Samsung Galaxy Core Prime User Reviews

Overall user rating

6.5

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera
6.3
Multimedia
6.5
Internet
6.7
Call quality
7.3
Battery
6.7
Reception
8.0
Display
6.3
Build quality
6.5
Text input
5.5
Everyday usage
7.0
UI speed
7.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

caleb.crf posted on Nov 04, 2017, 5:57 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 04, 2017

6.0

Okay Phone for a Child or Older Person

caleb.crf has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for nearly a year as my second driver. I basically just took this phone wherever I went where I might break my main phone. The phone would always crash and have to restart it (for me). Apps like Instagram and Facebook would always stop working. Can't really recommend this phone to anyone.

Build quality
4.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
4.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
2.0
Display
7.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Light
  • Small
  • SD Card Slot
  • Removable Battery
  • Physical Buttons
  • Long Charger

Cons

  • Cheap Plastic Build
  • Terrible Word Check
  • Bad Camera
  • Backfiring Speaker
  • Small Internet Range
  • SMS Messages Don't Always Send
  • Charging Cord Built Into Brick

caleb.crf alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

jacobturk99 posted on Nov 01, 2017, 7:42 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 01, 2017

5.0

Samsung Galaxy Core Prime

jacobturk99 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The guy told me it was designed for the elderly, I am not elderly. Although this was my first smartphone, it did not have sufficient storage, the camera took very poor looking pictures, and you didn't even dare use the front camera. All in all, just a cheap phone.

Build quality
6.0
Plastic-y feel and loose buttons
Reception
10.0
Worked great if not better than other phones
Call quality
9.0
Internet
6.0
Tiny screen, slow loading times
Multimedia
4.0
Horrible screen resolution
Camera
4.0
God-awful 5mp REAR camera
UI speed
4.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
5.0
No taptic feedback
Display
2.0
Battery
3.0

Pros

  • Small size

Cons

  • Poor screen quality
  • Only 4 gigabytes of usable storage
  • Poor camera quality
  • Cheap feel

Is this review helpful?

Report

Fastcar800 posted on Jan 24, 2016, 10:24 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 31, 2015

7.0

Core Essentials

Fastcar800 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Samsung Galaxy Core Prime is now over a year old, but it would be unfair to instantly discount it as a mediocre phone. For this review, I'm looking at the Verizon variant running on Android 5.1.1.
The first thing we see, as with any phone, is the physical build. While this device may not use expensive, flashy materials, it has a very sturdy build with it's removable plastic back and aluminum siding. It doesn't feel cheap, nor does it look as such.
Once we turn it on, the story changes a bit. We're greeted by a screen that isn't very bright, sharp and doesn't produce vibrant colors at all. It gets the job done, but doesn't match up to its competitors.
Luckily, the phone its fairly snappy with basic operations. It managed to score 27K on AnTuTu, which isn't bad, even beating it's slightly larger variant, the Galaxy Grand Prime. Of course, don't expect to do heavy gaming on this budget phone.
The camera is efficient, but doesn't have good low light performance. The front camera is also rather pixelated.
The battery is decent, getting me through a full day with light usage without too many issues. The battery is also removable, so you can always insert a new one.
Multimedia isn't too enjoyable as a result of the low-res display, but it gets the job done. If you find yourself needing more than the 8GBs provided for media, there's a microSD slot behind its back.
Overall, this is my primary device, and while it has its issues, it's a fine phone for a person on a budget. Sadly, there...  

Build quality
9.0
Sturdy, pleasing design.
Reception
9.0
No problems here due to its 4G LTE coverage.
Call quality
6.0
Loud, but not as clear as it should be.
Internet
8.0
No major issues.
Multimedia
6.0
Poor display hinders the experience.
Camera
6.0
A 'meh' performance.
UI speed
9.0
Snappy and fluid.
Everyday usage
8.0
No major issues, fun to use.
Text input
7.0
Predictive text could be better.
Display
4.0
Worst part of the phone: poor colors, low brightness.
Battery
7.0
Gets the job done.

Pros

  • Snappy performance
  • Sturdy build
  • Low price
  • Removable battery
  • MicroSD slot

Cons

  • Poor display
  • Subpar camera

Fastcar800 alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Nashypear posted on Dec 20, 2015, 6:50 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 20, 2015

10.0

Best Phone Ever

Nashypear has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is an incredible phone with a great display, camera and build quality. I have thoroughly enjoyed having this phone and have enjoyed the simplicity of its nature. I am to congradulate samsung on its great success with this phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Report

lisawestvalley posted on Oct 08, 2015, 2:45 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 08, 2015

4.0

one bar where 2 other phones have 3 or more, ridiclously pitiful word check

lisawestvalley has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Guess some phones sometimes don't get reception at some locations. This is one, where at my mother's home I got no reception, where two much older phones had 3 or more bars. So useless sometimes. Also seems text messages and emails and other calls didn't go through.
The spellcheck is pitiful. Type in nost instead of most, and it only lists words beginning with the letter N. half of all misspelled words fit this category.
The case seems sturdy enough. Only some chargers work on it. It comes with a short white electric cord, and a short USB cord.
Got from PCSmobile for cheap, didn't know they had no warranty with it, even tho I went to the store 3 times in the first week with problems.

Build quality
5.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
4.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
5.0
Text input
1.0
Display
6.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • seems sturdy body
  • 8 gb, plus a sim card
  • smallest cell phone I could find with the biggest RAM

Cons

  • only some usb chargers work with it
  • can't get calls in some areas
  • seems i'm missing text messages and calls
  • predictive text is pitifully poor
  • cannot transfer most stuff to SD card

lisawestvalley alternatives:

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

vidhisharma posted on Apr 22, 2015, 4:41 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 22, 2015

7.0

Awesome .

vidhisharma has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Its very nice which i bought from MosKart.com at the lowest price in India so hurry and shop now at this link :https://moskart.com/samsung-galaxy-core-prime-dua​l-sim-white.
Which is the best online electronic store.

Build quality
5.0
Reception
6.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

9 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.