x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Apple iPhone 7 User Reviews

7.7 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality8/10
Text input8.3/10
Everyday usage7.5/10
UI speed8.3/10
Camera8.1/10
Multimedia7.5/10
Internet8.3/10
Call quality7.7/10
Battery8.2/10
Reception8.1/10
Display7.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

mr.gonse80
posted on 16 Feb 2017, 23:17 (Posts: 10; Member since: 05 Feb 2015)

9

Not Bad, Not Bad

mr.gonse80 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Coming from owning a Galaxy Note 4, I already knew what to expect. I knew I'd miss the customization, monstrous and much higher resolution screen, expandable storage, and removable battery. But what made me switch back to Apple was knowing that, even after every perk that Android and Samsung had to offer, I needed something more reliable and stable. Is iOS boring? Yes. Are they far behind in the spec sheet? Yes. Is Apple in total control of the limitations of the iPhone and what you're able to do with it? Yes. But even after acknowledging all of this, ultimately, it didn't really bother me as much as I thought it might have. First off, the novelty of owning a Note 4, with its large, beautiful screen, better camera, awesome specs and all being backed by Android, made me ultimately loathe it. Having to "dance" the phone in my hand to accomplish the simplest tasks frustrated me. After a while of usage, the phone began to bog down and lag to the point that I would have to take out the battery and restart it several times a day. This is all a no go for me because I need a phone to be reliable and stable. Once I've even tried to dial 911 and the phone froze and rebooted itself after I hit Send. I absolutely cannot tolerate this, which is the straw that broke the camel's back. So I've come back to Apple, know it would serve me right and get the job done well and efficiently. Needless to say, this isn't the spec beast my Note 4 was, but at least I know I have a reliable device that I...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Size: much more maneuverable for one-handed usage
  • Battery: lasts a lot longer than my old phone (don't really have the battery issues that some other reviewers have had)
  • iOS: has the reliability and stability that Blackberries had on a day to day basis
  • Design: very sleek and compact, although a bit slippery (a case and glass screen protector is a must)
  • Wifi: receiver is a lot stronger on this compared to the Note 4
  • Sound: though not stereo, much louder coming from earpiece and bottom speaker
  • Accessories: millions of choices in cases, skins, and audio devices to choose from (as with every other iPhone before it)

Cons

  • Screen: not bad but not the greatest for multimedia and gaming
  • Call quality: sounds good enough but some people say I sound as if I have a cold while talking
  • iOS: pro and con (don't like how reliant it is on iTunes to accomplish a lot of certain tasks and downloads)
  • Notifications Layout: kinda bad (also has no notification light to alert you. Have to use the camera flash as one)
  • Charging: not the greatest of recharge times but it'll do

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ColinW
posted on 30 Dec 2016, 18:06 (Posts: 273; Member since: 04 Jun 2014)

3

Low to mid-range phone with flagship price

ColinW has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

So disappointing, a poor brother to the only moderate 7plus. It may be fast in basic use but everything else is just not good enough for the price and is buggy, apps crashes to often and the battery life is appalling.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 4/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Basic Speed

Cons

  • To many to mention

6 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ironboned
posted on 29 Oct 2016, 04:51 (Posts: 77; Member since: 16 Jun 2016)

7

disappointing for this price

Ironboned has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Unfortunately Apple had no more new idea. They removed physical button. This new button is just horrible. For a 800$ phone the camera is really poor and for God sake not even a full HD display, these days the other manufactures use 2K displays and iPhone has not even a full HD it's just a shame. Same design for 3 years in a row, I'm really getting tired of this shape of iPhone, no audio jack is a pain in a** . Camera you can forget it ,compare too other new flagship phones like S7 or pixel, iPhone's camera is really bulls**t. I'm really unsatisfied about my iPhone 7. I'll switch to android as soon as possible. For less price I can buy best android phones with better quality and specs.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 4/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Good battery life
  • Fast UI
  • Fast CPU and GPU

Cons

  • Too expensive
  • Same design for 3 years
  • Poor camera and especially in the low light sitauation
  • Poor display (not even a full HD display lol)
  • No headphone jack
  • Expensive accessories
  • No new future as other manifactures use newst and coolest stuffs
  • Not as customizable as Android or Windows phone
  • Still limited ROM and no free cloud, (1 min 4K video is about 1GB)
  • And again Price, iPhone 7Plus 256GB costs 1200€, no it is not a JOKE and no it is not a CAR it is an iPhone

Ironboned alternatives:

12 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Achilis
posted on 28 Oct 2016, 11:37 (Posts: 58; Member since: 05 Oct 2013)

9

It's very good...can be Great if Apple makes few changes.

Achilis has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

An excellent device marred by few silly things (screen resolution,restrictions)which can be easily solved by Apple.UI is buttery smooth.3d touch features are really useful.Lift to wake screen function is awesome.Excellent cameras front and back.Excellent battery life.Resolution of screen is poor compared any other flagships or even midrange android phones.its very annoying in the beginning if you are coming from any of those excellent android screens llike note 7.lots of restrictions especially the Bluetooth transfer and iTunes for music.its hard to swallow for an Android user.

Build quality 10/10 Well built.no doubt in that.looks n feels great in hands.my mat black version is very slippery but easily solved with Apple's own leather case.mat black version hides the antenna bands ver well.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Excellent.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10 Screen is the weakest part of iPhone 7.what ever explanation one give like retina display n all 720p resolution in 2016 is not justifiable for a flagship device. Coming from my excellent Note 7 display ti this one was a real pain.Sound quality is excellent.lack of headphone jack is sometimes annoying,but not a big issue.
Camera 10/10 Excellent in every department.selfie camera is too good.
UI speed 9/10 It's buttery smooth except for few occasional lags
Everyday usage 8/10 I gave 8 only bcz if lackluster screen resolution.
Text input 9/10
Display 7/10 Screen is the weakest part of iPhone 7.what ever explanation one give like retina display n all 720p resolution in 2016 is not justifiable for a flagship device. Coming from my excellent Note 7 display ti this one was a real pain.Positives are true to life colors which are less eye staining and excellent brightness adjustment in auto mode.
Battery 10/10 Excellent battery life.one of the best i have ever had.probable 720 p screen is helping.

Pros

  • UI is buttery smooth.3d touch features are really useful.Lift wake screen function is awesome
  • Excellent cameras front and back
  • Excellent battery life.
  • Easy to use in one hand.a rarity among flagships these days.
  • Super bright screen with true to life colors
  • Better polished and stable apps compared to Android.even Google apps looks and performs better in iPhone imo.
  • Blazing fast finger print scanner.
  • If you have any other Apple device the airdrop function is awesome for fast data transfer.
  • Superbly build.

Cons

  • Resolution of screen is poor compared any other flagships or even midrange android phones.its very annoying in the beginning if you are coming from any of those excellent android screens llike note 7
  • lots of restrictions especially the Bluetooth transfer and iTunes for music.its hard to swallow for an Android user.
  • Lack of customization is boring.you can't even arrange icons from bottom of the screen where your finger can easily reach if you are using one hand.
  • Mat black is very slippery.case is a must if you want to keep your phone in good shape

Achilis alternatives:

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sun0066
posted on 03 Oct 2016, 04:42 (Posts: 179; Member since: 12 Feb 2011)

8

meh

sun0066 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

it is a new phone and all , but it feels and acts as the same Iphone , the new home button is annoying as it can be because you have to press it still , I like capacitive button but you just touch then , that one you have to press it , so what is the point , other than that is the same iphone 6s but with a different numeric denomination and lot of new specifications that in real life do not translate to a great deal

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • weight, it is light

Cons

  • screen
  • home button
  • no earphone jack, I am not ready for it just yet, is it the world????
  • the imessage app is overcrowded, missing important apps such as audio note ( for non imessages users ), location ,etc
  • no true stereo speakers , one speaker are the botton and the other on the ear speaker , the same that is used on the phone for call with very limited and different output

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PHYCLOPSH
posted on 24 Sep 2016, 13:48 (Posts: 543; Member since: 28 Jun 2014)

6

Decent phone, yet surprisingly mediocre offering from Apple.

PHYCLOPSH has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I happened upon one of these as a backup device to my usual daily Android. My experience was mixed (having not used an iPhone extensively since the legendary 3GS I once loved). The design seemed a bit rushed and unimaginative (a near-copy of the previous two models), but there were some crumbs of comfort in the excellent camera and endurance. I may be one of the few who liked the overall idea of a capacitive home button - being a fan of capacitive buttons on my Android Phones; The removal of the headphone jack to accommodate it and 14% more battery is a sad excuse to remove the headphone jack though. The build quality was a bit dubious with the strange hissing noises and ambient noise likely caused by the use of cheaper capacitors.
Overall it was a positive experience, it is a decent phone - though I wouldn't really want to use it as my daily driver.

Build quality 5/10 Build quality is almost up to Apple standards, but removal of the headphone jack and the use of low-quality class 2 capacitors which leads to awful hissing sounds is unacceptable.
Reception 7/10 This is business as usual. Nothing fantastic, but no complaints.
Call quality 5/10 Sometimes the calls are OK, but other times it is choppy and has strange background noise. For the price of the Apple brand this is simply unacceptable.
Internet 7/10 Internet performance is fine, but nothing special here.
Multimedia 7/10 Multimedia is good with a very nice colorful screen. Audio isn't bad either. I have to dock a few points because the stereo response isn't as good as the iPhone 6S, and the screen isn't even of 2K resolution which is the industry standard by now.
Camera 9/10 Great! No major complaints. A wide-angle lens would be a nice addition though.
UI speed 8/10 Very good speed in UI, imperceptible change from the iPhone 6S.
Everyday usage 6/10 Its okay for most simple tasks, but carrying extra adapters around just to use a normal headset or charge while listening can be annoying. Also doesn't help Apple still hasn't listened to our requests to add a Micro-SD slot or dual-SIM capability for traveling. The capacitive home button while a novel idea is useless while wearing gloves.
Text input 7/10 Nothing to complain about, just as with the iPhone 6S. I would improve this score if Apple had swype input with their standard keyboard as Google does with theirs.
Display 7/10 Business as usual. It is bright and colorful. Only the simple lack of 2K resolution loses it a few points.
Battery 10/10 Apple must make this battery out of fairy dust because the endurance for it only being 1960mAH is insane.

Pros

  • Killer battery
  • Great camera
  • Good speed
  • Vibrant display
  • Capacitive home button

Cons

  • No headphone jack
  • Questionable design choices
  • Hissing noises
  • So-so call quality

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

logicsdude
posted on 22 Sep 2016, 12:22 (Posts: 40; Member since: 25 Jun 2014)

8

gets the job done well, but nothing truly special

logicsdude has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

While most aspects of the iphone 7 are great improvements on its predecessor, especially the camera, the removal of a physical home button doesn't seem to add anything, and I really liked the real home button on previous models. additionally the lack of a headphone jack is, while not necessarily a deal-breaker, a great inconvenience as I now have to use a dongle to charge my phone while I listen to music or podcasts on my commute and on trips. Again, I'd like to emphasize it's an all-around solid phone, but the above are my grievances.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

logicsdude alternatives:

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ipsamnok
posted on 18 Jul 2017, 08:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Jul 2017)

10

Amazing Phone

ipsamnok has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is vey great! The 3D Touch is amazing, very helpful and is very powerful! The battery still very great! The phone is very thin and I love how it is water resistant! The thing I like the most is the speed of this phone,It`s very very very speed.This phone is absolutely amazing!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything of tis phone

Cons

  • Jet black version need a case

ipsamnok alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

assetchase
posted on 16 Jul 2017, 13:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jul 2017)

2

Apple Care is a scam

assetchase has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Apple care service agents are clueless to whats wrong with your phone. The whole process is a joke. If you ever use apple care for their overpriced products you will see what I'm talking about. Always the first thing they want you to do is reset your phone phone Being that most people dont have the space available on their computer to do so they always recommend that you buy more Icloud space. The screen breaks easier than any of the previous phones by iphone or galaxy which is a gimmick to get you pay more for parts that you paid for the phone itself. Next your warranty will be voided once your screen breaks so Apple will continue to suck you dry the longer you use their products.

Build quality 1/10 Screen breaks to easy and once it does the warranty is voided!
Reception 2/10 Deende on your carrier. But i bought my sister an iphone too and it was defective (as many Iphone 7's are) so the reception was really crappy regardless of the service provider.
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 2/10
Display 3/10
Battery 1/10 The Iphone 7 had battery issues. My phone is dead by 12pm I take it off the charger at 6 am and I've had the phone less than a year. They kept giving me the run around on fixing the battery issue and tried to charge me because the easily broken screen was cracked. its part of the Apple scam!!

Pros

  • You get to feel important after you buy this overpriced item

Cons

  • You'll spend 4 times as much on the repairs than you do the phone.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chooeybooey
posted on 18 Apr 2017, 18:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Apr 2017)

10

Great Phone

chooeybooey has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is great! Love 3D Touch, very helpful and is very powerful! The battery could use some work but is still great! The phone is very thin and I love how it is water resistant! This phone is absolutely amazing!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alphazen97
posted on 06 Dec 2016, 02:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Nov 2016)

9

Disappointed with the lack of innovation, still a great phone

alphazen97 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The new iPhone 7 is no different than the previous iPhone 6s, With the exception of minimal display adjustments, camera adjustments, and a tad bump in speed. I have the matte black iPhone and the design has not changed in the previous 2 generations which is very disappointing. There are very very small changes to the design in the back of the phone but those changes are soo minimal it doest matter. Other than that the phone is very good.

Build quality 10/10 Nice metallic back with a glossy front glass panel
Reception 10/10 The phone gets great reception. Even in remote areas with Verizon.
Call quality 10/10 Never had an issue with the quality of calls with this iPhone.
Internet 10/10 Browsing the web on this device is flawless.
Multimedia 10/10 Great phone for multimedia.
Camera 9/10 DIssapointed that this model of the new iPhone doesn't have the double lens. Camera could be better.
UI speed 10/10 This is the fastest phone I've ever used.
Everyday usage 10/10 Great for everyday usage.
Text input 10/10 Text works great.
Display 7/10 No real upgrade to the display in years. Very disappointed with the display. There are phones that are way crisper and sharper. The phone does have good color scheme though.
Battery 8/10 Battery is okay. I love to use the Apple Smart Battery Case with my iPhone.

Pros

  • Fast
  • Easy to use
  • Great OS

Cons

  • Lacks new innovation
  • Outdated display
  • No headphone jack
  • Same old design
  • Battery could be better

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Subi212
posted on 02 Dec 2016, 15:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Dec 2016)

7

IMPROVE YOUR IPHONE 8

Subi212 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I tried the new iphone 7 plus and i was a it disappointed. I didn't like the UI, the home button was hard, and it was big in the hand. I still own a flip phone and a Iphone 5, i would buy an Iphone 6S, or 6S Plus over this phone.
I hope that the next iphone will have a headphone jack, a better UI, and have at least a 18 megapixels camera

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • No headphone jack

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Fred34
posted on 23 Oct 2016, 02:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Jun 2016)

10

Once again Apple delivers !

Fred34 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Once again, Apple delivers a seamlessly high performance phone with perfectly polished user experience. I come from iPhone 6s Plus and decided to go back to smaller screen. I'm 100% happy with my choice. The 7 is lightening fast, amazingly convenient and totally awesome (mate black). The haptic touch home button is a joy to use, and the absence of 3.5 mm jack is no problem to me as they supply the adapter and as I'm using Bose bluetooth Qiet 35 (Awesome too ;-) So, in resume, A GREAT GREAT PHONE...even if battery could be a bit larger.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • Would like thicker iPhone with larger battery (but it'sOK)

Fred34 alternatives:

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dustinjc
posted on 19 Oct 2016, 19:46 (Posts: 5; Member since: 17 May 2009)

9

The best phone FOR ME

dustinjc has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Android fanatics are going to hate on the latest phones from Apple but there is a reason these devices are so popular. The phone is incredibly fast, seriously never lags. The camera is amazing and takes natural looking photos which is preferred by photographers. Sure the OS is a bit bland but I don't need to customize every aspect of my phone, I need it to email, text, call, surf the web, watch videos and do some occasional gaming and it absolutely excels at all of this. The other reason it is amazing for someone like me is the amazing integration between devices. I can effortlessly switch between my laptop and phone finishing something that I started on one device on the other and thanks to iOS 10 and macOS Sierra this is more seamless than ever. This device may not be for everyone but it is the fastest smartphone on the market, as proven by many benchmark tests, and for the majority of the population it is going to meet your needs and more.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Long battery life
  • Great camera
  • Seamless integration between devices
  • Beautiful display
  • Insanely fast processor
  • iMessage

Cons

  • No headphone jack (not a con for me but I have seen a lot of complaints)
  • Experience not as customizable as Android

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kevin9250
posted on 22 Sep 2016, 12:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Mar 2015)

9

Smartphone good, but not perfect

kevin9250 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

it is a fantastic iPhone. He is slightly faster than the iPhone 6s. The camera is especially improved in night conditions, but when used in day light there is almost no difference with the iPhone 6s. People with an iPhone 6s I recommend if your device is still in good condition is an upgrade not really necessary

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 6/10 The call quality is often poor. I can hear the person on the other end of the line, but is exactly the person far away all the time. Maybe it's located on the provider or at the iPhone itself.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 Camera is Better in night conditions but in daylight is the difference with the iPhone 6s camera close
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Apple A10 Fusion chip is the fastest processor in the world!
  • Good Camera
  • 32 Gb standard storage
  • Very Good screen Qualitiy
  • Brightest smartphone in the world available
  • New Home button works very well, is adjusting just when you get older iPhone
  • Very good Face Camera
  • battery has been improved thanks to the A10 chip

Cons

  • jet black version really need your case!
  • Stereo speakers are not much louder than the iPhone 6s model
  • Take the 128 GB version !! 32 GB is not enough storage because of the new camera. Photos and videos require more storage.
  • Call Quality

kevin9250 alternatives:

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

New and Refurbished

Show more deals

Latest stories