LG VX-5200 User Reviews Back

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Joe Smith posted on Aug 26, 2008, 9:09 PM

8.3

Oldie but Goodie!

This was my phone for over two years and I have nothing but good things to say about it.  Sure it sucks compared to the phones of today and the features are pathetic, but I never had a single problem with it.  I recently got a new phone (LG Dare) and honestly like this one a lot more.  I'm looking for a updated version of a phone like this, and am leaning toward the 750 or the Chocolate 3.  If all else fails I guess I can always go back to this bad boy!

Pros

  • - Awesome basic phone all around
  • - Good call quality
  • - No gadgets/gimmicks that could possibly fail
  • - TOUGH AS NAILS!!! I dropped this phone numerous times and it still looks good as new

Cons

  • - Photo quality leaves something to be desired
  • - I wish it had a separate key for the speaker phone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

k00lkid posted on Aug 11, 2008, 12:37 PM

4.2

not all that great

i liekd the lil blue color of thsi phone..
thats about it.
it was a small phone that i had for about 5 months. thats the shortest ive ever lasted with a phone. its just a regular phone
nothing special

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Suzette Cox posted on Apr 02, 2008, 8:09 PM

9.2

Great phone

I have had this phone for almost 2 years. Got it free whe my son got a motorazer. This phone worked better than his phone any day. Kept a charge for a week at a time. No dropped calls and nothing went wrong with the screen. Upgraded to a Krazer this week and the battery in it didn't last a day. Not good. Thinking of going back to my old phone which is still in great shape!!!!!

Is this review helpful?

Report

b posted on Mar 18, 2008, 8:55 PM

3.8

no

This phone is aweful even if it's free don't ever get one. big, bulky, aweful screen, just lame all around

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

AJ posted on Nov 01, 2007, 11:56 PM

5.6

... AHHHH

This phone is very troubling to me. It's the only phone i've ever owned, but soon after i got it, i quickly became interested in others. The design was ok, the keys were mediocre, camera kinda sucked. I had this phone for about 6 months, but then it broke because i accidentally dropped it in the poo. Obviously my fault, but then when the company sent me another one, it just kept breaking and breaking. Iim glad they discontinued this one

Is this review helpful?

Report

claire posted on Oct 27, 2007, 9:53 AM

6.8

I wouldn't buy it again.

In the two years I had this phone I had it replaced twice.
Minor things like the screen staying blue and the phone ringing while on silent I could deal with. But then in the middle of me sending a text msesage it completely froze and wouldn't get off of the startup screen.
THEN another time the screen would be black when I opened it, and like someone else said, it worked better after throwing it at the wall.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Brandi Lechowicz posted on Apr 01, 2007, 10:44 AM

7.6

Its An OK Phone

I had minor issues with this phone. Not to the point of wanting an exchange. But they are annoying. First the display would be blue or white when I would flip it open, easily fixed either by closing it or shutting it off. Then it started to ring while on silent for either text messages or just someone calling. Other than that, its a sturdy phone. I threw it against a tree a couple weeks ago, and it works great. Actually works better.

Is this review helpful?

Report

backdown posted on May 17, 2006, 10:24 AM

9.0

bad phone? or has it been reviewed by ignorant fools?

This is a very good phone, to all the users who complain about features wearing down battery life, what is your problem? if you dont use the features, they dont wear down anything! My battery last 3 days without the phone being turned off, or charged at all. Then to the ones that complain about its size...the phone size is fine, if you cant handle it's size, it's because you are a moron. go back to carrying a briefcase phone and a car battery if you cant handle having a decent sized phone. As for the dropped calls, that doesnt happen unless your in A) Prison B) the subway or C) you tried using your phone while you were swimming. all which are your fault and prove how retarded you are.

Is this review helpful?

Report

livingnc posted on Feb 20, 2006, 8:04 PM

7.2

Loud LCD Screen

My major pet peeve with this phone, and the reason I exchanged it, is that the LCD screen emits an annoying high pitched sound. The best way to describe it is a high pitched whine with a splash of white noise. Granted most LCDs carry a certain amount of noise, but this was loud enough that it made listening to calls specially difficult. The background noise emitted made people sound muffled.
As far as everything else goes I liked the phone, easy to use, has adequate features for its price range.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

dta posted on Jan 12, 2006, 12:34 AM

8.0

not a bad cell phone...

I bought one for half price and got a second one free. It does everything I want and is very easy to use, even my wife can figure out how to use it without my assistance. The resolution of the camera and the display is not very good, but I'm not into the hi-tech gadgets with lots of bell's and whistle's. $50.00 for two phones, you can't beat it. I don't have problems with receptions and drop calls. But, I am concern about battery life. LG's are notorious for faulty batteries. Hope they fixed it by now.

Is this review helpful?

Report

COOP posted on Jan 10, 2006, 8:08 AM

5.2

VX5200

THIS FONE DROPPED CALLS, MISSED CALLS, CUT IN-AND-OUT CONSTANTLY. LUCKILY, WE WERE IN OUR 15 DAY WORRY FREE...(YEA RIGHT) LIKE THAT MEANS SOMETHING!!! I HAD TO BITCH TILL I GOT A DIFFERENT ONE. I WANT TO CHANGE PROVIDERS BUT DON'T WANT TO JUMP FROM THE FIRE INTO THE FRYING PAN!! DON'T KNOW REALLY WHERE TO GO?

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Neo posted on Dec 03, 2005, 12:20 PM

7.8

Decent enough with plenty of features...

There are some people who prefer to have all the "bells and whistles" when it comes to phones. Such as Mp3, Video playback, etc... This phone does not have the high end features like the hundred dollar models however, it is decent enough for the average user or middle class person(s). This phone is equipped with VGA camera, Internet Browsing, and Custom ringtones. This is a very simple phone to use for anybody.

The LG VX 5200 (or 6200 in Canada) delievers what it promises, good RF frequency, good internet browsing capabilites, decent camera functions (considering its not even a megapixel!), and added features. My only hope is that it will last me long enough just like my previous phone to Moto V60i which lasted me two years. Good bye V60, and hello 6200.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Lg 5200 posted on Nov 13, 2005, 3:25 PM

6.0

BAD FONE!!

I just brok my fone, the VX 6100. I honostly think that the 5200 is crap! it is the shitiest fone out right now! and Verizon isnt that great because i wanted to get an new fone but they are making me pay full price and that isnt good! i have warenty and they still make me pay 50 bucks fo the fone! i think verizon is the most fucked up serivece, they should at least let me take a fone that i need lyke wtf
get a life VERIZON and fuck off!!

LOVE AND HATED BY Eshaan Aroura

Is this review helpful?

Report

Donald Crater posted on Oct 03, 2005, 2:23 AM

8.6

LG VX 5200

I like it's ease of use. I am hard of hearing, so the ringtones are loud enough for me not to have missed calls.
Everything about the phone is so simple to use.

Is this review helpful?

Report

whatever posted on Sep 26, 2005, 10:53 PM

5.2

didn't expect much

didn't expect muhc, didn't get much. feels too small and slippery in the hand. too lightweight. has features i could care less about to be honest. i just needed a good phone but got this other garbage that'll just wear out my battery quicker. for $50 it's okay i guess, it works. motorola has way better phones for the money and they're more solidly built and fill the hand better. should have stuck with what i knew to be a good brand instead of going for an lg.

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless