Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra 5G User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

9.1

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality
9.7
Battery
9.2
Reception
9.5
Display
9.9
Build quality
9.4
Text input
9.3
Everyday usage
9.2
UI speed
9.6
Camera
8.3
Multimedia
9.5
Internet
9.5
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

AliceBee posted on Jun 16, 2020, 10:38 AM
Posts: 24; Member since: Mar 02, 2020

10.0

AMAZING!

AliceBee has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Incredible hardware and software! Phenomenal camera, and the recent update made it even better. Big and heavy, but still not as heavy as the biggest apple rival. For those with small hands or weak arms, better stick with a lightweight small option as this is a beast! Beautiful sound from the speakers, the screen is as good as it gets when you use 120 mhz, battery lasts more than a full day with regular use, I cannot say enough good things about the Ultra. I would love the massive camera island to be flush, but I use a UAG case so it protects it nicely. Funny how people complain about the price...if you can't afford it get something cheap or used. The price is the price, although I got mine for $700 after trade in thru Samsung. Pays to be a loyal customer.

Build quality
10.0
Flawless execution.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • All of them!

Cons

  • May be too big for small hands.

Is this review helpful?

Report

stferrari posted on Apr 26, 2020, 6:36 PM
Posts: 83; Member since: Dec 15, 2014

9.0

Big and bold in many ways

stferrari has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Fantabulous display, battery life, speed, in call sound quality and tactile response. Great camera overall with some focusing issues still but nothing horrible. I get very reasonable fingerprint recognition. Overall, extreamly pleased.

Build quality
10.0
Solid high end look and feel.
Reception
9.0
No issues found
Call quality
9.0
No complaints
Internet
8.0
4g great 5g a bit slow but I am sure that will improve over time
Multimedia
9.0
No issues found
Camera
9.0
Some minor issues
UI speed
10.0
Just lightning fast.
Everyday usage
10.0
Love it
Text input
9.0
Works well
Display
10.0
Just perfect.
Battery
10.0
Superb life and quick charge

Pros

  • Screen
  • Battery life
  • Tactile smoothness
  • Build quality

Cons

  • Camera focus even after update

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

TechNeck posted on Apr 22, 2020, 10:33 AM
Posts: 666; Member since: Aug 29, 2014

9.0

The (Almost) Perfect Android Phone

TechNeck has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

So far I have used the S20 Ultra for a little over a month and I have to say it has been an interesting experience using the device. Its large display is great for multimedia and gaming with its SuperAMOLED screen. The processing speeds are phenomenal and I have yet to experience any lag with the device. The battery life could be better while using 120Hz, but who am I to complain. The camera has been great at taking very high-quality photos, but it does have a few hits-and-misses when it comes to video recording, particularly with 8K recording. The focusing on that mode can be spotty at times and a recent update to help improve the performance of the camera did not really help much.

Overall, the S20 Ultra is a device I would recommend for people who want one of the latest and greatest of Android, but it is not a device for most people due to its pricing and some aspects of the device. So, if you were looking for a flagship from Samsung I would recommend the S20+ over this since it is more practical and cheaper with minuscule compromise.

Build quality
9.0
The Gorilla Glass front and back panels along with the aluminium frame gives a premium feel, but it can't really match the density of stainless steel like on it's Apple counterparts.
Reception
10.0
Never really had any reception issues due to being in a metropolitan area.
Call quality
10.0
People receiving my calls could hear me clearly without any issues. Never had any dropped calls either.
Internet
10.0
Blazing fast internet speeds from the S10 carried on with this phone and it's doing even better with 5G.
Multimedia
10.0
The amazing 6.9 inch display is vivid, crisp, and the contrast of the display makes it perfect for videos, gaming, web searching and more.
Camera
8.0
The 108x Space Zoom seems a bit gimmicky and I am still having some issues with 8K auto focusing after an update that rolled out, so there is still much to be desired from the cameras. Besides those gripes, the camera is a solid performer and it is a very good successor to the cameras on the S10+ 5G.
UI speed
10.0
OneUI 2.0 has been one of the best UIs I have used on a device. It is very quick with little to no lag, a plethora of customization is available for the user straight from the box, and it packs it in a clean design.
Everyday usage
7.0
It is honestly a very large device and its pocket-ability is really bad even for male pockets. It's just a very impractical device overall due to it's sheer size.
Text input
9.0
The large display is great for typing with two hands, but devices with smaller dimensions, such as the XS Max, allowed me to type with one hand.
Display
10.0
The 6.9 inch SuperAMOLED display on the S20 Ultra is one of the best in the industry right now. It has vivid colors, very deep contrast-y blacks, and it has a very bright display. Honestly one of the best displays I've used in a while.
Battery
9.0
It has a very large battery, which is great, but the 120Hz mode on the device does eat up the battery quite a bit.

Pros

  • 6.9'' 120Hz Display
  • Fast Network Speeds
  • Amazing Camera for Photos
  • Expandable Memory
  • 16 GB of RAM
  • Long Lasting Battery
  • Snappy UI & Graphics
  • Hefty Feel
  • Immensely Quick Charging Speeds

Cons

  • Sub-Par AF for Video
  • Unwieldy Size
  • Very Expensive

TechNeck alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

RoryBreaker posted on Apr 15, 2020, 8:54 AM
Posts: 418; Member since: Oct 11, 2015

10.0

Best Phone I've owned, but still not perfect

RoryBreaker has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great device, was hoping battery would have actually lasted longer than it does for me in real life situations. Screen is great, but I think a 90 Hz refresh rate as an option would have also been a nice idea. The minimized front facing camera & curved edges are welcomed changes coming from the S10.

Overall, Samsung once again has the best phone on the market!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Speed
  • Processing Beast
  • Camera
  • Charging
  • Screen
  • Always On Display Option

Cons

  • Heavy
  • Battery should last longer
  • 100x Zoom is a gimmck

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

tg1088 posted on Mar 29, 2020, 6:59 PM
Posts: 6; Member since: Apr 01, 2014

10.0

Top notch for Samsung's Galaxy S series

tg1088 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I really think this is the best phone from Samsung to date. The screen is large and crystal clear without the phone being too big (it's about the size of a Samsung Galaxy Note series phone). I love the camera but don't count on using the maximum 100x zoom... though, it's 0.5x to 30x zoom shots are amazing and very clear. The battery lasts me for an entire day with still about 20% of a charge after moderate to heavy usage. This phone isn't 100% perfect but it will deliver

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Display
  • Camera (0.5x, 1x, 2x, 4x, 5x, 10x, 30x zoom)
  • Battery life can last more than a day
  • 12 GB Ram
  • 128 GB storage + SD card slot for extra storage
  • Excellent UI and graphics
  • Super fast charging within an hour from 0%-100%

Cons

  • Camera at maximum 100x zoom doesn't live up
  • No 3.5 mm jack

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

muhammadattia1912 posted on Sep 28, 2020, 7:32 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 20, 2019

9.0

The almost really perfect phone

muhammadattia1912 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The phone is just enjoyable and great in every aspect , features , display , performane ( snapdragon version ) , camera ( really improved and not bothering after updates ) , i came from 11 pro 5.8 screen and for a while i felt the ultra big but now it seems to be normal or small at some times but really great phone.

Build quality
9.0
Display
10.0
Text input
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
UI speed
8.0
Camera
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Internet
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • The diplay is fabulous
  • snapdragon fixed the bad experience i had with s10 made me switch to iphone backthen
  • battery last me a full day
  • customization

Cons

  • the limitation to use wqhd with 120 hz , is very frustrating
  • camera algorithm need to be revised
  • maybe they need to either copy stock android or apple at ui design

Is this review helpful?

Report

robert7107 posted on Aug 21, 2020, 1:43 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 03, 2011

6.0

samsung dropped the ball on this one big time!!!

robert7107 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

wanted to love this phone and got wrapped up in the hype with the camera. not sure what the camera hump wasn't installed to go with the width of the phone. just makes it hard to charge on a wireless pad. color choices are terrible a grey an black that's it???

Build quality
7.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
1.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
6-7 hrs on screen time daily average

Pros

  • big bright screen
  • 120hz
  • big battery

Cons

  • camera
  • finger print magnet

robert7107 alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

DJOliverQueen posted on Apr 07, 2020, 2:16 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 07, 2020

10.0

The perfect phone

DJOliverQueen has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great product! Incredibly beautiful display and durable battery. The camera is also doing very well, but needs 1-2 more updates (problems with autofocus ) to be perfect. 120Hz is something you are addicted to and would never replace. The battery lasts more than a day and will not disappoint you.

Overall a great and finished product with no weaknesses (its only disadvantage is its high cost).

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • 120Hz Display
  • Excellent UI
  • The Camera
  • The Battery

Cons

  • The High Price

DJOliverQueen alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Wolfman90s posted on Apr 01, 2020, 3:08 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 01, 2020

10.0

Galaxy wins again

Wolfman90s has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

phone is great and what you'd expect from a galaxy. The camera zoom is a must have and pictures come out nice and sharp. Fingerprint scanner is great and facial recognition is good too. Phone is a must have if your into using a quality phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Great camera and great response time

Cons

  • YouTube videos are often blurry

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

theonlyone83 posted on Mar 31, 2020, 11:36 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 31, 2020

8.0

Too high of price for the problems. Would be great if it was cheaper.

theonlyone83 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had the phone for 3 weeks. It was fast, had great battery life. But the cons were to many for a 1600 price. The main reason I returned it was the weight. It my wrists hurt after a long phone call. It would fall off my magnetic car mount. I have have to wait on the s20 5g on Verizon. But thats what I plan on getting and it will fix most of my major issues.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
7.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Screen
  • battery life
  • speakers

Cons

  • Auto Focus even after the update
  • Weight
  • Gps location was spotty
  • Some messages wouldn't come in on wifi, some wouldn't come in on wireless network.
  • Auto brightness wasn't very responsive

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless