Alcatel Idol 4S with Windows User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception
9.5
Display
9.2
Build quality
9.7
Text input
9.0
Everyday usage
8.0
UI speed
8.8
Camera
8.2
Multimedia
8.3
Internet
9.2
Call quality
9.7
Battery
9.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

belieber1996 posted on Jul 15, 2017, 6:38 PM
Posts: 6; Member since: May 27, 2013

8.0

"Good," but not Great

belieber1996 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Idol 4S is the first Windows Phone I've ever owned, and even though it does make good efforts into being a device for mobile productivity and multitasking, it does fall short in a several major areas that may be important for a lot of smartphone users. Aside from the Snapdragon 820 with the RAM/ROM (4 GB/ 64 GB) configurations sounding like an impressive device on paper, it doesn't execute the same performance, even though some transitions on the Idol 4S are smoother than other areas. The 21 MP rear/8 MP front is good at best, with the sharpness and low-light suffering a bit as compared to other high-end device. As a person who had around 70-80 apps downloaded on both an Android/iPhone, I could only download around 30, meaning the Windows 10 Mobile app support is a disappointment. When streaming media, I was definitely pleased with the dual speakers on the AMOLED display, and that's where the 4S holds one of it's strongest points. As for the battery life, it holds up fairly good for an entire work day with streaming music, texting, emailing, etc. Overall the 4S is promising with the hardware and Windows Phone OS, it's the app support in comparison to the the Android/iOS platforms that really don't give the smartphone the credit it truly deserves.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Snapdragon 820
  • AMOLED Display
  • 64 GB Internal Memory
  • Dual Speakers

Cons

  • Rear Camera Quality
  • Windows 10 App Support
  • Some UI instabilities

belieber1996 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Crispin_Gatieza posted on Feb 02, 2017, 3:31 PM
Posts: 3166; Member since: Jan 23, 2014

10.0

Best Pound For Pound Windows Phone

Crispin_Gatieza has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone checks all the boxes when it comes to performance. There is simply not a more fluid Windows phone out there right now. Some complain about the lack of NFC but the Wallet app has very few banks that support it anyway. Were it not for the lackluster camera performance this would be a slam dunk. The display, speakers and construction are worth the price of admission.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Build quality and Materials
  • Speaker performance
  • Design and execution
  • Dedicated camera button

Cons

  • Camera is average at best

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

cdgoin posted on Nov 11, 2016, 10:19 AM
Posts: 614; Member since: Jul 28, 2010

10.0

Great Phone.. VR Goggles are pointless

cdgoin has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Idol 4S reminds me of the HTC One M8 in build quality and finish. Under the body, the Idol 4s hardware is superior the 950XL with faster processor and more RAM and it shows in its performance. Alhough the 950xl technically is a better phone in a few places ( mainly screen and some aspects of its camera).The 950 series feel cheap and plasticky compared to the Idol 4s.

Camera: The Idol4S 21MP Camera is about as good as it gets and with a 8MP front camera.. its up there with Nokia in quality camera and on par with Samsung and Apple. That said, the triple LED flash of the 950XL which allows for some neat features only on the 950 series is missing.

Build quality : The Idol4S is in line with the HTC ONE M8 Solid Metal frame, and premium finish. Also both have dual speakers on either end of the phone. The glass back also makes for a real clean look.

Screen: Let me preface it to say the I have been spoiled by the 950XL for a while. The Idol4S with its 5.5" 401ppi screen is noticeably smaller and the body has more wasted space than the 950XL. So while the Idol frame size (6.05") is a little larger than 950XL ( 5.98" ), the 950XL screen is larger and tighter ( 5.7" screen and 515ppi screen ). This is partly due to the extra bexel for the speakers and frame of the VR Goggles. That said, overall PPI is good, the whites are bright and lines are sharp.

Key here is the DPI is lower on the Idol4S so it makes the screen feel smaller., still good. Just overall feels more like a 5.2 screen...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Small Screen To body, but screen is clear, white is bright and DPI is good
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Stereo Speakers that are LOUD and CLEAR
  • Bright Clear Screen
  • Premium Build Quality
  • Thin and light
  • Great Cameras ( 21MP and 8MP )
  • Windows Phone OS

Cons

  • Largish screen-to-body ratio
  • Low DPI for Screen comparitive to other WPs
  • Windows Phone App Gap

cdgoin alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

tournelhenry posted on Feb 28, 2019, 8:09 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 22, 2017

7.0

Impressive Hardware, Bad software

tournelhenry has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This is a good piece of hardware with great potential. But, it's Windows Software gives it more disadvantages. The Store lacks apps or even support. The VR is a fancy useless addition for the Windows version.

Build quality
8.0
It's very thin, cute and feels premium. Though, the glass back might be a little problematic if you're not careful. You don't want it dropping
Reception
7.0
I was impressed
Call quality
8.0
I don't know what to say here. Though I will note that, sometimes, during a call, it won't immediately respond when you attach headsets.
Internet
6.0
Dual Band WIFI works fast. Supports LTE, but sometimes, Mobile data connections stops working randomly and requires a restart
Multimedia
5.0
With 64GB memory and Micro SD expansions. You can enjoy a lot of media content. The OLED screen is a plus. However, the VR is 100% useless as the store lacks anything and you can't use it for YouTube or any other app other than alcatel's inbuilt VR app that launches automatically.
Camera
7.0
The Lens is very good (Light source aren't scattered) and the Windows Camera software makes manual mode feel like a DSLR camera. It has a very adjustable focus range. The dynamic range is not too good though. Sometimes too, it freezes and refuses to record a video. The autofocus when taking videos is horrible. I wish Microsoft will improve on the White balance. The hardware is pretty okay. It also has Dual tone flash
UI speed
6.0
Overall, Windows UI is awesome and better than Android. The problem though is its occasional freezes and lags.
Everyday usage
2.0
It's a Windows Phone. So, you know what to expect. It's lagging/outdated apps makes basic everyday usage a disaster. You don't want this as your primary device. It'll make a fairly good camera phone.
Text input
8.0
After switching to an Android, I've come to appreciate Windows 10 text input even more. Very smooth and precise. The auto-correct remains problematic (like all other phones anyway)
Display
8.0
This would be a 10/10 if it wasn't a VR device. the OLED screen is sharp and awesome. However, since it's only FHD, it looks pixelated in the VR headset.
Battery
7.0
Battery is okay for the whole day if you don't do a lot of photography or gaming. However, mine became faulty after a year

Pros

  • Great OLED Screen
  • Good Camera software
  • Good Body design. Slim and Easy to hold

Cons

  • Poor software support (Sorry. It's Windows)
  • Fragile (Back is covered in glass)

tournelhenry alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

blasterdaddy posted on Oct 19, 2018, 11:49 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 19, 2018

10.0

Best phone I have ever owned

blasterdaddy has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This is by far the best phone I have ever used. Windows 10 is still the most stable and easy to use OS. Lack of Windows apps don't bother me, I use the phone as a phone, all the apps I need are actually available. I know Microsoft has killed the Windows 10 Phone, but I will continue to use until it falls apart or becomes inoperable

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Windows 10 still best os for a phone
  • Size
  • Battery
  • Usability
  • Can become a PC
  • Mobile Hotspot
  • Build Quality

Cons

  • None

Is this review helpful?

Report

dlreimer posted on Feb 13, 2017, 1:19 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 13, 2017

9.0

Interesting and Great phone

dlreimer has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

IDOL 4S first impressions:
Just got my new (and first) Alcatel phone (took only 3 days to get to me from ordering online from Microsoft store; I live in Vancouver; well done Microsoft!).
Pros:
Super thin and light! (thinner and lighter than iPhone 6s plus and iPhone 7s plus); much lighter and thinner than HP Elite x3!
High quality solid metallic 'feel' (not plastic Lumia feel)
Great screen; 5.5 inch is perfect size for me; not quite as warm as my Lumia 650 OLED screen, but still very bright and clean (same 401 ppi as iPhone 6S Plus and iPhone 7S Plus)
Excellent reception; i'm getting more bars and much stronger signal than with my 650
Call clarity is excellent; says 'HD' up in the top corner when i'm calling; i'll have to look into what that means.
Finger print reader/Windows Hello works excellent
Love the dedicated camera button! (but not completely used to the location: half way up the right side of the phone...)
Speakers sound great!
Super quick charge! Went from 10% to 100% in 30 minutes. Can't make a proper call on battery drain/use; i'm still setting things up; need more time for it to settle down into regular use to make the call...
Camera seems good; need more use to make a proper call; it's noticeably much better than my 650, but not sure if it's better than my ATIV SE....; much higher resolution than iPhones....
Double tap to unlock.
64 GB build in storage, plus Micro SD card slot: awesome!

Cons:
Can't remove battery; this my first phone where I don't have that...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.