Samsung Galaxy S20 User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

9.7

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet
9.7
Call quality
9.7
Battery
8.4
Reception
9.9
Display
9.9
Build quality
9.9
Text input
9.3
Everyday usage
9.9
UI speed
9.9
Camera
9.6
Multimedia
9.7
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

rklemm05 posted on Sep 19, 2020, 12:14 PM
Posts: 3; Member since: Sep 19, 2020

9.0

The daily driver par excellence. Might even seem a little "over-polished"

rklemm05 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

In a nutshell, it does everything really well, while being nicely compact. I'm always looking for new phones, but I haven't found one yet that ticks all "my" boxes better than the S20 (in no order of preference): 1) compact and 8mm thick max 2) lightweight 3) great Amoled display; 4) great screen-to-body ratio; 5) stereo speakers; 6) 120hz refresh rate 7) great camera(s) quality. Also, I tend to use Samsung Pay a lot, means I'm kind of stuck with Samsung (my bank doesn't support Google pay). When adding these parameters, even without the Samsung Pay thing, there's not so many contenders (Oneplus 8 maybe, or the Oppo Find X2 neo, since 90hz refresh rate is acceptable)

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Display quality & screen-to-body ratio
  • Size, weight & thickness, feels great to handle
  • great cameras (although I had the S20 + which is a little bit better when it comes to portrait mode)
  • great stereo speakers
  • 120 hz makes a real difference when scrolling down a page
  • sturdy build, impeccable finish quality
  • Samsung Pay works like a charm

Cons

  • battery life, especially if you use it to share your internet connection (it gets catastrophic)
  • tends to overheat a lot (I have the Exynos version)
  • the aspect ratio causes a lot of cropping in the image when watching youtube in full-screen mode
  • the leap from the S10 series is not that huge
  • maybe a differentiating, brand new feature would have been great, just to keep us excited about getting a new phone

Is this review helpful?

Report

LadyBella posted on Sep 10, 2020, 11:47 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 10, 2020

10.0

it s a 10

LadyBella has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Galaxy S20 has a 4,000mAh battery. It’s larger than the cell in the S10, and I find the battery life to be strong with typical use – this phone isn’t going to last you much longer than one day of normal use, but what smartphone does? I think is not fair not to give it a ten, that s the only thing why I wrote this review. You pay a 4000mAh battery, this what you get!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

MarkZ posted on Sep 10, 2020, 11:40 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 10, 2020

10.0

Perfect phone

MarkZ has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

A truly fantastic display, strong camera performance. This is the phone to get if you want to try out the new tech that Samsung has to offer, but you don’t want a large phone, or a large dent in your wallet. You could go for the Ultra if you want more storage or a 108MP camera, and can stretch to the price tag, but for day-to-day use the S20 is going to be the best choice for most people.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

Usatencu posted on Aug 21, 2020, 9:51 AM
Posts: 5; Member since: Mar 07, 2019

10.0

S20 plus

Usatencu has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Perfect phone, i have snapdragon version, everything it s working perfect, battery sometimes it s lasting two days, display it s gorgeous!! It s only one thing wich i don t like, glossy glass on the back, already they start with note 20 with mat

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

mattmatheo posted on May 01, 2020, 10:26 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 01, 2020

10.0

Fantastic

mattmatheo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The galaxy S20 its a amazing smartphone, i love the camera results and the system performance.
The build quality is excellent and the solidity of the set is exemplary.
My only criticism is that the battery life could be better.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • The amazing Screen
  • System speed
  • Construction
  • Cameras
  • Sound

Cons

  • Life battery
  • he heats up

mattmatheo alternatives:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Guzholt posted on Apr 29, 2020, 6:58 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 26, 2019

10.0

overall perfect

Guzholt has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

in a world in which to have more compact phones you have to give up on better specifications the galaxy s20 fills that gap.
the battery could be better, you will have to choose a battery that can last all day or the fluid 120hz screen that ends up consuming the juice quickly

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

KC2FYA posted on Nov 19, 2020, 10:57 AM
Posts: 3; Member since: Dec 19, 2013

9.0

5G S20 is Awesome.

KC2FYA has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Being experienced in Galaxy S-Phones, having owned the S7, S8, and S9. I like that it was loaded with Android 10 and Samsung UI 2.5 (since update). The battery life is good on Standby, but does drain with screen on. The resolution is really crisp and I keep it on the 1440 setting. The colors display very well. I like the charging status on the display. The Fingerprint reader is fussy.

The Dolby ATMOS is great with the supplied earphones. I use Tidal and the frequency response is real good, however needs more Bass. I wish the phone had a 3.5 mm jack or at least have an 3.5 mm to USB-C Adapter supplied. The speakerphone is good, the Dolby ATMOS works well when on speaker.

I have since had a TN SIM card installed and the 5G works great here, even the 4G LTE is good. I received the update on 9/26/2020 and like the frequent updates to security and operations. My signal strength is great where I use the phone (so far) and the speeds on 5G and 4G LTE+ is fast especially at night. My 5G Speeds as of 11/18/2020 are reading 320 Mbps + at night and 120 Mbps during the day, even during peak times.

I am glad to learn that Android 11, 12, & 13 will be available upon release. I use a screen protector and a rugged case for the phone. A glass protector is a must in my opinion, there is a thin protector out of the box, but it seems weak. The phone is light weight as well which is a plus.

I have been using the Camera a bit and am impressed with the photos. The 64 MP Setting is good,...  

Build quality
9.0
Good build, comes with a screen protector.
Reception
9.0
5G is improved as of 11/18/2020 over 300 MB Per Second Download.
Call quality
9.0
Nice audio, loud and crisp on earpiece and speaker.
Internet
8.0
Nice and fluid.
Multimedia
9.0
Dolby ATMOS is great, video quality is superb.
Camera
9.0
64 MP is very sharp. I am able to take great photos.
UI speed
9.0
Very fast, even on the 60Hz setting.
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Good keyboard. Sometimes laggy.
Display
9.0
Very crisp.
Battery
8.0
Standby is good, on screen time is fair.

Pros

  • Dolby ATMOS
  • Android 10 Out of the Box.
  • Charge status on screen.
  • Crisp Display
  • Good Camera, especially the 64 MP.

Cons

  • Battery life when screen is on.
  • Slippery without a case.
  • Fingerprint Scanner is intermittent.
  • Text input is slow at times.

KC2FYA alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless