Samsung Galaxy Pocket User Reviews

Overall user rating

6.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet
6.2
Call quality
7.1
Battery
6.6
Reception
7.1
Display
5.4
Build quality
6.9
Text input
6.1
Everyday usage
6.6
UI speed
5.5
Camera
5.2
Multimedia
6.1
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

87thobee posted on Nov 12, 2014, 9:13 AM
Posts: 10; Member since: Aug 02, 2014

8.0

Not the best but it did its job

87thobee has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Fist 3 months with it were ok, but every second after was dreadful. Internet experience is bad, camera is awful. The UI is old, slow, just awful and there no way to get an update OTA other than using a CustomRom. The screen is to small to type and see what you are writing at the same time. The OS can't score me any of the latest games and gaming experience is bad. The phone tought me a lot about the Android OS and since it was my first smartphone, it tought me about smartphones in general. Would I recommend it to anyone, not in this day and age. So glad the nightmare is over. Although, for a low-range smartphone is March 2012, its not all that bad. But technology has gotten so much better and even while I had this phone, I had a desire for all the premium smartphones that were available and I felt at thou there were to many better phones out there.

Build quality
6.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
9.0
Display
7.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Good low-end phone

Cons

  • Very outdated even for a low-end phone today

87thobee alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

carilotoz posted on Oct 29, 2012, 6:36 AM
Posts: 12; Member since: Jul 31, 2012

6.0

pretty good!!!!!!!!!

carilotoz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it is more than good because of course it is android 2.3.6.

and it has 3 gb intral memory and you can put a microsd memory.

the camera is not very bad.

it has a good processor 832mhz.

small screen but little good.

typing is possible especially in landscape.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
5.0
Display
5.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • battery
  • build quality
  • call quality
  • multi touch

Cons

  • camera
  • small screen

carilotoz alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

meto402 posted on Aug 24, 2014, 7:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 24, 2014

6.0

It's been nice in 2012-2013

meto402 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I got it in 2012 and used in until 2013 and it was my first smartphone I ever owned and I learned a lot of things about android from it!
It used to be a very nice phone back in the day, but now it's just nothing more than a device you can use to browse Facebook or watch videos. Gaming is not possible! :/

Build quality
4.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
5.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
7.0
Display
5.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • It can survive a large drop
  • Small size
  • Has basic things a smartphone must have

Cons

  • Extremely Slow CPU
  • Extremely low RAM
  • Extremely Slow GPU
  • Small screen
  • Low Pixel Density
  • Not much games can run on it
  • Bad battery (Can last max 1 day)
  • Bad camera
  • Android 2.3.7
  • Low build quality
  • Slow UI
  • Bad WIFI signal
  • It's very thick

Is this review helpful?

Report

heino861 posted on Jun 27, 2014, 3:23 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 27, 2014

6.0

Although it is cheap, it is still better than a BlackBerry

heino861 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

If you want a phone, for temporary use, than this is the phone for you as it does every basic thing. You can download games and social networking apps on the play store, this is not recommended as this phone does not perform well when overloaded with apps. It will cope with your bear necessities with no problem.

Build quality
6.0
After a while the lock button wears out, but otherwise its though
Reception
6.0
Not that bad considering its price tag, struggles to obtain 3G signal
Call quality
6.0
Not too bad, clarity could have been better
Internet
6.0
Not bad but not great
Multimedia
4.0
Only supports a low number of multimedia formats.
Camera
5.0
To be expected of a budget phone
UI speed
4.0
The processor is to be blamed here as it is slow.
Everyday usage
6.0
Restarting the phone on a daily basis would be best, although ROOT'ing the device would be better.
Text input
5.0
The Lack of RAM size sometimes causes the text input to be slow or unresponsive.
Display
6.0
Its okay just leave it at that.
Battery
7.0
Last exceptionally long on 2G

Pros

  • Cheap, but still better than a BlackBerry!

Cons

  • The fact that it is cheap makes you jealous of more expensive android phone users

Is this review helpful?

Report

abboud_eng posted on Jan 01, 2013, 4:55 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Nov 09, 2012

4.0

bad and so bad

abboud_eng has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

bad phone with low of ram ,pixel density , features ,size , performance , and too small battery life its just an electronic phone to put in pocket or to say i have a phone . but dont ask me what is it

Build quality
5.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
5.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
4.0
Everyday usage
4.0
Text input
4.0
Display
3.0
Battery
3.0

Pros

  • nothing

Cons

  • small screen
  • small battery
  • low pixel density
  • low quality build
  • low ram

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

TheBcoolGuy posted on Nov 26, 2012, 10:38 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Nov 26, 2012

6.0

I don't have it, my friend does.

TheBcoolGuy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

So one of my friends, who wants to stay internet anonymous, bought this phone because he wanted to have a reliable durable phone. He didn't care that much about features. He said: "Yeah, I like it because it's pretty cheap, durable, fills your needs and has a nice touch screen." His former phone was some really old phone.
P.S. It's him rating this over the phone. I'm just typing it.

Build quality
9.0
It won't budge.
Reception
7.0
It's decent. It's a little slow, but it works.
Call quality
7.0
You can hear it well, but it's not super good.
Internet
6.0
An overall good experience.
Multimedia
5.0
I can't say good nor bad.
Camera
3.0
Pretty low resolution and too sensitive.
UI speed
5.0
It slides pretty well, it's not the best you can get, but it's still nice.
Everyday usage
7.0
I like the kind of simplicity but at the same time, the kind of complex system. I cannot explain it.
Text input
7.0
Because of the, (with these day's standards), small screen, it's a little hard to type, but when I tried Bcool's Samsung GS2, I had the same problem, but not as much.
Display
5.0
It does a decent job, but it is hard to see in sunlight.
Battery
9.0
It lasts for a really long time, even if I use it all the time.

Pros

  • Battery life
  • Durability
  • Pocket sized
  • Calls

Cons

  • Screen response to sunlight
  • Small screen
  • Camera
  • Internet

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

WWEraw posted on Jul 10, 2012, 12:58 PM
Posts: 3; Member since: Jun 30, 2012

7.0

samsung

WWEraw has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is basical samsug desing and that same boring android
Screen is so small that i cant even write on it , maybe it is desinget for "to fit it in your pocket" but it is maybe a litle too small. Good phone .

Build quality
8.0
fits in your pocket
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
7.0
android
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
6.0
low resolutionaly only 2 mpix
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
5.0
so small screen
Display
5.0
low resulotion
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • battery
  • fits to pocket

Cons

  • screen
  • camera

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

joven.solamoir posted on Dec 18, 2012, 7:15 AM

7.0

It's a good phone

joven.solamoir has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

it's really a good phone for me, my mother don't want for anyone to know about this, i don't know why but, i can easily hide this phone to my pocket, because it's a pocket sized phone
i don't really want to hide this phone but my mother said so...
and even when i download apps in the app store i always hide from everybody else.....

Build quality
8.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
6.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
7.0
Display
7.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • battery
  • multi touch
  • can be easily hidden(pocket size)
  • durabilty
  • sd card slot

Cons

  • small screen
  • no light sensor

joven.solamoir alternatives:

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.