Samsung Galaxy S III T-Mobile User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.4

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
9.1
UI speed
9.7
Camera
9.3
Multimedia
9.7
Internet
9.7
Call quality
9.6
Battery
8.7
Reception
9.5
Display
9.1
Build quality
8.5
Text input
9.3
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

PapaSmurf posted on Jun 14, 2013, 8:51 AM
Posts: 10457; Member since: May 14, 2012

10.0

Galaxy S3

PapaSmurf has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Got this phone the day it came out. Simply put, best phone I've ever owned. Fast, fluid, no lag, great camera, and offers a remarkable user experience. Don't regret buying this phone off ccontract. :)

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Camera
  • Screen
  • Call Quality
  • Ease of Use
  • Fast, Fluid

Cons

No Cons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

reyenrique posted on Jan 17, 2013, 1:24 AM
Posts: 99; Member since: Oct 07, 2012

10.0

is a wonderful phone

reyenrique has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

first l will like to say thank you to samsung u did a great job on this phone is a great product the quality , the color on the display is only one word to say Wow, ,the call quality is great the camera is good , and the speed of the UI is awesome .samsung you did it great job on this great product an for the people who work on this phonel can say is a home run .Great work samsung

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • pros is a great phone to have

Cons

  • Ur kinding me no cons on this baby

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

wildcard posted on Jan 16, 2013, 11:20 AM
Posts: 65; Member since: Jan 15, 2013

10.0

awesome phone

wildcard has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

in my review this phone from Samsung is awesome better than all the phone l have in the past and until now it will better phone in the future but rigth now the samsung galaxySIII it rock the house everthing about this phone is awesome and my part this phone is 5 at all power and l will like to thank samsung for the work their did on this phone an the people of samsung for the great job their did an again thank u samsung great work an people who work on it like the engieering to make it posible an to produce this wonderful phone thank u samsung :)))

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
call quality is great is like lm talking next to the person next to me
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
is a great camera
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
the display is great
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • this have everything that you need ,you have it on this great a phone .

Cons

  • no cons on this phone

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

ray77 posted on Jan 16, 2013, 10:31 AM
Posts: 126; Member since: Nov 17, 2012

10.0

great phone to have

ray77 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it is a great phone an thank u Samsung having a great product, the quality is good the camera is great ,the display is awesome, plus the UI speed is fast,great work for the people who work for samsung ^-^

Build quality
10.0
is good in ur hands
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • it have really thing that u need on a phone an l have it in t mobile an in puerto rico it work great better than verizon

Cons

  • none at all

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

archangel9 posted on Oct 09, 2012, 10:13 AM
Posts: 233; Member since: Feb 07, 2010

10.0

G.O.A.T

archangel9 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

THIS PHONE IS THE BOMB!!PERIOD!!
After having the GS II/E4GT w/Sprint(CS/W/EU issues)I started looking at Tmobile around the same time VZW was courting me too.After extensive research and calculations I rolled with Magenta because1.)Customer service: Tmobile always have that. 2.)4g.VERY IMPRESSIVE!!42MBPS!!HSPA+!! Even in big buildings where my businesses takes me I'm still able to get a signal,although on EDGE ,but capable.This is why I would've gone with Verizon but Tmo is up to the task.3.)Rate plans.I jumped on board at the right time before 9/5/2012 because that's when Tmobile announce they will no longer throttle the data speeds or caps.Another win. I don't use data much except when browsing the web,check emails,IMs,watching YT videos or streaming music,tweeting ...VZW and ATT better take notice. And its everywhere unlike Sprint,who still using WiMax and it's sporadic an haven't got LTE nowhere here yet.(I meam cmon man I'm in S.FL). Also have UL T/T on the Value plan=69.99/mo.Plus in my house I can make calls or receive them over WiFi.
4.)The GS III is excellent on this network. As soon as I picked mine's up,my replacement Otterbox Defender case came in the mail(you defintely need to get a case for it)I have the Pebble Blue.2gig of RAM .8mp cam that can do burst,panorama,etc.Svoice,smart stay and my fave (drumroll)......NFC!!! Plus a 2100mAhbattery which I leave off the charger and still has 60%!!

SAMSUNG .JK Shin . Keep doing your thing and forget about the fruit.

Build quality
9.0
Plastic gets better radio reception than metal.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Everything is great

Cons

No Cons

Is this review helpful?

Report

Cha7520 posted on Oct 07, 2012, 11:39 AM
Posts: 222; Member since: Oct 31, 2010

10.0

Love my Samsung Galaxy S3

Cha7520 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Got this phone after having issues with my LG Nitro HD. Wow...its like night and day. First I have to say the Battery life is a LOT better on the GS3! The display is a pentile matrix arrangement, but the 720p display helps to not the pixelation. The phone never freezes up, over heats or reboots like my LG Nitro HD. The 4G LTE speeds are insane!!! Granted, I use wifi when I'm home because I only have 2GB of Data. I'm not surprised that this phone got the "Best Smartphone of 2012!!"

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Battery life
  • Speed

Cons

  • Pentile Matrix Display

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

wolverinexmen9 posted on Jul 03, 2013, 12:55 PM
Posts: 112; Member since: Mar 31, 2011

10.0

Samsung Galaxy S3

wolverinexmen9 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I LOVE THIS PHONE!!! Best phone ever made (so far... until S4 lol) Got this phone online for a little cheaper than from the store. 8MP camera with LED and auto-focus is great! Use the LED light as a flashlight (no app required- use widget.) The 4.8 screen is big compared to 3.8. Easy to text on. S-voice is alright but Google now is way better. There are so many features that come with phone I couldn't explain them all lol. Have Jelly Bean (4.1.2) right now. Makes clear calls and you can respond with message if you're busy. In conclusion, the phone is very light, making it easy to drop (I haven't dropped it yet). The phone gets VERY hot when brightness is up all the way, many open apps and using the browser. The volume key I'm still getting use to (it is moved down just a little bit than my old phone making it hard to find which is up and which is down). The original battery is great, but I bought an extended battery for it (7000mah!) Other than that, I LOVE THIS PHONE!!! *I have the 16GB, White Version.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Large screen
  • Great battery life

Cons

  • Slow on updates
  • Speaker could be a little louder

wolverinexmen9 alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

Wizard posted on Aug 15, 2013, 6:32 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 15, 2013

6.0

Positive reviews are old. Just like this machine. And is compromised at close-up..

Wizard has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Wizard has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Fine if u only look at the display from a distance, don't shoot photo's indoors, don't mind upgrades are delayed to not outshine S4, and 'quadcore' sounds better than dualcore when recent dualcores are much faster.

- Display has only green dots in 720p: red and blue are only half 720p. And shows notable green shade at even slight angles :(
- CPU and GPU are old: newer dualcores outperform S3
- Updates are held back to favour S4
- Camera only shines in bright light: is easily outperformed by my old Xperia Ray from 2010 (and was half the price)
- Build quality is fragile and lacks finesse. Even my old Ray has aluminum sides, and will withstand regular drops 10 times better.

Flagship?? Even in 2012? I don't see it. My Xperia Ray did everything I could possibly want and need, and thios was not an improvement. Sent it back. Especialy costing 3x what I payed for my old Xperia Ray, early 2012

Build quality
2.0
Plastic, flimsy, not premium materials
Reception
7.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
2.0
Quite poor in low light conditions
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
7.0
Display
2.0
misses half the red and blue dots: not 720p by a long mile. And has red/green shades at even slight angles. Disapointing for a (formar) flagship..
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Great user interface
  • great camera performance in bright light
  • Makes you feel happy because everyone has it

Cons

  • - quadcore outperformed by dualcores
  • - camera useless in low light
  • - trails on S4 for opdates
  • - Screen is nowhere near 720p and has red/green shine at even slight angles
  • - cheap and fragile build
  • - in general: does everything your old and cheaper phone did too.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

richardbrentm posted on Oct 17, 2012, 3:39 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 17, 2012

8.0

It is a great phone.....but.....

richardbrentm has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It is a great phone except the home button is a pain and the entire phone is really cheap feeling. It doesn't have the feel of quality like my old HTC G2. Electronically it is tops but I have to say that the screen is really too fragile, even with gorilla glass my phone got a crack and i don't even know how as i didn't drop it or abuse it in anyway and they charge a real fortune to replace the screen as it is a whole unit

Build quality
6.0
Feels cheesy
Reception
8.0
I get great reception as I live in a large city with lots of TMobile reception on any device I have used
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
5.0
It is really too big for men unless they have a jacket pocket to carry it is. It is a little bit like wearing a pen protector if you keep it in a shirt pocket and if you bend over you have to reach up to keep it from falling out. It is perfect for women who would carry it in a purse
Text input
5.0
the keyboard it a bit small if you have large fingers
Display
10.0
Battery
6.0
It could use a bigger battery as it is not very good for battery life if you want to carry and use it all day unless you want to turn off the internet browser.

Pros

  • beautiful large picture

Cons

  • Large screen is fragile and incredibly expensive if you break it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

mellow_turtle posted on Sep 16, 2012, 3:06 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 16, 2012

10.0

best phone

mellow_turtle has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

phone is really nice, at first i thought it would be too big but it is like a perfect size. phone is very fast but does get hot fast when playing high end games, wish the battery was bigger thats pretty much the only bad thing but 2 gb of ram makes up for it

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

HG305 posted on Aug 10, 2012, 8:45 PM
Posts: 4; Member since: Jan 17, 2012

9.0

Amazing Phone

HG305 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone has the speed: data and UI. Although I think that T-Mobile put in a bunch of bloat, it's nothing that a quick root can't fix.
The camera is amazing, the phone is fast, and the data speeds are great.
The battery is bad though. No usage during the whole night would lose me 1.5%/hour (unlike my old MyTouch). I wake up with 93% in 6 hours of sleep.

T-Mobile did get into the system. They took out the Android wireless tethering and input their own (which works, but too much control over my device).

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Battery drain.
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Fast UI
  • Fast Data speed
  • Screen is bigger and better
  • Cameras (front and back)
  • Has "Power Saving" mode
  • Has Samsung built-in "Motion" which is AMAZING
  • Skinny
  • Accessories
  • Hopefully upgraded to Android 4.1

Cons

  • Battery
  • T-Mobile tainted
  • No 16GB, 12GB instead

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.