch got a higher review than this? It makes –zero- sense at all when you compare this review to the Watch review, too. Also, to say it’s not a women’s watch as a con is pretty subjective, as some women may love this timepiece, and some women have larger wrists anyway; stating a personal taste as a con is like grasping at air. I feel very odd for getting heated with you on this, but I always come here when it’s review season cuz I likes yous guys’ reviews, but it’s like you purposefully gave this 0.1 lower for no reason at all other than to be 0.1 lower than Watch, when Watch seems like 7.5 and this seems well into the 8’s. - -.

28. DeusExCellula

Posts: 1390; Member since: Oct 05, 2014

Did you read his justification for doing that above?

15. Taters

Posts: 6474; Member since: Jan 28, 2013

The Apple watch is butt ugly that it should get the worst rating out of all smart watches. Both the Apple watch and pebble have it all wrong. I would never wear one because a time piece , smart or analog, needs to be first and foremost, attractive. It's like clothing. If they ever made a smart jacket, I better hope that it isn't rated based on features, it's a jacket...

17. Neros

Posts: 1016; Member since: Dec 19, 2014

Best looking intelligent watch thus far, but it does look bad on a female's wrist. Sorry, it's too bulky for females. Definitely a manly wristwatch.

27. ibend

Posts: 6747; Member since: Sep 30, 2014

they'll give smaller diameter for woman i guess

20. NexusX

Posts: 613; Member since: May 16, 2013

people who think this is better looking than apple watch must have s**t for taste.

22. 0kax0el0

Posts: 238; Member since: Nov 15, 2012

Where I live we have a saying "En gustos se rompen géneros... y caras" that can be roughly translated as "In preferences, genres get broken... and so do faces", the first part in a serious tone means that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, the second part is more of a joke that sometimes people get too carried in a discussion about preferences and end up in a fist fight.

23. Taters

Posts: 6474; Member since: Jan 28, 2013

A lot of smart watches look better than the Apple watch. In fact, the only ones that don't look better than the Apple watch are probably the pebble ones.

21. 0kax0el0

Posts: 238; Member since: Nov 15, 2012

"Very attractive, classic design" "Its size and design may hold little appeal to women" I'm not sure those points should be summarized in "Pros and Cons" as these are very subjective opinions, and do not have a direct impact on performance or quality of the product. I remember reading a couple years ago that the Galaxy Note wouldn't appeal to women because it was too big, but it turns out that women aren't limited to just the pockets in their robes, they carry the phone in their purses, so a big sized phone isn't a problem. There are no laws in appareances, just trends and as so, there is no wrong or right as to how something should look.

29. pt020

Posts: 156; Member since: Apr 08, 2014

My first "Smartwatch" was in 2007. SE MBW-100.

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.