Samsung Galaxy On5 User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.5

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception
8.5
Display
8.8
Build quality
8.5
Text input
8.8
Everyday usage
7.8
UI speed
7.8
Camera
7.5
Multimedia
9.0
Internet
8.5
Call quality
8.8
Battery
8.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

jlippolis posted on Apr 11, 2017, 2:40 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 11, 2017

5.0

Very Budget Smartphone

jlippolis has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Paid $50 for the Galaxy On5 from a local retailer and was not impressed. I would only recommend to someone who does not use their phone for many downloaded apps or for camera usage.

Good - I like the physical function buttons on a Galaxy phone. Even with low PPI I thought the screen looked nice and video quality was decent. Battery life is decent.

The rest - This is only an 8 GB phone of which Android 6 takes half. After you install FB and messenger you are only left with a few GB which in theory shouldn't be a huge deal with external storage. But most apps cannot be moved external and Android Adoptable storage is not supported on this phone. So I could only install a few other apps to use and was getting out of space errors daily even with deleting cache, temp files, etc. My other complaint is that the 1.5 GB Ram is not sufficent to run multiple Android apps. There is a lag switching between them and moving from field to field in any app was slow. Web browsing was slow. You name it, slow. Camera was lacking in most situations.

Again, if you don't use your phone for much and don't care about photo quality, you can get this phone for next to nothing but otherwise, it's just not worth it. If you want to stay with Samsung, opt for the J7 or higher at a minimum.

Build quality
6.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
5.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
4.0
Everyday usage
3.0
Text input
6.0
Display
7.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Inexpensive

Cons

  • Insufficent Memory
  • Slow
  • Poor Camer

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Report

KC2FYA posted on Nov 26, 2016, 12:29 PM
Posts: 3; Member since: Dec 19, 2013

9.0

Good Phone (Metro PCS variant).

KC2FYA has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have the On5 for five months now and I have to say that it is a very good budget phone. I went with Metro PCS on a switch deal and got the On5 for FREE! The audio in the earpiece and the speakerphone is superb. I like the "extra volume" feature especially in outdoor settings. It also came out of the box with Android Marshmallow 6.0.1 installed.

The HD display is pretty good for a TFT display. The responsiveness of the touch screen is laggy sometimes. But it is not an AMOLED display, so it is good enough. The battery lasts longer than I expected. I still have about 80% at days end with light to moderate usage.

The headphone audio with the supplied music effects is nice sounding with my music or on I-Heart. The camera is a bit better than previous phones with a 5 MP Main and 2 MP front selfie, the main camera is worse than I expected from a Samsung phone.

Overall, I am pleased with the phone. I elected to get a screen protector and a hard case which I recommend since the On5 does not have Gorilla Glass, it has Dragontail Glass. There is no notification LED, but there is a camera flash and vibrate feature for notifications. Hope this helps someone out.

Build quality
8.0
Back Cover is a bit fragile, one could easily crack it. I opted to get a hard shell case for it.
Reception
10.0
Strong Siganals in my area, 20 MB + Download speeds.
Call quality
10.0
Call audio and tone is excellent. The "Extra Volume" feature is useful outdoors.
Internet
9.0
I get fast internet with 4G LTE.
Multimedia
9.0
I-Heart and Videos are handled well.
Camera
6.0
I am very disappointed with the cameras on this phone. Pictures are grain based even on the 5 MP setting.
UI speed
9.0
Pretty good, but will lag once in a while.
Everyday usage
9.0
Good every day device. I use it for weather information and it is a great weather companion.
Text input
9.0
Very intuitive supplied keyboard. Predictive text is working very well, it remembers phrases as well as words often used.
Display
9.0
Good for a TFT display.
Battery
9.0
Lasts long, still have over 80% at days end. This includes having the 4G LTE on all day as opposed to switching manually from 3G to 4G.

Pros

  • 1.5 GB of RAM
  • Intuitive Keypad/Keyboard
  • Good call Quality
  • Good feel
  • Removable Battery
  • Long Battery Life even with 4G

Cons

  • 8 GB of ROM
  • Low Ringers (supplied)
  • Poor Cameras
  • Back Cover could easily break

KC2FYA alternatives:

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

abhishekahuja238 posted on May 06, 2016, 7:09 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 28, 2016

10.0

Nice Smartphone

abhishekahuja238 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Samsung Galaxy On5 is an excellent smartphone at affordable price. It comes with 5-inch HD (720x1280 pixel) TFT display, 1.3GHz quad-core Exynos 3475 processor, 1.5GB RAM, 8-megapixel rear autofocus camera together with a 5-megapixel front camera.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Report

swatikhanna posted on Mar 16, 2016, 7:24 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 11, 2016

10.0

Best Smartphone

swatikhanna has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have been using this phone since 2 months and I must say it is an excellent phone with a decent price range. The major pro is that it comes with a Ram of 1.5 gb so there are hardly any memory issues and far better as what other mobile companies in this range are offering. The camera quality is good too with 5 mp front camera. The battery backup is decent and can run upto 10 hrs. Android 5.1 version and the touch is really awesome. Overall a very cost effective deal keeping you pocket in mind.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Best Camera
  • 1.5 GB RAM
  • Good Battery Backup
  • Pocket friendly Rates
  • stylish

Cons

No Cons

18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.