Alcatel OneTouch IDOL 3 (5.5") User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.5

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
8.2
UI speed
7.7
Camera
8.2
Multimedia
8.5
Internet
8.5
Call quality
9.0
Battery
8.2
Reception
7.7
Display
9.2
Build quality
8.5
Text input
8.5
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Sdiq572 posted on Sep 18, 2015, 8:05 AM
Posts: 36; Member since: Jun 26, 2015

10.0

Its Rock, Even Upside Down

Sdiq572 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

THE FIRST REVERSIBLE SMARTPHONE

IDOL 3’s premium symmetrical design is the perfect expression of its unique user experience. It’s 100% reversible: use it either way up and the user interface rotates to match even to make or receive a call. The result is a faster and more intuitive experience with no need to think about how you are holding your phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Premium symetrical design
  • Ultra compact and Slim
  • Two Powerfull JBL speaker
  • BIG SCREEN

Cons

No Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

fadyrefaat posted on May 18, 2016, 3:16 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 10, 2014

6.0

Low price for moderate performance

fadyrefaat has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

When I first heard about this device, I was astonished with the amount of specs that seems very high-end, and could be comparative to all the flagship beasts out there, however, when I used it, over time, I got more and more disappointed, don't get me wrong, this is a good phone for the price, however, it is not for heavy users: it cannot mutli-task, it lags 50% of the time on so much applications installed, I wish they invested more in the performance over the features like the upside down and camera resolution, and the camera focus even sometimes misses the object, however, it's cheap, so I should've expected a moderate performance, but at the end, you cannot compare it to other flagship phones in the market.

Build quality
7.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
8.0
Dual speakers are good and loud
Camera
6.0
Focus is lost most often
UI speed
3.0
lags a lot, i mean it alot!
Everyday usage
4.0
Text input
6.0
Display
5.0
Eats up battery
Battery
4.0
Doesn't last 12 hrs on moderate usage with 3G on

Pros

  • Speakers
  • Lightweight

Cons

  • Laggy
  • Display eats up battery
  • Battery life
  • 2GB RAM always filled up

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

shabolo posted on Mar 02, 2016, 11:16 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 02, 2016

8.0

Moderate

shabolo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just arrived .. gold one
my comment after using LG G2
(( SIMPLE ))
I was expecting more
people whom using Samsung LG HTC SONY ... will not be so pleased to this change
I don't know but it feels cheap in hand.
That's all.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
6.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Sichan posted on Jul 27, 2015, 12:00 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Jul 26, 2015

10.0

Great Phone, Cheap Price

Sichan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Everything about this Alcatel Onetouch Idol 3 is great and the price tag is cheaper than other phone. Also, the camera ( both front and Rear) are awesome. If you are planning to have a nice device, get this phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Long battery life

Cons

  • No

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

MTTech posted on Jun 26, 2015, 6:59 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Jun 08, 2015

9.0

Good Mid-ranged Budget Phone

MTTech has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Idol 3 is a great phone if you're on a budget. It has a high quality screen for a mid-range phone. The dual front facing speakers definitely improve sound quality with JBL audio. Build quality is alright, even though it is plastic to cut down costs, the plastic seems solid for this phone. Camera quality overall is pretty good, just don't expect good low light pictures. Also video quality is overall good, just not the best sound quality. Cell reception is good as well. I have T-Mobile, and it does support all three LTE bands. I haven't dropped a call so far while using this phone, and call quality is good as well. The other person on the line can hear me clearly with no static. Power button placement is in an awkward spot, however I did get used to it and it's not that big of a deal. The phone also has (double tap to wake) which can be enabled which helps.

Only issue I find with this phone is that performance will get sluggish while doing certain tasks which can cause the phone to freeze up. Also certain apps will crash, while the same apps don't crash on my other phone. I hope this is an issue that can be fixed with a software update. Also, the "gesture/swype" style for typing on the stock keyboard does not work. So hopefully that can be fixed in a software update. Meanwhile, if you want that "gesture/swype" feature, you can download the "Google Keyboard" from the Play Store.

Build quality
8.0
Build is mainly plastic, but doesn't feel "cheap" compared to other plastic used on phones. The brushed finish on the back of the phone is nice, along with the plastic chrome bezel around the back and front of the phone.
Reception
9.0
Good phone reception on T-Mobile's network. I've noticed the phone use band 4 and 12 LTE in my area. Only issue I ran into once, was that my phone said "No Service" I had to take out my sim and put it back in to fix the issue. Probably not phone related, but sim related.
Call quality
10.0
Call quality has been good so far. I can hear other callers clearly, and so can the other person on the line.
Internet
8.0
Depending on the website you're trying to load, the phone may struggle performance wise for some reason. There are two web browsers installed. Chrome has less issues than the stock browser
Multimedia
8.0
Watching videos such as YouTube, listening to music have no issues. The only time there are issues, are sometimes when watching videos from the web browser, maybe its just the Chrome app, but sometime when fast forwarding the video, the video doesn't load and freezes and causes Chrome to crash.
Camera
8.0
Camera does pretty well in good lighting, but struggles in low light. Expect grainy looking photos in low light. Video is good as well, except the audio it records is not best.
UI speed
8.0
Performance is what kills this phone. For some reason Even certain lower spec phones perform a bit better. UI speed overall is good, animations can noticeably lag especially when clearing the recent used apps.
Everyday usage
9.0
This phone is great for everyday use. Battery life should last the whole day, as long as you're not constantly watching videos over LTE. Using the phone for calling, email, occasional gaming, music, etc. is no problem for this phone.
Text input
9.0
Stock (Android Lollipop) keyboard for some reason doesn't work when "Gesture/swype" is being used, its turned on, but doesn't work when you swipe over the keyboard. The workaround is to download the "Google Keyboard" from the PlayStore, until Alcatel fixes this bug.
Display
10.0
The display is excellent for this phone. it is crisp and bright, only issue is that the screen brightness does not get dark enough when the brightness is turned all the way down like other phones.
Battery
9.0
Overall battery life is good, and will last a full day for most people. However, if you like to use your phone constantly throughout the day to play action games, or watch videos, then the battery will drain faster.

Pros

  • Front facing speakers
  • Screen quality and brightness
  • Micro SD card expansion
  • Light weight
  • Thin
  • Earbuds included in box
  • Almost stock android feel

Cons

  • Performance could use work

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

aep1635 posted on Jun 23, 2015, 8:09 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Dec 18, 2013

8.0

Not a flagship-great value for the price.

aep1635 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

After a month of use, I'm loving the phone. For the price it's a value. The screen is very bright and the Front-facing speakers are a highlight. Even though it has a lot of great features, the Idol 3 is not without a few issues. Cell reception is intermittent at times and less than average, but this could be my cell area. Other people have had some of the same issues. If performance is not your top priority, or you're not a heavy gamer, and you just want a phone with great screen and a good battery, then this is the one for you.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
4.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Brightness of the Screen
  • Front-facing speakers
  • Light skin
  • Feels great in the hand
  • Thin and light
  • Performance is fast enough
  • Double tap to turn on and off screen
  • Up to a 128gb Micro SD card

Cons

  • Cell reception not the best
  • Power button placement

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.