HTC Desire EYE User Reviews

Overall user rating

10.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
10.0
Internet
10.0
Call quality
9.8
Battery
9.0
Reception
9.8
Display
9.2
Build quality
9.8
Text input
10.0
Everyday usage
9.8
UI speed
10.0
Camera
9.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

danny_a2005 posted on Apr 20, 2016, 12:12 PM
Posts: 359; Member since: Oct 06, 2011

10.0

Best Selfie Phone, smooth HTC experience

danny_a2005 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Upgraded to Marshmallow and theme store.

The best best thing about HTC is that when the phone upgrades to the latest sense it comes with all the features, sony do the same thing, but i know some labels that upgrades the phones and not give all the features to them note 4 for example, not theme store capacities :(

Build quality
10.0
This is not cheap plastic, this feels nice young and soft
Reception
10.0
Never had a problem with it
Call quality
10.0
Nice speakers, the speakrs are hidden in the screen.
Internet
10.0
best sense experience
Multimedia
10.0
frotn facing speakers, 1080p display, waterproof and great camera makes a great multimedia phone
Camera
10.0
best selfie cam
UI speed
10.0
the best from HTC
Everyday usage
10.0
build quality of the softkeys suck, but my case helps with that.
Text input
10.0
I use Xperia keyboard, which is the best for me.
Display
9.0
Colors are fine, but i miss amoled displays
Battery
9.0
Battery is fine for the phone, not that long lasting.

Pros

  • Build quality
  • front facing speakers
  • waterproof
  • camera button key
  • selfie camera is the best
  • best software with marshmallow

Cons

  • keys are quite hard to press, a case could help with that

Is this review helpful?

Report

legiloca posted on Apr 21, 2016, 9:25 AM
Posts: 1676; Member since: Nov 11, 2014

10.0

My Best Phone to date, Loved it even more as time passed.

legiloca has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

One M8’s shadow? Underrated Flagship? The illegal baby of HTC and Nokia (XpressMusic series)? Check! Check! And Check! Welcome to my review of HTC Desire Eye: More than a year later.

Build Quality and Design:
It’s made by colorful solid matte polycarbonate plastic unibody, the hardware buttons are functioning yes but the quality? Fail because they're kind of squished especially the camera button, the Volume and Power Buttons annoys me, they’re near to each other and have the same feel, so I sometimes press the volume down instead of the power button by accident. Don't forget this is Water/Dust Resistant, so you can use this even when it’s raining or use it as a rubber ducky, no flaps though.
Display:
1080p IPS LCD display is a great, Maximum Brightness is insane so walking outdoors is a breeze, but be careful because the screen is somewhat reflective, I've seen worse, but what concerns me is its Lowest brightness output, the Desire Eye is just not too friendly before bedtime, it’s too bright for me. Contrast is good, and color temperature is off but not too off, no option to calibrate though.
Reception and Call Quality:
Wi-Fi and 4G LTE reception are great, but just no IR blaster (so not for couch potatoes) and the slowly growing Wireless Charging, but I don't think those 2 are such a huge deal breaker for a lot of people. Call Quality is great, the caller can hear me perfectly, and same goes as on my side, I don't know what the Official Review is talking about. GPS is ok.
Internet...  

Build quality
9.0
Nice youthful and refreshing design plus waterproofing without the need of flaps. Buttons could be better.
Reception
10.0
No issues at all, it's all plastic so you can expect it to take advantage of signal almost everywhere
Call quality
10.0
Very loud and crisp but just a little bit muffled.
Internet
10.0
Very fast and fluid no matter which browser you used.
Multimedia
10.0
No issues at all and BoomSound audio enhancements and speakers are impeccable.
Camera
9.0
Quality is good but not over the top, the front flash may blind you. Front camera suffers from blur when shot in low light. No OIS for either camera hurts the experience most, no 4K or even 2K recording despite the capable chipset
UI speed
10.0
SD801 works like a charm, 2GB RAM is more than enough to make the UI fly, and Sense 7 is not too heavy but at the same time offers so many ways to customize your experience.
Everyday usage
9.0
KitKat was fine, Lollipop bogged it down because of so many bugs and RAM management issues, Marshmallow brought KitKat's fluidity back and added more features so it now feels like a new phone. Impressive! Just some bit of stutters occasionally though.
Text input
10.0
I use 3rd party keyboard i.e TouchPal, but I think Sense Keyboard works just as fine.
Display
9.0
Big enough, Full HD, Very bright, Good contrast and Good viewing angles. Color Calibration could be better at some point.
Battery
9.0
With Quick Charge 2.0, this phone charges indeed faster as advertised, battery life is so so, good but not very good

Pros

  • Camera tandems are great
  • SD801 and 2GB ROM works as advertised
  • Water/Dust resistant
  • Multimedia Powerhouse
  • Can now format the SD Card as Internal Storage.
  • Quick Charge 2.0
  • Now running Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow so more fluid and faster
  • Bonus: Dot View is a delight

Cons

  • no OIS or 4K recording
  • Battery Life is 50/50
  • Hardware buttons could've done better

Is this review helpful?

Report

krishnapotluri posted on Feb 04, 2015, 7:54 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 04, 2015

10.0

Awesome Phone

krishnapotluri has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Everyone who is thinking to buy a new phone, might get this one!! Really fantastic phone and truly the best for 'selfies'.!! Can be renamed as SELFIE PHONE!! And the sound is so great!! Battery is somewhat weak, but overall, it is a good one!!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Front-Camera
  • Boom sound
  • Clear Display
  • Smooth UI
  • Cute Design

Cons

  • Battery doesn't lasts on HEAVY usage

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

PARADISE posted on Jan 19, 2015, 11:56 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 19, 2015

10.0

BEST CAMERA AND SELFIE PHONE

PARADISE has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

HTC pulled all stunts on this phone, i am loving it and must say its better than the Samsung Galaxy S5 on the camera specs. UI System is very fast too. It worths every penny.
Its water resistant is good but would open to improvement. The features are premium and would be great with males and even better with females that love taking selfies. Am addicted to selfies since i got it in December.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Camera
  • system speed

Cons

  • lack of accesories(though its still early days)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.