Kyocera Slider Remix KX5 User Reviews Back

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Erica posted on Nov 11, 2008, 3:18 PM

5.7

DON"T BUY!

I thought I was the only person with the ear piece thingy! The back button stopped working on me too. I've had to get it fixed 2 times at $20 each time. The third time I had to get it fixed, for the same reason, I used the insurance to get a new one. Which, by the way, still sucks. I haven't had the ear thing happen yet, but the phone turns off on me all the time and the battery life on the phone sucks!

Pros

  • cool looking

Cons

  • ear piece goes out, turns off automatically, back button goes out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Gina posted on Aug 09, 2008, 5:36 PM

8.4

great phone

this phone has treated me well for 2 years but has recently broke. the earpiece went out and i had to talk through speaker phone and the power button broke. but when i did had it the features were amazing and the picture quality was the BEST! the best camera phone there is in my opinion

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Karlee posted on Jul 08, 2008, 3:02 PM

5.2

Mmm not so good

I recieved this phone a year ago and I have had to send it in multiple times to be repaired. It still freezes everytime I turn it on so everytime i have to take out the battery for a few seconds then try it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

ashley posted on Jun 14, 2008, 1:02 PM

7.4

eh

the phone is a little thick, but other than that it's pretty cool looking. I got the phone back around January, and about a month ago (may) my ear piece stopped working completely. I have speaker, but I don't like talking on speaker! the menu sometimes messes up, gets kind of slow. Its getting to where it sticks when I slide it open/close. I loved the phone when I got it, and the MP3 player made it totally worth it lol, those are the only problems I have had so far...

Is this review helpful?

Report

Steven Ellis posted on May 30, 2008, 2:22 AM

10.0

The Best

To make a long story short the phone is amazing.

Is this review helpful?

Report

riss posted on Apr 06, 2008, 6:34 AM

7.4

cant hear through ear speaker

This phone is great. And i really do not want to have to replace it. However Ive had this phone for almost three years and the ear speaker has gone out. I am only able to hear and incoming or outgoing call through the speaker phone. The reason why it is hard to give this phone up is because the features are great. The volume on on the phone is great and the features are pretty good. However my service provider says that it is going to cost about 60+ some dollars to get the speaker fixed and is going to take about six weeks to have it shipped and back.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Shane OBrien posted on Jan 30, 2008, 7:14 PM

3.6

Don't Buy A KX5!

I bought this phone 1 year and 2 weeks ago. I have had the ear speaker wire replaced after 6 months while under warranty and now that it is 2 weeks out of warranty the wire broke again!! I love the features on this phone, but it is not very reliable mechanically. Look at purchasing a phone that is not a slider. Repair Department tells me that this is a common issue with this phone. It is caused from the opening and closing of the phone and eventually the wire connecting the bottom of the phone to the ear speaker breaks inside. I moved on to a RAZR now, don't know how good it will be but it can't be any worse than talking on the speaker phone all the time!

Is this review helpful?

Report

Malind posted on Dec 05, 2007, 4:02 PM

3.6

Worst Phone Ever!

i hate this phone. i'm on my second one because it was replaced, not because i wanted another. the earpiece at the top of the phone break (twice now). the camera is not good quality. the cover for the headphone jack will not stay in without super glue! the battery cover is now taped on because it broke off. the silver around the OK button is chipping off. the speaker quality is HORRIBLE, and it doesnt store anymore than 2 downloaded ringtones. also if u want to use it for the MP3 player, don't, it is not set up for user friendly listening. and it does not store many text messages. dont get this phone save ur money and buy something much cooler.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Sherell posted on Nov 21, 2007, 6:08 AM

2.8

Very Bad Phone

This is my 3rd phone Slder Remix & the same thing happens on all of em. 1 the speaker goes out, so i either have to talk on spker or use blutooth which i hate// 2nd my back, right & down button does not wrk & thats a very BIG inconvience.......This is a major malfunction// waste of of my 233.32 got it like a year ago

Is this review helpful?

Report

Carrie posted on Sep 28, 2007, 8:54 AM

4.6

No speaker...!?

I bought this phone nearly a year ago. About three months ago (June-ish) I started having problems with it. I went to answer a call and noticed that the earpiece speaker wouldn't work unless the phone was slid closed. Over the next few days this quickly progressed. Eventually I couldn't hear out of the phone no matter what, I had to stick to using my blue tooth exclusively to use my phone. It's degeneration continued even further to random keys not working. I could answer calls by hitting the soft key that said answer, but NOT the green answer key- that didn't work. Further more, I couldn't dial a number if it wasn't in my phonebook because I couldn't hit the send button. Text messaging was impossible because I couldn't hit the back key, or the forward key. These were the problems I had with my FIRST one, I called the insurance that I had put on it, and they replaced it with the same exact model phone, and just a few months later, it's doing almost the same exact thing. The buttons work perfectly right now (knock on wood) but I can't hear anything without my head set again. As of this morning, my phone won't ring anymore either so unless it's on vibrate, or my headset is actually IN my ear I don't know I'm recieving a call. I would strongly recommend you NOT purchase this phone. It's malfunction is apparently a problem with the phone, not the user.

Is this review helpful?

Report

aneeka posted on Aug 20, 2007, 11:29 AM

5.6

hate it!!

after a few months of purchasing this phone my buttons stopped working well some of them the ear spaeaker stopped working and the screen started to turn white errythin else works good but i do0nt like tyalkin on speaker all the time!! and wen textin its hard not to use the bacc button and the down and right button !!!

Is this review helpful?

Report

Ben posted on Apr 30, 2007, 6:15 PM

4.6

check out the nokia 6265 instead

Kyocera phones arent the the greatest when it comes to lasting long, not durable or the battery will die on you pretty quick. these phones are only made to last about a year. But at least its a step in the right direction. The nokia slider does everything this can do but has sharper camera plus more...

Is this review helpful?

Report

Greenii posted on Dec 02, 2006, 9:19 PM

5.6

Chat Programs??

HELP!! I purchased this phone a few days ago, with the understanding from the Cricket Rep that I would be able to put AIM & Yahoo Chat on it. I purchased the phone for $200, plus the case for $20, plus the multi media kit for $80!

However, between the corporate cricket store and the *611 tech support, no one has been able to help me get these applications on my phone!! I am told either that "THE NETWORK IS DOWN" (which it's not)...or "Dial *228 to program your phone (which I did)...or "Turn your phone off, take the battery out, we've "refreshed" it, then turn it back on". Everyone tells me the applications should then be there!

But they aren't!!
Any suggestions???
Thanx, in advance!

Is this review helpful?

Report

Jamie Lynne posted on Aug 22, 2006, 6:06 PM

9.2

I love my slider!!!

For those of you that have CricKet, and can't find any good sites to get ringtones and stuff, try going to MP3Ringers.com and they support cricket. Best of all, they aren't mega expensive, like all the other sites.

Anyways, I adore my phone!!! That thing is my baby and I love showing it off. It wasn't too expensive for someone like me, (I'm just now getting my first job, so I'm a little wary about where my money goes)and I feel like I've invested well.

I do however, have a question... Which card would you all suggest for the music? I'm not sure which one to get.

Thanks, and I LOVE MY PHONE!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

drewc4 posted on Aug 15, 2006, 7:31 AM

8.8

Slider Remix

I can tell you how to make your own ring tones and get them on your phone. Their many music editing programs you can download for free and take sections of mp3 to make your own ringtones. Once you do that all you have to do is save them on the micro sandisk in saved sounds. With the sandis in the phone access save sounds and assign that ring tone to a contact. Once you have done this it will now be in your ringtones on the phone. It's a great phone and I have used the mp3 player a lot. By the way it says the phone can only use a 512md micro sandisk also known as the transflash but I have sucessfully used a 1gig sandisk and have had know problems yet accept deciding which 250 or so songs to put on the disk out of 1000's on my computer. The only thing I don't like is you can use a sandisk for more memory but mp3 ringtones still take up about 400 kbs so you use the internal memory fast.

Is this review helpful?

Report

OgdenCricket posted on Jul 31, 2006, 11:18 AM

9.6

Great phone

Overall this is a great phone. I have been very happy with all the features, I am yet to try out the mp3 player (need to download sonds onto my memory card) but judging from how well all the other features work I am certain that I will be more then happy with it. The only possibly flaw I have seen since I have had the phone is the slider design, it seems that over time it may become worn out. I could be wrong, it has been going strong so far. Anyways, on a 10-point scale comparing it to every phone I have owned since, I think this very well may be the best one.

Is this review helpful?

Report

joey roberts posted on Jun 15, 2006, 3:54 PM

10.0

Mr.

it is a great phone and it works wonders too bad i cant find a ringtone for it anywhere but thats cool ill just keep on looking for it and those of you that dont think this phones cool go buy a different one then

Is this review helpful?

Report

Yuri S posted on May 24, 2006, 2:04 PM

9.4

SET your mp3s as ring tones.

Hey, here's a hint for who want to play mp3 as ring tones.

Rename your mp3 file desired to be the ring tone as *.mid, use the latest phoneTools to transfer the file, and you are good to go.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Viz posted on May 08, 2006, 6:07 PM

7.2

Its pretty good

I have this phone. I will agree with the last poster, the meterials (plastic) used on this phone is not of the best quality, its a brittle style plastic. I can see it easly breaking in the event of being droped.

A up side to this is the belt style clip. Talk about a hard locking clip! This phone is never leaveing my hip unlike some clips I have had in the past.

Lets talk mp3's. I got the 256 mb trans flash card, and have it loaded with music. With the Headphones adapter this phone Rocks! You can use ANY headphones you want. I use it to plug into my motercycle helmet stero, it works killer!

2 down sides. The Volume control sux, there are only like 6 vol settings, The Loudest is too loud, and the one below that is not quite loud enuf.
Also, You CAN NOT SET Stored mp3's as a ring tone from your memory card. I have not found a way yet. Kyocera I think wants you to go "buy" mp3 ringtones...
It might be possible if you go into the directorys from a PC, I have not played with this yet. So it might be possible.

I reccmond this phone to anyone who is looking for a Mp3 player/phone, not the other way around. Its a Great entertainment phone. Not much use for business use.

Is this review helpful?

Report

TY posted on Feb 22, 2006, 10:27 PM

9.0

Ringtones

I just got this phone in December and I have to say that it is a great phone, the only question I have that I hope u guys can answer is, I have a memory card in it, and I have songs on it, but is there a way that I can make the songs that i transfer from the USB on the pphone ringtones. I have heard that can but i dont know how? HOpefully u guys can help me thank u!

Is this review helpful?

Report

Ace posted on Jan 05, 2006, 10:20 PM

6.4

Retail Sales

Suzi -

The answer is pretty simple, and that is the phone (your equipment) doesn't determine this. The amount of time given for the phone to “ring” before forwarding to your service provider's voicemail system is determined by you provider. You can change the number of “rings” by choosing a shorter ringtone, but the time it takes remains the same.

If you have your service provider disable the voicemail feature, this may add a few extra seconds on before the caller receives a default message that you can not me reached at this time. You could also try forwarding your calls to yourself (the same number), thus doubling the amount of ring time before your voicemail picks up – service providers differ on this ability though.

Good luck!

- Ace

Is this review helpful?

Report

suzygirl posted on Dec 27, 2005, 6:11 PM

6.8

Owner/Designer

The problem with all Kyrocera phones is they go to meassage after 2 vibration and 2 rings. Why the company can't let the phone owner choose the number of rings I will never know!!

Is this review helpful?

Report

DOnt know posted on Nov 19, 2005, 11:06 AM

7.4

The bomb

This phone is very nice and everyone should consider getting it, Its pricy but its worth it. Its an all in one mp3, camera, videoreorder and a phone. Its something that u need to havr!

Is this review helpful?

Report

BoughtNReturn posted on Nov 08, 2005, 11:20 PM

5.4

Slider Sonic reviews

This is the worst mistake I made, spending 250 dollars on this phone. I was anxiously waiting for UPS man to deliver my phone and when I got it I was very disappointed. For 250 dollar they could at least made a better phone. The feature is ok but the quality of the phone is ****. The cover of the battery is so flimsy that you can squeeze in and out while it is on the phone and if you drop it, it'll probably smash to pieces. I did not even bother to activate the phone, so I brought it back to Wal-Mart and got my money back. I recommend that no one even bother spending their hard earn money on this phone... just my 2 pennies

Is this review helpful?

Report

Andrew Jaffee posted on Oct 07, 2005, 10:18 PM

4.2

Slider Sonic

I just purchased and am now returning the Slider Sonic (The Kyocera KX5) after finding Virgin has disabled the transfer of photographs from the phone to a computer over the provided USB cable. This was, I believe, a thoughtless business decision to wrest a few more pennies for phone-only photo transfer at a cost of a $250 sale. After a two hour conversation with Kyocera support it became clear that Virgin took away (locked out) the existing file transfer from internal memory to the transflash card. When I e-mailed Virgin about this decision, they replied with the misleading statement:

It wasn't so much a business decision that made the phone unable to transfer pictures to the computer but a hardware limitation. Anything stored in the Transflash card, such as videos and MP3s, is transferable to the computer via the USB cable. Pictures taken by the camera do not get stored in that memory, but in the phone's internal memory, along
with ringtones, contacts, games and wallpapers. The internal memory of the phone is inaccessible via the USB cable because of the way it's set up. I apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

Matthew R.
Virgin Mobile USA

It's inaccessible because of the way it's set up because of the way Virgin Mobile set it up. Nice logic, Matthew. Support at Kyocera can transfer photos, ringtones and files from internal to transflash memory but Virgin Mobile customers can't. So, I can't recommend the Virgin Mobile Slider Sonic.

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless