x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Google Pixel XL User Reviews

9.6 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera9.9/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.9/10
Call quality9.8/10
Battery9.6/10
Reception9.6/10
Display10/10
Build quality8.6/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed9.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Pinhead
posted on 03 Dec 2016, 09:47 (Posts: 11; Member since: 12 Sep 2014)

10

This is the Android I've been waiting for!

Pinhead has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Let me just say it...Google finally nailed the best cellphone so far! The User Interface is absolutely perfect, speed is amazing, camera the best, and the phone does not go up in smoke(a little dig for you Samsung, after making me have to return my Note 7)! And this is a breath of fresh air for me after buying 6 Samsungs in a row, getting sick of their propensity for curved screens. I closely watched Google's foray into making cellphones and almost bought a Nexus 6P-but it wasn't perfect yet. The Pixel XL is.

Build quality 10/10 Beautiful phone.
Reception 10/10 Great call quality.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Very fast.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • BEST Android out there

Cons

  • None.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andrew5190
posted on 11 Nov 2016, 08:16 (Posts: 55; Member since: 23 Oct 2014)

10

Pixel XL...finally, the one

Andrew5190 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

For years now, I've said the best Android phone would be an iPhone running the operating system. The Pixel XL finally delivers on that. Sure, it's a very similar design (people always ask me if it's the 7 Plus), but it's also a design that works.

Coming from a Moto X Pure Edition, this phone is lightning quick. I've had small hesitations here and there, just like any other phone would encounter, but I've not had a major issue yet.

The camera is for real. Challenging shots, low light shots, you name it; it'll shoot it. The EIS is far superior to any OIS I've ever seen.

The display is beautiful. Very comparable to Samsung displays. It could be brighter, sure, but I'll also take the fact I can see it just fine in the sun at max and that my battery life is amazing.

Speaking of battery life...WOW! I've easily gotten to 4 hour of SOT with battery to spare. Never have I had a phone do that. This is with wifi on at work, connected to my Huawei Watch constantly, and using the phone in my car for music via Bluetooth. The battery life is so good, I actually took my charger out of my car.

In short, believe the hype. This phone is finally, without question, the one that can and eventually will compete with Apple and truly drive innovation for both companies.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JeffDenver
posted on 31 Oct 2016, 16:09 (Posts: 7; Member since: 24 Jan 2015)

10

Believe the hype

JeffDenver has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is basically the best Android phone ever made as of this writing. It is not feature-rich compared to other Android phones (No stereo speakers, no water proofing), but it excels in the main things most people use their phones for. The UI is blazing fast and I was unable to cause it to lag out even when deliberately trying to do so. The camera is amazing...60fps video with EIS, which outperforms OIS. The auto focus and shutter speed are both top of the line. The Front camera captures more detail than anything else on the market right now. Battery life is comparable to the best phones out right now as well, and it has quick-charge support.

The display is better than anything else out right now except for Samsung phones (which are only slightly better IMO). The build quality is great, and it is far easier to repair than previous Nexus phones (but I would recommend a case...there are no phones out right now that can reliably survive a drop without damage IMO). Google "Pixel water resistance"...while not officially water resistant, the phone has survived submersion for 30 minutes or more without damage. It does not have stereo speakers, but the single speaker is loud, and very clear even at max volume. I use this phone for conference calls all the time for work and the sound is very good.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TGreg104
posted on 21 Oct 2016, 11:11 (Posts: 38; Member since: 14 Jun 2011)

9

Pixel XL does not disappoint

TGreg104 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone brings me back to when I bought the OG Moto X. The phone JUST WORKS. It does not excel in any one specific area, but instead does everything well. Everything performs and reacts exactly how you'd expect it to. This phone, while it does pack in some of the best hardware available, was so obviously built for user experience instead of looking good on paper. Take note, manufactures, Google gets it (when do they not?). I would highly recommend this phone to anyone of any age. Think of this as Googles 'iPhone'.

Build quality 9/10 Very high quality build, good weight, top notch materials.
Reception 8/10 Advanced LTE Cat 11 modem combined with America's best network leaves little to complain about.
Call quality 8/10 See previous
Internet 9/10 Again, no complaints
Multimedia 10/10 A beautiful 5.5 in SUPER AMOLED displace gives us vibrant, saturated colors along with a high contrast ratio
Camera 10/10 "Its the best smartphone camera. Ever."
UI speed 10/10 4 gb ram paired with the SD 821 chip... combined with a software platform that was optimized for the hardware. This is the definitive android experience.
Everyday usage 8/10 Everyday usage is fantastic, the only gripe here is that Google didn't some how (through some sort of witch craft I do not understand) manage to squeeze more Batter time out of this.
Text input 10/10 Standard android keyboard combined with a light, yet satisfying vibrate with every touch.
Display 10/10 5.5 in SUPER AMOLED. enough said
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Amazing build quality
  • Beautiful Screen
  • The full, definitive Google experience
  • Again, "The best smartphone camera. Ever."
  • Google Assistant
  • Solid battery with a very fast charge time

Cons

  • No expandable memory
  • No front facing speakers / Mono
  • No wireless charging / NFC

TGreg104 alternatives:

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

d1638
posted on 04 Jun 2017, 10:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Jun 2017)

8

Good phone with very Cheap build Material

d1638 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Only 3 weeks and the body has started to show signs of wear. I'm not a construction worker. I work in the office and my phone is usually on my desk and the back of the phone has already visible wear marks. Bluetooth is also another problem. Constantly dropping the connection while connected to my Car audio system.

Build quality 2/10 Visible signs of wear & tear after just 3 weeks
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 5/10 Ongoing bluetooth connection issues
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Very good camera
  • Battery
  • Speed
  • Internet
  • Crisp picture and display

Cons

  • Extermely cheap built material
  • Bluetooth glitches
  • Keyboard design (New line key in texts is not readily available)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ajzalecki
posted on 11 Mar 2017, 15:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Sep 2013)

10

Great successor to the Nexus devices.

ajzalecki has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The 6P was perfect for the time period and Google managed to do it again with the Pixel/Pixel XL. This device is fast and doesn't suffer from the processor speed throttling issue due to overheating that plagued the Nexus 6P. The call quality is great. The screen is beautiful. The build quality is great. Battery life is phenomenal. In my opinion, Google Assistant is far superior to Alexa, Cortana, and Siri.

My only issue is that the speaker is in a place that tends to be easily covered with a finger. The design isn't that great but that's what skins are for. The design has never bothered me as long as the functionality is great.

It's more expensive than the Nexus line was but so far, it is also better all around than the Nexus line.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Battery Life
  • Screen quality
  • Pure Android
  • Google Assistant
  • Call quality
  • Monthly security patches straight from Google
  • Easy to setup
  • Night light mode
  • Great quick settings

Cons

  • Price compared to Nexus line
  • Design is boring (but most people use a case anyway and skins are available)
  • Speaker placement
  • No 64GB option
  • Never in stock

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

soldier5637
posted on 15 Feb 2017, 00:24 (Posts: 2; Member since: 15 Feb 2017)

10

Google nailed it

soldier5637 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Google did it. Maybe people now will stop looking down at android as the "poor persons phone" as this costs more than 1k in Canada. The battery life is amazing, if I could have rated a section with an 11 that would have been it. Never had a phone with this kind of juice. It could do 2 work days with moderate use or 1 and a bit with heavy use. It charges very fast. call quality is great (as it should be on all phones by now. They are after all phones still arent they? I think Apple believes people dont call anymore judging by the quality of their calling). The screen has the darkest darks and brightest whites and is very vivid. Build quality is very durable, however the ear-speaker covering is literally just cloth. No metal mesh. You can tear it. As well, no water proofing. The bottom facing speakers really bother me though. Especially with this excess of bezel room at the top and bottom that would have been prime for front facing speakers. Very good quality of audio though. Incredibly crisp. As far as just using it goes, its as smooth as butter. Not a seconds delay to do anything. Google assistant is also proving increasingly useful. Google Daydream is OK, but as of now not worth it since theres no apps for it.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • AMAZING battery life.
  • A camera that has no competitor
  • Buttery smooth. No lagging/hesitation
  • The best mobile VR so far
  • stock android, instant updates
  • Unlimited photo storage

Cons

  • Bottom facing speakers
  • No real water proofing
  • Mediocre auto-focus

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cbranch
posted on 26 Oct 2016, 12:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Oct 2016)

10

Pixel XL is a must have

cbranch has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

If you are an iPhone® user and are ready to switch to Android, then this phone is for you! If you are an Android user, prepare yourself to be pleasantly surprised! This phone not only doesn't disappoint, but the features it has and the way it was built is the bread and butter. I am an experienced Android user and have been from day 1. I don't want to give a long laundry list of phones that I have had, but my latest phones were the Galaxy S5, and Galaxy S6 edge. I was going to keep this going (aka get the S7 edge) until I saw that Google released this phone. I purchased it the very next day after it was release and this is how my experience went:

-The first thing you will notice is that the finger print reader is on the back of the phone. You might think this is awkward, but when you start using it, you can instantly see how neat it is and how natural it feels. You will find yourself grabbing your phone and unlocking it with ease. Since the reader is a circle, it supports a 360 degree finger print, which means you can touch it from ANY angle and it will unlock it (tested!). Also, with the finger print reader, instead of waking your phone first and then unlocking it, you can simple touch the reader and it almost instantly unlock rather then waking your phone first and then unlocking it.

-The UI in this phone is unlike any other android phone that I have had. There are no jitters when going through your app drawer, scrolling through g-mail, or even looking through your gallery....  

Build quality 10/10 Feels great, has no bend (aka bend-gate), uses high quality material with no plastic.
Reception 10/10 No drop outs while using the phone. Tested both locally and Bluetooth.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Fast internet with no drop outs while on 4G.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Camera is very quick and snappy.
UI speed 10/10 The fastest UI speed that I have handled thus far. No jitters, no frame drops, it is extremely smooth.
Everyday usage 10/10 The best phone experience I have ever had with a phone. Going through photos, browser the web, using the finger print scanner, has just been really nice.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 With normal usage, I find myself with about 56% left before I go to bed and charge my phone. This has been the highest amount that I have had on an android based phone.

Pros

  • The finger print reader is extremely fast and has additional functionality
  • The UI
  • No bloatware comes with the phone
  • Easily rootable (if you buy the phone from Google)
  • Fast camera application and taking pictures
  • Google photos promo
  • Only Android phone with Android 7.1 on it (as of this writing)
  • Google assistant
  • NFC (not to confuse with wireless charging)

Cons

  • No wireless charging
  • No notification light indicator
  • Forward facing speakers

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories